Menu
House
House Tablet

Find The Best Solar Deals In Australia

  • 3 Free, No Obligation, Solar Quotes
  • From Fully Qualified Installers
  • With 1000’s of Customer Reviews
  • Competing for Your Business
Finn Peacock Caricature

Ready for some quotes? Enter your postcode now


LG solar panels review

Overall Rating From 76 Reviews:

LG solar panels review

Average Customer Rating:

Tier 1

LG Solar produces high quality, tier 1 solar panels and are part of the giant South Korean company LG. In 2016 they produced 1,200 megawatts of panels. While this is only 20% of what the world leader Jinko produced, LG Solar is still a large player in the premium panel market.

Most of the panels LG Solar currently sell in Australia have a 12 year product warranty, which is two years longer than the the standard for tier 1 panels. They also just released the NeON R, with a 25 year product warranty.

LG has offices in every mainland state capital. While Tasmania misses out, this is much better coverage than most tier one manufacturers who usually only have a single office in Australia, or in some cases, none at all.

LG Are Reliable Panels

LG claim that of 360,000 panels installed in Australia, only 3 have been returned - due to poor installation. LG claim they have never had an Australian panel come back due to production failure.

This reliability comes at a premium of around a 25% higher price per watt.

LG Is A Huge Company

LG Solar is part of LG Electronics which is part of the South Korean corporation LG which used to go by the surprisingly chipper name, Lucky Goldstar. LG is enormous and has a market capitalisation of over $14 billion.

The net wealth of the entire population of the nation of Tonga comes to less than $14 billion. This means the LG Corporation has more money than some countries.

Note I’m not saying the value of Tonga itself is less than $14 billion, as the whole can be worth more than the sum of its parts. For example, I’m sure we could get Lex Luthor to pay more than $14 billion for Tonga as a whole.

LG is involved in a wide range range of areas covering chemicals, electronics, and communications. The company has so many fingers in so many pies I'm surprised they haven't grafted extra arms to their CEO.

While LG headquarters is in the South Korean capital of Seoul, solar panel manufacture takes place in the industrial city of Gumi, which, through some dark sorcery, actually manages to have a worse climate than Seoul.

While LG had been tooling around with solar cells in some form or another for over 20 years, they only entered panel manufacturing in 2009.

LG Solar Panels

While LG appears to manufacture panels that only carry a standard 10 year warranty for use overseas, the three panels they currently sell in Australia, the LG Mono X 2, the LG NeON 2, and the LG NeON 2 Black, all come with a 12 year product warranty. They also have a 25 year performance warranty, but this is rarely of use to householders.

The LG Mono X 2 has an efficiency of around 17% while LG NeOn 2 panels can have an efficiency of up to 19.5% which can make them very useful for installations with a limited amount of roof space. The LG NeON 2 Black has slightly lower efficiency, but some people like its dark colour, so I highly recommend it for people who think black is the new black.

All the panels are salt mist and ammonia corrosion resistant and so are suitable for installation anywhere in Australia.

Lost In Translation

LG says their NeON solar panels use double sided wafers. I find this very interesting, because I can't for the life of me work out what a single sided wafer could be. If a wafer only has one side and I turned it over, would it disappear? If it did disappear, how could I turn it over again to get back to its single side?

I am thinking maybe something got lost in translation here and they are referring to a feature almost all solar panels have, which is making use of light reflected off the back of the cell.

LG Chem Produces Battery Storage

LG produces a home battery storage system but that is made by LG Chem and not LG Solar and these two parts of the company probably have nothing at all to do with each other.

A Reliable Panel At A Premium Price

Any solar panel that comes with a product warranty longer than the standard 10 years is likely to be of high quality and the LG panels available in Australia are no exception. If you are willing to pay perhaps 25% more than you would for a tier 1 panel with a standard 10 year warranty for extra peace of mind, then LG panels could certainly suit you.

Rating Comments Name State Postcode
They are LG Monox3.
Bought From: LG Energy Review Date: 14 April 2017
Neil VIC 3444

Bought From: Glen Clark and Co Review Date: 13 April 2017
Scott VIC 3153

Bought From: SolarHub Review Date: 13 April 2017
Jono NSW 2620
they still look great and by the output seem to be doing their job
Bought From: Soltek Energy Review Date: 12 April 2017
Andrew NSW 2067

Bought From: Solar WA Review Date: 19 March 2017
Joan WA 6064
I chose the LG Neon 2 panels for high power output, low claimed thermal degradation, and low claimed degradation over life.
Bought From: LG Energy Review Date: 16 March 2017
Michael NSW 2162
The house is rectangular in shape and has the long axis oriented east-west. The roof is narrow gutted allowing only a single row of panels on each side of the ridge, roof pitch is 9 degrees. I have a 5.76 kW system. There are 7 solar panels mounted on north face and 11 on south face. Monthly state so far are 730 kWh for June, 755 for July, 865 for August and 905 for September. Daily max output from June to September was 26kWh, 26kWh, 31kWh, 33Jew respctively. October has registered a 35kWh output day.
Bought From: Gem Energy Australia Review Date: 8 February 2017
Adrian NT 810

Bought From: LG Energy Review Date: 1 February 2017
Narelle QLD 4151

Bought From: True North Solar Review Date: 17 February 2017
Russell QLD 4819

Bought From: CDA Air and Solar Review Date: 26 January 2017
Alan WA 6375
Generally I believe they are a bit of a con and should not be embraced by a person who has a rather tight budget
Bought From: Essential Solar Review Date: 31 January 2017
John VIC 3123

Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 21 January 2017
Bruce NSW 2213

Bought From: Bradford Solar Review Date: 15 January 2017
Anon NSW 2140

Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 20 February 2017
David NSW 2500
Panels working well and delivering plenty of power.
Bought From: Soltek Energy Review Date: 7 January 2017
Cyril NSW 2753

Bought From: Replenishable Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 5 January 2017
Jose QLD 4880
All 16 panels seem to be working really well, we have 7 facing north and 9 facing east and on a good summers day in December and January get about 30kwh and even in late August managed to get 19kwh on a sunny cloudless day.
Bought From: Urban Renewables Review Date: 8 January 2017
Angus VIC 3188

Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 31 December 2016
Steve NSW 2213
All good so far.
Bought From: Soltek Energy Review Date: 5 December 2016
Andrew NSW 2068

Bought From: LG Energy Review Date: 5 December 2016
Elaine WA 6280

Bought From: Urban Renewables Review Date: 29 November 2016
Ann VIC 3144

Bought From: LG Energy Review Date: 28 November 2016
Dallas NSW 2315
The panels have been performing well with the combination of the micro inverters.
Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 1 December 2016
Evan NSW 2172

Bought From: MPV Group Review Date: 14 December 2016
David NSW 2227
We only have a 3 kw system as not enough room for more panels.
Bought From: Down South Solar Power Review Date: 23 November 2016
Ross WA 6225
We were worried about the aesthetics of the installation, something that does not worry many other installations. After many discussions on whether or not to install solar panels, we finally agreed that it was a good idea. The roof is below the road level and we did not want a roof that looked like an incomplete cross word puzzle. The solution was to mount the panels slightly behind the ridge line. Although not the most efficient position, we are more than happy with both the result and the aesthetics.
Bought From: Absolute Energy Solutions Pty Ltd Review Date: 21 November 2016
Ronald QLD 4121
I wish I had a data logger to track performance v light levels to quantitatively. Unfortunately I do not ; though i have found that the panels do produce at seemingly low levels of light. Perhaps the size of the system is also a contributing factor.
Bought From: MPV Group Review Date: 31 October 2016
Dharshan NSW 2749

Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 15 January 2017
Steve NSW 2074
During the summer months they were regularly delivering to their capacity and even during overcast periods we were surprised at the output.
Bought From: Springers Solar Review Date: 7 November 2016
Alan QLD 4156

Bought From: Space Solar Review Date: 5 September 2016
Anon NSW 2049
State-of-the-art solar panels got to be one of the best solar panels on the market and A1 performance
Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 30 August 2016
Brian NSW 2777
Initially had seven LG Neon2 x 315 Watt and six LG Neon2 x 320 Watt PV panels totalling 4.125 kW. In March second installer added six more LG Neon2 x 320 Watt PV panels to make a total of 6.045 kW. No problem with the LG Neon2 panels except that they have BLACK frames–marketing stupidity over engineering sensibility. The idea is to keep the PV panels cool so they perform better. It will be interesting to see how that finish lasts in my situation close to the sea.
Bought From: LG Energy Review Date: 8 September 2016
Peter NSW 2536
Great quality panels, very happy with them. Black cells with black frames blend well with dark grey tiles. Our 6kW of panels produced a maximum of 43kWh one day in summer
Bought From: Urban Renewables Review Date: 20 July 2016
Andrew VIC 3145

Bought From: Soltek Energy Review Date: 14 April 2016
Kevin NSW 2121
once again we can't compare.
Bought From: Down South Solar Power Review Date: 24 June 2016
Orest WA 6233

Bought From: Replenishable Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 6 June 2016
BRIAN QLD 4880
The panels put out their max all the time the sun is directly on them. When the sun moves they still produce a good 60% to 80% until sun goes down.
Bought From: Beyond Solar Review Date: 31 May 2016
Norman NSW 2753
We went with these panels because they are built really well,even tho they cost more but,the quality is much better than many other brands.Oh and another plus LG are built in Korea not China Also to install LG panels one has to be an LG approved installer, and don't let anyone tell they can do it !
Bought From: Solar 2020 Review Date: 20 April 2016
Terry WA 6057

Bought From: SolarHub Review Date: 30 April 2016
Joe ACT 2614

Bought From: Sams Solar Review Date: 18 April 2016
PETER NSW 2750
These panels look great. It's a shame they aren't more visible on the roof.
Bought From: SolarHub Review Date: 17 April 2016
Rene ACT 2614

Bought From: Solarblu Review Date: 11 April 2016
Bill NSW 2541
We are very happy with the LG panels, they are solid and attractive. We had the opportunity to visually compare them with some other brand panels at the Keen2bgreen warehouse prior to making our final decision and they looked better quality then and still do on our roof.
Bought From: LG Energy Review Date: 27 April 2016
Doug QLD 4221

Bought From: Soltek Energy Review Date: 24 March 2016
Cesare NSW 2519
LG neon 315w has been quite stellar. On some cool days, I have seen some panel reaching up 300+w on Solaredge module level monitoring. They routinely reach 280w while maxing out inverter output.
Bought From: Soltek Energy Review Date: 13 July 2016
Chanop NSW 2206

Bought From: Great Southern Solar Review Date: 23 August 2015
Chris WA 6327

Bought From: CDA Air and Solar Review Date: 13 March 2016
Danny WA 6562
No, they just sit up on the roof sucking in the rays, doing their job.
Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 17 December 2015
Ray ACT 2913

Bought From: Great Southern Solar Review Date: 8 January 2016
Mark WA 6260

Bought From: LG Energy Review Date: 3 November 2015
Anon NSW 2223
Very good from efficiency perspective. Space limitations meant we used the newer neon 315w panels. ($$)
Bought From: Glen Clark and Co Review Date: 18 November 2015
Ashleigh VIC 3088
Great when sun is out, but never get to full claimed 315 watt per panel ( x 14)
Bought From: Northern Sky Electrical Review Date: 4 October 2015
Rodney QLD 4869

Bought From: SolarHub Review Date: 15 September 2015
David NSW 2537

Bought From: True North Solar Review Date: 25 September 2015
Estelle QLD 4814

Bought From: SolarHub Review Date: 22 September 2015
John ACT 2605
Even on cloudy days I fully cover my usage.
Bought From: SolarLink Review Date: 30 August 2015
John NSW 2536

Bought From: SolarHub Review Date: 21 August 2015
Michelle ACT 2617
These panels are mono-crystalline 275 watts each. The size of my system is 3.03 KW
Bought From: LG Energy Review Date: 4 August 2015
Michael NSW 2477

Bought From: SolarPro Review Date: 9 April 2015
Anne NSW 2101

Bought From: LG Energy Review Date: 23 July 2015
Andrew NSW 2800

Bought From: LG Energy Review Date: 16 July 2015
Angela QLD 4701
Living in a nicely treed environment, the combination of efficient panels and good quality micro-inverters ensures that we are getting good production figures.
Bought From: Solar Electric Review Date: 29 June 2015
Chris NSW 2067

Bought From: SolarLink Review Date: 6 July 2015
Tony NSW 2536

Bought From: True North Solar Review Date: 9 June 2015
Barry QLD 4812
300w but choice mag says they prod 305w.
Bought From: Glen Clark and Co Review Date: 12 March 2015
Michael VIC 3083

Bought From: SolarLink Review Date: 12 March 2015
Steve NSW 2548
275watt panels. Total of about 3.6kw. 13 panels.
Bought From: Aussie Made Solar Review Date: 27 February 2015
Peter QLD 4226

Bought From: Glen Clark and Co Review Date: 17 February 2015
Simon VIC 3057

Bought From: Energy Base Review Date: 16 March 2015
Gordon QLD 4753
They are 275w compared to the standard 250/255w meaning we are generating more power for the same roof space as similar sized panels and can achieve a better return on limited space.
Bought From: LG Energy Review Date: 16 February 2015
Matthew VIC 3350
I have only had my solar panels since 29-05-2014, but so far all good and have not needed any service.
Bought From: MPV Group Review Date: 20 June 2014
Flo NSW 2870

Bought From: SolarLink Review Date: 25 May 2014
Alois NSW 2537

Bought From: Geelong Solar Energy Review Date: 23 April 2014
Jack VIC 3224

Bought From: Future Sustainability QLD Review Date: 20 March 2012
Doug QLD 4272
Not sure of the brand but is one recommended by Mannix.
Bought From: Mannix Solar Review Date: 19 April 2012
Elizabeth SA 5016

Bought From: Cablelogic previously Renewable Logic Review Date: 27 July 2011
Graeme WA 6149

LG has 81 solar panels in our database

Model Type Size PTC Performance Ratio Californian Approved
LG210P1W-G1 (60 cells)Polycrystalline21018989.95Yes
LG215P1W-G1 (60 cells)Polycrystalline21519490.00Yes
LG220P1W-G1 (60 cells)Polycrystalline22019890.05Yes
LG220R1C-G2 (60 Poly cells)Polycrystalline22019387.82Yes
LG220R1W-G2 (60 Poly cells)Polycrystalline22019387.82Yes
LG225P1W-G1 (60 cells)Polycrystalline22520390.13Yes
LG225R1C-G2 (60 Poly cells)Polycrystalline22519887.87Yes
LG225R1W-G2 (60 Poly cells)Polycrystalline22519887.87Yes
LG230P1W-G1 (60 cells)Polycrystalline23020790.17Yes
LG230R1C-G2 (60 Poly cells)Polycrystalline23020287.91Yes
LG230R1W-G2 (60 Poly cells)Polycrystalline23020287.91Yes
LG235R1C-G2 (60 Poly cells)Polycrystalline23520788.00Yes
LG235R1W-G2 (60 Poly cells)Polycrystalline23520788.00Yes
LG240M1C-G2Monocrystalline24021589.58Yes
LG240R1C-G2 (60 Poly cells)Polycrystalline24021188.04Yes
LG240R1W-G2 (60 Poly cells)Polycrystalline24021188.04Yes
LG245S1C-G2 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline24522190.00Yes
LG245S1C-G3Monocrystalline24522190.37Yes
LG245S1K-G3Monocrystalline24521888.90Yes
LG250S1C-G2 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline25022590.08Yes
LG250S1C-G3Monocrystalline25022690.44Yes
LG250S1K-A3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline25022690.28Yes
LG250S1K-B3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline25022790.96Yes
LG250S1K-G3Monocrystalline25022288.96Yes
LG255S1C-A3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline25523190.63Yes
LG255S1C-B3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline25523491.69Yes
LG255S1C-G2 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline25523090.12Yes
LG255S1C-G3Monocrystalline25523190.47Yes
LG255S1K-A3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline25523090.31Yes
LG255S1K-B3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline25523290.98Yes
LG255S1K-G3Monocrystalline25522789.02Yes
LG255S1W-A3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline25523190.63Yes
LG260S1C-A3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline26023690.69Yes
LG260S1C-B3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline26023991.73Yes
LG260S1C-G2 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline26023490.15Yes
LG260S1C-G3Monocrystalline26023590.38Yes
LG260S1K-A3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline26023590.35Yes
LG260S1K-B3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline26023791.04Yes
LG260S1K-G3Monocrystalline26023289.08Yes
LG260S1W-A3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline26023690.69Yes
LG260S1W-G2 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline26023088.62Yes
LG260S1W-G3Monocrystalline26023590.38Yes
LG265S1C-A3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline26524090.72Yes
LG265S1C-B3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline26524391.77Yes
LG265S1C-G3Monocrystalline26524090.42Yes
LG265S1K-A3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline26524090.42Yes
LG265S1K-B3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline26524191.09Yes
LG265S1W-A3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline26524090.72Yes
LG265S1W-G3Monocrystalline26524090.42Yes
LG270N1C-G3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline27024490.52Yes
LG270N1W-G3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline27024490.52Yes
LG270S1C-A3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline27024590.78Yes
LG270S1C-B3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline27024891.81Yes
LG270S1W-A3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline27024590.78Yes
LG275N1C-G3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline27524990.58Yes
LG275N1K-A3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline27524890.18Yes
LG275N1W-G3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline27524990.58Yes
LG275S1C-B3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline27525391.85Yes
LG280N1C-G3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline28025892.00Yes
LG280N1K-A3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline28025390.21Yes
LG280N1W-G3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline28025892.00Yes
LG280S1C-B3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline28025490.54Yes
LG285N1C-A3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline28526091.05Yes
LG285N1C-G3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline28526292.04Yes
LG285N1K-A3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline28525790.28Yes
LG285N1W-A3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline28526091.05Yes
LG285N1W-G3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline28526292.04Yes
LG290N1C-A3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline29026591.41Yes
LG290N1C-G3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline29026792.07Yes
LG290N1K-A3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline29026290.31Yes
LG290N1W-A3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline29026591.41Yes
LG290N1W-G3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline29026792.07Yes
LG295N1C-A3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline29527091.46Yes
LG295N1C-G3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline29527292.14Yes
LG295N1K-A3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline29526790.37Yes
LG295N1W-A3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline29527091.46Yes
LG295N1W-G3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline29527292.14Yes
LG300N1C-A3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline30027591.50Yes
LG300N1C-G3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline30027792.17Yes
LG300N1W-A3 (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline30027591.50Yes
LG300N1W-G3 (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline30027792.17Yes
<< Prev LDK Solar
LG
54.576