The Solar Renewable Energy Corp

The Solar Renewable Energy Corp Reviews

About

The Solar Renewable Energy Corporation is an Australia-based firm that has installed solar power systems on hundreds of homes throughout the country. It also offers commercial solar PV.

Members of the team will assess the home of the consumer before deciding which solar power system is right for their needs. Electricians who install the panels are certified by the Clean Energy Council.

The Solar Renewable Energy Corporation uses solar panels from a range of top suppliers, including Silex, Hyundai, Sharp and PVI Solar.

It can also offer assistance to customers hoping to make the most of federal and state rebates for renewable energy.

Panels, inverter and battery brands

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

The Solar Renewable Energy Corp Reviews (26)

Show Most Recent reviews from All timeacross Australia

Average Scores

4.4/5

Value for money

4.0/5

Quality of System

4.3/5

Installation

3.6/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 4
  • 4 star 11
  • 3 star 11
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

View Timeline

Original Review on 11-04-2012:

The communication between the company and ourselves was very good, they got back to us with every email and phone call. The guys arrived when they said they would and answered our questions and showed us how to read the meter. They came late on one day, did a couple of hours work and finished it all the following morning, the whole thing only took about 5 hours. There was also someone who rang us about a week later to see if all went well. We are very pleased with the whole experience. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 5/5

26 months later we asked Gloria: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes, certainly, after two years we have not had any problems we hope to install another 2 panels and would like the same brand.
Show Details

Original Review on 28-03-2012:

I said to go ahead with the installation. That said with in 23 days. Got a phone call after 35 days, they said would be in touch, still waiting after 14 days. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 1/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 1/5

26 months later we asked Robert: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

yes it has installed by gs&bd electrics of Narrandera
Show Details

Original Review on 03-02-2012:

Price for equipment was very competitive. Warranty is as good as or better than most. Installers were very good. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

28 months later we asked This person: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes
Show Details

Original Review on 02-01-2012:

As a "new purchaser" I knew very little. I had a call from Tom O'Donnell. I was most impressed with his help. He gave me a price that was "very low". I said to him that he could charge me more! Tom replied that he could pay more if I wanted to! He later took $150 off the price.

We got 8 panels and a 3kW system. for under $2300. Tom advised me to only purchase a minimum number of panels, and a bigger inverter as panel prices were going down and we could get more panels later.

Obviously talking on the phone one does not know if the service etc. is real. I emailed Finn and asked him about Solarrec. Finn emailed instantly and gave me positive feedback on Solarrec. I also forwarded a quote to a local Solar Company, who confirmed the prices were good.

I am very grateful to Finn, thank you. We could not have done it without you.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

29 months later we asked This person: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system performs well, it is just I do not get much back, we are not in the "good old days", of 60 cents
Show Details

Original Review on 09-04-2011:

My only disappointment is that the system was installed on the 4th March and to date the system has not been switched on!!! Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

17 months later we asked Peter: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

We are very happy with the system except for the fact that during winter the sun disappears behind our two large gum trees very early in the day and the maximum power for the days is about 11kwh.
Show Details

Original Review on 05-04-2011:

Solarrec's Tom O'Donnell was on the phone the next morning and then made a house visit.

Chose Solarrec on price and which included German PV Panels. Panel installation was completed within one week of agreeing on the price and then hook up to the grid took another two weeks.

Highly satisfied with the service and feedback from Tom O'Donnel and quickness of installation.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

18 months later we asked Ken: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

2 KW system and generated an average 7.3 KW per day with highest 11. 3 KW and lowest 3.5 KW per day for a total of 2674 KW. This was using weekly meter readings. Last summer was not a great summer for solar generation, however there was corresponding lower use of air conditioning.
Show Details

Original Review on 06-04-2011:

Once I had chosen the Supplier and agreed on a price, it was installed fairly quickly in late February. After installation it took a long while to get the meter connected. Energy Australia approved on 14th March, but the installation wasn't completed till today [6th April], and this took a lot of persistent chasing on my behalf.

At the same time I was ordering a fireplace, and similarly i had to do a lot of chasing of the tradesman involved in installation to get a quote.

It seems that there is a lot of work around, a limited number of skilled tradesman and the companies are having difficulty coping with the workload.

The system seems OK to me and working as indicated. Difficult for me to assess the technical capabilities of system.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 3/5

17 months later we asked Richard: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

System has performed faultlessly but not impressed by the reduced payment level for electricity generated by the panels
Show Details

Original Review on 29-05-2011:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 3/5

16 months later we asked Paul: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

My 3kw system has performed to my expectations, it averages about 12kw of solar electricity generation per day.
Show Details

Original Review on 29-11-2010:

While I was pleased with the Solar Rec - they were very very fast to install and prompt in delivering the system- there are a number of points that are not satisfying.

1. They switched panels on me at the last minute. Basically sold sytem A and when it came to install declared that they had only panels from manufacturer B available. I had no choice but to accept otherwise I would have to wait for a long unknown amout of time before I could get the system initially offered. Of course the new panels were slightly less efficient and from a less known manufacturer than the ones in the initial offer.

2. I am still waiting for the meter/grid connection. While they promised to organise this for me within 2-3 weeks, it did not happen and I am left to deal with the guys that do the meter connections. That is now after over 4 weeks after the installation.
3. Solarrec paperwork is totally inscutable. I am still not sure that they actually lodged all the correct paperwork (I assume so) and it is impossible to get a straight anwer here. This is even more vexing because NSW reduced the feed-in tariff to 20c/kWh in November and I'd really like to be sure that they lodged everything before the deadline expired. The system certainly was installed before the new feed-in law came into effect.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 3/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 2/5

22 months later we asked Frank: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

We compared the system performance to the expected electricity generation for Sydney, North facing, roof angle 35 degrees, no partial shading. The current production is within 1-2% of the expected production for this location, which is quite good We did not experience any noticable performance degradation over time (for the 21 month operation). The system did not require any maintenance since installed. We are satisfied with the system.
However, the installing company has also never followed-up on our system since it was installed, so there was no after service whatsoever.

On a side note: The energy retailerwe use is Origin Energy. While we have no experience withother retailers, Origin Energy is a difficult company to deal with. We are in surplus, hence expect a refund for the surplus energy. Origin Energy makes getting the credit as difficult and onerous as possible
Show Details

Original Review on 13-11-2010:

A real pleasure dealing with solar rec and tom who gave me immediate attention and sorted out all my requirements .

Tom showed his knowledge and expertise by explaining the ins and outs of the various systems in laymans terms as well as giving me the best price.

Unfortunately all quotes received from other suppliers fell well short in all areas.

Thanks once again for recommending solar rec .
Original ratings

Panel rating: 2/5
Inverter rating: 2/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

22 months later we asked Vladimir: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

No not really.
Show Details

Original Review on 02-01-2011:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 1/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

20 months later we asked This person: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

no
Show Details
They were very slow on the the follow through with the order .
Tell you that you will get paper work then forget to send it.
Should have been fitted at begining of March but actually waited into April when fitted.
Show Details
The installation was very prompt but we waited 2 weeks for the grid meter.
After a few broken promises it was installed at a much reduced cost.
Overall everything seems to working fine and we are just waiting for our 1st bill.
I would definitely recommend Solarrec.
Show Details
Very grateful for your most helpful advice. This could have been a very daunting experience except for the advice you have so professionally made available to the "not knowing" general populace. Thanks heaps!!!
Show Details
Both the supplier and installer were great people to deal with. We are still working on the retailer with the best FIT and the supplier has guaranteed a rate which they are working to secure on our behalf. In other words, we have had to do nothing but sit back and watch the power grow! No hassle, deposits or complicated contracts required with Solar SEC.
Show Details
The company (Solarrec) has been terrific to deal with and have done everything in a most professional manner.
Show Details
The salesperson did not show deep knowledge about solar panels and inverters, just a salesman good at calculating the cost of a PV system, almost no customer service at all.
Show Details
Show Details
Installation was completed on time & professional, Tom was very informative & helpful with selecting the system, customer service very poor they never return calls & little paper work. Have not been connected to the grid yet (6 weeks) told next week? Every day not connected is costing us money ( the paper work was approved in 3 days).
When the customer service & connection to the grid is improved i would only be to pleased to recommend this company to others .
Show Details
The boys at Solar REC were brilliant. Friendly installers and sales Rep. Phillip is very personable. The only let down which is not their problem is the wait between connecting to the grid. Which I believe is a common problem. Two weeks to have the thing installed, brilliant, only to have it sit there for an extra few months not generating any electricity due to the utility.
Show Details
Of all the quotes and advise we received for our Solar Power system, Tom at The Solar Renewable Energy Corporation gave the most sensible advice for our requirements and didn't try to oversell us. Communication was always timely, and we were kept abreast of progress across every step of the process. Our installation went very smoothly, and the product provided was very competitively priced. We are also in the position to increase our array in the future, thanks to the advice from Tom.
Show Details
Have been waiting over 2 months now for Energy Australia to connect the system to the grid!
Show Details
Overall, very happy with system and supplier. Would recommend to my friends.
Show Details
Show Details
Hasn't been installed yet due to delays but Tom has been very nice to deal with and is providing me with special discounts for the delays so as long as its installed in the next
Show Details
The only "Nasty" bit we are still waiting on is having it installed to the grid for over one month now. But that is not the SOLARREC fault. they delivered within a week of decision making and installed within a day. Perfect!
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: