Living Energy Solutions

Living Energy Solutions Reviews

About

Living Energy Solutions was founded with the intention of helping people to reduce their energy usage and live a greener life. The company prides itself on using quality solar power products to help customers see visible reductions to their monthly bills. Experts at Living Energy Solutions have ten years' experience in the installation of solar power systems - all work is carried out by in-house staff. Throughout the warranty period, Living Energy Solutions will deal with any warranty issues that may arise. The company is 100 per cent family-owned and is based in South Australia.

Reviewers report paying: $3,850 - $8,000 for depending on hardware choice and installation difficulty ( how is this calculated? )

Panels, inverter and battery brands

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

Living Energy Solutions Reviews (87)

Show Most Recent reviews from All time

Average Scores

4.3/5

Value for money

4.4/5

Quality of System

4.8/5

Installation

4.5/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 19
  • 4 star 62
  • 3 star 6
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

View Timeline

Would Recommend To My Friends

I would definitely recommend Living Energy Solutions to my friends as I feel Rob from the company is very knowledgeable and gives practical advice about the system I should be getting instead of just aiming to profit from selling me the system.
Show Details

Original Review on 30-09-2020:

Took the time to discuss my needs.

Sales person was knowledgeable and happy to spend time discussing my priorities. Installation team were professional. Just waiting for a sunny day to check system performance ! Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Stuart: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Still happy after 10 months.
Show Details

Easy as

Very happy to be introduced to Living Energy thru Solar Quotes. They were easy to deal with and quick to reply and visit our house and Quote . I was happy with the options offered and their prices were very competitive. I did ask some of the Questions as suggested by Solar Quotes and was happy to get positive answers to all of them. Gave me confidence to proceed and the installation guys were on time , pleasant and the job is very tidy as expected. We now have the meter installed and and Living Energy returned to set up the wifi / cloud monitoring etc .
Even in the middle of an Adelaide winter the system is performing very well. - Dave Hillcrest SA
Show Details

Original Review on 02-11-2020:

Easy as

Everything went smoothly, installed on the day they said they would. Installation was over two days due to weather conditions (pouring rain) they kept me informed of the progress. The invertor was placed where I had requested without any issues. When the job was finished, they tidied up, and removed any rubbish and had organised for Origin to replace meter. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Susan: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system has performed well and reduced my electricity account considerably. Additionally during high input, by using the app we are able to utilise this better and use the washing machine, dishwasher etc during these times.
Show Details

Original Review on 21-10-2020:

Super professional

Professional sales team, competitive pricing, quality installation and effective customer service. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Helli: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Is has exceeded my expectations. The first two quarters (normally a $650 bill each) have resulted in a credit of -$270. We are currently half way through our winter quarter ( normally a $1,300 bill) and it looks like our credit from the warmer months, should bring it down to around $200.
thank you and your team for the fantastic support!
Show Details

Quick and efficient

The person I spoke to was clear and good at explaining the company and the process. They had just finished a large country installation, so had 25 staff ready to go - so I figured a small domestic system would not be a challenge, and they could get it up quickly. This they did. The only holdup was the electricity company doing the final switching g - but we had been warned about this in advance. So all good.
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Fantastic installation

I chose this installer from 3 quotes because the quote is very clear and with as many options as possible. The other 2 installers called me instantly after quotes but they made mistakes in answering my questions. I replied to Living Energy to set a time for site checking. I found the salesman dependable and steady-going. It made me go forward to sign a contract at once. The whole process is quick. They spent 3 weeks to contact electricity retailer, apply for credit and so on. On the day of installation, the workers worked efficient and in a professional way. It is a satisfying company and I will recommend to my friends.
Show Details

Great service and pricing

I actually got a further 4 quotes outside of solarquotes (that were still recommended by solarquotes) and I found Living Energy's mix of service, pricing and range to be the best.
Install went well without any fuss. Proof in the pudding but very happy to date!

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 03-03-2020:

Competent installation, nicely integrated hardware, good performance data from web app.

Sales process: OK. Sales rep asked good questions, made good suggestions. Some quoting tools (like proposed roof layout diagram) did not work very well (PV panel sizes on a high rake roof were not accurate). Salesman not aware of some layout restrictions caused by the racking system used by the company.
Installation: Went well. Both the installer foreman and the electrician encountered on-site issues which should have been clear to the sales rep. Both needed to modify the proposed installation. We discussed options, and they found good ways to implement the system I wanted using different approaches. Full marks to both.
Customer service: since installation, has been good. (System installed 21 January 2020.)
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Battery rating: 4/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 3/5

13 months later we asked Peter: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system has performed as proposed by Living Energy. I am well satisfied with its performance. I will review the issue of "slow wake up" with the supplier, over the next few weeks.

I have been very pleased with the information available from the SolarEdge App. Data is updated every ~3.5 seconds and this really helps understanding the link between object shadows, clouds and power generation.

Web data available from the energy supplier (EnergyAustralia) is updated most days, is incomplete, but has improved over the 14 month period. Though the data is late, it does provide an hourly breakdown of imported and exported energy, which can then be correlated with the SolarEdge data.
Show Details

Another happy customer!

Living Energy Solutions were prompt with their quote and willing to answer all my questions. The quote was well set out and gave me some choices about the components used. The installers were prompt and polite, and worked well as a team. I admired their application to the task in 37 degree heat, and by the end of the day, the system was installed. They cleaned up well, and left the site in good condition. All arrangements were made with my electrical supply company who then contacted me to complete the connection to the grid. It all proceeded very smoothly and without any hitches.
Show Details

Overall Great Experience

Chris from Living Energy was so helpful in explaining the various inverters and panels they were offering, and it was great to have options with the quotes. I was impressed with the really professional work done by the team from Lovell Electrical with notifying the power company, the installation, the clean up, and organising the grid connection after the install.
Show Details

Happy to go solar

The company provided a comprehensive written quotation very quickly. Our questions and queries were answered by telephone . The installation process happened within 2weeks and we were happy with the service and efficiency of the installation team the system is functioning well and we are happy with our choice.
Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Original Review on 23-08-2020:

10.9 solar with Fronius 8.2 inverter and Tesla batterey

All OK, Living Energy did what the said they were going to do and the system works well enough.
Installation had some minor hiccups but ended up OK..
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 3/5

4 months later we asked Wayne: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

12 months on the system is working well with zero warranty issues or rework required from the installer. Performance has exceeded my expectations and the vendors estimates.
Show Details

Original Review on 03-03-2020:

Great customer service and installation

Was contacted promptly by salesperson who was professional and informative. No hard sell - gave me all the options and answered all my many questions. Installation team left the place cleaner than they found it. Arrived when they said they would. Salesperson followed up a few days later to check I was happy and answer any further questions. Made it all easy! Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Kate: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes absolutely. Haven't paid an electricity bill since installation in February 2020.
Show Details

Professional installation team

Even if I received the quotation, only after I reminded them, the process was ok, the quotation including several options.
The installation team was very punctual, they worked tidy, fast and well. I highly recommend this company!
Show Details

Very happy to date with Living Energy

Happy with sales service and installation. Very thorough. Had a few tree isues but happy with the outcome. Good company to deal with. Thank you
Show Details

Great Installation. Will help you to resolve some issues. Guys are friendly and will coordinate the needed information in installation process.

Great customer service. Rob will get back and help resolve the issue and answering querries.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 23-09-2019:

Got the solaredge and rec panels also the optimisers. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Paul: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes still working
Show Details

Quality and price

I have just purchased for a new build home so we haven’t progressed past deposit stage as yet.
Show Details

Professional install.

All aspects very good. All promises and assurances kept and honoured.
Show Details

Professional service

They were very professional and helped answer all of my questions. Once the system was installed they even rang to make sure everything was working well.
Show Details

Enphase REC system

Rob came over and we both jumped up on our roof. Our home was built in 1900 with several extensions, of which are different roof lines.

After numerous plans we came up with the best option for us.

We have now had the system on for about a week and we are very happy with the output. More than what was expected!

The boys that installed the system were extremely polite and professional.
Show Details

Easy non pressured sales process and efficient friendly installers

Sales process was easy with no pressure applied and all information clearly explained. Installers arrived on time and were polite and very tidy. A comprehensive user guide and warranty information was provided post installation. Living Energy were also the only respondee familiar with Solar Analytics.
Show Details

Professional and seamless from sales to installation

Rob from Living Energy Solutions was professional, prompt with communications, answered every question I had in great detail and importantly was the only company that did a site visit prior to quoting. As soon as he looked at my roof, he told me straight away that normal portrait layout wouldn't work due to the spacing of purlins. This attention to detail was reflected in a realistic system design and accurate quote. We were offered various panel and inverter options and settled on a system that met all our requirements. Installation day went by very smoothly, safely, on time and left very tidy. Paperwork for the meter change was all completed for us by Living Energy and was carried out as requested 2 weeks later. All aspects of our system including our solar analytics monitoring were explained and warranty, manuals followed soon after electronically. I would highly recommend Living Energy Solutions to anyone looking for a high quality solar installation.
Show Details

Easy Procedure

As a landlord I wanted to install solar to do a bit more for the environment and do my bit to make use of a couple more vacant roofs we have in Adelaide. Not being directly involved with the installation we can't make a too detailed comments on the installation. But, it all seemed to be faultless, arrived as they said they would and seemed to have the job done pretty promptly. The tenants have advised that the systems are already saving them money, so, a little less fossil fuels being used in S.A.
The price was in the ball park with other installers, the system is of reasonable quality and affordable. (read the Solar Quotes reviews)
The problem with not residing in the properties is, follow up with the retailers to change the meters is not smooth.

Chris Toms of Living Energy made the whole procedure quite easy and communications were prompt.


Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details
Show Details

Original Review on 20-08-2017:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Ashley: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes --it's been excellent so far !
Show Details
The process was extremely slow - 3 months from the time we ordered and paid our deposit. I assume the overall system quality is good but truthfully there is no way to really know in the short term but it is now working, so we remain optimistic. The Living Energy salesman was the only one to visit and actually see our situation (the others used Google maps). The installation trades folk were personable, efficient and seemed capable, though the meter box work needed revision - delaying our system start another 2 weeks. SA Power Networks new meter installers were most helpful.
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
Follow up has been a little slow but otherwise it has ben great.
Show Details
Show Details
I had one quote that bothered me - the sales person raised many red herrings regarding the other company's choices which on further examination were either incorrect or simply not relevant. Another company went for a very hard sell and when told their quote was too high immediately reduced it by $2k. I found some were using old panels that had been superseded presumably bought in a job lot. Its a strangely stressful experience overall. We went with the company that did the most research for us and were straightforward and not pushy salespeople.
Show Details
Company was great about solar &we have stuck with power company we also get our power. Many thanks for time and effort.
Show Details

Original Review on 01-07-2015:

The Salesperson was very helpful and spent a lot of time explaining the system and questions about various panels and inverters. The job was completed within a few weeks, the Installers were professional and clean explained how to work everything when the job was finished. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Mary: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Well above my expectations very pleased with whole system.
Show Details
The sales process was consultative, open and honest. Ben went through more than ten separate scenarios for us providing real world up-front costs as well as conservative estimates on the payback periods for different panel types and system sizes as we changed our mind several times regarding system size / panel color and upgrading to panels carrying a warranty for salt damage as we live on West Lakes. Once a decision was made, the design was formulated from a set of software tools to ensure the correct number of panels were installed on each side of our roof to maximise the efficiency of the system. The installation was faultless, with David and his team consulting me on every step of the process to ensure that the inverter was located where we wanted it and how all cabling etc should be run for aesthetics. Even at the completion of the job when they had packed up, David realised our TV antenna would cast a shadow over a couple of panels in the morning and spent the next hour relocating it. I ended up installing a 12.5kw system and could not be happier with the experience of dealing with Living Energy
Show Details
Suntrix and LES got in touch within a day. Solar after a week so I did not ask them (it was too late). Suntrix and LES both very pleasant/knowledgeable salesmen. The system offered was very similar so the decision was on price only. System installed just today (coincidentally). 6 hour job, mid 30's temperature. Job done well, courteously. The couple of small problems were dealt with and fully communicated. Shown how the system worked. Cleaned up after themselves. Overall excellent.
Show Details
I would be happy to provide more information once I have had my system installed which should be early in the new year
Show Details

Original Review on 18-03-2015:

Generally OK...quick responses from all 3 potential suppliers.
Prices were high, perhaps $1000 or more in comparison with other well regarded installers. (friends were getting quotes at a the same time).
I'm happy enough.... but should have negotiated a lot harder.
I'm now waiting for Power SA to do its thing.
SolaQuotes was nothing but helpful and the whole process has been relatively smooth...
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Rhys: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes
Show Details
They were the only company to use a solar camera to predict degree of shading effect. They offered several options ad gave enough help to make an informed choice. The installation team took less time to do the job than quoted without taking any shortcuts. They gave a good explanation of what the were doing and how the installed system would work. Overall it was a positive experience and outcome.
Show Details
Show Details
THESE GUYS ARE GOOD THEY KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT. THEY WILL HELP YOU WITH THE PRICE AND ANY ASSISTANCE YOU NEED. THEY COME TO YOUR HOUSE, MEASURE UP AND TALK TO YOU, VERY PROFESSIONAL PEOPLE!!! I DID A LOT OF HOMEWORK TO FIND THE RIGHT SOLAR INSTALLER TO CHOOSE FROM AND WITH YOUR GUIDANCE I FOUND THEM. FINN PEACOCK I THANKYOU FOR YOUR INFORMATION ON SOLAR IT WAS VERY HELPFUL TO ME. REGARDS JANETTE CAIN
Show Details

Original Review on 11-08-2014:

Living Energy were the cheapest but with the same quality components as per the other quotes. I was careful when comparing quotes to compare apples with apples so to speak. Not only were they the cheapest but they had a very good down to earth sales manner and communication. I felt that Living Energy had a very good and detailed product knowledge that was slightly above the competitors. They were also very receptive to some changes I wanted to make to the installation location of the inverter. Their installation was first rate. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Alan: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Generally yes, although my last bill was higher than expected. Given that it was over the summer months when I thought i would receive maximum effect from the panels It was a bit surprising. I have only had 2 bills since the solar installation.
Show Details

Original Review on 11-08-2014:

Being fitted this week , there was a long delay between accepting quote and installation time Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 3/5

8 months later we asked This person: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Close to it my summer power bill was $85
Show Details
We have been very impressed with each process of dealing with all staff. From the original quote to a re quote, organising new meter box and quick friendly installation. We highly recommend Living Energy Solutions.
Show Details
We had 5 quotes, one appeared to be a really nice guy who was going to save us thousands; but I discovered some wrong/dishonest advice. Another placed too much pressure on me and I didn't quite understand what the end process would be. Then my son googled and found Solar Quotes. All three referred from Solar Quotes were fantastic and it was hard to say no to the two unsucessful quotes because they worked so professionally. We went with the dearerst of the three - only $300 more - because while the other two were completely professional with excellent systems; and I understood everything they were sharing with me; the successful tender spent an extra half an hour with my wife explaining how the system and electricity billing process worked. The other two would have spent the extra time if asked, but the successful guys proactively sensed my wife had not let go of some false information provided by the first company. I felt settling the doubt was worth the little bit extra.
Show Details
Consultants spent several hours at my home designing and discussing the system I wanted (AC system) with panel layout to suit my energy usage pattern and roof layout prior to providing quote. The installation crew were very efficient and friendly and answered all my questions. System was installed ahead of scheduled date due to a cancellation.
Show Details

Original Review on 26-04-2014:

Every part of the solar purchase/installation experience went like clockwork. I couldn't be more happy with the whole process. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Ray: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

yes
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: