Solar Smart QLD and SA

Solar Smart QLD and SA Reviews

About

Solar Smart QLD and SA is a Solar Power Installation company that serves parts of QLD and SA. Here are their reviews as submitted by visitors to SolarQuotes

Reviewers report paying: $4,850 - $7,700 for depending on hardware choice and installation difficulty ( how is this calculated? )

Panels, inverter and battery brands

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

Solar Smart QLD and SA Reviews (72)

Show Most Recent reviews from All timeacross Australia

Average Scores

4.4/5

Value for money

4.4/5

Quality of System

4.6/5

Installation

4.3/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 27
  • 4 star 37
  • 3 star 5
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 1

View Timeline

Purchased Elsewhere

Purchased from supplier not aligned with SolarQuotes.com.au
Show Details

Seems like theres a common thread here, poor aftersales lets them down time after time.

Had a system fitted two years ago. 24 Jinko panels and a Fronius Inverter and Smart meter. Price was competitive. The install never included setting up my wifi.

Several attempts by myself ended in failure. The default Fronius password in the setup wouldn't work. I called them they said they'd get back. Never did.

Move on a year later. The system that on the day of install was registering over 6kwph was now rarely over 4.5kwph.
I checked the panels and the claimed efficiency rating and the system was and sill is failing to achieve what its supposed too. Called Solarsmart explained the situation. They said we don't have to send anyone out we'll just remotely use the readings you have in the solarweb (The wifi app that wouldn't/couldn't load) I told them its never worked and that I had asked them to help. Ah really? Needless to say, no further help.

Cut forward again to around 8 weeks ago. Another attempt to sort the wifi so I could check the figures, numerous calls and promises and messages left. To date nothing, Cant even be bothered to return my messages. I've been nothing but patient and Polite.

What does it take for this company to do the right thing?

Waited far too long before resorting to this. Buyer Beware.

Panel rating: 3/5
Show Details

Customer service is a big miss!! Worst company yet

Solar Smart

So much credibility comes from After Sales and Solar Smart Maroochydore have really let us down here. We ordered our system, got it installed with a slight hiccup of the installers dropping two panels off the roof and smashing them, accidental happen! They were replaced. I had put an order in the same week as my system was installed for an extra 6 panels. I’m waiting still after 10 months, yep , 10 months and can’t for the life of me get through. These were very easily accessible at the sale but don’t exists anymore!! I have to agree with the other review and claim this company as the worst after sales service out there. You really have nothing if you can’t support your sale.

This also reflects badly on the brands that are used. They have been informed of this companies practices who I hope deal with this situation. Number 1 rule of business is to support your product and customers. Solar Smart are very far from that. If you have any issues your on your own. I would most certainly give this company a miss. I would love to here from them and be able to give an explanation as to how it’s come to this but there past record is speaking for its self.

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Installation was great, customer service dreadful

Installers were fantastic. Very poor communication, only time they would respond to my inquiries was for deposit or final payment. Otherwise completely ignored.
Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 01-01-2019:

All quotes were very well presented. Very little in the money for all quotes and all supplied details of what system they would be using, this allowed for research on those particular systems. No pressure tactics which I had when I contacted others before using this web site. We went with Solar smart in the end and had it all installed within weeks from the initial contact, I sleep easy. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked James: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

System has met my expectations and more.
Show Details

Original Review on 25-12-2018:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Antoine: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes, just did not expect winter performance to be so bad. Generated a lot less than expected.
Show Details

I like the cut of there jib!

After knowing what I wanted they offered best price , easy, great and quick customer service &installation !! Made the process seamless.
Show Details
Very happy overall. Their contractor did a great job fixing up the old meter box and installing a new one to meet regulations. All the work was very neat and tidy.

After one month the system is performing inline with expectations delivering 19.5kWh on a sunny day despite being shaded till about 10AM and facing west.
Show Details

Original Review on 24-07-2018:

Very good customer service. Installation took place 8 working days from placing order. Fronius Primo inverter with Trina Honey panels. Installation took about 4 hours and very happy with installers. They even replaced a few previously damaged roof tiles. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Mal: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system has performed to expectations.
Show Details
Show Details
Solar Smart staff were very easy to deal with right from sales, through tom installation. We were impressed with their knowledge and installation of the product.
Show Details
I bought a 5 kw system Longi panels and Fronius inverter from Solarsmart Maroochydore 4 days ago. I found their service to be great from Sue in the office to the installation team Chris,Josh and Rocco. Nothing was any trouble. System installed on date promised.
Show Details
System was installed without any issues. The sparkies explained how to navigate the inverter menu and set up the wireless monitoring and even gave me their business card in case I had any issues. They estimated the system would generate around 35kwh on a sunny day. I'm pleased to say that it's generating into the 40s. Very pleased
Show Details
Solar Smart gave us sound information and very good service. Installation was promptly carried out and completed in a very friendly, professional manner, and we are entirely happy with our new solar system.
Show Details
Only in for 1 day, so no bills to do a comparison yet.
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
Very happy with the advice,product, installation team and their office
Show Details
My husband dealt with Sue who was brilliant. She took the time to give us all details we needed to understand exactly what we needed. Great recommendations no hard sell and professional. Even the installers helped to point us to the Electricity provider who offered the best rates. In all, a great company who provides the whole package and we absolutely recommend Solar Smart!
Show Details
I had the old style wheel meters installed, there has been a lack of information from the elec retailer and the solar retailers about what will happen with the excess energy being generated by the system. My system was installed 10-8-18.

The energy retailer (Red Energy) had taken over one month to even being to arrange the smart meter installation with Energex, after being advised by me of of the installation two weeks before the work was done.

Also lacking was info from ALL parties on how the old disc style meters will affect power bills - until a smart meter is installed which allows the kw credits. I have been given an estimate for the current bill and probably been charged at least $100 too much and of course, no credits for the excess energy, as Red Energy say it has all 'gone to ground' due to connecting through the old style meters, and not back to the grid - is this true?

The elec retailer says they will credit me for the lost time in getting a smart meter installed, after the installation date, which is Oct 2.
Show Details
To find a company like Solarsmart is as my ratings have said fantastic. I called into their office and was impressed with their customer service. They installed the system in 4 days and once again the team that came were prompt and very efficient and professional. They went out of their way to explain everything I asked about and also replaced broken tiles they found during the instal. They were very competetive with their pricing and I have top of the range panels and invertor. Thanks to the whole team what a great experience I would not hesitate recommending them .
Show Details
The service from Solar Smart beginning to end was faultless.
A pleasure to deal with.
Show Details
They are easy to talk to and understand value for money number one installers where fantastic new what they were doing had it done in no time thats guys great service great people well done
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details

Original Review on 30-08-2017:

Thanks to your site Finn you saved me $5000 from the quote I originally got myself then I decided to check your quotes. I used Solar Smart one of your recommended installers, they did a great job without any hassles at all. Thank you, your doing a great service Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Maureen: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes from $500 - $600 power bill the dearest I have had is $22 that was when a lot of family staying
Show Details
We were very grateful for your web site making available the quotes and also all the information which we found very helpful in making our final choice. We are now waiting for our new meter to be installed.
Many thanks
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
There was a little misunderstanding as to what features our inverter had. Solar Smart went above and beyond to ensure we were totally satisfied with the product they had sold us. They could not have been more helpful in solving our small issue - we are extremely happy customers. Solar Smart definitely understands what Customer Service is all about, very refreshing these days. We are very particular in what we purchase, and we would have no hesitation in recommending this company for solar installation.
Show Details
Fantastic service from start to finish.
Guys did an awesome job installing, now if we could just get our power supplier to do an equally good job and get the meter out to us, I would be extremely impressed. Not the Solar guys fault, another reason to get away from electricity suppliers.... POOR service!
Show Details
After a lot of research, phone calls and 7 quotes I decided to go with Solar Smart, Maroochydore. From start to after sales service everything just flowed nicely. Greg, Sue and Chris, Rocky and Josh explained everything which was easy to understand, Chris the electrician was great, he even explained to my husband, that’s disabled , what he was doing. Highly Recommend this company, without a doubt if you need solar Solar Wise is the company to go with. Thankyou all very much. Cheers Faye, Jim, Tina & Daniel
Show Details
Show Details

Original Review on 21-06-2017:

I can't rate the quality of the system as yet. It's been on and working for about two weeks, and so far so good. We'll wait for the first bill from our supplier and then we'll be able to make an assessment on the system. I do feel that anything is going to plan and working well. The supplier, Solar Smart, fulfilled every requirement as promised and their agent, Peter, was able to answer any question we put to him. He seems to know the business well and was very polite and respectful.
We had two quotes from your recommended suppliers, the other being Halcol Energy. Their agent, Tony, was equally as knowledgeable and conducted himself in the same manner as Peter and I can't fault either of the companies you recommended.
Thank you for your help in assisting us with our solar installation.
Margo
Gympie
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: N/A
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Margo: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

We have had two full solar bills since the system was installed and one part electricity, part solar bill. Our third solar bill is due shortly.
Before having solar installed, our electricity bill was in the high 300s.
Our first solar bill was $27.82 and the second bill was $2.86. How could we not be happy?
Following the recommendation given to us by Finn, we got quotes and chose Solarsmart on the Sunshine Coast. Their representative, Peter, and installation crew did everything they promised to do within their time frame and with no hiccups.
The system cost $4000.00 and, had that money been invested with any bank, we would not have got the return on it that we're getting from the solar system. This is the best investment we've made in a long time, all thanks to you, Finn.
Regards,
Margo
Show Details
SolarSmart are a very professional team and I am very happy with the installation.

I purchased 24 Qcell Panels, A Fronius Primo Inverter as well as a Fronius Smart Meter which now tells me how much energy I consume from the Grid or put back to the grid. I has been a Pleasure dealing with Sue. She was fantastic sorting out any issues. She also recommended me to purchase the Smart Meter. I am glad I took her advise.

The onsite Team Chris, Luke and Dylan were very professional with the install. I highly recommend Solasmart. I would not use anyone else. I do hope to purchase a Battery in the future once the prices drop to a reasonable level. Thanks for all your assistance Greg, you have a fantastic team.
Show Details
Solar Panels installed on Monday 8th January.
Great job guys. Thanks to Solar Smart SA who have been awesome to deal with.
They quoted me a price late in Dec 2017 which was honoured in the new year without the increase in cost.
Couldn’t be happier.

Anyone looking for the best deal in Adelaide, give Damo a call or message him.
Awesome service and quick installation.
Show Details
Show Details
From the office staff to the installers they where all very professional, they answered all questions that I had ( and there where a few, being new to solar )
I would recommend to any family and friends.
Show Details
Show Details
Right from the first point of contact, we were treated as an important customer (thank you Sue). Information was provided quickly and all questions answered to our satisfaction. Our neighbour had already gone with this company and he too, was very happy. The Installation Team were amazing. On the day of installation, they arrived on time and everything went very smoothly. Chris, the Installation Supervisor was very professional and completed all paperwork for us as well as getting everything set up on our iPad. Why did we choose Solar Smart Qld above other companies - they did everything that a customer would expect - no hard sell, information given that we could understand as a lay person and provided us with extra panels, at no cost, which we thought was great. Since our installation two of our friends have already signed up with Solar Smart to have solar panels installed on the home.
Show Details
Show Details
These guys were super efficient, didn't try to upsell, great customer service.
Show Details
Show Details
Cannot recommend Solar Smart highly enough. Every aspect from quote through to installation and follow up post installation was first class.
They ranked number 1 in each of my cost, quality, service & lead time categories and overall were a mile in front of my other 8 quotes! An absolute pleasure to do business with.
Show Details
The whole team was professional, prompt and to the point from the time we made contact. They gave us options answered our questions offered us incentives to sign up and delivered under time. Our system is actually earning more kWh per day then they estimated so we are very happy.
Show Details
Show Details
Great service no complaints from me
Show Details
This is the 5th Solar install I have had in various properties. Northgate (Qld), Chisholm (ACT), Isabella Plains (ACT), Carwoola (NSW) and now Black Mountain (Qld). Of all the installs this has been the most pleasant from start to finish. All staff have been accommodating and very knowledgeable from sales to install. Not being my first install I knew what I wanted and did not choose the cheapest. They provided premium components Forionus Inverter and Q Cell Panels and I am very happy with the configuration with half the panels facing North and half facing North West which maximises the output for longer each day. Special mention to the installers very accommodating and minimised the power outage and were finished by lunch time. I would gladly discuss with anybody off line. I am an electrical engineer/project manager by trade.
Show Details
Prompt & professional service
Clean & tidy workmanship
Show Details
Greg from sales made the experience painless. He was fantastic to deal with and although I had lots of questions was happy to give me the time that I needed to make my decisions with no sales pressure from him. I also changed my mind a few times on panel arrangement as well as different inverters and each time was more than happy to fire off another quote. The installation team were awesome. More than happy to talk me through the whole process and answer any questions I had and their workmanship was very professional. Good to see that the "tradesmen" does still exist. Very efficient, turned up when they said they would, neat job and cleaned up after themselves including their packaging. Would recommend Solar Smart to anyone looking to install solar.
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: