Skylight Energy - Company Review Notice Skylight Energy - Company Review Notice
Skylight Energy

Skylight Energy Reviews

DETAILS
97% 0%
4.2

Based on 216 ratings 12 Reviews removed

About

Skylight Energy specialises in High Quality cost efficient solar Systems and solar Battery Installations covering the Domestic and Commercial market and stock high end Tier 1 solar panels and Inverters suited to a broad range of clientel throughout Sydney Melbourne and Queensland.

With a dedicated sales and customer support Team covering a broad range of solar inquires and assistance relating to solar Installation and service we cover small medium to large scale projects.

Reviewers report paying: $3,500 - $10,000 for depending on hardware choice and installation difficulty ( how is this calculated? )

Panels, inverter and battery brands

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

Skylight Energy Reviews (216)

Show Most Recent reviews from All timeacross Australia

Average Scores

4.3/5

Value for money

4.4/5

Quality of System

4.4/5

Installation

4.1/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 112
  • 4 star 60
  • 3 star 12
  • 2 star 8
  • 1 star 24

View Timeline

Stole deposit. Won’t return money or answer calls

I paid a deposit to skylight Energy in December 23, my install was cancelled twice without any issues but the third time they cancelled I discovered they had not even put in the paperwork to perform the install with Western Power or Synergy (WA), I reached out for a refund and they started ignoring my calls and emails, I have chased them up over 50 times and on the chance they answer the phone they just tell me they’ll get their accounts team to contact me. They never do. It’s been 2 months of chasing them for a refund. There are other reviews out there that say the same thing as me, that they keep your deposit and don’t do the work.
Show Details

Stay away from Skylight Energy

Skylight Energy installed solar panels on my roof 3 years ago. The installer installed a panel in a shaded area which caused the panel to overheat and become a fire risk. They refused to fix it and didn't respond to correspondence. Unfortunately, I was out of time to complain to Fair Trading and noting can be done. Do not use this company to install solar panels. Many many bad reviews!!
Show Details

Possibly the worst company in Australia

I agreed to a battery installation on my solar back in October 2023. I paid my deposit and sent the photos, filled in the forms and signed the contract.
Skylight wanted payment in full. Since I had no idea who they were I requested a contract change to payment on installation. So glad I did.
Nearly 4 months and a lot of phone calls later the Installer finally shows up with all the wrong equipment and tells me I need to cast a slab for the floor mounted batteries he has for a wall mounted installation. What a shower.
Show Details

Do not use these guys

Sales and quoting was OK. I was promised three different systems before they finally tried to install an eCactus. The installer was useless and failed to get the battery up and running and didn't bother to let me know. I was shocked when I got my first bill and found that after the poor install all of my solar power was being sold to the energy company. After around 20 emails and about 50 calls to the company regarding warranty I got another solar company to fix the issue. Six hours on the phone to eCactus finally fixed the issue. The system is now working. Do not use Skylight Energy they are hopeless. I still haven't been refunded the $490 dollars it cost me to get it working.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Good service and reasonable price

Good service and reasonable priceDone business with skylight energy twice in total. Added 12 panels and 12 inverters in to existing Enphase system. The installer is very knowledgeable with Enphase. Took little bit longer for the job done, but it’s ok with me. Staffs at skylight are all helpful, easy to talk with and thought out all the problems for me. Happy customer here, will recommend them!
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Have nothing to do with this company

This is the worst company I have ever had business with. I paid a $1300 deposit on a home battery that was never installed. After planning to install the battery on two separate occasions and failing to do so, I decided that Skylight Energy was a company I wanted nothing to do with. Fortunately, I got the deposit back from my bank because I had paid with a credit card. However, I was told by Skylight to put the request for the credit in writing, which I did, knowing it would be ignored, and it was. Today, they contacted me again, promising to install the battery sometime between 26 and
31 December 2023 (Christmas and New Year). You can imagine where I told them to go. The customer service was so appalling that I will never have anything to do with them again. There is nothing about this company that I would recommend. ZILCH!

I hate to think what their after-installation service might be like/

Inverter rating: 1/5
Show Details

Biggest failure

I had 3 skylight energy solar systems installed in 2020. They have never worked.

They either lie or ignore me.

Worst company ever
Show Details

An incentive was offered by Skylight Energy for this review. Learn more here.

Cowboy company - thieves

Had nothing but a terrible experience with the company. Took a $1000 deposit and then came up with various excuses as to why they couldn’t install and now ghosting me. Do not use them !!
Show Details

Great job skylight energy

I am very impressed with the whole process 3 weeks from the first call to installed. First class installer very neat great customer service. Nothing was a problem.
Thank you skylight energy
Show Details

Solar battery

Their customer service is pathetic, I have been trying to contact them about why my battery was not connected to the hot water system( still don't know if it should have been or not) Also be very aware that they will chase you up to 3 times a day to get most of the money out of you before you have even seen any person or installation equipment at your house from their company even when they keep postponing your job for weeks. *do not* use this company.
Battery rating: 4/5
Show Details

Warning

SKYLIGHT ENERGY SERIOUSLY BAD EXPERIENCE!
They took a $1000 deposit from me after promising a six week install!
One year later they haven’t installed anything and refuse to refund my deposit stating their contract has no refund’s written in the fine print!
Do not give these people any money they are not a good business.
Show Details

This 1.00 star review was removed at the request of the reviewer

Learn More

This 1.00 star review was removed at the request of the reviewer

Learn More

Not to be trusted

Edit 1/12/2022:
I had given Skylight Energy a negative review.
The operations Manager sent me a Notice of intention to commence legal proceedings.
That is all.
Show Details

They stand out among the rest!

Of all that I have inquired, Skylight Energy is the only ones that are direct in giving information. They have explained the products well, pricing and how much savings there will be. I love that dealing with them is very simple and direct to the point and backed up with real extraordinary service. Solar system is performing well already noticed a big difference in the bills, 12KW solar system has enough charge to add a battery, Professional staff and quality work. Highly recommended.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Terrible customer service

Solar system has been down now for 2 months due to Inverter failure. System only 3 years old and Skylight Energy tells me it is up to me to organise directly with the Inverter company for Warranty. Inverter company tells me that the Solar installer has to do the fault finding checks and fill out the paperwork. Have emailed and called every week, have yet to speak to anyone that can help me. Have asked for a technician more than 10 times and have agreed to pay for the technician to attend but no one has turned up. I have been polite and not abusive at all with them and they just don't care. I have to know find another Solar company to come out and fix this issue.
Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Excellent overall service and great products

Happy with these guys, purchased a solar upgrade and a 12kw battery system. System was installed quickly 3 weeks wait, service was great from the installers and office staff. Great Aussie company to deal with, sales rep was very helpful in sizing up our power bill usage and recommending the products. Everything working great. Recommended.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5
Show Details

An incentive was offered by Skylight Energy for this review. Learn more here.

Be careful.

Hi guys, yeah be careful with them they took my money and I can’t get it back. I even I took them to court and still I still didn't get my money back. Thank you.
Inverter rating: 1/5
Battery rating: 1/5
Show Details

An incentive was offered by Skylight Energy for this review. Learn more here.

Terrible Customer Service

The customer service was terrible. They hardly ever answered their phone, they rarely rang us back even when they promised they would. We paid our deposit and then didn’t hear from them for months. When we finally got through they made two installation dates which they cancelled at the last minute. They then made another installation date and asked for the 70% payment for the battery. They didn’t turn up on this date and didn’t even ring to let us know. We then waited for another 3 months with no contact from them. After dozens more phone calls with no satisfaction, we said we wanted our money back or we’d take out a civil suit. Another installation date was then made on a Saturday. They didn’t turn up again or ring us to let us know. I then rang the installer and complained. They finally came the next day, on a Sunday. The guys installed the battery and inverter - it was over a 6 month wait. The installers were terrific. We have our fingers crossed that the product is good, because I don’t like my chances of getting in contact with them for assistance!!
Show Details

Stay away, stay away

Must stay away

I have had nothing but trouble form start to finish with this company. The worst consumer experience from them. Just want your money and lie and never return emails or calls. Just chasing work not being completed day in day out.

The salesman sold me up the river, lied about a lot, I have spent $20k and a year later still waiting on some basic elecrical work to be completed. I have a battery and still getting massive bills.

I have involved fairtrading, power company, Ausgrid and wasted many days of my work time trying to chase up basic answers and the admin always say it has been done, but again still waiting a year later.

Can not use monitoring system, sungrow is useless. Asked for what the salesman sold me and they refused unless I pay a large amount more money. Even after spending $20k

STAY AWAY!! Worse experice ever and still not resolved a year later. Can't imagine what its going to be like if anything fails and I need warrenty help.

Many other companies out there. Check out their reviews so many experinces like mine.

Their installer was fast and knowledgeable, products other than sungrow monitering system seem fine. Everything else below a 1 star rating.

Panel rating: 3/5
Inverter rating: 1/5
Battery rating: 2/5
Show Details

Crap service

Made mistakes with paperwork.
Cancelled the install by getting the installer to call me ?
Did not let me know that there were issues with the paperwork with power company.
When I called to speak with someone got the usual run around so I asked to speak with a manager and got the same run around not available.

We will get some one to call you ?? When ?

Ok so how do I cancel and get my money back.

You have to send a email WTF.

So poor a service I have ever experienced. I would never use or touch this company.
Show Details

Inverter failed

Do not use this installer inverter failed during warranty period although there was 1.5 months for the warranty to expire they said since they purchased the unit 6 months ago from supplier the warranty is not valid
Date of installation was 20/4 2017 they claim they purchased in Oct 2017
All solar company’s warranty start from the date of installation not the date they purchased a container load to sell
Very disappointed end of the day no gain form this system coz I have to pay over 2300 to install a new inverter
Also they gave me a quote for 1 phase Inverter the which is not going to supply the 3 phase requirement of the house
If anyone looking for good installer check Sunboost I got my second unit installed with battery very good after sales service and have quality product.
Getting my inverter replaced from quoted for 3 phase unit for $2300
I have lodged a complain with fair trading will see what will happen

Panel rating: 3/5
Inverter rating: 1/5
Show Details

Fantastic

Very happy with the installation can’t wait to try it out.
Show Details

Very happy with everything.

Installation was a challenge with all the rain we were having but they didnt let us down. Thet did a brilliant job. Very happy.
Show Details

Very professional team

From start to finish the team at Skylight energy kept us informed at every step .. would recommend there services to anyone seeking solar power
Show Details

This 1.00 star review was removed at the request of the reviewer

Learn More

Excellent service

Working with Skylight Energy was a breeze … Skylight provided me various options and was able to answer all my questions… the whole process took less than 2 weeks from the time I placed the order until installation… was worried for awhile that the rains would delay Instalation, but they were able to come a day earlier than scheduled and complete the Instalation..

Love the work guys !!
Show Details

Shoddy workmanship, damaged my garage ceiling

Buyer beware - shoddy workmanship, broke my a/c duct, causing massive leak garage and damaging the ceiling. They say all the right things but in truth all i can present is what happened in my honest experience - headaches of trying to get these matters resolved, there's no accountability on their part - they try and palm it off to their sub contract electrician.

No stars would be appropriate, They were reasonable with their quote - I'll at least give them that, but post sale service, installation, care factor - - zero bordering non existing - unless it came time to collect the STC and money - they still have not aimed up to fix the issue that they've caused but as still seeking payment - so you've been warned.

The are my actual experiences in dealing with them, they even cut through (very poor form) the sarking to run they conduit - which they didn't even patch back - despite telling me they had patched the holes. Poor form Skylight.

Disappointing experience, needless to say - not recommended - go elsewhere - you don't need the dramas - trust me on that, you'll thank me later. See for yourself the damage caused which they refuse to fix.
Show Details

Great job

I would like to say a big thank you to, we had our system installed in March 2021 and had problems with our paper work supplied to energy Australia but the problem was on there side and then they advised no there was a problem with the installation. Vincent then had the installers recheck the installation which was correct and functioning correctly. Vincent contacted energy Australia and the next I was advised by energy Australia that the issue was sorted and the last 3 bills had been credited and redone.

Thanks Susan
Show Details

Hyundai/Goodwe combination

Installation team were polite and completed good quality work. Overall happy with workmanship and quality of system. Only complaints would be I would have liked inverter installed in different location and the app for goodwe inverter is not straight forward to setup. Other than this I’m happy with everything else. Skylight customer service have been great to deal with.
Show Details

Refreshing to have an installer with pride in his work & subject knowledge

Everyone was very professional. 3 days late with installation due to no-fault of Skylight Energy. I was kept informed the whole time. Very happy with results.
Show Details

Skylight solar.

The process was a great experience from start to finish. The installers were friendly and professional. Happy that I decided to get Skylight to install our solar. Highly recommend their service.
Show Details

This 1.00 star review was removed at the request of the reviewer

Learn More

We Will Never Trust Skylight Energy Again

We ordered our system in 11 December 2019 with installation promise before Christmas, should not have believed them - after numerous lies about installation dates and only after I said I wanted to cancel the whole contract, the installation eventually happened 17 April 2020.

Panels installed had damage to frames and/or glass surface and the installers were rude and told me all panels get damaged so not to worry about it. All calls to fix them were ignored until we took the matter to Department of Fair Trading, after which Skylight Energy replaced the panels on 8 April 2021, a year later.

We ended up getting a local electrician to complete the installation so it would comply with the export limit requirements.

They also broke waterline to our AC unit which they refused to fix and damaged our driveway which they also refused to fix or compensate in any way. This saga was finally settled when I paid the balance owing but our driveway remains unfixed.

We regret having had any dealings with Skylight Energy and really wish we had chosen a local supplier.

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Saving heaps of money with the solar installation!

Professional solar panel installation

Clear explanations of solar system options

Skilled and knowledgeable staff and installers

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Looks and works perfect.

Very straight forward procedure, Very quick install, (1 day wait )
Would highly recommend.
Show Details

Good value for money

Reliable installer and customer service staff are very polite and helpful. Happy that I decided to get Skylight to install our solar panels. Highly recommended.
Show Details

Fantastic company to deal with

Had a pleasure in dealing with this company in installing our solar system. Had a 10 kw system installed and happy with the solar returns. Carlos, the sales rep was extremely helpful in finding a product that suited us. He was knowledgeable and provided a system that suited our needs. Another person that I wanted to thank is Jean from customer service. It was a pleasure talking to you. Excellent service from you.
Fantastic service and product . Thanks guys.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Great company from Sales/Admin to installation

Couldn’t be happier with Carlos in sales to Jessica in admin. Installation team (Tony and his offsider) were fantastic, they were quick and explained everything before they started and help set up and explain how to use the app. They even took photos on our 2 storey roof on how they were going to attach the panels to make sure l was happy with the design.

Definitely recommend.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

the installer was very good was polite and did a tidy job very happy..

the sales was very good help me a lot .
the installation was very good he was polite punctual and tidy
the customer sevice was very good
Show Details

Great service!

Sales/quoting process was great with Carlos. He talked me through the whole process needed for installation. Installation and customer service was great too. A great Australian company indeed!
Show Details

Great Service, remarkable knowledgeable professionals

The service is beyond measure, i dealt with Carlos and from start till end he has amazed me with his professionalism and uttermost helpful nature. Carlos has made sure that i get the best products in the market with unbeatable price. Carlos constantly amazed with discounts which i didn't even expect and made the whole process dream come true. Another who was always on top of things and gave the best customer experience anyone can ask for is Jessica in the admin and contact centre of skylight she has contributed highly to make all these processes as simple as possibe and been very helpful with all my constant queries. In one word they are a great company and great genuine people.
Show Details

Fantastic installation

Solar installation done on time. Customer support and sales team stayed in touch throughout the installation process. After installation was done they even took effort for asking how the solar panel is working. I never thought installing solar would become such an easy task. Skylight Energy provides the best service for solar installation. I recommend skylight energy.
Panel rating: 5/5
Show Details

Fantastic work done by skylight energy Team.

Fantastic work done by skylight energy team. The team was super friendly and guided me very well throughout the installation work. Also I would like to thank sales and customer support team who were very cooperative. The installation was done on time. The team is very punctual and prompt. Very professional people who takes there work seriously.
Show Details

Very dedicated sales person, friendly installers

Contacted Skylight Energy with lots of requests for specific SolarEdge 10KW inverter and PVs. Vincent from sales went after all hardware, quoted got it to install in a very short time, just 2 days delay because of rain. The team of installers were very friendly and even after installation assisted using the mySolarEdge app.
I am recommending some friends to SolarEdge.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Great Installers, Superb Installation

Skylight Energy was great to deal with. Customer service was excellent and the installers were professional in their field.
I was contacted by phone personally to arrange date for installation and contacted again when the date had to be deferred due to bad weather.
I would recommend them to anyone thinking of getting solar installed.
Show Details

Pleased with the Savings and Service

Got my system installed in October 2020 very happy with the overall process and installation, everything is well organized and went smoothly. I am very happy with the QCELL panels, the production is over 35KW per day on a sunny day. Got a 6.6KW system installed in October so far no issues at all. Very pleased with the service and installation team they did an excellent job.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Terrible customer service and ridiculous computer-generated installation date

They always say 3-4 weeks for the installation date.

I had no update from them at the end of week 4. Trying to get an update from them and received a computer-generated installation date for another 18 days without any reason. They didn't even care about explaining the reasons to me for the 18 day delay. They have changed their tone of voice when I asked them for the reasons of the big lag, saying their computers scheduled it and not at their fault at all.

They won't give the deposit back to you even though they cannot make it within their advertised time frames. Big lag and terrible customer service will be waiting for you a head if you dare to do business with them.

Supplier Reply:

It is unfortunate that you feel this way considering we have strived to assist you with your installation as quickly as possible. We are unsure what computer generated date you are referring to, as we do not provide computer generated dates-our admin team contact the customers personally to provide installation dates.

As you are aware you changed your order, and therefore your contract, on the 5th of March. Skylight Energy have up to 4 months from the contract signing date to install, and we are well within that time frame.

Despite the circumstances we still wish to do a good job for you, and will install within the next 2 weeks weather permitting.
Show Details

Great customer service.

Customer service is helpful and friendly. Happy with the solar.
Would highly recommend
Show Details

Massive savings

Carlos was exceptional all the way through it and informed me of all the benefits while using top quality products. The team who installed everything were top tradesmen and worked quietly and professionally.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: