Green and Gold Solar Australia

Green and Gold Solar Australia Reviews

About

Green and Gold Solar Australia is a Solar Power Installation company based in and serves . Here are their reviews as submitted by visitors to SolarQuotes
Panels, inverter and battery brands

Panel brands currently installed

Panel brands previously installed

Inverter brands currently installed

Inverter brands previously installed

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

Green and Gold Solar Australia Reviews (84)

Show Most Recent reviews from All timeacross Australia

Average Scores

3.9/5

Value for money

3.9/5

Quality of System

4.0/5

Installation

3.5/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 10
  • 4 star 42
  • 3 star 16
  • 2 star 8
  • 1 star 8

View Timeline

Faulty inverter supplied by Green and Gold Solar.

Let's begin with a bit of history.

July 2011 2KW solar system installed by can't remember but they went bust shortly after. They operated from Blacktown.

February 2020 I rang Green & Gold to come and see why it was not working.

June 2020 Eventually they sent some useless Electrician out to look at it who condemned it to be too old and unrepairable. I told him it was only 8 years old but he insisted he knew everything and I didn't. So I said give me the price for new panels.

September 2020 we finally get a price and details of what is to be supplied. SMA inverter I was told was the ultimate answer. They came and changed everything but the panels were still perfect and all that was needed was new wiring from the roof to the Inverter.

September 28 2020 was the installation date. (remember it was many many months ago I requested this)

The inverter did not work and the Tech decided that he should return in a day or so to try again. Never seen again.

A new Tech arrived on a Sunday many weeks later had a look and said all was well it is just waiting to connect. What 6 months!!!

Numerous phone calls and finally March 2021 someone finally turned up to connect the inverter. This was good to think that after all this time it was finally working and generating electricity.

About a week later it stopped again. I rang several other installers to ask if this SMA was any good.
Not one said yes.

May 2021 I was in Hospital and when I came home I noticed that the SMA had a red light. Several phone calls to Green & Gold have not produced any resolution. In fact I would say that G & G have no idea. SMA could not care less so the Customer has useless bits of rubbish on the roof and walls.

July 1 2021 Green and Gold send an Electrician to fix the problem. Two and half hours later he declaes that the Inverter is faulty and needs replacement.

July 15 2021 Still nothing from Green and Gold other than they are awaiting a resolution from SMA. As far as I am concerned SMA need to get their act together and get to it and replace the unit.

July 19 Total lockdown so nothing will get done.

I am going to be claiming Compensation for the loss of Electricity that would have been generated.

September 2021 yes a note from Green and Gold who said that SMA advises to change the password and it will work. Well they obviously have no idea about their products. What has a password got to do with a faulty Inverter. Good question hope they know. That as far as I know the only response that G & G have had.

Inverter rating: 1/5
Show Details

Green and gold solar. I think they are the worst company ever.

Worst ever, took two years and 3 try’s to get it right. I would never go with green and gold solar again.
They supplied very poor service and communication.
They will try and deceive you to cover their own mistakes.
Consider this a warning to all who are thinking of purchasing solar.
Go green and gold… you will get rolled!
Show Details

Cowboy operation - avoid. Much better alternatives available

Very disappointed with G&G. We had an expensive Enphase/Longi microinveter solution put in December 2019;

- They screwed up the order by quoting panels which were no longer available in Australia, delaying the install by weeks
- The installation was subcontracted out. The installer not only did not complete the monitoring setup, they used incorrect tile sealant causing a leak in the roof and water damage.
- We had to literally with-hold payment to them for months to get them to fix the initial installation.
- Because we only found this out just over a year later they refused to fix the damage under warranty.
- Most calls to customer service were never returned or forwarded. No interest in trying to help their customers.

Please do not use these cowboys - at least hire go with a company with a good record of customer support...

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Quick to take money - slow to fix

Installed system last year quickly but still doesn't work properly this is from their quote - still waiting for them to make it work when commercial power fails
Hybrid Inverter:
I would happily recommend the SolaX 5kW (SK-SU 5000E) hybrid inverter.
This hybrid inverter works by storing surplus energy in batteries for later use, making it possible to utilise solar power independently by storing unused capacity.
This hybrid inverter also comes with a built-in Emergency Power Supply (EPS), allowing you to use your stored energy in the event of a blackout.
This particular manufacturer is a leader in the global inverter market and offer local phone support during business hours.

Panel rating: 3/5
Inverter rating: 3/5
Battery rating: 1/5
Show Details
Show Details
We have used this company for solar systems on our home and rental properties in central queensland. We have purchased three fronius and winaico systems from green and gold in the past six months. Very knowledgeable staff and excellent service. For a national company that does thousands of systems we find them wonderful to deal with.
Show Details
G&G post sales not impressive as they phoned and asked for payment after I made the payment. Did not appear overly professional. Installation was good and much sooner than expected.
Show Details
Main Installation was good but they are supposed connect the inverter for online monitoring and it's almost two weeks and they still have not done it.
Show Details
This company door knocked my Mother who is 83 years old, lives alone, and is a full pensioner with early dementia, also despite the fact that she has a "Do not knock" sticker clearly displayed on her front door. She already had working solar panels installed on her home. Green and Gold Solar Australia still proceeded to sign her up for ANOTHER set of solar panels and put her on a payment plan to be deducted from her pension knowing that she lived alone and her usage did not warrant further panels being installed.
My attempts to have any sort of resolution dealt with by this Company have gone unanswered. I have phoned the State Manager on at least four different occasions, and he has always promised to look into it and get back to me. There has not been ANY reply to my queries, only demands for the payments due from their credit provider.

I strongly dispute this company's standard of ethic's and morals, and would suggest to anyone looking to have solar panels installed to check into the background properly of the company itself.
Show Details
They had the best customer service and value for money available in the Canberra market. Nitesh was a thorough professional and took care of all the nitty gritties throughout the initial quote to design and installation.What truly impressed me about him and the whole organisation how much emphasis they put on details. Furthermore i gave his reference for two of my friends and after site assessment he only chose to move ahead with one friend site because of underlying solar system inefficiency. My system is going better than we estimated and thank you for your services and answering all my emails with stupid queries.
Show Details
Local installers Sunair made it easy to do business with they explained everything and their work was highly professional and efficient. The team worked well together and they were there to help me understand how it all worked Don M Woy Woy 13/11/2018
Show Details

Original Review on 24-04-2018:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: N/A
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: N/A

8 months later we asked Rob: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

No.
The positioning of the panels to give maximum output required 22 optimizers. It is a 6.05kw system (22) REC panels.
During the winter months it peaked at 4kw and now heading into the summer solstice it plateaus at 5kw.
There has been no contact with the supplier/installer since it was installed...a process that took over 4 months.
The ONLY good part of the system is wifi monitoring which shows a very strange graph when the sun is fully above the panels and it flatlines at 5kw for a few hours. I may need to send you some screenshots if you like.
Thanks again Finn and your team for keeping us so well informed and following up
Regards
Rob
Show Details
The system was comparatively expensive as compared to other quotes that i went for.I loved the loyalty and honesty which was showcased by the sales person in terms of everything from power generation to realistic ROI that i could achieve from my system.I was kept in the loop throughout the installation period and everything was done so smoothly right from presentation to the after service.
Show Details

Original Review on 13-11-2017:

Not the cheapest, however, by far the most knowledgable out of all those whom were contacted. Whilst Solar Quotes installers did quote, their expertise or lack of contact made the final decision as to the installation. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Sean: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system in general has worked well. The hiccup was with the customer service from Green & Gold - whom didn’t provide the paperwork to my energy company for close to 4 months. The power company also advised the inverter should never have been switched on, until the net meter was in. A frustrating 4 months, to say the least.
Show Details
I have 12 solar panels on the roof of a 2 storey home installed about 5 years ago. It gets sun from sunrise to sunset. I was told that the 4kw system I purchased would pay for itself in no time whatsover. So far my electricity bills have not changed, in fact have gone up. The rebate of about $12 per bill I get means it would take about 667 years for me to break even. The solar company says its to do with the energy provider who in turn tell me its the solar mob, but have also suggested that I am using more power now. My view point thus far is that its all a scam. Who do I call to have a technician check to see if the system has been installed correctly or perhaps the energy supplier has made some changes when they upgraded the meter box. I would love to see the benefits and savings I was promised before I forked out 8k for those eyesores.
Show Details

Original Review on 05-09-2017:

They took under six weeks to install and the installers were very polite and thorough and explained everything to me. The panels are 1st rate and the inverter is a mass brand new to Australia but has a good writeup. Thanks to your advice all went well. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Michael: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes it has very pleased.
Show Details
We opted for micro inverters hence the extra expense.
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
Installed promptly, failed after 4mths , have waited 10 weeks for a replacement inverter . NO AFTER SALE SERVICE . Still waiting for inverter to be fitted . Cannot recommend this company for after sale service.
Show Details
The panels are quality panels that withstand frost. Installers came when they advised us and worked efficiently. Thorough explanation of procedures
Show Details
I'm very happy with my system and it has been working like a dream. It was great dealing with Mark who was the sales consultant and the team! There were complications with my house but Green and Gold were the only company out of 3 that had the skills and knowledge to get the job done and at a good price too! I now have a 3.5kw hybrid system with a bigger inverter and I'll be grabbing batteries off Mark and the team later! Maybe some more panels too! because of the free upgrade on the inverter!
Super happy and would recommend Green and Gold Solar to anyone!
Show Details
We went with Green & Gold Solar because we are a small business and we needed a local in Bundaberg who would look after us and tell us what was what. Great job to the team at Green and Gold solar from start to finish job was professional, great value, great product and kept us informed all the way. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone looking for solar power and batteries.
Show Details
I had an excellent experience with these guys. I dealt with Brad and the team at Narangba and they were very supportive and professional. The installers were on time, efficient and clean. I really recommend these guys to anyone who is in the market for solar power. I would find any negative comments relating to the product or conduct of this crew hard to believe.
Show Details
After looking over what seemed to be a thousand quotes and being confused out of my mind about different products. I had one last quote from a local bloke in Bundaberg. Shane Brady the local solar guy for Green & Gold Solar sat down with my wife and I and explained everything in terms we could understand. He showed us the difference in products and gave us multiple options from top quality down to the lower end of the budget. The most important thing was he never once told us that this one was the best and we should get it. The decision was always up to us with no pressure applied at any point. The installation went off without a hitch and we currently have a system that we are very very happy with. But for me the best part of this whole process is the fact that they are still involved with us long after the system had been installed. Shane monitors the system for us online to make sure it never has an issue and he drops in for a cuppa form time to time just to make sure we are still happy and the system is operating as it should be. I would have no hesitation what so ever to recommend Shane and his team at Green & Gold Solar to anyone I know.
Regards
Show Details
Thank you to Green and Gold Solar Australia for looking after us. They were honest, reliable and supportive when we needed them. There are so many others in this industry after a quick buck! Not applicable with Green and Gold. The new management at Narangba Office were and are continuing to be an amazing support to us. We are now enjoying huge power benefits from our high quality system installed. I would refer them to others if given the chance.
Show Details
I would not recommend these guys for other people as they provide a lack of communication, I had to continually ring up to find out where everything was up to, paperwork wasn't correctly done, information was either not provided to installer or installer didn't read information correctly, had to get appliances rewired to single phase as the paperwork for dual phase was not put in and dual phase was already on the property to start with, the product itself seems to be good so far but will have to see how long it lasts.
Show Details
jake warner of priority power services sub contracts to green and gold for installation that was biggest concern after hearing bad stories about installations from all these different companies but got on roof after they left prised every anchor point on roof perfect. Had to go through besant block for electrical again spot on there are a thousand installers but at least if u get him and team u can rest a bit easier
Show Details
Have put complaints into fair trading. Very poor customer service, dont call back and dont want to know you once you have paid them. Have had a faulty invertor from Samill for 6 months, never picked up, no replacement has arrived. Just keep paying your electricty bill it will save you 6g.
Show Details
ATTENTION ALL CUSTOMERS THE CORRECT PHONE NUMBER FOR GREEN &GOLD SOLAR IN NARANGBA IS (07) 3888 2722
THE OLD NUMBER AT DECEPTION BAY (07) 3293 4145 HAS NOT BEEN USED FOR THE LAST TWO YEARS . IT GOES TO A MESSAGE BANK OPERATED BY TELSTRA ( THANKS TELSTRA) THIS WILL EXPLAIN TO CUSTOMERS WHO ARE RINGING ARE NOT GETTING THROUGH TO US. WE ARE TRYING TO GET IT FIXED BY TELSTRA
Show Details
I have just bought a 5 kW system have been shopping around for few months and have found green and gold not to be the cheapest but the quality and service was the best from the start to the end they looked after everything installation guys where very good done a excellent job i was very happy i would recommend them to any one
Show Details
If you happen to live outside the Brisbane area you can forget about after sales service.
(We live in Rockhampton Qld).
Our inverter has failed in the warranty period, have to jump through too many hoops to get a replacement and then if you do get a refurbished replacement you have to pay to have it fitted!
They don't return phone calls.
We have opted to locally purchase a replacement inverter.
I was warned, but once bitten twice shy.
Show Details
I have treid to contact them five times to have someone check the system and they never return calls.
Show Details
It's been 5 months and we are still waiting for the installation of solar panels and batteries. They have our money and we have nothing. And finding someone to please explain is a joke. No one will return your call or even bother to give a courteous text or call to even see if the work has been done or where everything is at. I would never recommend Green and Gold Solar to anyone. As far as the product goes I can't comment on the quality because they haven't installed the bloody thing. I will be seeking legal advice to recoup moneys laid out on what appears to be a donation to Green and Gold Solar of $15000.00
Show Details
We have been trying to contact them to have an issue rectified, without any joy. They do not return calls nor do they email. We have now had our system apparently up and running for 4 months...that is till we get our electricity bill and I made an enquiry abut there being nothing to show how much power was used or supplied to the grid. It seems we do not have the right meter and the paperwork from Green and Gold was never signed and sent in to our energy company to give them the order to install this meter.
After we have made numerous attempts to contact them we finally get told after 4 weeks that it is not their issue as their electrician didn't do it and they have left???????? i have also been informed that i will have to pay for the meter to be changed over even though this was apparently included in the quoted price. so for the last 4 months and counting i have paid my instalments to the finance company, uploaded god knows how much free energy to our energy company, or just wasted it if it hasn't been sent on to the grid and had to pay a full electricity bill, that i was excitedly waiting to see either be very reduced or at a zero balance.
I can't even express how angry i am........oh and to add to this there are a few others in our area who are also dealing with the same issue....
Show Details

Original Review on 20-05-2015:

Excellent service. Quotes were given quickly. I decided on the system I wanted from previous experience. Installation was made within 2 weeks. Kept informed on progress of application. Would certainly recommend Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Andrew: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

As we do not face north we achieve 85% efficiency which was as advised to us. We have experienced a good reduction in our electricity bill.
Show Details

Original Review on 21-04-2015:

The 2 young Installers, 20-26years old were amazing. Informative when asked questions, nothing bothered them and they got straight into it. They didn't stop working the whole time they got here and they were also on time.They even told me every 12 months to clean the Solar Panels to get the most effiency out of them.
They are both a credit to Green and Gold.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 3/5
Inverter rating: 3/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Anthony: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Not really
Show Details
I'm remote NSW and found it difficult to get Griffith NSW solar companies to quote. I went with green and gold solar as they were a company listed on your site. Installtion was acouple of weeks after promised date but was undrstandable with stormy weather around. The installers were from Sydney.
Just over $10,000 with $1500 deposit & 40 interest free repayments of $107 per month. Battery ready? With my already existing 1.5kw (60c/kwh) system producing about 9 kWh on a good day I'm in front on my bill but I am only using about one third of the 3 kW system so far. The excess (six cents per kilowatt hour ?) roughly covers my hot water system. Power use from the grid after three weeks is about 180 kWh which is less than what I have provided to the grid – about 260 kwh. I need a battery!
Show Details

Original Review on 10-02-2015:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 1/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

9 months later we asked Steve: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Issues I have are 1) Brett has not had the 'time' or inclination to resynch the Inverter, as was suggested when I first finally got to speak with him. He was going to contact Samill and get back to me.2) the synching of the router should not be difficult with a novice able to do this job, even with assistance from a Technician from Samill or Green and Gold. 3) My initial research into Green and Gold showed some unhappy customers post installation, and when I mentioned this to Joe, the salesperson, he assured me that this would not be the case. 4) What use is the 10 year warranty that I was given for the Samill Inverter.
I am now a frustrated and probably 'angry' customer, who has a product that does not perform the way that it should (and that I paid good money for) in that it is not connected to my computer (and has not been for nearly 3 months) and I do not believe that the cost of $160.00 for a third party to come out to resynch my Samill Inverter should be bourn by me.
Show Details

Original Review on 22-01-2015:

We are very happy with our choice and back-up service being provided. We would reccomend Green and Gold Solar to anyone interested in installing a solar system (in fact we already have).
It's a nice change these days when a company representative has professional standards on the product he sells, arrives on time then follows up his statements with actions. This is enhanced when the company does the installation on time and without any interruption to your home. They cleaned up throughly at the completion of the installation also.
We are now looking forward to paying less for our power.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Michael: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

We are satisfied with the system we were convinced to run with by 'Green and Gold' Solar. Savings on our Electricity Bill are not as much as we thought it would be.....don't know if we were miss-lead a little or our expectations a little to high. The whole power supply from retailers is confusing and getting worse with pricing so any small savings we get from our Solar system is helpfull.
Show Details
Show Details
Having a problem with the inverter and it's taking a long time to get sorted.
The sales process and installation was easy and fast.
The guys doing the installation were good.
But the length of time it's taking to fix or replace an inverter is too long.
Show Details
Since installation i have found out that my inverter installed is not a hybrid inverter its solar only and if anything its hybrid ready meaning i have to spend even more money to upgrade it to a hybrid (battery storage) inverter. Six months after installation my inverter died and i was without an inverter for a month until a replacement unit was sent, No help from Green and Gold solar after initial installion.
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details

Original Review on 14-07-2014:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Conor: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes
Show Details
The installers were very professional,their work was very neat and they explained the instillation process in detail
Show Details
Show Details
Paul from Green & Gold Solar answered all my questions and explained in detail the process from application to installation. System was installed and commissioned within 3 weeks and so far so good - highly recommended
Show Details
The first contact was from CSA. Salesman very friendly, arrived on time unfortunately there were questions he could not answer as he was not qualified to do so. Had to refer our questions to others.
Nichols - well they did not contact us personally, two weeks after your submitting our enquiry, they mailed a quote with many variations and this was difficult to work through. Never yet had a phone call from them!
Green and Gold - Their salesman Paul holds various qualifications, was able to demonstrate efficiency data of various panels, also referred us to the Government testing site etc. so we could check independently. Worked through our electricity bills with us to find the most appropriate system for us. Paul is also setting up the wifi system so that he can monitor going use and assist in further savings.The installation was delayed due to some internal problems with supply. We are still waiting for the correct maintenance book, which the installer apologised that he had mislaid.
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: