Menu
House
House Tablet

Find The Best Solar Deals In Australia

  • 3 Free, No Obligation, Solar Quotes
  • From Fully Qualified Installers
  • With 1000’s of Customer Reviews
  • Competing for Your Business
Finn Peacock Caricature

Ready for some quotes? Enter your postcode now


SolaX Power solar inverter reviews

Overall Rating From 83 Reviews:

SolaX Power solar inverter reviews

Average Customer Rating:
( 4.13 / 5 )

Solax Inverters

Solax is a Chinese solar inverter manufacturer with an Australian office in Melbourne. They produce inverters with 5 year warranties at competitive prices and claim they have a mean time before failure of over 100,000 hours. This appears to mean their average inverter can be expected to operate for over 11 years before failing, but these figures are generally not calculated using real life conditions.

In addition to standard inverters, Solax also makes multimode inverters (also known as hybrid inverters) that are compatible with three different battery systems, including the LG Chem RESU 6.4.

Solax Single Phase Inverters

Solax single phase inverters are standard solar inverters that are sometimes called grid-tie inverters or non-islanding inverters, but usually, they’re just called inverters. They don’t support the use of battery storage or allow electricity from solar panels to be used when the grid is down.

Homes with these type of inverters can have battery storage installed, but it will need to operate independently from the inverter and either be connected with a DC converter such as the Goodwe GW2500-BP or a battery-inverter such as the Sunny Boy Storage. According to Tesla, the new Powerwall 2 has a battery-inverter that allows it to be used with any solar inverter.

While they are single phase inverters, they can be used by homes that have 3 phase power.

Solax 3 Phase Inverters

SolaX also produces 3 phase inverters, but as their smallest is 10 kilowatts, they are unlikely to see much residential use.

Solax SL-TL1500 to SL-TL3000 Single MPPT Inverters

These inverters are available with capacities of 1.5, 2, 2.6, and 3 kilowatts. They only have a single Multiple Power Point Tracker (MPPT) which means that all the solar panels must normally face in the same direction to prevent losses, unless smart panels or some other form of optimization is used.

These inverters come with a warranty of 5 years.

The noise emission of these inverters is given as under 30 decibels, which is pretty quiet, but is likely to be more than twice as loud as a the more common noise emission by modern transformers of under 25 decibels. This is an important consideration if you are ever planning on installing one inside a sound studio.

SolaX X1-3.0T to X1-5.0T Dual MPPT Inverters

These inverters are available with capacities of 3, 3.3, 3.68, 4.2. and 4.6 kilowatts. They have two MPPT which means they can accept two sets of panels facing in different directions. For example, a house could have panels facing both east and west if desired.

They come with a warranty of 5 years, but the datasheet points out this can be extended to 10.

Note that the X1-5.0T is not accurately named as it is only a 4.6 kilowatt inverter and not 5 kilowatts as its name suggests. 

The noise emissions of these inverters are given as under 25 decibels, which literally makes them whisper quiet, as a whisper is about 25 decibels.

SolaX Multimode (Hybrid) Inverters

SolaX also produces multimode inverters, also known as hybrid inverters, which can be used with battery storage. Their single phase ones come in 3, 3.68, 4.6, and 4.999 kilowatt capacities.  In addition, they also produce 3 phase multimode inverters with capacities of 5, 6, 8, and 10 kilowatts. 

The 4.999 kilowatt capacity single phase inverter is useful for installation in the Ausgrid Distributed Network Service Provider area of eastern Sydney as their people with single phase power are limited to installing inverters of under 5 kilowatts and 4.999 kilowatts is under 5 kilowatts. 

As of the 2nd of June 2017 there are three battery systems Solax lists on their website as being compatible with these inverters. They are the Solax battery, LG Chem RESU, and the Pylontech Extra 2000.  Air Carbon Batteries were listed as being compatible in the past.

These inverters are available with internal or external battery chargers which can charge and discharge batteries at up to 1.25, 2.5, or 5 kilowatts. Note that not all battery systems can be charged or discharged at 5 kilowatts.

Their multimode inverters can provide backup power during a blackout and SolaX says they are suitable for off-grid use. But when used in off-grid mode the amount of power they can supply from batteries appears to fall by about 20%, so this will need to be taken into account when deciding what size battery charger to use.

In off grid mode their 3 kilowatt multimode inverter appears able to deliver 1, 2, or 3 kilowatts depending upon the size of its charger while their 5 kilowatt multimode inverter appears able to deliver 1, 2, or 4 kilowatts.

Warranty Note

The warranty they provided for download for Australian on their website in November 2016 was not the Australian warranty but the UK one.  Currently in June 2017 I can't find any warranty for download on their site. So be sure to get your hands on an up to date Australian warranty before you buy.

SolaX Energy Storage - The SolaXbox

Solax produces an energy storage system called the Solaxbox that has a warranty of 5 years.

My Recommendation

While SolaX is generally not considered as reliable as SMA, Fronius, or ABB inverters, they do have a lower price point and their multimode inverters appear to be one of the lower cost methods of installing some types of batteries with backup or off-grid capability. If you like their combination of low price and features then you can take a gamble on them, but I would go in eyes open and not expect them to last as long on average as the previously mentioned inverters.

Rating Comments Name State Postcode
It has been working very well no trouble! It is fixed neatly to the house side wall, and has cover from the sun. It has easy read out so that even I can understand it. I am very pleased so far.
Bought From: ActewAGL Review Date: 5 December 2018
Ray ACT 2605

Bought From: All Green Environmental Solutions Review Date: 3 December 2018
Sam NSW 2317
Been replaced already.
Bought From: MTS Solar Review Date: 18 November 2018
Tony NSW 2480

Bought From: Green Solar Review Date: 30 October 2018
Norman QLD 4207
6kWh system and currently generating about 30kWh per day. Our average consumption is 24kWh so we are in the black.
Bought From: ActewAGL Review Date: 28 October 2018
Michael ACT 2902
The only problem with the two inverters are sometimes that they stay in waiting mode . This is random to both inverters . Sometimes one will wait and another time the other will wait , I have never seen both in waiting mode together . This mostly happens in the morning either one or the other waits but not both . When the inverter is in waiting mode it will stay like that all day unless I perform a shut down / restart . I moniter both inverters every day via the internet and if needed ring one of the girls to do a '" reset" if I am not home . Rarely one or the other has gone into waiting mode during the day after a few hours of run time . If there has been a power cut this can also happen . Cheers .
Bought From: Green Energy Technologies Review Date: 22 October 2018
Bob QLD 4800

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 4 October 2018
Rob NSW 2477
Has worked well, however I have been advised to turn it off as the system still hasn't been granted compliance by Energysafe Vic. due to deficiencies in the installation. This is still under investigarion by Energy safe.
Bought From: Ultimate Solar Review Date: 30 September 2018
Gary VIC 3356
I do not believe it is working 100%.never shows history .Been on holidays for 2.5 months no power used and did not show many credits. Have called United energy. They say there's nothing wrong. .
Bought From: United Solar Energy Review Date: 28 September 2018
Anon VIC 3918
No, everything just performs along smoothly.
Bought From: Euro Solar Review Date: 22 September 2018
John QLD 4133

Bought From: TFAsolar Pty Ltd Review Date: 20 September 2018
Ken SA 5243
I have "Good" above because the two 'gauges' called "Power" and "Today" [The third one marked "Parid" has never rergstered anything!] alway register in Watts for Power and Kilowatts for Today. The britghter the ambient light the higher the latter registered. This I take to mean 'good' i.e. generating more power than is being used. This is particularly important as during the Winter now just ending the use of two airconditioners on 'heat' cycle during the day always register more in Kilowatts generation "Today" than is shown in the Power window. Naturally night time sees the situation change to the opposite. As to linking the Pocket WiFi as inserted into the bottom of the Solax Inverter to my computer, I have not got any idea of how to achieve that notwithstanding supply of a little booklet which puports to provide instruction accordingly.
Bought From: VV Electrical and Solar Review Date: 19 September 2018
Colin VIC 3300
Didn't work for months due to powerline voltage incompatibility. Works fine now after powercor fixed the lines, but had no idea what was wrong, solar company was no help whatsoever with this issue. "Not their problem ".
Bought From: Integra Solar Review Date: 6 August 2018
Clint VIC 3478

Bought From: Euro Solar Review Date: 1 August 2018
Anon SA 5290

Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 1 August 2018
Damien SA 5159
Nobody taught me how to read or use the inverter - was all self taught.
Bought From: Green and Gold Solar Australia Review Date: 16 July 2018
Sean NSW 2560
The grid got to high a few times and caused the inverter to shut down. As we are able to monitor with wifi we notified tindo solar asap. They we out to adjust in a week. No problem now. System is working perfectly. As we are small uses of electricity (5.5 kw during summer) 7.3 kw during winter with solar system. Our system averaged 8.4 kw last quarter even having terrible cloudy days in may and june. Please note. Our panels face north with no shade from trees etc at all. Its been a great investment with not having to face a $500 electricity bill most quarters.
Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 12 July 2018
Shirley SA 5253
Dont really know much about it ,but it seems to work great ,so that is what matters.
Bought From: VV Electrical and Solar Review Date: 5 July 2018
Graeme VIC 3249
I thought I was getting a 5 kW rated inverter but the actual rating is 4.6 kW. The maximum daily output achieved over summer was 39 kWh which far exceeds the load so some energy was returned to the mains. In winter the daily output is around 12 kWh, significantly less than the load, peaking at approx 18 kWh. I am not interested in adding further panels or battery storage.
Bought From: Euro Solar Review Date: 25 June 2018
Ken NSW 2539
We had problems in the beginning with the inverter not operating. We were not watching it on a daily basis but it was only after a few weeks that I realised that the Inverter was probably not working and had not been for some time. ActewAGL were fantastic in turning up quickly and on time. First time we called we were "talked" through how to reboot the Inverter because of "Grid Lost Fault". Didn't work, so Electrician came out to check the switches. The AC Switch had to be replaced. The next problem that kept showing up was "AC10M". Again someone had to come out, and this time made some adjustments to the Inverter. The second time adjustments had to be made we asked what the problem was but an answer was not provided. I think all told we had three or four visits over six or seven weeks before it was working reliably and have not had trouble since. Faults displayed by the Inverter were: Grid Lost Fault ACI0M Volt Fault Not sure how to rate it. Good if it is working, Bad if not!
Bought From: ActewAGL Review Date: 2 June 2018
Elizabeth ACT 2611
this inverter has on several occasions tripped out, thus not producing. Cool and Cosy came, upped the rate of the inverter, apparently it was tripping out due to spike in power from the grid. Since then we haven't had any problems.
Bought From: Cool or Cosy Review Date: 30 May 2018
Darryll SA 5290

Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 6 May 2018
Scott SA 5355
It took the installers some time to get it to work properly, mainly the installers not being fully converse with the product.
Bought From: VV Electrical and Solar Review Date: 1 May 2018
Colin VIC 3380

Bought From: Euro Solar Review Date: 25 April 2018
David SA 5034

Bought From: ActewAGL Review Date: 10 April 2018
Mat NSW 2620

Bought From: VV Electrical and Solar Review Date: 26 March 2018
Brian VIC 3280
IP rated 65 so can go outside with less requirements to cover it. I will though cover with shade cloth for arvo sun
Bought From: ActewAGL Review Date: 26 February 2018
Ben ACT 2902

Bought From: ITP Home Energy Review Date: 14 December 2017
Anon ACT 2600
No problems with installation or performance. The WiFi monitoring system is intuitive and easy to understand. Very happy with the build quality and placement.
Bought From: Solar Storage Solutions Pty Ltd Review Date: 16 November 2017
David QLD 4815
It did shut down once for what reason I don't know, It showed a red light ,I had to switch it off and then switch on again ,following instructions
Bought From: Euro Solar Review Date: 14 November 2017
Anon VIC 3215

Bought From: Green Energy Technologies Review Date: 11 November 2017
Don QLD 4740
It is handy that you can monitor the performance through wifi.
Bought From: Solar Storage Solutions Pty Ltd Review Date: 2 November 2017
Stephen QLD 4814
About the only thing I would criticise with the Model Inverter we had installed is that you cannot get the information regards what has been fed back into the Electricity Grid and hence the amount of $ you are earning from your Electricity Supplier. So you have to trust what the Electricity Supplier tells you that you have received from the excess Power that has been returned to the grid from our system. However this is minor in my opinion to using the Solar Power during the day to cover Electricity usage by house appliances etc during the day. May in the future investigate Battery to store and use their power day and night which will need an inverter upgrade and will cover the above grid feedback monitoring by the inverter then.
Bought From: Evergreen Solar Power Review Date: 25 October 2017
Colin VIC 3064

Bought From: Euro Solar Review Date: 1 October 2017
Kevin VIC 3162

Bought From: Pyramid Power Review Date: 10 September 2017
Michael NSW 2549

Bought From: Mission Solar and Electrical Review Date: 10 September 2017
Peter QLD 4852

Bought From: Replenishable Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 7 September 2017
Jose QLD 4880

Bought From: Integra Solar Review Date: 6 September 2017
Leon SA 5038

Bought From: Universal Solar Group Review Date: 18 August 2017
Greg NSW 2453

Bought From: Ionics Energy Review Date: 21 July 2017
Anon QLD 4870

Bought From: Euro Solar Review Date: 20 July 2017
David VIC 3777

Bought From: Euro Solar Review Date: 13 July 2017
William QLD 4860
After nearly 8 months is still performing as good as day one.
Bought From: Green Solar Review Date: 22 June 2017
Osvaldo QLD 4518

Bought From: Energy Aware Review Date: 12 May 2017
Robert VIC 3756
Had to be changed several times as not reliable Service from Solax only average as relied on on one person only who could service and guess what while Inverter problems happened he was out of the country for 2 weeks Bad luck ?
Bought From: Sahara Solar Australia Review Date: 24 April 2017
Barry VIC 3809
no
Bought From: Integra Solar Review Date: 30 March 2017
BILL VIC 3820
Appears to be very rel
Bought From: Euro Solar Review Date: 29 January 2017
Rowan QLD 4655

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 10 October 2016
Carol QLD 4215
Sends daily data via wireless to our home computer to show how well it is performing.
Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 30 September 2016
Gary QLD 4209
wifi is good
Bought From: Five Star Energy Review Date: 4 September 2016
Lins QLD 4650

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 26 August 2016
Wayne QLD 4879
So far so good It is wifi enabled so with free app you have access to real time as well as history information, which is quite interesting
Bought From: Solar Sunwerx Review Date: 11 July 2016
Leo VIC 3201
So far so good.
Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 6 July 2016
Michael QLD 4562
Needed replacement after a short time. The new one has been fine.
Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 23 June 2016
John NSW 2420
This inverter has a small LCD display and some menu functions that enable the user to view various things, including KwH generated today, yesterday, and per month. It also retains 'errors' the system encounters along the way. We found that sometimes if there were interruptions to the standard electrical power for some reason, the system throws up an error code; and there were a few error codes that we could not identify.
Bought From: True North Solar Review Date: 28 May 2016
Estelle QLD 4814
Battery capable
Bought From: Energy Options Review Date: 2 May 2016
Richard NSW 2428
So far it has been operating perfectly.
Bought From: Integra Solar Review Date: 30 April 2016
John VIC 3878
The inverter has been pro forming very well with no problems. The web portal is well set up is a great monitoring system. It keeps the batteries charged as well as regulate the power usage in the house using the grid power as last resort. The service and support from True North has been really good. Great group of people to deal with.
Bought From: True North Solar Review Date: 19 April 2016
Michael QLD 4812

Bought From: True Value Solar Review Date: 12 April 2016
George QLD 4670
Changed the score for the installation as the Eurosolar installers damaged the roof capping on our colourbond roof. This wasn't immediately visible until or apparent until we started using our A/C at the start of summer. I then noticed a 5cm bend in colourbond attached to ridge capping sheet near the roof A/C unit. Not happy and actually paid for a tradesmen to fix it out of my own pocket.
Bought From: Euro Solar Review Date: 10 February 2016
Robert VIC 3690
Never set up the wi-fi/cloud reporting capability. Initially some minor communication difficulties, which I am sure could have been resolved, but I was never that concerned about getting the feedback, hence never completed the setup. I know from casual observation of the output during what should be ideal solar conditions, that the inverter is producing the expected full power output. So I have never had any reason to doubt it's operation or efficiency.
Bought From: Solar Sunwerx Review Date: 17 January 2016
Russell VIC 3095
inverter failed after 4 months but was replaced in 4 days no problem good service from all concerned
Bought From: Solar Sunwerx Review Date: 5 January 2016
Brian VIC 3136
From a consumer perspective it is very difficult to get the data to determine how efficiently your inverter is operating. If it doesn't fail, and you are getting around 70% of the nominal KW rating of the system purchased generated then you are probably achieving reality.
Bought From: Solar Sunwerx Review Date: 12 December 2015
Peter VIC 3195
Monitoring software is a bit uninspiring. The installers Citisolar offered a 10 year warranty at the time of sale along with the assurance that the inverter was battery ready. After the installation it took me months of following up to get the 10 year warranty and the battery ready was acknowledged to be rubbish - we would not need it. Two months later Teslar announced their house batteries. Poor form Citisolar.
Bought From: Citisolar Review Date: 7 December 2015
Guy VIC 3016
The wifi monitoring is easy to set up and v useful.
Bought From: Solar Sunwerx Review Date: 25 November 2015
Rob VIC 3150

Bought From: Gryphon solar Review Date: 25 November 2015
Ian VIC 3225

Bought From: Planet Power Review Date: 5 November 2015
Bruce NSW 2640

Bought From: Green Engineering Review Date: 15 August 2015
Anon VIC 3337

Bought From: Solar Sunwerx Review Date: 11 April 2015
Mike VIC 3909

Bought From: Solar Sunwerx Review Date: 3 February 2015
Bruce VIC 3188
Had installed 12 @ Jinko 270w panels connected to a Solax X1 inverter 18/08/17. All well until mid October 2018 when observed output dropping & inverter occasionally in 'waiting' mode (as occurs at night when sun sets) during daytime hours. Contacted installer - they advised that inverter software required updating (some other customers with Solax inverters installed around August 2017 were experiencing the same fault). Issue has not reoccurred since software upgrade (upgrade took less than 10 minutes).
Bought From: Pyramid Power Review Date: 27 October 2018
Brian NSW 2548
We had our inverter and panels installed a month ago and finally got our import export meter installed this week. It worked for 4 days and then went down taking our power out as well. Reading on inverter is grid volt fault. Pretty annoyed as we are on an aged pension and had been hoping this would reduce our power bills and make life easier for us. 4 days now before we can get someone out to fix the problem. Fingers crossed
Bought From: Real Home Improvements Review Date: 15 September 2018
Anon SA 5115

Bought From: Hybrid Solar Energy Solutions Review Date: 1 August 2018
Terry NSW 2880
I have a SolaX X1 Hybrid inverter, it was up and running on 8th January, failed with "meter fault" on 10th February. I was without solar power for 16 days until they sent a new one up with an engineer who swapped it over and took the first one back to Melbourne. It went ok for 55 days and then did the same thing with "meter fault". The fault was not in the meter but in the meter circuitry in the inverter. This time after a lot of emails backwards and forwards for another 10 days they sent me a software fix so I could go in to the inverter menu and disable the meter. When I did this the inverter started producing power and has kept on producing power. However I have a battery coming and the battery will not work without the meter working and after a month of delay they now refuse to do anything. I am an electronics and computer person and I have asked them for a wiring diagram so I can trace the fault and fix it myself. They refuse to do this. Have now ordered an SMA inverter and will scrap the Solax one, a load of Chinese junk.
Bought From: Inverter Review Supplier Name Withheld Review Date: 18 June 2018
John NSW 2758

Bought From: Pedleys Electrical Service Review Date: 1 May 2018
Darryl QLD 4563
I had the hybrid system installed September 2017 since then I have tried to contact the company on 1300476529 many times to get the message all lines busy phone head quarters 0452631816. When I phone that number I find they are unavailable and asked to leave a message which is never answered. Since September I have been trying to configure my inverter to suit my needs eg. want to fix it feeds in at the expense of household use and battery and later on I am drawing more from grid than I should. This is a Chinese company that does not know customer service. I am very disappointed.
Bought From: SIVCORP SOLAR Review Date: 29 December 2017
Duncan VIC 3500
The Solax Inverter has stopping working 4 times since we purchased and installed in August 2017. Solax said there is a problem with some unit.
Bought From: Euro Solar Review Date: 23 November 2017
Tania SA 5211
It has been installed for about five months now and no problems so far. I haven't connected it to the phone but will when I have holidays. Our first bill after having the solar installed for two months was $1600. Since then we have tried to only use appliances in the daytime.
Bought From: Energy Options Review Date: 20 November 2017
Janet QLD 4701
App for inverter is a piece of crap Continual error faults and no support from Green energy Queensland I personally have phoned over 10 times and sent a number of emails requesting information on faults
Bought From: Green Energy Queensland Pty Ltd Review Date: 18 November 2017
Alan QLD 4740
Parts take to long to get and install by Euro solar. Have waited 3 mouth for system to work as it should do
Bought From: Euro Solar Review Date: 15 April 2017
Alec NSW 2580
Efficiency has dropped approximately 10% since I purchased it 12 months ago. Maximum generation is now approximately 4.7 kW though I think it's likely due to the panels rather than the inverter.
Bought From: Green Incentives Review Date: 1 October 2016
Darren QLD 4160

Bought From: True Value Solar Review Date: 6 February 2016
Helen VIC 3283
So far no problems
Bought From: True Value Solar Review Date: 20 January 2016
Chris SA 5113

SolaX Power has 6 solar inverters in our database

Model DC Voltage AC Power Efficiency
SK-SU3000550330097.60
SK-SU3700550368097.60
SK-SU5000550460097.60
SK-TL3000550300097.60
SK-TL3700550368097.60
SK-TL5000550460097.60
<< Prev Solatra
Next >> Solco
SolaX Power
54.183