Nu Energy

Nu Energy Reviews

About

For real customers' experiences of Nu Energy, see the many reviews below.

Here's what the Nu Energy Website has to say:

Nu Energy is an Australian company, and has been providing renewable energy solutions for Australia’s commercial and residential sectors for more than 20 years. They have installed thousands of solar photovoltaic (PV) and solar hot water systems for companies and families.

Nu Energy has a nationwide branch network enabling them to provide service anywhere in Australia.

NU Energy employs over 180 people throughout Australia and only employs qualified electrical installers.

Customer testimonials for Nu Energy are available, and include the following: “I want to tell you that the two young blokes who did the job went about it in a very professional way; courteous and well mannered. I must say you have fine company representatives. Their explanation of the system, and what happens next was very informative”.

“Just a short note to say thank you to the Nu Energy team for installing our 1kW grid connect solar energy system so efficiently. Paper work was submitted per schedule and the reimbursement cheque arrived yesterday without any prompting”.

Generally the reviews are mostly positive but where they are criticised the common theme seems to be Customer Service and delays in installation. Perhaps these can be put down to struggling with rapid growth?

Panels, inverter and battery brands

Panel brands previously installed

Inverter brands currently installed

Inverter brands previously installed

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

Nu Energy Reviews (164)

Show Most Recent reviews from All timeacross Australia

Average Scores

4.1/5

Value for money

3.8/5

Quality of System

4.1/5

Installation

3.6/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 22
  • 4 star 83
  • 3 star 37
  • 2 star 11
  • 1 star 11

View Timeline

Quality installation & fantastic service!

We were one of the early adopters of solar, and NuEnergy installed our 1.5kW system over 11 years ago that hadn't skipped a beat since the day it was installed. Then suddenly during COVID lockdown, we got a text from Solar Trip telling us that our PV system is not exporting power to the grid.

With the system our of warranty, we were at loss as to what to do since it was out of warranty. We called NuEnergy as a long shot, but they treated us as if we just had our system installed. The excellent customer service we received is beyond anything we could have hoped to expect after 11 years!

To cut the story short, they really did all of the leg work and running around without us having to do anything our end. They explained everything to us clearly, gave us realistic options and organized for everything that needed to be done to get our system back up and running again.

Amazing company to deal with, one we highly recommend to anyone looking for genuine customer service and honest, reliable advice. They really know what they're doing and you won't find better out there.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

I am so happy that we went ahed with Nu Energy

We installed 15 x 330W panels with Enphase micro-inverters in our inner east Melbourne home last year. The system is making a significant dent to our energy bills. I would recommend Nu Energy to anyone. Excellent customer service from Ben working in with our builder and pool company which made it all the more easier.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Solar for family home

We installed in our Rosanna family home an Enphase system to meet our needs. We don’t have the easiest roof for solar but on the day the installers adapted the original design to ensure we got 17 panels installed. Am loving watching the app to see how much the system generates versus our household consumption. Highly recommended!
Show Details

Couldn’t be happier

I have just had 13 x 385W Jinko panels with Enphase microinverters installed today in Hawthorn and I'm looking fwd to seeing my energy bill plummet! The installation was efficient, highly professional and would recommend Nu Energy's services to anyone looking to lower their energy bills...
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Prompt attention and service follow up

I have a Nu Energy 1.5kw system installed 10 years ago and it has been great with no issues, and generates in excess of 9k/wh on a good day. The original Eversolar inverter has just failed, and I contacted Ben at Nu Energy and he arranged to get a new one delivered, and for installers to contact me.

New Zeversolar inverter was couriered to me and installation completed within 8 days. Great effort.

By the way my electrical retailer sent an email suggesting I check my solar as they had picked up it was not working. I had already noticed by the higher electricity bill I had received.
Show Details

Very happy and a great experience!

We had 27 panels installed over winter and now starting to really see the fruits of everyone's labour!

The app is excellent and i check it daily to schedule the best time and usage for my domestics and all electrical usage. I see my usage and what im sending back to the grid at any time of day. It was sometimes hard to get hold of someone right away but they boys were always attentive and got back to me within 12 hours or so. I am loving my good solar days and would and have recommended Nu Energy again and again.
Show Details
Show Details

Disgusting shonks that even the ombudsmen couldn't run to ground after confrontation.

Initial discussions with sales staff and contract settling were polite and helpful.. but they are just ring ins not actual employees. The installer was helpful and seemed to be knowledgeable about the job to be performed. Two years approx. later the system failed. Company from Ballarat who installed said installer no longer employed and none of their concern.. New energy were virtually impossible to contact by phone for weeks with only a telstra message of non service. Business premise appears not to exist at given address. Only made contact when ombudsman contacted them and Ben the reportedly new owner rudely acknowledged. Then after demands for photocopy of contracts and much back and forth info about what the inverter read out which was almost unreadable since day one said was informed that they no longer supplied aerosharp and that I could now purchase and have fitted at my expense their new model. The ombudsman who was helpful as can be was then given the run around from who again needed photocopies of the original documents thru him .. This after months and stonewalling of them concluded with would have to proceed with vcat have had no feed in for approx 5 yrs. and the whole debacle has left a bitter taste in my mouth.. why is the government virtually hands off on this. If there is ever a class action kindly add my name to the list to take down these mongrels... do not under any circumstance purchase..I might add that in recent storm I discovered that the installer who as I indicated previously I was satisfied with broke a tile on a terracotta roof left under the panels which then leaked thru and damaged my ceiling when the mastic repair failed.
Show Details
My solar system has been an awful mess . The panels have big arc marks and three have shattered through faults.the inverter died right on 5years which they claimed wasn't their problem.
I have a solar hot water system which has failed three times that they don't want to know about.
Contacting Ben is a waste of time he fobs you off.
Do not deal with this company go to a rep dealer locally you might pay a bit more and not have bad service after your systems are installed
Still waiting for response after six months but i have older panels they say hard to get, bull....
Anyway take a word of advice do not deal with this company
Show Details
Bought From:Nu Energy 2014
the salesman was up front it was made in china, but had said it far from junk
when call him out to give a quote had came with zeversolar inverter
he said it backed by one of bigger German inverter .
he said show my your other inverter on wall it was geoprotek.
the zeversolar look so much better made and salesman said look at connectors.
there unit had two female connecter on. I didn't understand what he was talking about
He said if it has to be disconnected it can easy mix wires about and blow you inverter
look at zever it has male and female and cant be mixed up by the untraded eye
As you see for yourself how the paint looks like it got 10 years fading and 2 screws holding it to wall backing plate is rusting and so small.
I replied you know a lot for salesman, his reply im a trained installer and still give the guys a hand when we short handed.
when guy left told me not to turn new solar on to you get the new net meter. They ever offer to check the old unit to make sure it working.
thy ever put some new tubing as he said the last install has put tubing facing the weather. so they place about meter tube running down wall to inverter. I said how much more do I need to give you for that. He said the last installing should had this behind the wall. I said to him I think I still have paper work and he earth Energy has gone broke in Newcastle. He told if I had problem's with old inverter told he who to contact in Sydney. I sorry guys i'm not good letter writer

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details
Brought 8 solar panels with inverter installed 5 years ago, we are on our fifth inverter. Six weeks it takes for the company to replace the inverter with a second hand inverter.
Show Details
You never contact us very very poor
Inverter rating: 1/5
Show Details
NuEnergy are now unreachable - 15 emails and calls has netted two replies asking for photos and then.....silence.
Inverter rating: 1/5
Show Details
The system Nu Energy installed broke down completely after approximately 4 years. When approached to fix or replace the system they ran a mile from their warranty like a dodgy used car salesman. Please don't use this company.
Show Details
No one is ever on time.
Show Details
Zeversolar inverter has now died again, system installed 2010, 2nd replacement inverter installed 2/14 and needs another replacement, Zeversolar are very slow approx 2 months to replace, NuEnergy dosen't help just supplies a warranty form to send to Zever you have to do all the warranty chasing yourself, would I recommend them NO.
Each time your down for a couple of months you lose.
The first time it failed I put in a claim for lost income that didn't work either they don't care, Zever always says we are waiting on a shipment to arrive, really.
Show Details
I have a 1.5 unit now but I wish to upgrade to a 3 unit now.
Show Details
I went with dc ...one inverter so later on i can maybe load shift via batteries under my house and i still have rrom for another system later as technology improves again..hedging my bets a little
Show Details
Show Details
Contacted them in April 2013 stating our solar system wasn't working. They said it was probably the Inverter and someone would be out to look at it in 4 weeks. Several phone calls and emails generated the same answer from Nu Energy for weeks.
About August 2013 their representative arrived and stated the Inverter was faulty and needed replacing. Another 4 months has gone by and still our system hasn't been fixed.
We have now been without solar for over 12 months.
Nu Energy is very loose with the truth and are not to be trusted. If they were the last solar installation company on the planet I wouldn't have solar and I would have more money in my pocket.
Show Details
No after care service, NU energy do not answer their phone and do not respond to emails. I have now gone to Fair Trading in WA to get the inverter fixed that is under warranty but there is no one to service or fix it in WA as company does not have any local contractors........

Stay clear......
Show Details
I concur with Terence's comments. Initial purchase/installation was fine. Went with this company after a friends recommendations. Of course the salesman was great, the installation went smoothly and an electrician friend confirmed that installation was good. It went downhill rapidly after that when the inverter died. To say that the experience of dealing with the After Sales 'Customer Service' area was the single most frustrating, infuriating and never-ending drama is an understatement. When advising the Cust Service member that we would be addressing the issue with the Office of Fair Trading, the reply was that they didn't respond to 'threats' and to 'Go Ahead Mr XXXXXXXX'...

Not only was there the loss of feedback to the grid, but the time spent and money on the ongoing phone-calls, arguments, variances in reasons as to why they couldn't resolve the issue. However, they advised that they would install another inverter, but at a cost (even though we were still under warranty for the defective product) The CEO is TOTALLY uncontactable, so no joy there. Check out the Whirlpool forum for the legion of disgruntled customers. Its the same story. Apparently Nu Energy were not concerned with the Customer Feedback on this forum. Go Figure...
Show Details
NuEnergy Is the worst company I have ever dealt with. Be warned if you deal with this company you will be very very sorry.

I have warned you. Go to some other supplier.
Show Details

Original Review on 23-05-2011:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

17 months later we asked Sheree: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Absolutely and even better than expected
Show Details

Original Review on 15-07-2011:

Connection still hasn't been done due to the installers incorrectly doing their job. Just got another electrian to fix everything and now waiting on the electrical certificate.
Should have had it connected 2 months ago.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: N/A
Installation: 1/5
Customer Service: 2/5

14 months later we asked Regan: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Definately. We are making huge savings since installing the system. It will pay itself off in about 18 months
Show Details

Original Review on 02-05-2011:

Very quick install, less than 7 days from purchase and this includes Inspection and sign off Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

17 months later we asked Paul: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes
Show Details

Original Review on 23-08-2010:

Five weeks have now passed since we paid a deposit. I would like to think that it will be in place within the three months time frame. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

25 months later we asked Max: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system is performing better than my expectations
Show Details

Original Review on 24-03-2011:

Deposit paid but not yet installed so hard to comment just yet. Original ratings

Panel rating: 3/5
Inverter rating: 2/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

18 months later we asked Lukkina: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

No
Show Details

Original Review on 04-08-2011:

I had quotes ranging from 9,500 to 5000.
Nu Energy were the best organised re information,the panels and Inverters they offered compared very well with the others (Aurora inverter; QSE 260 watt panels).
The installation was done on time and efficiently,plus the electrical supplier connected within the 10 working days as per the contract(which requires paper work from myself and Nu energy to be done on time).
I could not see the difference re equipment ,between the Nu Energy quote and all the others ( I checked panels and Inverters on line etc.)
I paid 5,000
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

14 months later we asked David: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

yes the system has performed as promised, I am very happy with the outcome .
Show Details

Original Review on 17-06-2011:

This whole solar thing is still a very much unknown topic. My system a 2.08 kWh ($3863) through Nu Energy was on average 55% cheaper than 10 other suppliers. It has only been up and running for 2 weeks producing anywhere between 2.5 kWh - 7 kWh per day which I'm told is okay for this time of the year. Until the correct import / export meter is installed (on average 4 months after completion of the system) the unit is obviously not returning us any real benefit. Sure my unit maybe a cheaper system however this is what my budget allowed. It has the same warranty as the other units. Time will be a crucial factor in all the new systems being installed as to quality and how long the companies stick around for once the work slows down. As far as Nu Energy goes they have been great. A special thanks to Tom and his team of installers for a fantastic job. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 1/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 3/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

15 months later we asked Mike: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

yes definitely.
Show Details

Original Review on 26-05-2011:

I have only had the system for less than a week and it is not yet connected to the grid so My comments must be viewed in that light. The system is actually 2.5 kw and the $7200 I thought was good value with the 3 kw inverter (10 yr warranty). I was pretty keen to have someone with a local office. Nu energy had staff who came when they said they would, did what they said they would and performed a friendly and efficient service.
I found solar quotes informative and a very good place to start for getting my head around the solar power world. Thanks for you efforts.

Paul from Hobart
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

16 months later we asked Paul: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Over the financial year I have received about %10 of my purchase price in power savings. The system was installed at a lower angle than most in the area, I still wonder if that was a good decision.
Show Details

Original Review on 06-08-2010:

Salesman from two free quotes seemed very helpful. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

25 months later we asked Stephen: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes it seems to be going fine .
Show Details

Original Review on 05-07-2010:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

27 months later we asked Greg: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

yes its a shame the bloody goverment keeps changing the rules on feed in taffies i went from 66 cents to 44
Show Details

Original Review on 31-05-2010:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

28 months later we asked Ian: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

No problems so far with any part of the system.
Show Details

Original Review on 31-07-2010:

NU ENERGY NEEDED PROMPTING TO OBTAIN A RECEIPT/FEEDBACK. STAFF I DEALT WITH WERE PLEASANT AND CO-OPERATIVE. OBTAINED AN INSTALL DATE SIX WEEKS AFTER PAYING DEPOSIT.

INSTALLATION DUE IN TWELVE DAY'S. AS OF TODAY'S DATE.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

26 months later we asked MAXWELL: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

THE SYSTEM HAS EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS.
Show Details

Original Review on 25-08-2010:

Nuenergy were great in their upfront service and details. The contracters were very professional and answered all questions that we had. They didn't even mind us watching them do their work (as I know alot of contractors dont like this). All I can say is Nuenergy keep up your professional service, I've already passed on your name to a few of our friends as they themselves are looking at solar energy. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

25 months later we asked Tracey: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes and so much more
Show Details

Original Review on 01-06-2010:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 3/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 3/5
Customer Service: 4/5

28 months later we asked Rebecca: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The panels have outperformed our expectations & they should have paid for themselves in about 3 years - of course the feed in Tariff has dropped quite a bit since ours were installed!!!
Show Details

Original Review on 30-11-2010:

This company is a little un organised and the accounts are very very slow, but I recommend that you you put up with this, as the installers are A grade and the quality of installation was great. I checked everything including the roof space, where I found neatly pin cliped cables and no broken tiles.
I have installed a 2.5Kw system @ $7600 plus $385 for level 2 Electrician to install meter for buy back.
I face north in zone 3 and in 71 days @.60c a Kw I generated $495. My best day so far was 15.5Kw or $9.30. Please note new NSW customers only get 20c per KW but if you go with AGL they are paying a premium currently of 8c Kw subject to change, so It is still possible to get 28c a KW so new customers could break even in about 6 to 7 years, after that its 100 percent savings.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 3/5

21 months later we asked Sean: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system is on track to pay the $8000 installation cost back in 4 years I am making approx $500 and up a quarter at 60c a KW depending on the time of year and weather.
In 2 years I have generated 6500KW which at 60c a KW = $3900 . I live in Sydney and the panels face North with no shade and are installed at 30 deg slop fixed position non tracking.
Show Details

Original Review on 06-12-2010:

though company is in metropolitan Melbourne they use local electricians to install system; in case of a problem customer gets quick service because of a local installer. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 2/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

21 months later we asked Edmund: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

overall yes apart from the problem with the inverter
Show Details

Original Review on 30-08-2010:

GREAT TRADE PERSONS Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

25 months later we asked FRANK: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

yes
Show Details

Original Review on 18-02-2011:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 3/5
Inverter rating: 3/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 3/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

19 months later we asked Garry: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

no
Show Details

Original Review on 16-06-2010:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

27 months later we asked Dave: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Going well, although my installer, Sunsavers, does not exist anymore!
Show Details

Original Review on 17-06-2010:

not having it done in the time quoted 3 months now tell us another 4weeks before instalation Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 1/5
Quality of System: 1/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 2/5

27 months later we asked Keith: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

yes
Show Details

Original Review on 22-06-2010:

Too early to tell. Installation not complete yet, inverter still to come, connection to the grid to be made yet. Original ratings

Panel rating: 3/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 2/5
Quality of System: 3/5
Installation: 1/5
Customer Service: 3/5

27 months later we asked Peter: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes, so far so good.

It is only 2 years since installation - it will be more interesting to see the performance in 5, 10 and more years.
Show Details
Show Details

Original Review on 18-06-2010:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

27 months later we asked Lyle: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes, the system has performed very well and the installers were very efficient during the installation. It is providing more than enough excess power back into the grid that I have not had to pay a power bill since installation 2.5 years ago.
This is a 3kw system. You would have to be mindful if you run a reverse cycle airconditioner regularly. We tend to use the evaporative all the time in summer almost 24hrs a day, sometimes.
Show Details

Original Review on 17-06-2010:

the buying,installing ,and paying for the system was all good Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

27 months later we asked Brian: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

yes very happy with it as i have a credit of 400 dollars with my power supplier
Show Details
Nuenergy themselves got rid of the person I was dealing with, then it became hard to deal with them might be better now as it was during a bad time. The electrical sub contracter was great.
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: