PowerVault Newcastle

PowerVault Newcastle Reviews

About

PowerVault Newcastle is a Solar Power Installation company that services Newcastle and surrounds . Here are their reviews as submitted by visitors to SolarQuotes

Panels, inverter and battery brands

Panel brands previously installed

Inverter brands previously installed

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

PowerVault Newcastle Reviews (34)

Show Most Recent reviews from All time

Average Scores

4.0/5

Value for money

4.3/5

Quality of System

4.1/5

Installation

3.8/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 2
  • 4 star 22
  • 3 star 9
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0

View Timeline

Altogether very stressful experience. Firstly the date got moved and information flow was unreliable. We had to keep chasing. Installation in November 2018.

On installation day an unmarked van appeared with (apart from 1) non-English speaking people. Australian Powervault employees had been promised.

A major mistake happened with the wiring and an engineer had to come back a few days later to rewire the inverter.

It took several attempts to get the computer link to the Fronius inverter going so that we could monitor our in/output. Two nice employees tried their best to rectify it.

It took another 2 months to get the smart meter installed to finally benefit from rebates for power sent to the grid.

Finally we heard a few weeks later that Powervault had ceased trading, which was a big worry. However, Mark B took over part of the business and promised to honour the warranties we had been given.
The system has worked well so far.
Show Details

Original Review on 07-09-2018:

For some reason the 20 x 310 watt Jinko panels were replaced with Jinko 18 x 360 watt panels boosting the system from 6.2 kw to 6.4 kw. It also makes it easier to add more panels if needed. The company says the substitution was to "ensure smoother operation of the system" but I suspect it was really a stock in hand problem. No matter, I get the benefit. The installation isn't fined as to come is still the inverter (A Fronius Sumo). The unit delivered was 5kw so It was sent back for the 6kw. The Fronius smart meter is also yet to come.

For your general info: An Energy Australia representative told me that we could no longer change our tariff from ToU to a standard or fixed rate because the retailer would no longer do it. Very odd. The retailer told me that was "rubbish". Another Energy Australia representative (very cluey and obviously a higher rank) told me that it could be done but advised very strongly against it. It would cost us a lot more money. Our recent bill is for $811 and we used less current that the same period 2017. The same period last year was $660. My intention is to leave things the way we are and run with the solar system (when it is completed next week, hopefully) for one more quarter (for comparison reasons). After that, change to a fixed rate. There's only two of us and we have solar hot water on a dedicated off-peak circuit. I would like to say a big thank you too Solar Quote- for the invaluable knowledge and help.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked David: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes
Show Details

Original Review on 29-07-2018:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: N/A
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Michael: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system is fine. But Power Vault are an absolute nightmare to deal with. No after sales support at all. Their installers damaged a sky light and refuse to fix the damage.
Show Details

Original Review on 14-05-2018:

Solar Australia were great too however when I went to order the system from them I couldn't get through. I left a couple of messages then the mailbox was full and I could not get a response or a return phone call. I decided to try power vault again to see if they would do a better price and they did so I went with them. Original ratings

Panel rating: 2/5
Inverter rating: 3/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Nerida: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Absolutely not
The on going customer service from Powervault is disgusting. Still not connected and can't get anyone to help me. When you ring the toll free number, you get a Sydney office however it's like you have called somebody's home number. If I had of known this was their customer service I would NEVER have gone with this company. I am unable to deal with the people that sold me the system as they have left. The system is not delivery what we are told it would either. Avoid this company!!
Show Details

Original Review on 23-04-2018:

I found the quotes offered from the suppliers through SolarQuotes to be most useful in establishing baseline information on cost, quality and system variation. In the end I received a competitive price from a local supplier and used the knowledge gained to provide the system I wanted. Thanks SolarQuotes for the service provided it made the process far more certain and allowed me to discuss design options with suppliers with confidence. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 3/5

8 months later we asked Mark: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The Enphase system installed by PowerVault has exceeded my expectations. I like to see what's happening and the Enphase system can be interrogated any time to view performance. Graphs display production versus consumption by hour; day; or month and Enphase provide regular monthly reports on overall production. I'm not easily impressed but I am impressed by the Enphase system.
Show Details

Original Review on 30-03-2018:

Very responsive and knowledgeable sales staff Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Thomas: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

I have ongoing issues with over-voltage causing the inverter to operate in a reduced-output state (Notice 567). This is an improvement on the original situation, which had the inverter isolating itself for 3-4 hours in the peak of the day when grid voltage was reaching 258V. After a lengthy wait Ausgrid has finally made some network adjustments bu tI'm still not entirely satisfied.

This issue was not something that was brought to my attention prior to installation, yet my installer has said that it is a rather common occurrence. I'm rather mad about the hassle and the fact that the reduced output really changes the value of getting solar in the first place.
Show Details

Original Review on 22-01-2018:

Installation delayed because of Christmas period and lack of availability of Inverter Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: N/A
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

9 months later we asked Jim: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Although there were some frustrating delays with the installation and fitment of Smartmeter, system seems to be performing well and producing anticipated cost saving in power bill.
Show Details
Show Details
I haven't got it installed yet as we're waiting for grid approval which takes a few weeks. Looking forward to it!
Show Details

Original Review on 01-01-2018:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 3/5

8 months later we asked Vince: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes
Show Details
Show Details

Original Review on 07-12-2017:

We chose PowerVault Newcastle as recommended by your Solar Quotes website. Your website provided all the information we needed, so when they came to do our quote we had a good idea of what we were looking for. PowerVault has exceeded our expectations and I would recommend them to anyone. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Tracy: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes , we are very happy with our Solar Installation. I can see what sort of power we are producing throughout the day. Very happy to have made the change to Solar.
Show Details
Do not use this company for your solar installation if you wish to avoid delays, poor communication and sloppy administration. I received an initial estimate by email and this was followed up by a visit from a representative who was knowledgeable and informative. I was also informed that if I signed up before the end of November 2017 I would not come under the freedom of choice of installer that started on 1st December and that they could install the meter. This turned out to be untrue. Following the initial visit, all of my subsequent emails requesting information as to why installation was delayed, went unanswered.

Their engineers showed me a roof plan but days before this it was changed apparently at the request of the installers. No effort was made to contact me to discuss this and as a result I have some unsightly panels on one roof.

Installation was finally completed 3 months after I signed the contract but no reason was given. I then had to wait a further 3 months for the meter to be connected by Energy Australia. This may have taken longer had I not contacted Energy Ausralia myself to find that Powervault had given them a wrong telephone number, that they had been using to try and contact me regarding installation.

I find it unacceptable that it should take 6 months to get a working solar system installed. This was responsible for me not saving on the cost of electricity during summer where generation is highest and the cost of running air conditioning and pool pumps the greatest.

When I made my final payment I requested a receipt for this and some 6 weeks later I am still waiting to receive it

The only positive in the story was the quality of the service provided by the installers who did a great job and communicated well. Thanks to Nathan and Steve of Kraft Electrical Newcastle. I have used this company for subsequent unrelated electrical work
Show Details

Original Review on 07-10-2017:

Panels are on roof but waiting on meter update. Thanks for your assistance it was greatly appreciated. I used your info and comparison sheet to campare quotes. Your info was a great help in selecting which panels and inverter to buy. I felt I was better able to make an informed choice due to your assistance.
I have recommended your website to others.
I will contact you again when I'm looking for a battery system.
Thanks
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: N/A
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 5/5

9 months later we asked Allan: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Absolutely!
Show Details
Seems the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing...!!!!!!
Show Details

Original Review on 26-09-2017:

They were only too willing to come to site and give as much advice as we required. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Ron: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Cannot comment. Installation company were fantastic however Origin Energy and Ausgrid completely stuffed up their paperwork and kept insisting that our installer had not Installed the right meters and supplied the necessary paperwork to issue the correct meter readings for them to give and actual meter reading. To this day, I have not had one full solar bill to calculate the savings. NOT HAPPY JAN.
Show Details

Original Review on 24-09-2017:

The installer only gave me less than 24hrs of date to install. Had to wait approx. 1 month to complete the grid connection. Also approx. 2 week delay to get Wi-Fi access to inverter. I am very happy now that the solar experience is completed. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Terry: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

yes.
Show Details
In process of being installed
Show Details
Great company. Very informative and easy to deal with. Not my cheapest quote, but felt like best value.
Show Details

Original Review on 19-09-2017:

Overall a very satisfying experience that I will be passing on to others Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

7 months later we asked Jonathan: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes - bang on
Show Details
The solar system took longer than expected to be approved. I believe this to be due to the holidays and influx of more people wanting solar before Christmas. Power Vault also contacted me and said there was a shortage of 8kW inverters. They sent me an email last week confirming it has been approved.I hope it all gets under way soon. Thank you to you and your staff for helping me through this.

Thanks Alan
Show Details
I think your website is a tremendous resource and I know that one friend who I referred to your site also has committed and her system is being installed mid January. I have referred a number of other friends and colleagues to your site because it really is a centralised place for all things solar.
Thank you.
Show Details
Mark was the most informative when questioned. Also made suggestions that helped us decide on future expansions like batteries later down the track.
Show Details
Show Details
3 no shows for delivery / installation of the system, this seems to be a common theme with solar providers.
Show Details
Having a knowledgeable person provide clear guidance and engage with my specific circumstances made all the difference.
Show Details
Not yet installed.
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
Every supplier told us something different,Prices had a huge difference.Had to take in all information and sort it out ourselves
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
I had a 3.48kW System 12 x 290 ET panels and a SMA Sunnyboy Inverter installed for $5000 including tilt frames fully complete and I could not rate Powervault in Newcastle any higher in every way. I am very happy with the end result and the price I paid.
Great thanks must go to Finn Peacock and his web site for all of the assistance through this exercise.
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: