Green Engineering

Green Engineering Reviews

About

Green Engineering Pty Ltd is a large solar installation company with an office in Queensland, New South Wales, Western Australia and the Northern Territory.

They are a different company to "Green Engineering (Vic) Pty Ltd" who operate in SA and Victoria.

 

Reviewers report paying: $5,000 - $5,500 for depending on hardware choice and installation difficulty ( how is this calculated? )

Panels, inverter and battery brands

Panel brands previously installed

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

Green Engineering Reviews (140)

Show Most Recent reviews from All timeacross Australia

Average Scores

3.8/5

Value for money

3.8/5

Quality of System

3.7/5

Installation

3.1/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 21
  • 4 star 54
  • 3 star 27
  • 2 star 19
  • 1 star 19

View Timeline

I think they are a terrible company

We purchased solar panels system with Green Engineering Pty Ltd (ABN 76140253194), according to the contract, it has 25 years warranty.

Unfortunately, solar panels system hasn’t been operating properly after 6 years. I have contacted them for fixing the problem, but they did not do anything about that, only want us to make the payment to install the new system.

Specialist from RAC came to my house to check the Solar Panels system, he has advised the solar panels failed due to an internal fault caused as a result of wear, tear or possible manufacturing defect.
I have contacted Consumer Protection in November 2020, Green Engineering Pty Ltd agreed to fix the problem in two weeks’ time, but they didn’t do anything, even didn’t reply phone calls and emails from Consumer Protection, they just ignore Consumer Protection, so Consumer protection suggested me take the court action.

On 17 February 2021, Magistrates Court of WA sent the General Order to Green Engineering Pty Ltd for paying back $3500 to me. Green Engineering disagree to pay back this money to me, but they will install a new solar system of 6.6kw with 18 panels. I accepted their offer and signed the agreement with them in April 2021. My house was doing the renovation in April, they said they can wait until the renovation finish.
I contacted Green Engineering Pty Ltd in beginning of June 2021, On 24 June 2021, the installer came and found out the previous installer from Green Engineering Pty Ltd totally did the illegal job in my house, and Green Engineering also decided to change to lower system of 4.5 kw with 14 panels without any discussion with me, I did not accept that.

After that, they said it is 5.5kw system with 14 panels. But this is unacceptable, no discussion, no agreement, they just do what they want.
Now, they don’t take responsibility for the previous illegal installation, it cause the risky in my house, they don’t implement the agreement too. They just ignore consumer protection and court order. What Green Engineering do to me is breach a contracts again and again.

I have contact ACCC and decide to take the legal action again.

I don’t know can I get this $3500 dollars back or not, I don’t know Green Engineering will implement our agreement or not. I don’t mind.

I just hope when you choose Green Engineering Pty Ltd, please think carefully. I don’t hope this story happen to you.
Show Details

Good Service

I had installed two solar systems from this company, from 2011? The systems are all good. No problem and they also called me for several times for the system following up. Good system good service. Thanks.
Show Details
The components of the system, individually, reviewed very well. So it should have performed for longer than an 8 year span. The inverter is dead! I can only assume that the panels are ok. The company that I purchased from is defunct & the installer is uncontactable.
Inverter rating: 1/5
Show Details
Show Details

Kind orientation and follow up

Solar panel is good so far. Especially Lucas did always his best for my inquires.
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
Installation guys are really nice and patient to install all the system, and they also let me know how the system works.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Scam company. You don't get the government rebate. Phone numbers don't answer. Great equipment. No backup. Beware.

I made the mistake of obtaining a system through Green 2 years ago. I paid in full even though I qualified for the government rebate. Phone numbers don't answer. If it weren't for the local installer, there'd be no follow up assistance. Go with government recommended companies.
Show Details
Show Details

Very poor workmanship

Very poor workmanship, called many times, no service at all
Show Details
Show Details

Valuable Information and efficient quotation process

Thus far in the process of purchasing and having solar installed, I have found Green Engineering Solar very useful in providing valuable information and quotes from what seem to be reliable installers.
Show Details
Getting referred by my sis in law. My consultant Lily was pretty prompt and professional. I actually went to some forum and did a bit of an in-depth read through about the Growatt inverter and Csun panels they are about to install for me. They used to have some quality issue before but the recent models seem OK. I personally liked the idea of using solar panels as a form of roof sheeting and they are environmentally friendly.
Show Details
Show Details
I personally liked another company and wanted to go with them but they couldn't offer me a better price for the exact same system. I offered them an opportunity to beat the price by sharing the price I was quoted for the exact same system(Fronus 5.01 & Jinko 300W) bu they couldn't beat it. I was going to be $800 more out of pocket if I went with them hence I didn't chose them.
Show Details
Not installed correctly still argument after 12 months do not use the Brisbane Sunnybank outlet Poor service, rude contractors not installed under Australian legal requirements.
Show Details
Green engineering bad customer service. CANDICE the sales person. Didn't install system and battery set properly. 3rd rate company.
Had to get another solar company to fix their mistakes. Green engineering wasn't interested in paying for their mistakes
Show Details
Panels installed on the wrong side of the roof. System worked ok for 7 years then the inverter failed. Cheap system made in China crap quality.
Inverter rating: 2/5
Show Details
This company is awful to deal with. Product lasted less than 1 year before inverter stopped working. Lodged a warranty claim in February, waited over 4 months to receive the new inverter. Have now spent the better part of the last month trying to get them to organise installation. Calling them every couple of days and leaving call back messages which are never returned, have even gone to the office a few times and it is always closed. The final straw was expecting me to pay for installation of the warrantied part. Do yourself a favor, go elsewhere and save yourself the headaches of dealing with a company who has no level of aftercare service.
Show Details
The SMA inverter Trinia panel system has worked ok for last 5 years but the inverter shows no LED information and not lights. I asked for a technician to come out and check and all l get is someone calling me back to say l need to buy a new system without even coming out to inspect for the fault.
Hey have rung 3 times now pressuring me to buy a new system.
I have started researching for a new 10kw system for another property and not a hope in hell they will get a look in.
Show Details
Show Details
Installation was rescheduled 2 times which was annoying but it was still all done within 3 weeks from when I signed the contract
Purely a comestic issue but a few of the panels do not sit flat against each other
It would have taken just an extra few minutes to adjust them flat but now it just irks me when I look up at them
When you see that kind of short cut being taken it gives you an uneasy feeling about the rest of the install
Show Details
Show Details
Good installers ,inverter failed after 18 months very long process to get it replaced ended up dealing with JFY direct. Still 3 months. Still waiting on replacement install refund from Green Engineering, they are non responsive
Show Details
Show Details
I would definitely NOT recommend this company. Our inverter died 3 years after installation. They refused to replace it although we had a 5 year warranty on their letterhead as the company that made the inverter had gone into administration.

We had another solar company come out and they looked at the roof installation and advised the system had not been installed up to code. I attempted to communicate with them but they did not respond. We got the Electrical Saftey Office involved and Green Engineering then sent a contractor out and fixed installation issues on the roof. They then offered us a refurbished 5kw inverter for $800. We declined.

We then went to the Office of Fair Trading and after ongoing communication they finally installed 2 new inverters this week - 1x3kW inverter and 1x2.2kW inverter this week.

This is after 3 months of communication and I only think we got the result we did due to the Electrical Safety Office and Office of Fair Trading becoming involved. No compensation was provided for Solar System out down time of 4 months over hot Summer period.
Show Details
DO NOT GO WITH THIS COMPANY. Slow, unresponsive, poor quality and not recommended. The worst company I have ever dealt with in my life. The inverter was poor quality and broke within 4 years of installation. We lodged a warranty claim about 9 months ago for broken inverter, and they didn't respond until our warranty expired.

They asked us to pay $950 dollars to get it reinstalled. We paid 3 months ago, they've been dawdling ever since, I've called them so many times and each time they promise to take action, but nothing happens. Two weeks ago I issued an ultimatum, install within 7 days or face a chargeback, a complaint to consumer affairs, and negative reviews on every single site possible. They still haven't delivered.
Show Details
No after sales customer service, very very poor service and responSe from this company, could not speak to a person at the company all calls going to a call centre.
Show Details
Show Details
Just heard about this company from my friend in town, sales person Kelvin Singh is very professional, answered my all questions, installation team was excellent . Very happy with the product and service so far .
Show Details
Subsequent inspectors opinion that the Green Engineering had done an excellent job. It was not an easy installation. No scaffolding was needed and the fuse box connection had to go under the house. The workers were most pleasant and efficient.
Show Details
Inverell was way out of the ball park on price,would of went with him if the quote was closer cause they are in the local district
The guy from Sydney was in the running but we didnt have the deposit for the finance
Show Details
An extremely comprehensive quote, giving 9 different options in one quote, Not at all pushy in any way. Rep was very easy to talk to, more than happy to answer questions and queries. Just over a week from deposit being paid to install happening. Installers were excellent. Will be giving a call when we are ready for our ducted air. Nice to deal with professionals. Thanks again!
Show Details
The sales rep was very friendly and knew what he was talking about. He was upfront and answered all my questions. The installation was very quick and professional, the guys came at about 7:30 am and were done by 10:30 am. They explained the system afterwards. I am very happy with the process so far.
Show Details
We initially contacted this company after visiting a solar comparison web site because the overall cost was within our budget. The installation went smoothly and any questions we had were answered politely. We have been surprised and impressed by the after sales service, we have received both a phone call and email to inquire if we are happy with both the product and installation. We highly recommended it to friends, family and sometimes even strangers. With a great product and great customer service, this truly is the complete package!
Show Details
The staff were and continue to be fantastic. From the initial contact of making an appointment, to meeting with the sales rep, and then the ongoing support has been a great experience, as all the staff have been extremely professional and helpful, a real pleasure to deal with. The electricians who installed the system were also great, efficient, and very friendly and cleaned up after themselves. Couldn't have asked for a better service and really glad chose them to go with in the end. They assisted with best system based on their thoughts, which ended up being exactly what I was thinking of installing from my own research, so was really happy they confirmed the right system. Would definitely recommend them to anyone considering installing a solar system.
Show Details
Green Engineering answered all our queries regarding solar panel system showing us how the system would be wired so we knew exactly how the end product would look, they did onsite inspection going up on roof to check panel locations then they told us about different options we could have as we had no roof space north so were looking for best design layout west and east and the whole team have been amazing, found them very helpful all through the process. The skillful installation team arrived on time and worked hard all day the bad weather didn't make it easy for them did a wonderful job cleaned up after leaving, no mess, all completed in the day . They let a booklet with us detailing all about our new solar system which is wonderful. Highly Recommend Green Engineering for their excellent services and installation.
Show Details
Our system has been good for 4 years, but our inverter is not working. The inverter company said to call the installer but after many phone calls Green Engineering are yet to show any interest to assist at all.
Show Details
After I decided to install a solar system, I started to do a lot of research and had four quotes from different companies. I did compare them, even the panels they are using, green engineering has the best offer. There is only one word that I can say about green engineering, fast! response fast, almost instant reply on calls and email; fast installation, everything for level one were done within one week; although level 2, installation for the solar meter box was a bit slow, took one week. But the guy who installed my solar meter box was very funny which wiped out all the unhappiness. Definitely recommend to everyone.
Show Details
I totally recommend this company, the sales guy was very honest and helped us to decide what's best for our needs and didn't push for a larger unit which would have been a waste of money. If we wanted, we can upgrade if our power needs change in the future. I was blown away that I didn't need to organize anything, they did all the ground work. Also the electrical installers they contracted are very professional.
Show Details
We recently had solar power installed on our roof. The roof is flat, unshaded by trees or other buildings, with lots of space for a 15-panel, south-facing array mounted on a rooftop rack.
I found this company to be fair and honest, transparent in their business conduct, work efficiency, and were accommodating to our needs with the added indoor electrical work. My system is fully up and running smoothly.
Show Details
Show Details
we are having a problem the inverter is not working. Rang the company and experienced the following. 1 - went to fax, 2 - 5 hang ups, 6 reply but unable to hear operator, END OF DAY 1.
Day 2, more hang ups, my son then rang from Brisbane - no number displayed and he was answered, was asked to take a photograph of the inverter showing the red symbol and send it to them, eventually she said they would look into it and ring back within by Thursday or latest Friday. Also gave him name on installer but he informed us he no longer worked for them. Many more calls and many more hang ups. Final option will have to be CONSUMER AFFAIRS
Show Details
These people where payed cash, check on the day of instalment , at the time it was at 31 cents a kWh , with a 10 month window before any changes, Green Engineering took my money , never completed the final inspection. I got stuck with 8 cents a kWh. After many calls to Ombudsrman and Green Engineering, still no result, still fighting. I refuse to pay power company, just sold my home as a result to get rid of them. I would never do solar again, Green Engineering are
not a good company, I had a very bad experience with them and my power company ... they will tell you anything to get the work , and if your not up with things, your in trouble, my advice stay clear of them ,,,,,,, all very true ,,, regards chris h
Show Details
Had my system installed in July, just after 3 months the inverter gone faulty, took 2 weeks for a technician to come and checked on the system, took another 2 weeks to submit warranty claim paperwork, then i got a phone call stated that the inverter will arrive end of November. Now is December, haven't heard anything from them. Requested for production lost compensation, right away customer service rejected any compensation, i have to cope 3 months or longer production lost. Before purchasing the system, the sales guy will keep pitching but once the contract was signed, you heard nothing from anyone anymore. Will never ever recommend anyone to go near this company.
Show Details
We paid $6500 for a 5kW system with Jinko panels. Installation was fast but it took 2 1/2 months to get connected to the grid. The paperworks were not submitted immediately by Green Engineering and we have to consistently followup. And along the way, everyone delayed the connection to the grid. Now we have received our first bill and we are also able to track our usage plus the electricity generated by the solar panels and we are very happy with it. The delay to the grid connection was the only problem we had.
Show Details
Green Engendering solar installed my solar system right away. I payed a cash cheque on the day of instalment, then they did not complete the work, at the time it was 31 cents a kW , one year later final inspection still not completed. I lost my 31 cents a kW, now 8 cents a kW. I had to pay for my own inspection $500 more. I know they worked in with my power supplier POWER DIRECT, a hard lesson learnt for me , a lot of stress , dealing with power companies, there's no one you can go to speak to.
Show Details

Original Review on 05-12-2014:

i was able to get a good bargain on a Solax battery ready system with 1 build-in charger & 4kw of Jinko poly panels but not including batteries at this point of time. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: N/A
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 3/5

8 months later we asked This person: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

i have been very happy with my system, they are up to my expectations
Show Details
Use sub contractors to install panels which resulted in bad installation. Panels not secured at ends so they flap in the breeze. In process of installing the panels 46 screws were put through the ceiling. Despite numerous phone calls and promises for someone to come and look at the panels and screws no one came. They then told us we should get it fixed. The finance company who we were dealing with to pay off the panels considered our contract in dispute and issued us with a statement saying we owe zero dollars until such time the damage was repaired by Green Engineering and a new contract signed. Green Engineering still has not done anything over the past 18 months with any of the complaints and has now taken us to court to retrieve the monies owing to them. Cost of fixing their mistakes is well over the cost of the panels. DO NOT GO EVER EVER EVER WITH GREEN ENGINEERING IF YOU LIVE IN REGIONAL QLD.......
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: