Glen Clark and Co

Glen Clark and Co Reviews

About

Glen Clark and Co serves Melbourne and the surrounding areas and benefits from more than 25 years' experience in the solar power industry. All work is carried out by experienced and registered tradespeople.

The company offers renewable energy solutions to residential and commercial properties - it is also a Registered Electrical Contractor and conforms to current Australian standards.

Customers of Glen Clark and Co are encouraged to make the most of state and federal government incentives for switching to clean energy sources. It strives to provide the highest level of customer service to encourage consumers to return time and time again.

Panels, inverter and battery brands

Panel brands currently installed

Panel brands previously installed

Inverter brands currently installed

Inverter brands previously installed

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

Glen Clark and Co Reviews (83)

Show Most Recent reviews from All time

Average Scores

4.3/5

Value for money

4.6/5

Quality of System

4.6/5

Installation

4.5/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 22
  • 4 star 52
  • 3 star 8
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0

View Timeline

Quality components and quality install

Quoting was prompt and detailed.
Installation was seamless and site was left relatively clean. Customer service was fantastic. Highly recommend getting solar installed from Glen and his team.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

still not happy

Its been a long and drawn out process. Some of it relating to a difficult neighbour but even allowing for that I have had to get them back to fix safety switch and monitoring wasnt working (and still isnt) as I remain unable to get my log in information. Every time I send an email or text it requires a follow up to get a response. Its been too protracted a process so far
Show Details

Original Review on 29-08-2019:

Good system

Sales/quoting - prompt.
Installation - Very polite, tidy and punctual.
I'm still waiting for an inspector.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 3/5

9 months later we asked Michael: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes the system is performing well.
A couple of weeks ago I got a warning
"System Production Issue. Below threshold "and tried to follow "Enphase" recommended step but I can't get to the bottom of it. I have emailed "Enphase" but they haven't replied back. And obviously the installer is not helping either.

Also I still can't get the installation map from the installer. I'm assuming that they haven't created one but they don't want to admit it? They don't want to ring me back. I tried a couple of times and an office/secretary person says that someone will ring me back but it hasn't happened yet.
Show Details

Original Review on 30-05-2019:

Customer service from internal admin needs improving (eg no acknowledgement or receipt for deposit paid) Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 3/5

8 months later we asked Paul: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Wholeheartedly recommend LG & Enphase micro inverters and The team at Glen Clark. System is generating more than expected. could not be happier
Show Details

No complaints

We planned to put on solar panels and apply for a Victorian government rebate, so we sought three quotes. One was ridiculously cheap and the proposed equipment was low quality (and the company didn't have a good review here). The second was a bit cheaper than Glen Clark, but the panels and inverter were not well rated (on this site). Steve (a nice guy to deal with) from Glen Clark came out to inspect including going on to the roof, and we received a quote for 18 LG Neon 2 345W panels and Fronius Primo 5.0.1 SC inverter. The warranty on the LG panels was a major factor in our decision. We had no issues dealing with Glen Clark and all our questions were answered quickly. After the rebate was approved, we were advised (by Glen Clark) that the Fronius inverters were not available so they offered two alternatives. We went with the ABB UNO as it had better reviews on this site (and it also saved us some money). We had plenty of notice for the installation date and the four Glen Clark employees completed the job efficiently and cleanly. They also helped to move and put sealant on a couple of tiles that already had cracks in them. They were even kind enough to take multiple photos as the panels were being installed. In a nutshell, great company to deal with, good communication at all times, we had no problems at all.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details
After installation we found that shortcuts had been taken during installation of the roof rails which required 2 call backs to rectify
Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

This issue was advised to us by the client on two separate occasions after he had been on the roof himself.

The issue was corners cracked on the tiles (two) in question which had been siliconed as our installers felt full replacement was not required.
On being notified of the issue we remedied the works to the clients satisfaction by removing panels and replacing the tile in question.

We cannot agree that this was due to “shortcuts” in our work as rectification was undertaken at time of installation, there was no chance of leaks, the corners had been siliconed in place and the tiles in question were under the solar modules.

These are concrete tiles and the corners can be quite thin and brittle and will often break over time but as we like our clients to be happy with our works the rectification was undertaken promptly and without complaint by us.
Show Details

Great valued installation

Communication was good from quoting to installation. Of the three installers contacted, these guys offered the best overall system. Their price point came in at a similar price to a competitor for a 5kw system, but they provided much better panels.

The system was only just installed, but they are organising for the inspection to be completed, amd once that's done they will contact the local electricity distributor to connect me onto the grid.

On the second day in with some clear weather at the tail end of winter, the system managed to generate 29kwh in a day.
Show Details
Show Details

Original Review on 29-10-2018:

Choosing to install solar is not just a financial decision its about quality, service and judgement about reliability. Glen Clark has provided excellent service and responsiveness with no heavy sales tactics. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Simon: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Hard to rate performance as there is nothing to compare to - seems to be running well.
Show Details

Great Value for Money!

I had my solar system installed by Glen Clark on Feb this year. Expertise and installation is very professional. The value (top quality system) vs cost is good and it was the better of three quotes I got.

Sales/quoting process was smooth, no issues. Glen even sent me another layout after chatting and I provided some feedback/requests from the first one. The quotation/report he sends is very good and comprehensive.

Installation: First date had to be cancelled due to a local power outage. Second was cancelled by them due to installaters sick. Room for improvement there was that I was not notified and I had to call 90min to find out. Third installation attempt it all went well, they got on time, very polite and professional and explained me what they were doing and how to use the inverter at the end.

Customer service was good but could be better. I mean, they responded many of my enquiries but some emails I sent got no response so I had to insist or call in some cases. So room for improvement there. They helped with the grid connection. They helped me with the paperwork for the Solar Vic grant, but this was not smooth and I had to send multiple emails. Apparently the broker who does their STCs credits delayed the process, but I was kind of in the dark for some time, not being properly informed. I finally got all the paperwork and got the rebate :)
Show Details
So far so good.
Show Details
Average service. The installer Dave turned up late on the day. He forgot to bring along the job sheet and asked me if I could show him the layout of the panels. Once the installation commenced, Dave realised he had run out of parts and so he went to buy parts while the apprentices sat around waiting for him. He turned up 2 hours later. By this stage, I had contacted their office for an explanation and they sent out Dylan to assist with the job. The apprentices weren’t getting along with Dave and there was constant bickering. Dave was smoking in the garage and entered the house multiple times to use the toilet with dirty work shoes. On a couple of occasions he entered the house to use the toilet without seeking permission. The installation was completed at around 5 pm. They took a couple of minutes to take me over the inverter and quickly left. It took another two weeks to book a safety inspection. The inspector found a couple of faults with the installation and did not approve the system. It took another two weeks for the faults to be rectified. While signing up with Glen Clark, I knew I was paying premium price but I was happy to do so thinking I would get top quality service. Unfortunately, that wasn’t the case. I know of other households who went with other installers, paid less and had their systems up and running without any issues even though their process began after mine. No apologies from the company whatsoever. However, they were very quick to send me the final invoice the following day.

Please shop around so you get better value for your investment. I do not recommend this company.

Supplier Reply:

Unfortunately in these busy times it can be difficult to employ excellent tradesmen and I can only offer apologies for these problems which I was unaware of at the time.

These employees have since been terminated after we learned of similar issues, we live and learn from our experiences.

Glen.
Show Details
Glen gives good old fashioned, fair, honest service. Everything from information, choice to install was a breeze because we didnt have to worry about whether we were going to be taken for a ride. What a breath of fresh air! We found Glen on Whirlpool and we are very happy we did. Thank you!
Show Details
Recently had my solar system installed by Glen's team and the process from requesting the quote through to install was a breeze.

I had done a bit of research and was looking for a mid range quality system not one of those TV or newspaper deals that flash a lot of big numbers for a bargain basement price as I knew they wouldn't go the distance.

I wanted the same with my installer and if you look at Whirlpool and Solar Quotes as 2 examples, you will find recommendation after recommendation for Glen Clark. I had also requested a quote from Glen back in 2013 so seeing the company still being highly recommended 6 years later meant a lot.

Before install and with no obligation Glen personally came out for a site inspection and to answer any of our questions, no other installer I requested a quote from offered this service.

The team that installed the system did a great job, Dylan called to check first before moving the inverter from the agreed location and I really appreciated his advice.

If you're after a quality system, competitive price and professional service there is no need to look elsewhere.
Show Details

Original Review on 12-07-2018:

You won't go wrong with this man Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Pat: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Because i can monitor them online i can say yes
Show Details
Show Details

Original Review on 12-06-2018:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked This person: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

yes but Im on 2 phase and am limited to 3.5 Kw per phase and both inverters max out on good days
Show Details
We had our system installed around 18 months ago and the whole process was very easy, yet thorough and informed. Glen's installers did an excellent job and it hasn't missed a beat. Highly recommend.
Show Details

Original Review on 17-04-2018:

Glen took the time to explain exactly how the system would be installed and didnt overestimate the percentage of usage that the system would cover which enabled a more accurate payback calculation. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Terry: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system has performed up to expectation. We went with higher quality components in the Fronius inverter and LG panels but both have performed perfectly since installation.
Show Details
Glen is a very upfront and honest guy. everything was fast and professional.
Show Details
I went to several suppliers to get quotes and some returned with quotes (4 did but 1 didn't). I chose Glen Clark because of reviews in Whirlpool forums and from your website. He was rather hard to get hold of. He supplied me the most comprehensive quote with indication of where the solar panels will be located and he did his best to align the panels to the North direction given the limited roof space. Also in the quote, he provided me the calculation of the payback period and how much annual solar generation from the system. He also came to do a site visit to confirm the order and answer all my queries. My system consists of LG NeON 2 335W and Enphase IQ7+ microinverters.
Show Details
Show Details
Glen was very helpful a provided 4 quotes in the end. Giving me options to choose which suited me best. Compared to other quotes for same high end equipment. He was by far the cheapest
Show Details
I very much appreciated all of the information provided by the Solar Quotes website. It felt like a one stop shop for all the information I needed and it seemed trustworthy. I world recommend Solar Quotes to anyone else starting out looking at getting solar panels but not knowing much about it. Although I went with a supplier other than one suggested by Solar Quotes, I feel that Solar Quotes did very much help me to implement my plan to get solar panels, and within a relatively short time frame too.
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details

Original Review on 03-01-2018:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked This person: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Definitely has been performing well.
Show Details
Show Details
I had panels and battery storage with backup installed. Glen and installers were very helpful throughout the process from design to installation and through to ironing out minor configuration issues after installation. Very quick to supply quote and arranged install within a couple of weeks.
Show Details
Show Details
Well done Finn, you have a very valuable service. I’ll be reading your blog as battery prices come down. That will be the next thing. As a retired woman I could never have gone through this process by myself and made the right decisions, without the information on your site. Keep up the good work. All the best.
Show Details

Original Review on 04-10-2017:

I went with Glen Clark after reading up some other reviews on your website and the forums

Re the installers recommended by your site -
* One was over priced for the same system Glen Clark provided
* Another did not have the system i was after
* & the other - did not contact them as they took to long to initiate first contact
Original ratings

Panel rating: 3/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

9 months later we asked This person: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Average performance. I was expecting fantastic performance since these are marketed as cream of the crop products - e.g. solaredge optimisers & Sunpower panels.
Only a couple of panels are performing well, while the others are just average.
Show Details

Original Review on 06-10-2017:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Wayne: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes it has. However the power company in their infinite wisdom bumped up the price as soon it was connected????????????
So, with the 11.3 cents fit and the exorbitant price during peak, the system is doing its job but will have higher bills.
The gum trees are in the way during winter and also have to deal with that.
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
I did a lot of research on installers before choosing Glen Clark - key factors included their ratings online as well as them supplying a range of quality hardware (including both string and micro inverter systems). Glen was very knowledgeable and provided useful advice when prompted without being pushy. He visited the site and quote provided was detailed but clear - with 2nd alternative provided later on request. I ended up going with Enphase S270 microinverters and LG Neon 320W panels. The installers were efficient and friendly, and the system has performed faultlessly so far (~4 mths in). The application process involving elec retailer was handled efficiently. The Enphase user interface I have found really useful to analyse both usage, production and net energy export. I have no hesitation in recommending the installers. I'm also grateful to Solarquotes as a great resource for learning all about solar!
Show Details
Glen Clark provided me with the most detailed, most informative quote.
Show Details
Show Details
I found your solar checklist very useful. I went with a supplier not through solarquotes. I contacted them based on the positive reviews on Whirlpool forum. He proactively offered to come down and check to provide a quote (which I wasn't really expecting but I appreciated). The price quoted by Glen Clark was up to $1500 cheaper for same system quote by 2 other suppliers from solarquotes. I also found Glen Clark to be not pushy whereas one of the suppliers was too pushy and called far too many times to follow up.
Show Details
Some of the sales people put me off, I didn't trust them at all
Show Details
Glen offered very good alternatives to systems available. He was a bit slow with the initial inquiry but afterwards was very quick to prompt with his replies. Would definitely recommend him to anyone :)
Show Details

Original Review on 13-04-2017:

At all times, Glen was courteous, helpful, informative and quick to respond to any query or request. He was the only guy willing to quote on the exact system I wanted - without trying to push me down a preferred path of a predetermined panel supplier or inverter supplier - I really appreciated that. His team were all friendly and worked efficiently throughout. We had a couple of teething problems - but one was very minor (and resolved immediately) and the other was a hardware issue that was not Glen's fault and which he had one of his guys devote 2 hours of time to resolve. I'm very glad to have found Glen (via Whirlpool and your website) - and enjoying my new solar system. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Scott: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

It has definitely performed to expectations. A great system that pumps out plenty of solar.
Show Details
I found Glen Clark to be very informative. All my questions were addressed patiently and answered to my satisfaction. The installation was extremely well organised and went smoothly. Paul and Tristan were great. I would highly recommend Glen Clark Solar.
Show Details

Original Review on 05-02-2017:

Glen Clark is organised and efficient; he understood what I wanted and didn't try to oversell. The installation team did a great job too. Very pleased.

Essential Solar were a complete waste of time - didn't read what was asked for, didn't follow through with proposals, but simply delayed the whole process by a fortnight.

Didn't hear from EnviroGroup.

So I didn't really get the chance to compare quotes, but nevertheless am happy with the outcome.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Robert: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes. The addition of 3.6 kWh capacity Enphase batteries has allowed us to use an extra 80-100 kWh of solar-generated power each month, power that would otherwise have gone back to the grid for next to nothing. The monitoring and reporting hardware & software makes it very each to see just what's going on at any time.
Show Details
After meeting with 2 of 3 of the recommended installers by Solar Quotes, I decided not go with them. One of them priced their systems with a significant premium and the other did not have a system that I was after.

Read some other reviews about Glen Clark and decided to get in touch.
Initial response was a little slow, but after the onsite visit by Glen himself, things start moving quickly.

Installation took place within in a week of accepting the quote.
Despite weather challenges, his team did a fantastic job with the installation and were consistently friendly and helpful.

Top notch service and competitive pricing!
Show Details
Glen and I discussed my list of requirements and installed exactly the system I was looking for. 5.61Kw is the result. His electrician background meant he was very knowledgable regarding the electrical connection and requirements. His team of installers left the install clean and tidy with no exposed wiring/conduits. Very happy.
Show Details
Show Details
As a buyer one needs to put a lot of work into the decision process, and its difficult to cover all bases the first time round. Actually installed a 5.7 kW system.
Show Details
Had an issue with the placement of the panels but that was fixed, other than that everything was great.
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: