ABB solar inverters reviews

Based on 354 ratings Aus Ranking

  • 5 star 192
  • 4 star 122
  • 3 star 11
  • 2 star 9
  • 1 star 20

Show ratings from:

Timeline

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

About ABB, Solar Inverters

ABB solar inverters review

ABB (FIMER) Customer Service: 1800 769 663

ABB is a multi-billion dollar Swiss industrial giant that manufactured solar string inverters in Italy.

Although they didn't quite achieve the brand recognition of SMA, I personally rated ABB solar inverters as just as good! They had a reputation for reliability and great customer support, and as a bonus they tended to be a bit cheaper than an SMA.

Up to 2013, their inverters were known under the "Power One" brand, when Power One was bought out by the company. The move certainly didn't impact on quality, which remained high.

In July 2019, ABB announced it was exiting the solar inverter business, which Italian firm FIMER was to acquire. That acquisition process was completed in March 2020. However, a change in branding on the inverters didn't begin to occur until mid-2021 - so, up until that point they were still being produced with the ABB name.

Headquartered in Vimercate, Italy, Fimer was founded in 1942 and started tinkering with inverter technology in 1983. This isn't really a new area it's moving into, but previously it was mainly focused on inverters for solar farms.

As you'll see from the ABB inverter reviews below, failures under ABB have very rare and there's nothing to suggest this will change under FIMER. This Italian stallion of an inverter gets the thumbs up from me!

ABB/FIMER Inverter Warranty Notes

FIMER is honoring all existing ABB inverter warranties.

In Australia, FIMER offers a ten year full replacement warranty on new single phase string inverters (REACT2 and UNO-DM range). FIMER three-phase string inverters come with a standard five year full replacement warranty, that can be extended to 10 years at an extra cost. Sometimes additional warranty may be included as a promotion or part of a solar package deal.

Are you having inverter problems? Your first action for having the issue resolved is to contact the installer who installed your FIMER solar inverter. That business has the responsibility of attending to any warranty related issues.

In a situation where the original installer is no longer contactable, for example, if the business has closed, FIMER advise customers should lodge an enquiry here including the requested details. Alternatively, they can contact the company's customer service team on the number listed above. Once the warranty claim has been validated, FIMER will arrange shipment of the replacement solar inverter and advise how to return the faulty unit.

ABB Solar Inverter Reviews

Bought From: First Choice Solar Show additional information
Bought From: Green Vision Solar Show additional information
Bought From: Ausave Energy Show additional information
Bought From: Alliance Solar Show additional information
Bought From: EverySolar 2.0 Pty Ltd Show additional information
Aurora power one 5kw failed 5 weeks after warranty period ended.
Pleaded with installer who said it's the manufacturers problem.
Power one bought out by ABB.
Counted my losses and purchased new Fronius 5kw, so far very happy and wireless communication is so much better.
Bought From: Solargain Melbourne
Show additional information
Bought From: AC Electrical - Bundaberg/Fraser Coast/Gladstone Solar Show additional information
Bought From: Lightning Solar & Electrical - Melbourne Show additional information
Bought From: EISS Pty Ltd Show additional information
I can view Performace from my phone..
Bought From: Dillon and Kenzie Electrical Co
Show additional information
Already had the solar system I just added the battery to it through shinehub..
Bought From: ShineHub
Show additional information
Bought From: Smart Energy Group Show additional information
Bought From: Smart Energy Group Show additional information
Bought From: SolarBright Show additional information
Bought From: Arise Solar Show additional information
Bought From: AICA Energy Show additional information
Bought From: Solahart Show additional information
Bought From: Solahart Newcastle NF Show additional information
8 week old inverter (fitted 29/1/2021) caught on fire 22/3/2021. Luckily a my wife was home so we didn’t loose the house.
Bought From: Solahart Gold Coast
Show additional information
Bought From: Sparkwire Solar Show additional information
Bought From: Aurora Solar Show additional information
Bought From: Coast Wide Energy Show additional information
We installed ABB inverter in house and after sometime it started giving problem. I contacted the ABB team to get it replaced. They told me that you will receive new inverter in 10 days. All paper formalities were done that day. Now it’s been more than 2 weeks ABB team is just making excuses. I request everyone please don’t choose ABB company better to go for other well known companies. Can’t they replace a single inverter ?? That’s how you guys are running business by misbehaving with your customers??
Bought From: Energy Scene
Show additional information
Bought From: EcoSmart Solar Rockhampton Show additional information
Bought From: Solar Xpress Show additional information
ABB inverter is great when wires are installed properly!
Bought From: Solar Green Australia
Show additional information
Bought From: Solar Harness Show additional information
Bought From: Solahart Newcastle NF Show additional information
Bought From: Aurora Solar Show additional information
Bought From: Testar Energy Solutions Adelaide Show additional information
Bought From: Solahart Newcastle NF Show additional information
Replacement of inverter only, not a full system
Bought From: Town and Country Solar Pty Ltd
Show additional information
To date the 20 panels and the ABB inverter as recommended and installed by AURORA SOLAR have performed trouble free. We are very satisfied to date (10mths).
Bought From: Aurora Solar
Show additional information
I like that there is no LCD screen, direct connection to WiFi from any PC or smart phone
Bought From: Solahart
Show additional information
Bought From: Albany Solar Show additional information
Quite large and bulky on the exterior design of the house, but it's ok I guess.
Bought From: Sky Power Energy
Show additional information
Bought From: Reclaim Energy Newcastle Show additional information
Bought From: JJA Solar and Electrical Pty Ltd Show additional information
I’m happy
Bought From: Solahart New South Wales
Show additional information
I love the online monitoring app on my phone so that I can see what my system is doing in real-time
Bought From: Sun Connect Solar
Show additional information
Bought From: Hybrid Solar Energy Solutions Show additional information
Bought From: Westside Energy Show additional information
Had to change the circuit breaker - it was too sensitive and kept tripping. Tim swapped it over at no cost!
Bought From: Apex Solar and Electrical
Show additional information
Bought From: eSolar Show additional information
Bought From: SolarEZE Brisbane Show additional information
Bought From: DQ Electrical Pty Ltd Show additional information
Bought From: Your Green Planet Show additional information
Bought From: Esena Energy Consultants Show additional information
Only a few days in but seems on target
Bought From: My Energy Engineering Grid Connect
Show additional information
Bought From: Your Green Planet Show additional information

ABB has 63 solar inverters in our database

Model DC Voltage AC Power Efficiency
3300W-2230 V3300 W97.10
4000W-2230 V4000 W97.10
4600W-2230 V4600 W97.10
6000W-2230 V6000 W97.10
8000W-2230 V8000 W97.10
MICRO-0.25-I-OUTD-23065 V250 W96.50
MICRO-0.3-I-OUTD-23065 V300 W96.50
PVI-10.0-OUTD-AU400 V10000 W 97.80
PVI-10.0-TL-OUTD-FS400 V10000 W97.80
PVI-10.0-TL-OUTD-S400 V10000 W97.80
PVI-12.0-I-OUTD480 V12000 W97.00
PVI-12.5-OUTD-AU400 V12500 W97.80
PVI-12.5-TL-OUTD-W360-7501250097.80
PVI-2000-OUTD-AU600200096.00
PVI-3.0-OUTD-AU230 V3000 W96.80
PVI-3.0-OUTD-AU-W50-580 300096.80
PVI-3.0-TL-OUTD-W50-580 300096.80
PVI-3.6-OUTD-AU230 V3600 W 96.80
PVI-3.6-OUTD-AU-W50-5803600 96.80
PVI-3.6-TL-OUTD-W50-5803600 96.80
PVI-3.8-I-OUTD240 V3800 W96.50
PVI-4.2-OUTD-AU230 V4200 W96.80
PVI-4.2-OUTD-AU-W50-580 4200 96.80
PVI-4.2-TL-OUTD-W50-580 V4200 W50.00
PVI-4.6-I-OUTD208 V4600 W96.00
PVI-5000-OUTD-AU230 V5000 W97.00
PVI-5000-OUTD-AU-W50-580 V4600 W97.00
PVI-5000-OUTD-S-AU230 V5000 W97.00
PVI-6000-OUTD-AU230 V6000 W97.00
PVI-6000-OUTD-AU-W50 - 580 V6000 W97.00
PVI-6000-OUTD-S-AU230 V6000 W97.00
PVI-8.0-TL-OUTD750 V8000 W97.60
PVI-8.0-TL-OUTD-FS900800097.60
PVI-8.0-TL-OUTD-S900800097.80
PVI-CENTRAL-100-US208 V100000 W95.00
PVI-CENTRAL-250-US480 V250000 W97.00
PVI-CENTRAL-300-US480 V300000 W97.00
PVI-CENTRAL-50-US480 V50000 W95.00
PVS800-57-0100kW-A300 V100 kW98.00
PVS800-57-0250kW-A300 V250 kW98.00
PVS800-57-0315kW-B350 V315 kW 98.60
PVS800-57-0500kW-A300 V500 kW98.60
PVS800-57-0630kW-B350 V630 kW98.60
PVS800-57-0750kW-C300 V750 kW98.60
PVS800-57-0875kW-B350 V875 kW98.70
PVS800-57-1000kW-C400 V1000 kW98.80
TRIO-20.0-TL-OUTD-S2J-400400 V20000 W98.20
TRIO-20.0-TL-OUTD-S2X-400200-950 V20000 W98.20
TRIO-27.6-TL-OUTD-400200-95027600 98.20
TRIO-27.6-TL-OUTD-S1J-400200-95027600 98.20
TRIO-27.6-TL-OUTD-S2-400200-9502760098.20
TRIO-27.6-TL-OUTD-S2F-400200-9502760098.20
TRIO-27.6-TL-OUTD-S2J-400200-95027600 98.30
TRIO-27.6-TL-OUTD-S2X-400400 V27600 W98.00
ULTRA-1100-TL-OUTD-1-800 V1170 KW96.50
UNO-2.0-I-OUTD90-520 V2000 W96.30
UNO-2.0-I-OUTD-S90-520 V2000 W96.30
UNO-2.0-I-OUTD-W500 V 2000 W96.30
UNO-2.5-I-OUTD90-520 V2500 W96.30
UNO-2.5-I-OUTD-S90-520 Vdc250096.30
UNO-2.5-I-OUTD-W90-520 Vdc250096.30
UNO-7.6-TL-OUTD240 V8600 W96.50
UNO-8.6-TL-OUTD240 V8600 W96.50
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: