Menu
House
House Tablet

Find The Best Solar Deals In Australia

  • 3 Free, No Obligation, Solar Quotes
  • From Fully Qualified Installers
  • With 1000’s of Customer Reviews
  • Competing for Your Business
Finn Peacock Caricature

Ready for some quotes? Enter your postcode now


Tindo Solar solar panels review

Overall Rating From 33 Reviews:

Tindo Solar solar panels review

Average Customer Rating:
( 4.72 / 5 )

Tindo Solar is Australia’s only manufacturer of solar panels. While they are not a producer of tier one panels, which are what I normally recommend people buy, Finn has been to their factory and checked out their production and he was impressed enough to put 24 of them on his roof, so I think that is a pretty good endorsement of their quality.

Tindo Solar panels have a 12 year product warranty and a 25 year performance warranty. They are corrosion resistant and that makes them suitable for installation in coastal areas.  At last count Tindo Solar employs around 25 people and is located in Adelaide.

Company Details

Tindo Solar was founded in 2011. Their Adelaide factory has a manufacturing capacity of 60 megawatts. This definitely makes them a small producer of solar panels.  If they operated at 100% capacity it would take them over 120 years to produce as many solar panel capacity as Australia has now.  The company was bought by South Australia's Cool or Cozy insulation and energy efficiency company in March 2017.  Since then it has increased its manufacturing capacity from 30% to 50% increase staff from around 25 to about 40 people. 

Tindo Solar assembles solar panels using imported solar cells.

Tindo Solar Panels

Tindo's Karra series panels range from 285 to 300 watts. Their efficiency is from 17.1% to 18%.

Tindo Solar And Temperature Coefficient

The hotter a solar panel gets, the lower its efficiency. The value that gives how much a panels efficiency drops by for each one degree increase in temperature over 25 degrees is called the Max Power Temperature Coefficient, or alternatively it’s called the Temperature Coefficient of Pmax. A typical value is -0.4%. This means if a panel’s temperature is 35 degrees it would produce 4% less electricity than if it was at 25 degrees.

Tindo's Temperature Coefficient of Pmax is 0.41% which isn't great, but isn't bad either.  It's fairly typical. 

Tindo Solar’s Power Tolerance Is Not Positive

The very large majority of tier one panels have positive tolerance. This means the panels wattage will be its rated amount plus a small amount, for example 0 to 5 watts. Tindo panel’s power tolerance is plus or minus 3% which means its actual wattage could be up to 3% above or 3% below its rating.

As a result, the actual wattage of Tindo panels will on average be slightly lower than that of panels with positive tolerance.  Tindo says they plan to make their next panel with positive tolerance.

Tindo Solar And Dumping

In 2014 Tindo Solar instigated an an anti-dumping case against Chinese solar panel manufacturers. It did not succeed. If it had it could have resulted in punitive tariffs being placed on Chinese panels. This would have helped Tindo Solar and its 25 employees, while harming the rest of Australia’s solar industry by raising the cost of imported panels.

My Recommendation

If you want Australian made solar panels then Tindo Solar is your only choice. If you want quality, reliable panels, then you'll also get them with Tindo Solar.

While they are a small producer and will most likely never be a tier one solar panel manufacturer, I am satisfied that if you install their panels you will be very unlikely to have a problem with them.

Tindo Solar panels do carry a premium as the only Australian made panels, but that’s a small price to pay to support Australian manufacturing.

Rating Comments Name State Postcode

Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 4 September 2018
Richard SA 5600

Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 12 August 2018
Geoff SA 5214

Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 1 August 2018
Damien SA 5159
No problem with the Solar panels but the deck ties underneath panels haven't been fixed with screws into greenplugs drilled into the tiles. The silicon holding the deck tie to the roof has pulled away from the tile, allowing water to access the roof. Actually, just recently unwanted stains were found on the ceiling and that was due to a broken tile:(
Bought From: Cool or Cosy Review Date: 21 July 2018
Anna SA 5073

Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 12 July 2018
Shirley SA 5253

Bought From: Cool or Cosy Review Date: 30 May 2018
Darryll SA 5290

Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 14 May 2018
Craig VIC 3977

Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 6 May 2018
Scott SA 5355
Very happy with the panels, what more can I say?!!
Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 11 January 2018
Don SA 5167

Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 8 November 2017
Kym SA 5107
They are working perfectly with no problems.
Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 11 October 2017
Steve SA 5109

Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 27 September 2017
Anon NSW 2570
we are now making more power than we use.
Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 7 July 2017
Anon VIC 3669

Bought From: Total Energy Solar Review Date: 28 June 2017
Ian QLD 4725

Bought From: Total Energy Solar Review Date: 20 December 2016
Neil QLD 4478

Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 8 May 2015
Mark VIC 3570
Seem to generate at or slightly above promised level. Have been pounded by cricket ball sized hail and not missed a beat. And they are Australian made, so whilst a bit more expensive, seem to be very high quality and some kid in Adelaide gets a job, which we need before we lose our ability to manufacture anything more complex than a cardboard box.
Bought From: Aussie Made Solar Review Date: 12 January 2015
Andrew QLD 4128

Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 14 December 2018
Lindsay SA 5113

Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 30 October 2018
Ralph SA 5019
Tindo solar panels have a fantastic LONG guarantee! They are made right here in South Australia. They have an awesome monitoring system that let's you track usage & what you have produced. This can also be used to monitor performance so 'if' anything is not performing, the Company is notified as well as you! In the first quarter (in Winter) I saved OVER 2/3 of my energy bill.
Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 19 October 2018
Julie SA 5410

Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 28 September 2018
Richard SA 5095
6 weeks into my quarterly power bill and it’s already halved ! Best investment I’ve made to my house. The solar analytics app is amazing, I can watch the solar unit earn in 5 second intervals plus see my import/ export to and from the grid . Keep up the good work tindo.
Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 27 August 2018
Mike SA 5113
Tindo Solar have been absolutely fantastic. After 4 months of having our Tindo Solar Panels - we have already had a reduction of $200 in our Electricity Bill.!!!! It was the best money we have ever spent and the panels will pay for themselves in no time at all. Thank you to Sam and Darryl. Absolutely fantastic to deal with you both and Tindo Solar in general. Will recommend you to all family and friends considering Solar Panels.
Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 23 August 2018
Colleen & John SA 5159
they are performing better than we expected
Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 7 August 2018
Andy SA 5214

Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 24 July 2018
Diane SA 5018
N/A We had 16 panels with Solarbridge inverters installed a 4 years ago. The inverters began to fail 2 years a ago and have been replaced a number of times. Now we have yet more failures and 5 are off line, that was 6+ months ago ! Totalling all the failures we have now had 50% of the inverters stop working. The installer "Australian Home Services" went out of business in 2017 so warranty fell to Sunpower/Tindo. Sunpower said they'd replace all the Solarbridge inverters with Enphase but not the control unit. I told them if you replace all the MIs then you have to replace the monitor too. If you don't then it is "not fit for purpose" under ACC consumer law since the entire installation forms a system. They then agreed to supply a new monitor too. Sunpower shipped the replacement parts but no installer has turned up to fix the system. I'm informed by Sunpower that Tindo are responsible for arranging the installer and I'm still waiting. Given the other reviews on here having similar issues, maybe its time to consider action to be brought against Tindo for failing to honour warranty. So, 8 months and waiting!
Bought From: Australian Home Services Review Date: 16 July 2018
Tim NSW 2750
i am extremely satisfied with my panels which are all individually separate from each other and monitored all separately, in other words if 1 is affected in any way it will not affect the others and will alert the company that one is on the blink, thankfully all are working perfectly and have given me a tremendous amount of savings $$ and they do what they say, I have the enphase system and could not be any happier, installation was quick and thourough and the workmanship was of high quality , after taking a tour of the factory at mawson lakes it was apparent to me that these guys mean business with their quality product, all locally made , it just couldn't get any better, I would not hesitate at a moments notice in recommending tindo solar to anyone who is looking at getting solar power for their home , I researched for months from the top grade silicon and the panels and the workmanship and found these guys were the best and local as well, go look for yourselves in the factory , you will be amazed.. regards phil , more than satisfied customer..
Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 16 May 2018
Phil SA 5013
Our Tindo Solar Karra 250W solar panels have been faultless since installation in May 2013. We have experienced problems with our SolarBridge micro-inverters but Tindo Solar have been responsive in honouring the warranty and replacing affected units. Our 22-panel system is operating perfectly.
Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 16 May 2018
Ian SA 5089
Great company to deal with. They made the process of installing Solar panels trouble free and did everything they said they would.
Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 9 May 2018
Chris SA 5127

Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 27 April 2018
Thomas SA 5095
Although our panels are still relatively new, to date, they have performed very well.
Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 25 April 2018
Clarence and Wendy SA 5575
Deliver power even in poor conditions
Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 23 April 2018
Colin SA 5000
High quality build, and made in Adelaide;
Bought From: Tindo Solar Review Date: 17 April 2018
David SA 5006

Tindo Solar has 5 solar panels in our database

Model Type Size PTC Performance Ratio Californian Approved
Karra-260Polycrystalline26000.00No
Karra-285Monocrystalline28500.00No
Karra-290Monocrystalline29000.00No
Karra-295Monocrystalline29500.00No
Karra-300Monocrystalline30000.00No
Tindo Solar
54.733