Sky Solar

Sky Solar Reviews

About

Sky Solar is a Solar Power Installation company based in Williams Landing and serves VIC. Here are their reviews as submitted by visitors to SolarQuotes
Panels, inverter and battery brands

Panel brands currently installed

Panel brands previously installed

Inverter brands currently installed

Inverter brands previously installed

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

Sky Solar Reviews (14)

Show Most Recent reviews from All timeacross Australia

Average Scores

4.4/5

Value for money

4.2/5

Quality of System

4.5/5

Installation

4.0/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 2
  • 4 star 10
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0

View Timeline

Great price

Great price but salesperson is extremely hard to contact afterwards. There is no direct number, or surname provided. I also requested consumption monitoring so I could gauge how much I was consuming as well as generating but all I got was how much I was generating.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details
Greatest to deal with, from start to finish. But after sales service is worst ever, if you have any issues. Good luck, took us 8 weeks to have failed inverter replaced.
Inverter rating: 1/5
Show Details

Original Review on 22-05-2019:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Les: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes.
Show Details

Cheaper install on the same high end products

We received quotes from a lot of different people on our 6.5kw Jinko system with a 5kw Sungrow Inverter. And for the same product, these guys were over a $1000 cheaper. Install was done within 2 weeks. I'm no expert so I don't know how the quality of their install compares to others. But so far the panels are delivering the numbers as promised.
Thanks
Show Details
Hello and sorry we had to go outside your three recommendations, one was a not good and one was very expensive and dominant!! (neither did you justice and should have not been recommended). Another was fantastic in almost every way, but sadly almost $1000- dollars more than the superb system we now have. We wish to thank you for your help, we learnt a lot about solar from you and without it, we would not have got the great deal and system we are enjoying now. Many Many Thanks Roy and Judith Gardener (ps we held off on this reply until all was finished, up and running and signed off)
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details

Original Review on 15-11-2017:

Hi,

Some of our friends have shown an interest in our installation of solar panels on our roof in July 2017, We have deliberately waited until we had one full Quarter of unobstructed electricity generation to see how this investment in Solar Panels panned out

Some History:-
We live in a 20 yr old, Large 4 Bedroom, 2 Garage brick and tile roof suburban house with a large pool, air-conditioning, Insulated roof cavity, Solahart hot water, Sauna and No gas appliances situated on the north side of Brisbane. There are only generally 2 of us but we did have a son stay with for a few weeks last quarter

Previous power use:-

The last 8 quarters of Electric Power bills from Origin Energy were as follows

Aug 2015 ---- $533
Nov 2015---- $454
Feb 2016----$747
June2016----$565
Aug 2016----$556
Nov 2016----$470
Feb 2017----$621
June2017----$531

Av. Bill = $560 per Quarter

We started looking at solar earlier this year and ended up with about 10 quotes with the stipulation that they quote and install (the biggest under existing Law) a 6.5kv system with a 5 kv Fronius inverter made in Austria (which is battery ready when batteries are cheap enough to install) and tier 1 solar panels. We ended up with quotes ranging from $4480 to $7100. We accepted a quote with 26 x 270w Lightway solar panels and of course the 5kw Fronius inverter

In July we entered a monthly ongoing contract with Origin Energy to get 14c per kv generated from solar and they charge us 26.96c per kv for any power we use from the grid. ( we exported (1844kw) or 2.5 times as much into the grid then we took out (744kw) at night) during the quarter in what I must say was a rather cool, wet and cloudy spring for Queensland.

The only changes we made to our lifestyle were that we converted where practical all light bulbs from Fluro to LED , had the pool pump on at midday instead of midnight and if we thought about it we would set the dishwasher and washing machine to do a load during the day if we were out. But we will still use the Sauna and dryer after dusk if we feel like it

We had a bill for last quarter (Nov 2017) of $62 for 3 months power use or 69 cents a day

If we can keep our bills at around $62 then the payback time on the $4480 solar investment is two and a quarter years or over 44% per year return on our investment - After 2.25 years we have free power or very minimal bills for the next 20 yrs and/or until cheaper batteries arrive?????

We will keep you informed
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

4 months later we asked Peter: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Hi,
Some of our friends have shown an interest in our installation of solar panels on our roof in July 2017, We have deliberately waited until we had two full Quarters of unobstructed electricity generation to see how this investment in Solar Panels panned out

Some History:-
We live in a 20 yr old, Large 4 Bedroom, 2 Garage brick and tile roof suburban house with a large pool, air-conditioning, Insulated roof cavity, Solarhart hot water, Sauna and No gas appliances situated on the north side of Brisbane. There are only generally 2 of us but we did have a son stay with for a few weeks last quarter

Previous power use:-
The last 8 quarters of Electric Power bills from Origin Energy were as follows;-

Aug 2015 ----$533
Nov 2015---- $454
Feb 2016----$747
June2016---- $565
Aug 2016---- $556
Nov 2016---- $470
Feb 2017---- $621
June2017---- $531

Av. Bill = $560

Solar Panels installed 24/7/2017
Nov 2017----$62
Feb 2018----$61

We started looking at solar earlier last year and ended up with about 10 quotes with the stipulation that they quote and install (the biggest under existing Law) a 6.5kv system with a 5 kv Fronius inverter made in Austria (which is battery ready when batteries are cheap enough to install) and tier 1 solar panels. We ended up with quotes ranging from $4480 to $7100. We accepted a quote with 24 x 270w Lightway solar panels and of course the 5kw Fronius inverter from Sky Solar for $4480

In July we entered a monthly ongoing contract with Origin Energy to get 14c per kv generated from solar and they charge us 26.96c per kv for any power we use from the grid. ( as you can see from the above bills, we exported (1844kw) or 2.5 times as much into the grid then we took out (744kw) at night during the August - November quarter 2017 in what I must say was a rather cool wet and cloudy spring for Queensland. (Bill was $62.00) In the November to Feburary 2018 Quarter we generated (2052 kw) and used (877 kw) -- (Our Bill was $61.00)

The only changes we made to our lifestyle were that we converted where practical all light bulbs from Fluro to LED , had the pool pump on at midday instead of midnight and if we thought about it we would set the dishwasher and washing machine to do a load during the day if we were out. But Helen will still use the Sauna and dryer after dusk if feels like it

As you can see we had a bill for last quarter (Nov 2017) of $62 for 3 months power use and $61 for the next quarter or 69 cents a day

If we can keep our bills at around $62 then the payback time on a $4480 investment is two and a quarter years or over 44% per year return on our investment - After 2.25 years free power or very minimal bills with an on going return of at least 44% forever on the $4480 invested in 2017 and when batteries arrive?????

We will keep you informed

Best wishes Peter and Helen
Show Details
Show Details
We went with sky solar, not on your list but mentioned very favourably by a number of your reviewers and a good write -up on your website. it was a toss up with eurosolar found from the same source. The three you suggested all came with quotes at least $1000 higher. Lastly Skysolar upgraded the panels for no extra cost when they ran out of stock. same brand and model no. but higher specs with iron free glass. Many thanks, regards Carey E
Show Details
I have yet to have the solar panels installed. I will let you know how it all goes, thank you.
Show Details
Smooth and fast installation
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details
No hassles sales and installation. Professional and polite. Good job.
Show Details
Had system installed 2 and half years ago , inverter stopped working 4 weeks ago still waiting for replacement. No one returns calls to let you know whats going on .very poor service id go somewhere else.not happy
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: