True North Solar

True North Solar Reviews

About

True North Solar say they "are a passionate renewable energy company that is driven by people's desire to reduce or to eliminate their electricity bills."

"There is no better feeling than when one of our customers contacts us to tell us that their power bill went from $500.00 before solar, to $150.00 in credit after the solar system was installed. Knowing that we can save someone more than $2000.00 per year every year is not only rewarding for myself, but for everyone that works at True North Solar."

"These messages of surprise and amazement from our customers are displayed for all staff to see, and the impact on them is evident."

"We constantly strive to do more, to be better and to deliver outstanding results for our customers."

They have a working 10kW solar display centre at their workshop: Unit 5 22 Hills street Garbutt which is open to everyone.

Reviewers report paying: $7,500 - $8,450 for depending on hardware choice and installation difficulty ( how is this calculated? )

Panels, inverter and battery brands

Panel brands currently installed

Panel brands previously installed

Inverter brands currently installed

Inverter brands previously installed

Battery brands currently installed

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

True North Solar Reviews (54)

Show Most Recent reviews from All timeacross Australia

Average Scores

4.2/5

Value for money

4.6/5

Quality of System

4.6/5

Installation

4.6/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 17
  • 4 star 33
  • 3 star 4
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

View Timeline

Original Review on 27-07-2020:

Solar replacement

Quote was easily arranged and prompt, they came to site and quoted on the spot.
Installation team was courteous and informed, removed old system including rails and installed new system with all new isolators and wiring. Cleaned up pretty well though did get a few bits of earth insulation down the drainpipe in the next rain event. Isolated supply before entering roof cavity as per safety regulations.
They did all paperwork prior to arrival.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Stephen: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Above expectations
Show Details

Original Review on 11-07-2020:

Explanation and type of unit for my requirements. No hidden costs. Installers recòmmended panel set up for future upgrades

True North Solar were the only ones out of 5 quotes that explained what was the type,and size required to be installed. They kept me informed of when the installation would be done.
The installation crew very informative, work was clean and tidy and set up the internet for information.
I am very happy with them and would have no hesitation in recommending them to other friends
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Robin: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes Very happy with it compared to the old system
Show Details

Above and Beyond

The communication from the company was excellent and it was installed within a number of hours (About 4-5 hours). True North had about 6 crew working on the install, which if you know how much labour costs, that’s allot of crew to have at one job on a residential property.

After the install, one of the installers led me through the inverter, including showing how to shut the system down safely and power it back on. They also connected the cloud part of the system for monitoring and checked the meter for showing usage was also communicating with the inverter.

After the installation within about a week, I received a 25MB zip file with all images of the panels and their serials along with a copy of the invoice, warranty certificates, manuals and a recommended maintenance and inspection schedule. Which I intend on following as close as possible.

As a customer I felt well looked after and setup for solar success.

I would highly recommend True North Solar.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Excellent Installation

Quote and Sales, had an actual person show up to discuss options.
Installation went very well, Turned up on time and completed the job in a professional manner.
All paperwork and grid connections were done by the supplier.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details
We did look at the suppliers you recommended but we choose a True North because of the product and warranty
Show Details
Show Details
The salesman Rob was honest and took the time to explain everything, he even recommended splitting the panels so you get morning and afternoon sun to maximize solar output. The system was installed when they said it would be and was installed neat and tidy. No mess left behind either.
Show Details
The detailed information from you was much appreciated and influenced our choice.
Show Details
Show Details
Installed Aug. 2017 (12 months ago ). We dealt with Rob from True North. Rob and the whole installation team were fantastic. We ran with LG neo2, 330w panels (18 panels ). We waited 12 months before making this review, and the whole system has been spot on during this period. Will have paid for itself in about 5 years. A pleasure to do business with and being a local company was the icing on the cake. A quick thank you to Tamara in the office. Very pleasant girl over the phone. Thank you a True North Solar.
Show Details
It is very difficult to compare systems in the end I went for a system with 21 x 300W LG Panels. I could have bought cheaper systems but with more panels and panel space was a premium on the roof. I also bought from an Installer based is Townsville that was important to me.
Show Details
They were to only company to send out an Electrician (Rob) to do the site inspection and organize the deal.
They were the only company to do a full monitoring system with the inverter not being mounted at the meters.
Monitoring shows us what is Used by the house, what's made, what's exported or imported via the Fronius app
This is easy done if your Ergon Meter is next to the inverter.
But we have the solar and inverter at our shed and a property pole in the front yard where the meter is.
So we would have only seen what was produced by the panels not what was used by the house.
True north offed a separate Wi-Fi system to cover this issue and it works great.
Ask another supplier, if the inverter is not mounted next to the meter can you monitor the house usage?
The installation is top work. All the crew were very good to deal with and helpful.
Any questions we had were answered straight away.
Highly recommended.
LG Neon 2 panels 330w were installed with 25yr warranty.
Show Details

Original Review on 17-02-2017:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Russell: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system is very good. True north solar have been quick to respond to any inquiry we've had. The savings we are making will pay for the system well before the warranties run out ,even at today's price of electricity.
Show Details

Original Review on 25-09-2015:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Estelle: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

We have not experienced the benefits we expected from the system. Part of this is probably due to how we use our power, and which appliances are on what tariffs. We do need to follow up with Ergon and see what we can do to get better value; and we are also considering getting a battery so that we can get the most benefit from the power we generate during the day. We are not terribly happy with the after-installation service from True North Solar; they have been slow to respond to queries and concerns (e.g. about the errors our system was showing on its display) and even when they did send somebody out to look at it, there was no follow-up afterwards to tell us the answers. Given the money we spent, we found this quite disappointing. I recall reading somebody else's comments that were along similar lines, and now I wish I had taken more notice of those comments and gone with a different company.
Show Details

Original Review on 19-08-2015:

Noel was the guy I was dealing with and he has been great and always informing progress and once the system was finished he can at time that suited me to show how to read and check the system.. They also came around after a few months to check the system was operating correctly and performing . Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Michael: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

System system has preformed more than expected. With battery system as back up, it is very rear that I draw power from the grid. My power bill is 90% service fees. I have Apricus solar hot water system which uses very little power and very rear to use the booster. I run air conditioners at night as well as the day and the solar system and batteries have no trouble keeping up with the load. My system is 4.6kw and I have 6 lithium batteries packs, all SolaX system call Grid Connect. Great system, very happy with this system and great support and installation team from True North Solar, would highly recommend these guys.
Show Details

Original Review on 09-06-2015:

True North Solar, were very customer focused, very helpful and did a fantastic job, I would recommend them to anyone who might ask me about my solar installation and experience, for your potential customers, I highly recommend them. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Barry: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

yes
Show Details
Was only interested in local suppliers, not companies that had local installers.
Show Details
Noel, was the sales guy I was dealing with. He came to my home and he had all the information with him, was very knowledgeable of the system True North was offering. He did the quote at the same time and signed up for the deal. Working with Noel for the system install was a real pleasure and he is always ready to help with any queries and quick to reply. The install was done in the time True North said they would. The guys at True North than came and explained and showed us how to read the display on the invertor and what the meters where for and how to read them. The also presented a booklet on the system with picture on the installation and all related information on the setup. I had queries over the next few months after the installation, about the system and the guys came out and checked the system to make sure all was good. There was no problem, just me not fully under standing the system on how the electricity generates with the different season, they explain what to look at and what it should generate. I am now in the progress to install batteries storage system and Noel has been more than helpful for information and installation of the system, which will be done some time this month (August 15). I would strongly recommend True North Solar for solar power and there support is really great. I have had the system now for 2 1/2 years and had no problems.
Show Details
Two suppliers decided that they could not instal a system on my roof which has a 60 degree pitch.
Show Details
True North Solar are great while they are selling you something, however if you want your system checked it costs $200 just to have them come out and look at it. Whereas before when they were fitting new panels they were quite happy to take sun scorched damaged panels away free of charge. I was disappointed with their follow up service, but generally very happy with their overall service.
Show Details
Hope I have made the right choice there product looked great also the product brand name made up my mind LG some very low prices but went for the reputable brands.
Show Details
Show Details
After a previous bad experience with another solar salesperson I was reluctant to speak to anyone else - True North Solar delivered in both sales and service plus came in at a price within my budget.
Show Details

Original Review on 01-03-2012:

I did not feel like I was being sold something. I felt more like I was receiving the information needed to make a decision. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

27 months later we asked Robert: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes
Show Details
The salesman patiently explained the system and the options, frequently stopping to ensure I fully understood everything. There was no hard sell whatsoever. I found the whole experience less traumatic that I had imagined it would be. I cannot fault the installation either, it was done at a time which suited me and everything was left very neat and tidy. I would certainly recommend True North Solar to anyone wishing to install solar power.
Show Details
The crew that came to do the set up, were professionals, polite and worked dam hard in stinking hot weather. Well done Guys,very pleased with your work ethic. Jim & Irene
Show Details
These people were in out and no fuss.There sales rep had a better handle on what he was selling than the other firms that gave quotes.
Show Details
From enquiry to sale to installation True North are a great bunch of people to deal with.

If you're thinking of going solar, you need to talk to these guys.

Fantastic people, fantastic service.
Show Details
True North solar took the time to really explain the workings of solar systems & how installing a system would help us reduce our power costs. Their work was completed on time & also undertook other work that we required.
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details

Original Review on 09-05-2011:

I found the salesperson for True North conducted himself in a very professional manner. He spent some time explaining everything involved with the installation of a solar system, his product knowledge was the catalyst which made us choose a True North Solar system. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 5/5

17 months later we asked Steve: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

YES The system has performed to expectations
Show Details

Original Review on 10-03-2011:

All True North staff have been very helpful and communicative. The installers were very experienced electricians with solar certification. They were able to do a very neat tidy installation which I am very pleased with. The installation took 1 1/2 days during light patchy rainy days.

They were also able to advise on and redesign the system after a visit to inspect the roof and meter box. I am very satisfied in all aspects of the installation.

They installed some safety fuses on the roof that I did not expect and I think is a great idea. I am sure not all installers would be this thorough.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

18 months later we asked Mick: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Exactly as I expected it to. I have saved a lot of money on power bills and I am exactly on my target to payback my system cost.
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
The quantity and quality of information on Finn Peacock's site has to be the best available. From the three recommended solar suppliers/installers in our region we chose True North Solar. We found this company to be a straight shooter who listened and presented details in a language we could relate to. They were not pushy and kept us informed of time frames and the installation went off without a hitch. We are very pleased and would recommend True North to anyone. And a good outcome for us is - we are now heading towards a negative electricity bill.
Show Details
Thank you for all the information, it was helpful. The salesperson was informative and answered all our questions and put us at ease purchasing a system. We also know others who installed from this company.
Show Details
Show Details
Even though I answered the "Value for Money" & Quality of System" questions, I probably won't know for sure until a few years pass.
HOWEVER, the installation appears to be first-class and professional. There is no damage to my roof AND, there was no debris or refuse left in my yard.
The owner of the company explained all facets of the process before I agreed to the service. Further, he explained exactly how the installation was to proceed AND when it would start.
The job took less than a day and before he left my premises, the job supervisor explained how the system worked, and also showed me the operation of the inverter.
I am happy with the whole "deal".
Show Details
Not installed yet but lead up work has been fine. Helpful salesman, easy to undestand. I'm also having some extra work done while thay are here doing the installation.
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
I have ordered the system but am awaiting Ergon confirmation and then they will install. Prices were similar but True North have their own Electrical company so there was no sub contracting which I have found to be a problem in the past.
Show Details
Hasn't been installed for very long at this stage, so, obviously, only time will tell how efficient and reliable it will be.
Show Details
The Team at True North Solar wer very professional from start to finish. They provided exactly what they quoted for, answered our questions and eased our concerns. It was such an unreal experience watching the electricity meter spin backwards for the first time. We Can't wait to get our first bill to have the final proof of what we are saving.
Thanks Finn for putting us in touch with such a fantastic team !!
Show Details
Show Details
I really only could say good at the moment as I only have had the system for a couple of weeks, so I can not lie.
Show Details
Show Details
Finn, I haven't had my system installed yet so I can't say on value, quality or installation, but the customer service was excellent. As I know a bit about solar myself it was easy to understand the information provided by the consultant @ True North.
Show Details
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: