Tindo Solar - Company Review Notice Tindo Solar - Company Review Notice
Tindo Solar

Tindo Solar Reviews

DETAILS
95% 0%
4.4

Based on 165 ratings

About

Tindo Solar are the *only* Australian solar panel manufacturer. They are based out of Adelaide (Mawson Lakes) but have an installer network that covers the whole of Australia. Their "Karra" solar panel comes as a DC panel or an AC Solar Panel with an integrated Enphase micro inverter.

Panels, inverter and battery brands

Panel brands currently installed

Panel brands previously installed

Battery brands previously installed

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

Tindo Solar Reviews (165)

Show Most Recent reviews from All timeacross Australia

Average Scores

4.1/5

Value for money

4.6/5

Quality of System

4.6/5

Installation

4.3/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 47
  • 4 star 95
  • 3 star 14
  • 2 star 5
  • 1 star 4

View Timeline

Average Installation, awful post install service

Unfortunately, we were caught out by a installer who went into liquidation after the quote. Tindo stepped up reassuring us they were reputable, reliable and nothing like the previous company. The install was booked for July, then deferred, re-booked twice more and after waiting a few more months of being told firm dates were locked in the install was done in November.

Approximately 4 months after the installation we had rain water leaking through the ceiling directly above where the panels are located, so we contacted Tindo seeking assitance to resolve. Six, now seven months after the install no one has contacted us about it to inspect the damage and the poor lady in customer service has tried her best but no one has repsonded or called. Still not one call from a Service Manager to acknowledge to leak and subsequent damage caused by it or any attempt resolve it.

And to top it off, the system has still not been commissioned 7 months after the installation, so we do not have a supply agreement in place either!!! Which means we are unable to even compare the viability or performance of the system

No wonder the Solar industry reputation is in the gutter. They take the Goverment subsidy and leave you holding the can.
Show Details

Original Review on 28-02-2023:

Fantastic product and service - buy Aussie made!

Sales quoting process was impeccable.
Lionel is a credit to the Tindo business.
He answered all of our questions (and I bugged him for weeks with additional questions), educated us on a few points, and let us in on an unadvertised CommBank GreenLoan deal which gave us the ability to go bigger without breaking the budget.

Install was floorless. All trades did their jobs well and cleaned up so you wouldn’t have even known they were there.
All panels, hardware and a Telsa car Charger all installed, configured and demo’d by lunchtime.

They did EVERYTHING for us.
You definitely get what you pay for!

The SolarEdge monitoring app has been monitored and helped us change our usage habits to the point were we’re now using over 70% of our power from solar, and exporting a pile back to the grid.
It’ll be time for a SolarEdge battery as soon as the budget allows to harness this excess.

The Tindo panels are great and always buy Aussie made first if you can.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Tim: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The basic system was probably overkill for daytime only use, but with the addition of a battery (and electric car) it has been an awesome energy saving experience.
With 13.5kw of panels, a 14.5kwh battery and an average use of 22kwh per day, we’ve not had a power bill in months… in fact we get about $50 credit a month. AND charged our Tesla car as well.
No power or petrol bills in 6 months!
Show Details

Only one fly in the ointment

Everything was fine, they are not the cheapest, but if you want quality products (solar panels built in SA for Australian conditions) and an organisation that will be here tomorrow, I would definetly recommend.

Watch out for their finance departamant sending unsolicited emails after you have paid the deposit almost demanding you pay the balance prior to install. That is not how it works, especially when the sales contract days 'Cash on Delivery', not 'Delivery on Cash' as their finance departamant would lead you to believe. Happy to recommend otherwise.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

The Solar energy journey: Stay focussed and determined.

Every aspect of dealing with Tindo was first class in my obviously one off experience.
Show Details
Unfortunately the installation compromised my roof resulting in a slow leak to a spare bathroom. This caused massive mould that insurers refused to cover because I should have seen it earlier - I don't use that room! Tindo indicated that they would send someone out to fix the installation but that has not happened.
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Tindo because it's top quality and local (but beware the upfront payment request)

Lionel was very helpful in laying out the options and how the system would work and supplied a quote promptly.
The installation occurred on schedule and the crew were polite and tidied up well.
All of the connections and liaison with AGL went smoothly.
Our only concern was that their finance department wanted payment in advance for the installation, which we refused because it was not normal business practice with any other trades we had dealt with. When we said we would go elsewhere if they insisted, one of the directors rang us the same day and waived the requirement.
Show Details

Professional

Right from the get go Tindo presented options for my needs with a friendly open and professional manner. The quote came back in a timely fashion and any further queries I had were answered, many thanks to Lionel my Tindo rep.
The install was was done by Luke who was very tidy with the fit out, I even asked him if he did private work lol.

Battery rating: 5/5
Show Details

Repeat customer

5 years ago Tindo installed solar panels on our two level house.
We wanted to support a company which manufactured panels in Australia for our conditions.
The service was exceptional . The process of finding the appropriate panels was well discussed, installation was smooth and follow up service as very good.

When we wanted to add more panels and a storage battery there was no hesitation in contacting Tindo.
The Tindo representative was more than helpful and spent considerable time to ensure that we were fully informed of our options. He returned on several occasions to answer our questions and to confirm that the product offered would meet our needs.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Tindo.
Show Details

Poor service

Tindo stuffed me around when I installed my first 10kw system but now I want to put another 10kw on the house they took the order and I organised a first week in September install and was told all would be good but they just left it and I’ve called them twice now to be told they can’t get the parts so they didn’t call to update me they just left it so I have cancelled and I’ll go elsewhere very poor service…customer service very poor.
Panel rating: 1/5
Inverter rating: 1/5
Battery rating: 1/5
Show Details

Rogers review

Tindo was ok Electricity supplier took about 6 weeks to put in new smart meter then we found out they installed it wrong after that inverter stoped working still waiting for this to be fixed . from April to July it may have been working for about 2 weeks. NOT REAL HAPPY
Show Details

Great experience

Tindo are great. The whole process went well and they were happy to answer all my questions. I am now reaping the benefits of a quality system made in Australia for Australian conditions.
Show Details
Show Details

Job well done

We purchased the home we had been renting for 4 years. As soon as we settled we contacted Tindo Solar as they are in Adelaide. From the first moment we dealt with them They were excellent. We went sure until we toured their factory (recommend you all do it). From the time we signed the purchase agreement we knew what was happening and when. The only thing different was the installers were 2 days early.The installers were fantastic to deal with. Polite friendly and answered any questions we had. We did have a couple of issues but those were Origin Energy's faults. The team at Tindo helped us work through those and even after have been keen to advice when needed. We purchased a battery as well which has been great. Comes with an app so you can see what the battery and system are doing.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5
Show Details
Show Details

Excellent service from the initial enquiry.

Tindo people provided excellent service from the initial enquiry. We were kept informed regarding progress of the installation at every stage and all aspects of the installation were completed in the timeframe promised, including organisation with our energy provider of the changeover to a smart meter. The person doing the installation was punctual and explained what to expect when the system was connected. In the short instance to check all was working properly, it was awesome to see the meter spinning backwards!

We chose to go with a 6.6kw system with microinverters with roof panels facing north, east and west and while it cost a bit more than a quote for an optimised system, we wanted to support a local company with a great track record manufacturing panels locally, with back up close by if needed. The system is working really well and producing heaps of solar!

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 09-04-2021:

Professional

Sale quoting process good
Installation Very good
Customer service good
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Kevin: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes
Show Details

Upgrading an existing 2.2Kw system with extra solar and a battery

We have an existing 12 panel array (Sharp panels) making up 2.2kW with a Fronius IG20 inverter rated at 1.8kW.

We wanted to expand our setup and potentially add a battery, with a view of moving to an electric vehicle in the next 12-18 months. We have recently changed our water heater over to a Sanden heat pump (was on-demand gas) so now we are a fully electric-only house.

Tindo offered the following upgrade:
22 x Tindo Karra-330 DC Solaredge Optimised Solar Panel
1 x SolarEdge Storedge SE5000-AUS Grid Connect Inverter
12-year Inverter and 25-year Solar Panel Warranties
1 x LG Chem RESU 10HV Battery
1 x Solaredge Electricity Meter Kit 1PH Monitor
Tiled Roof Array Frame
System Power 7.26 kW
Number of Modules 22
Number of Inverters 1
Number of Phases 1

The sales and quoting process was pretty straight-forward, The Tindo sales rep was switched on to what we were wanting, and the system offered looked like it would suit our current and future needs. The Solaredge inverter can have an integrated EV charging cable added in future if we need. This is a neat solution.

The installation went well, the guys were in threat of being rained out, but the weather held off to complete most of the work. We still need to have a supply cut-off switch and a new meter put in place. We have some asbestos in our old meter box which is holding up the works, this needs to be removed (SAPN work?) before the final work can be done.

Other than that, we have our battery working in the evenings and plenty of extra electricity being generated by the new system. The detailed monitoring has not been set up yet, but from our own observations of the import/export meter and the inverter/battery status, we are pretty well self-sufficient on solar, with plenty going back into the grid in the middle of the day.

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Very happy with the service

Tindo is a South Australian company that we chose to support for its solar panels that are made right here in Adelaide- designed purposely for Australian conditions. They provide excellent service to boot, and we had no hesitation after 12 months to get a battery installed as well
Panel rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 04-03-2021:

Excellent installers

Installation on time as booked. Excellent crew. Can't say yet how the Tindo panels will go as not yet connected to the network. Went with them as a SA company, & hoping they are top end quality. Expensive, so will see. We have added more solar to ensure our family is energy neutral or even better, positive. With trees planted on my property, I've taken care of the energy usage of at least 4 families. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Ian: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

I've had the system on the house for 8 months; after receiving first bill, realised we hadn't received any credits. Got in touch with both Tindo & Simply Energy & thought it would be sorted. Second 3 monthly bill arrived; still no credits. onto Tindo & thet contacted Simply Energy to arrange for meter to be changed, as even though we were already getting credits on a 3KW system, with 5.5 added, we need a new meter. Their electrician arrived, but had to go home as Tindo needed to firstly put a contactor on the switchboard (3 phase power requirement apparently, & not sure why that wasn't put on at installation). So here we are 8 months into new panels & still not getting credit! To say I'm disappointed with the companies is an understatement. The best year of panel output looks likely to pass with no financial return!! I'm not even sure we've been able to use the power ourselves as self consumption shows nil during many days, and we have fridge, freezer & lights etc in use every day.
The system we purchased at same time for our adjoining business is working to expectations.
Show Details

Great service

Very knowledgeable, polite and tidy. Good follow up. Sales and quoting good. Very patient with our questions. Allowed us to tour factory. I recommend your service as a good way to prepare and gain knowledge about solar.
Show Details

Great Company To Deal With

From initial inquiry, sales presentation, design of system, installation and follow-up, Tindo Solar delivered quality at every stage. Despite some delay for installation due to sickness of an installer, the company made every effort to complete our order as quickly as possible, which was well communicated and executed. The pricing of the system was reasonable and competitive considering its level of quality. The grid connection was handled smoothly and efficiently, coincident with the installation and so no delay in the system beginning operation. The system has performed exceptionally since its operation and one minor concern was immediately addressed by the installer. I highly recommend this company and its product. Could not be more satisfied!
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details
I went with Tindo, due to the Aussie build of the panels. I am extremely pleased with the customer service I have received from every person from Tindo so far, from Jamsie, who organised the quote (even with my chop and changing :), to the service I received from Casey post install. The install went smoothly, and the battery and solar are working perfectly for our usage and needs. The electricians that installed everything did an extremely neat job, and were friendly and keen to answer any questions I had. We even ran into an issue with how the electricity was originally installed at our property, which caused some complications and stress, and Tindo took full ownership and continued to support us until we were good to go. Overall a very professional and supportive operation. Well done Tindo.
Panel rating: 5/5
Show Details

Tindo solar-great SA solar company

I contacted Tindo Solar for a quote. Their representative was helpful and prompt in getting details on the install. They organised everything. The installer turned up when they said they would and went about the installation that was completed same day with no issues. The system works well and generates plenty of power. They're certainly not the cheapest out there but they're SA made and I'm happy to pay a bit extra for that, rather than deal with overseas call centres and unknown installers.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Great sales rep, fantastic installation & local company

Everything was smooth and without issue. The system was installed and running in one day. Sales rep didn't try to oversell us as some others did and listened to what we wanted whilst giving advice.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5
Show Details

Knowlegable Customer Rep. and Installer

We had a wonderful experience with Tindo Solar from start to finish. Our sales/Customer Service Rep Jamie was extremely knowledgeable and explained everything to us in a way we understood everything. Jamie has a personalized and genuine level of customer experience and we truly appreciated his time and effort. We are extremely happy with the system, not only our Panels Australian Made right here is SA, they are delivering on our expectations. We received our first bill after our new system was installed a few months back and we have a HUGE credit on our bill which we have never experienced before. We use to receive $1200 a quarter bills so to be in credit now is an unbelievable feeling and a true investment. Ivan who installed our system was so helpful, knowledgeable and professional. We highly recommend having a Tindo Solar system installed, you wont look back! Grateful to the whole team at Tindo. Thank you!
Panel rating: 5/5
Show Details

Excellent Local Manufacturer of Great Product

The product was well explained by the company salesman. Its pricing was reasonable and the quality is excellent. The installation was done professionally and its performance since has been as promised. I highly recommend this company and product, especially as locally manufactured in Adelaide.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Happy Customer

I found the sales and quoting process upfront and ran very smoothly.
The installation ran smoothly. Everyone of the installers were polite, tidy and punctual.
Customer service was excellent and very helpful through the whole process.
Show Details

Original Review on 22-01-2020:

Prompt and efficient service! I liked the idea of supporting a local manufacturer and the micro inverter system made a lot of sense. so far so good!

Customer service was excellent and the change of meter/grid connection went to plan Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Avi: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The Tindo System exceeded expectations as it consistently generating power in excess of predictions. The next step will be to evaluate battery options...
Show Details

Fantastic fast and efficient

Everything went smoothly the installation was fast and all my enquiries have been answered.
Show Details

Great product, seamless installation

Sales process was very informative and helpful
Quick and professional installation. Installer was very helpful knowledgeable and friendly.
Grid connection switched on at installation and works well.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Quality

I found Tindo helpful and professional from beginning to the end. Everything was handled on-time and without fuss.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Tindo Solar System with battery

The quoting process was fabulous. Salesperson proposed and explained the system in detail. Was absolutely pleased with the proposed system though not cheap. Wished the Solaredge inverter proposed and installed was a HD series one instead of the older SE series. Installation went well but they left a cut wire sticking out on the roof and caused a leak when rain came. Called customer service about it and problem was quickly attended to, though there is a water mark on the roof.

Happy system is live now, and generating energy and saving me money. Customer service is OK (great if issue is urgent, like the roof leakage) but can be better, in particular, addressing questions that were put to them. Frustrated of not answering my questions, I decided to Google for answers and found them. Hopefully, service will be better in the future.

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 19-10-2019:

Great local installer,for S.A. The whose company based close to home was very handy!

Happy with the whole process overall. Good explanation on the system & how it all operates for my particular home. All shown to me on computer,( which I wouldn't otherwise understand! Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Trudi: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

So far the system has performed better than I expected! I have been in credit since I got the panels. I'm glad I took advice from Finn's booklet as I was very cautious having heard stories of some not making much difference. No regrets here.
Show Details

Top quality installation from the quote to completion of the installation

System quote and installation was done very quickly - 18 days from quote to job completion. Everyone we dealt with from
Tindo were professional and helpful from the very knowlegeable sales person through to the admin staff. We also received regular updates during the 18 day wait period.The installation crew were punctual, courteous and efficient, and also left their work area clean and tidy. Because we already had a smart meter the system was connected to the grid at the time of installation. The information we received regarding how well we could expect the system to work on cloudy days was correct - in fact it works even better than expected.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 17-09-2019:

Great job done by a great company

Very friendly, clear and easy to get your head around what we where purchasing.
Clean, tidy, very polite.

Grid connection was done on the day of install. All sorted out by Tindo. Constantly kept in the loop.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Craig : "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

System has worked very well. So far we have not had a negative bill, so a well designed 3kw system . The user interface is very well designed and user friendly, would not hesitate to recommend tindo ,it may be a bit dearer but all the panels are made here in adelaide so keeping jobs local.
Show Details
Show Details

Top system for a difficult situation

Due to issues with shading I went for a top quality system that would degrade as little as possible over time. Tindo were honest with their data from the Desert Knowledge Centre so although I paid a bit more I'm satisfied that I will have a reliable system for many years to come.
Show Details

From start to finish the experience was great. I went with tindo as there the only panels made in Australia for Australian conditions. A bit more expensive but we'll worth the money.

Installation was a breeze the guys, very friendly and were on time and didn't leave any rubbish laying around. Matthew the sales person I spoke to couldn't have been more helpful. All in all its a 20 out of 10 for Tindo solar a very peasant experience.
Show Details

Local product, excellent service and three weeks from quote to installarion

Quote was done at home well within a week of first contact, information was immediate and recommendations have proven to be precisely as stated.
Installer came prior to the scheduled date to ensure existing wiring was appropriate to the system.The installation was completed as scheduled and the site was clean and tidy when the job was complete.
Following installation I had to wait three weeks for the energy retailer to install a smart meter (I had been told of this at the time of quote) and following this found that the solar monitoring software was showing error messages. Tindo arranged rectification within 2 working days and made follow up calls to ensure that the system was reporting correctly
Show Details

Installers were excellent, there was a hiccup with the billing process which almost made us cancel

Installation excellent, customer service from Tondo not real good. After a hiccup with the pricing,due to computer hitch,no after sales backup or is all ok now?
Show Details

Tindo solar for my house.

My system was installed within 3 weeks, including the monitoring app.
Show Details

researching Tindo and others

Tindo quoting process very helpful. Information about the product was comprehensive. Can see on-line how they are made or visit the factory. No problems with installation. Attended when they said they would. Everything went smoothly. They requested full payment before it was up and running which I didn't agree with so I told them I was holding a small % back till it was up and running and they were okay with that. Excellent easy to understand Solar Analytics who are also very helpful if you have questions. Researching Solar Quotes was extremely helpful in the lead up to my decision making.
Show Details

Quality is worth the additional investment

As a retired Engineer I undertook a lot of investigative reading before hand to ensure that I could ask the correct questions and assess the value of the PV panels on offer. I had decided that my selection would be based upon monocrystalline PV cells with Micro Inverters that would permit future expansion of the system and the latter inclusion of storage batteries when they became more cost effective and would permit auto change over to storage should mains supply fail. I then reviewed the quality of panels and roof supporting attachments as a unique system with regards to structural strength, longevity of components, warranty and service levels. From this I identified a limited number of preferred suppliers and used the opportunity to then observe systems being installed so I could directly compare quality and installation of systems. My final selection reduced to two possibilities who were very close but once I adjusted for supporting local / Australian manufacture Tindo was selected. The installation was of the highest quality and they even had the patience to put up with me hovering around them asking questions and closely observing what they were doing, even the wife was impressed with their professionalism and work ethic. The system has now been working for some 6 months with an excellent online monitoring from MyEnlighten the Enphase micro inverter manufacture. Each panel is identified for output and download into a spreadsheet. A clear day produces 82% overall efficiency which the expected result. I am very pleased with the total process which will pay for itself within the next 3 years.
Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Original Review on 13-12-2018:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 3/5

8 months later we asked George: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

System has been working great. No hiccups with panels or inverter.
Show Details

Great Polite and Tidy Installer

During the Quote process everything was explained clearly. Taken a tour through the factory where the panels are made and assembled very informative tour. This took place before signing contract. A few extras which I knew nothing about were explained and I agreed to adding to quote. Price is higher than those seen on TV but I'm glad I paid the extra and got my panels from Tindo. Australian made and local company, After Sale service is faultless they monitor panel performance and contact you if panel performance drops. Tindo keep in contact with purchasers. To be honest the best $$$$ i have spent. When you buy Tindo panels you also get great caring after sales service. IF you want a Top Quality Product go to Tindo. When fitted workers were very polite, answered any questions, very tidy looking installation, and all packaging was removed. Installed all 18 panels by lunch time.
Show Details

Original Review on 14-11-2018:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Kerry : "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes. I have Solar Analytics as part of my deal with Tindo Solar. This has proven of great benefit as winter set in and shading became a problem. I can see when my panels are getting maximum sun exposure and can then time the usage of items like the washing machine etc.
Show Details
Show Details

Love my Tindo Panels

Tindo did not try to over sell their product. They gave me the facts and tried to be as competitive as possible with their price, and managed to come within a few hundred of the cheaper competitors, but with better warranty and quality. I have had my panels since January 2019 and love my panels, I have had great service from Tindo in the time I have had them.
Show Details
It is so refreshing to communicate with a company that is local, supports Australian workers, assembles the panels locally, uses a good team of installers and provides friendly and helpful after sales service and guarantees their product for decades. If anything goes wrong with my new solar system, I feel I am in good hands for a satisfactory resolution.
Show Details
First account was in credit. Winter will be the real test. We would not hesitate to recommend Tindo Solar to any prospective buyer. We have been impressed with after sales follow up and we are also impressed with the monitoring system which informs us of the equipment’s performance.
Panel rating: 4/5
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: