Clenergy solar inverters reviews

Based on 43 ratings Aus Ranking

  • 5 star 4
  • 4 star 18
  • 3 star 5
  • 2 star 6
  • 1 star 10

Show ratings from:

Timeline

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

About Clenergy, Solar Inverters

Clenergy solar inverters review

Clenergy is a Sino Australian solar manufacturer based in China (Xiamen) and with offices and warehouses in the UK, in Japan, in America, and in Europe.

Being a “half Australian” company, it doesn’t come as a surprise that their local network of offices and installers here is pretty well established. In fact, Australian customers will be able to find a Clenergy’s local office in every state. This means that, should you have a specific enquiry or run into any issue, you won’t have any trouble in finding some quick assistance.

Clenergy focuses on the production of PV mounting systems and solar inverters suitable for residential, commercial and utility-scale applications, with a strong predisposition to research and development of new solutions.

Clenergy’s top-of-the-line, the grid-connected inverters in the SolarPowerHouse series, have a 96% conversion rate and are G83, AS-4777, AS-3100, and IEC 61000-3-3 certified, meaning that they are a reliable choice even for our extreme weather conditions.

The reviews here below show that Clenergy’s products prove very stable and efficient. Of course, you will be able to check the performance of your installation thanks to the monitoring system that will provide you with all the data you need.

If you want to learn more about Clenergy’s line-up of solar systems, simply check out the products listed below to find the ones that best match your needs and requirements.

Clenergy Solar Inverter Reviews

We moved house 7yrs ago and put in a 3kw system with Sharp ERS. Since then, they have put in 4 inverters under warranty because they literally kept blowing up....the first time in hubby's face ???? Warranty units have only been refurbished which I was never happy about.
Anyway, 2yrs down the track since the last one was installed it's shit itself 2 days ago.....and we have no warranty.

If I could I'd give Clenergy 0 out of 5 stars. Same for the company who installed the POS which we worked very hard for to buy. They palmed us off directly to Clenergy for all the issues we had and never took responsibility for supplying a crap product.
Bought From: Sharpe Group Pty Ltd
Show additional information
Inverter has failed 4 times . Now out of warranty. Terrible product
Bought From: Origin Energy
Show additional information
We have our 3rd SPH20 inverter in 7 years but the warrenty does not reset when they replace a faulty one very poor warrenty and now this ones stuffed
Bought From: Origin Energy
Show additional information
Clenergy SPH15 first installed in 2013. This one lasted 2 years then GFCI Fault and had to be replaced. That one lasted only one year before the same fault meant another replacement. Crikeys! Not too flash these inverters. Now, just today, again, it has failed. Same fault. So that's 4 inverters in 5 years. That's awful in my opinion.
Bought From: Origin Energy
Show additional information
A terrible Inverter, Unreliable. 2 replacements in last 4 years. Out of warranty. When I check the repair companies they tell me there are no parts available to repair SPH-15 system. That there has been a rash of failures in Gold coast in the last 3 weeks. 30-04-2018. repairers told me it was prone to failure. They believed it was a faulty design.
Bought From: Origin Energy
Show additional information
In the past 5 years I have had 3 Clenergy Inverters as each one has basically just switched itself off and gone blank. I was under warranty until 2 weeks ago when the third inverter “died”. Origin Energy have told me that they no longer use that brand and because I am now out of warranty and have had so many issues in the past they are prepared to install a Zever inverter at cost price. I have agreed as my warranty will start again but I believe it is only a 5 year warranty as before. Hopefully this brand will live up to expectations!
Bought From: Origin Energy
Show additional information
Ground check issue after 3 yrs, system was replaced but another issue after 3 yrs. Can no longer get a replacement as it is out of 5 yrs warranty. I dont think this junk is good for the environment at all.. Australian government should be more stricter in approving junk products into australian households
Bought From: Energy Matters
Show additional information
2 relay failures in 6 years not happy. Out of warranty now so changing brand,
Bought From: Origin Energy
Show additional information
Initially they installed my inverter under my electricity box when after about 6 months they rang to tell me it was in the wrong spot and put it in a totally different place. Now it has totally died only two weeks after the 5 year warranty ran out. Only lasted 5 years!
Bought From: Origin Energy
Show additional information
First one replaced under warranty 6 months after origin installed system. Second one just out of warranty and is now not working, with the same problem " ground fault" showing on screen. $180 for origin to fault find and another $800 to replace. 1.5 kw system feeds into grid and "saves" me around $350 a year. I'll be fitting something more reliable myself!
Bought From: Origin Energy
Show additional information
Had system installed by EnergyAware in March 2011 and was happy with system until now. The Clenergy SPH30 inverter has now failed, outside the 5 year warranty. Should last more than 6 years before failing. So while I would recommend EnergyAware, who are providing support to me (and are easy to contact and respond to queries), I am not happy with Clenergy or their product, and would not recommend them. In addition, Clenergy provided a document that implied I had a 10 year warranty, but the warranty was actually only for 5 years - misleading.
Bought From: Energy Aware Victoria
Show additional information
Origin fitted unit failed 3 times in the 5 year warranty period replaced with repaired units each time now out of warranty 4 months went again.
Bought From: Origin Energy
Show additional information
I have replaced one clenergy inverter under warranty and now that one needs to be replaced after 2 years of service. Avoid clenergy inverters. A neighbor of mine has had to replace his clenergy inverter twice as well. VERY POOR RELIABILITY. Original systems were installed by Origin energy in 2011.
Bought From: Origin Energy
Show additional information
second unit packed up in five years and two month! Do not buy this inverter!
Bought From: Origin Energy
Show additional information
Shuts down often, reboots. Exploded 2 month out of warranty, Origin not interested. Clenergy not interested. Fair trading to be looking into this item.
Bought From: Origin Energy
Show additional information
I had a Clenergy SPH15 installed about 4-5 years ago as a 1.5KW pay over 2 year package thru Origin Energy and, whilst I am not unhappy about the savings, I am already on my third (warranty replaced) invertor and am concerned about what the cost will be if/when the current invertor turns its toes up out of warranty. In both failure cases it took nearly 2 months for warranty action.
Bought From: Origin Energy
Show additional information
Very rarely goes over 1.5 on very sunny North Queensland . Third unit now gone faulty in less than 5 years.
Bought From: Origin Energy
Show additional information
I have had Solar since May 2011, The SPH15 was replaced within the first year, waited 2 months for replacement from Origin. Failed again Dec 2014, replaced within 2 weeks.
Bought From: Origin Energy
Show additional information
Bought From: Modern Solar Show additional information
Bought From: Origin Energy Show additional information
The installers wanted to install my inverter in the sun facing north all day. I asked them to install it in the shade as that was what I'd read was best for inverters. It was installed in the shade and has been happily working.
Bought From: Energy Aware Tasmania
Show additional information
Bought From: Energy Aware Tasmania Show additional information
Bought From: Origin Energy Show additional information
Bought From: Energy Aware Victoria Show additional information
Bought From: Origin Energy Show additional information
Bought From: Energy Aware Victoria Show additional information
No noise at all unlike the neighbours.
Bought From: Now Energy Solar 2000
Show additional information
Bought From: Energy Aware Victoria Show additional information
Bought From: Origin Energy Show additional information
Bought From: Green Living King Show additional information
As above, have now had it on for 12 mths. Have not had a bill during that time, and have just received a chq from ergon for over $700! As far as answer on service question, we have not had to call them so cant judge.
Bought From: Solar Shop Brisbane
Show additional information
Initially the inverter, although working well, produced very strong radio interference in the AM band, meaning that some stations could not be listened to in about half of the house. Eventually the inverter was replaced by Clenergy, and the new one, although producing some interference, was acceptable.


Bought From: Energy Aware Victoria
Show additional information
Bought From: Blu Sky Solar Show additional information
Bought From: Blu Sky Solar Show additional information
The only time we have had the inverter recalibrate is when there has been interruptions to supply due to work in our area. Otherwise the system appears stable - for someone who knows nothing about what should be happening - and if the blue light is on we are happy and it appears to be working well.
Bought From: Now Energy Solar 2000
Show additional information
able to see performance during the day. also able to see how much power has been made over a period of time
Bought From: Energy Aware Tasmania
Show additional information
Bought From: Origin Energy Show additional information
Bought From: Origin Energy Show additional information
Bought From: Broad Energy Solutions Show additional information
The only thing personally I would like is a way to remotely view the inverter readout which is not an option with this inverter, but I know other inverters do allow a remote unit to be located in the house, but I gather that would be subject any relevant price increase and whether after extra cost it is still worth it.
Bought From: Origin Energy
Show additional information
Bought From: Blu Sky Solar Show additional information
My inverter malfunctioned and it took me over a month to get it replaced under warrantee
Bought From: Origin Energy
Show additional information
The only frustrating things about this inverter are:
1. I can't read the figures off the LCD after the panels have finished charging for the day. I read the power generated figure, and save the data in a spreadsheet (along with 2 items of data from my smart meter - the total exported for the day, and the total used for the day.)
2. No WIFI connection / IP address, so I can't remotely read the power generated figures. I called the company re this (because it is supposedly an 'option' however it is still not available as of August 2012.
Bought From: State Solar Services
Show additional information

Clenergy has 7 solar inverters in our database

Model DC Voltage AC Power Efficiency
Modern 1500100-500150095.00
SPH15100-500150094.00
SPH20100-500 200095.00
SPH30100-500300095.00
SPH40100-500 400096.00
SPH50100-6005000 96.00
SPH60100-600600096.00
Next >> CMS
close
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: