Menu
House
House Tablet

Find The Best Solar Deals In Australia

  • 3 Free, No Obligation, Solar Quotes
  • From Fully Qualified Installers
  • With 1000’s of Customer Reviews
  • Competing for Your Business
Finn Peacock Caricature

Ready for some quotes? Enter your postcode now


Renesola solar panels review

Overall Rating From 70 Reviews:

Renesola solar panels review

Average Customer Rating:

Tier 1

Renesola is a Chinese producer of tier one solar panels with 10 year product and 25 year performance warranties. Their panels are corrosion resistant which makes them suitable for installation by the sea. Renesola has offices in both Sydney and Melbourne.

In addition to solar panels, Renesola also produces string inverters, microinverters, and LED lighting. They are also heavily involved in the development and construction of solar farms and large scale rooftop solar projects.

Manufacturing Capacity

Renesola is a medium sized producer of solar panels. They had approximately 1.2 gigawatts of solar panel production capacity in 2015 and while it's not on their website, Renesola has informed me by email their production capacity is now 1.5 gigawatts.

In comparison, the world’s largest producer of solar panels in 2016 was Jinko Solar with a production of approximately 6.5 to 6.6 gigawatts of panels.

Renesola claims to have sold 12 gigawatts of “solar products” over the lifetime of their company, but they don’t specify what they count as a solar product.

Company History

Renesola was founded in 2005. The company rapidly expanded and claims that in 2013 and 2014 more Renesola panels were installed in Australia than any other brand. Unfortunately, like many companies that expand rapidly, they ran into severe financial difficulty which has limited their expansion over the past several years.

They currently employ around 5,600 people, mostly in China. I don’t know how many are employed producing solar panels and how many in other parts of the business such as LED light manufacture.

Renesola Panels

Renasola produces a variety of different series of solar panels, including a number of standard sized, 60 cell panels, which are the type most commonly installed on Australian roofs. They range from 250 to 285 watts and have efficiencies from 15.4% to 17.5%.

Renesola’s Double Glass Panel

Renesola produces a standard sized, 60 cell, double glass module with a 10 year product warranty and a 30 year performance warranty. But as it is a 1,500 volt panel it is not suitable for normal household installation and is made for large commercial rooftop solar installations.

Renesola’s Future

In March 2016 Sinovoltaics gave Renesola an Altman Z-score of 0.23.  This is a measure of the financial health of a company and their low score led me to conclude they were in dire financial straits.  Renesolar has confirmed this by pointing me towards this article by Macroaxis which, on the 16th of February 2017, gave Renesola's chance of bankruptcy over the next two financial years as 40%.  But Renesola would like me to point out the analysis gives many other solar manufacturers an even greater chance of bankruptcy. 

On the bright side, Macroaxis defines bankruptcy as:

"Financial Distress as an operational condition where a company is having difficulty to meet its current financial obligations towards its creditors or to deliver on the expectations of its investors."

Which is a situation a company can survive, although it does make me wonder why they just didn't just call it financial distress in the first place. 

My Recommendation

Renesola produces tier one panels and so I would expect them to be reliable and unlikely to fail over the next two to three decades. While it is possible Renesola won't be around in the future to honor their warranties because of its current financial difficulties, because their panels are reliable the chance of a household needing to make a warranty claim in the first place should be small.

Rating Comments Name State Postcode

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 4 July 2016
Anon QLD 4115

Bought From: Specialised Solar Solutions Review Date: 25 March 2016
PETER VIC 3440
We have had no problems with the panels at this stage.
Bought From: Specialised Solar Solutions Review Date: 25 March 2016
Alan VIC 3187

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 22 January 2016
Liz ACT 2615

Bought From: Westsun Solar Review Date: 28 January 2016
Frank WA 6035
The panels are rated at 3.6 kw and deliver at peak about 3.2 kw which is what I expected. I have no issue with the panels and expect the perfomance to continue.
Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 8 December 2015
Tom QLD 4035

Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 18 November 2015
Chris QLD 4521

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 11 October 2015
Anon QLD 4074
The panels are installed on a tiled roof and facing due West at 18 degrees pitch.
Bought From: Pure Coastal Solar Review Date: 19 September 2015
Graeme NSW 2428

Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 17 September 2015
Michael QLD 4655
We are happy with them. We have a single storey property with all 16 panels facing north with uninterrupted sun access, therefore the perfect aspect. I have read that Samil is not the best inverter. We paid $4k for our system which is super-cheap and so far had no issues. Our last bill (May '16) was $156 for 123 days, pretty cheap. My husband wants to install batteries (acid not lithium) but I am not convinced we need it, its too early to say if we might never do it.
Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 6 September 2015
Clare VIC 3204

Bought From: Energy Options Review Date: 11 August 2015
Richard NSW 2428
face east and west, still pumping out the juice OK, you don't have to have north facing
Bought From: Solar Power Pro Review Date: 24 October 2015
Jason NSW 2518

Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 12 July 2015
Ian VIC 3130

Bought From: Solargain Southwest Review Date: 22 June 2015
Ian WA 6280

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 5 June 2015
Cliff NSW 2621
Seem to be doing what they are supposed to do so far
Bought From: Solargain Southwest Review Date: 13 May 2015
Phil WA 6330
I check the Inverter readout regularly as to how much power is being produced and the amount is often at 2.5Kw plus for a 3Kw system and this seems to be acceptable according to the installer. When the system was brand new , production was often nudging 3Kw and a couple of times actually slightly exceeded it which surprised me. The supplier recommends cleaning the panels once a year, when I asked the installer the best way to do this he said he doubted the effectiveness of doing it and that he doesn't clean his own. I went ahead and did it anyway and will probably keep doing it annually but it has raised a question mark., yes
Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 17 April 2015
Paul SA 5068
What can I say, it is the joining of the panels and the inverter that make the system. On a good day I produce 19 kWh with a 3 kW inverter.
Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 18 April 2015
Russell NSW 2318

Bought From: Green Wiring Review Date: 28 May 2015
William WA 6028

Bought From: Specialised Solar Solutions Review Date: 7 April 2015
Alan VIC 3453

Bought From: Green Wiring Review Date: 6 April 2015
William WA 6021

Bought From: Green Wiring Review Date: 31 March 2015
Roy WA 6107

Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 18 March 2015
Chris VIC 3851

Bought From: Living Energy Solutions Review Date: 18 March 2015
Rhys SA 5065

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 15 March 2015
Paul WA 6027
Same things with the panels. Havent had any issues with them. 14 x 250w panels = 3.5kw in total.
Bought From: Solar E Pty Ltd Review Date: 12 March 2015
Paul WA 6061

Bought From: Green Wiring Review Date: 20 March 2015
Virginia WA 6030
Panels working really well. Due to the location/direction of the panels I am getting a good all year round performance from them. I'm very pleased
Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 1 March 2015
Francis WA 6169

Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 5 March 2015
Tony QLD 4151
Very happy with the results and money saved on electricity bills
Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 5 March 2015
Alan VIC 3133

Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 16 February 2015
Stephen & Donna NSW 2261
Probably need a clean
Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 20 January 2015
Brian QLD 4133
The only improvement I'd like added would be the ability to collect the star power through the night :-). Other than this unrealistic wish. I'm happy all around.
Bought From: Australian Green Power Review Date: 14 February 2015
Annette QLD 4610

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 10 February 2015
Farrukh VIC 3338
They look great when you look at them but are in-obtrusive.
Bought From: Green Wiring Review Date: 8 February 2015
Ken WA 6055

Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 28 January 2015
Shaun NSW 2318

Bought From: Solargain Southwest Review Date: 12 March 2015
Chris WA 6282
I was told these Renesolar Panels had a 25 year guaranteed output of at least 90%.
Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 27 January 2015
Andrew NSW 2290

Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 12 January 2015
Francis VIC 3030

Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 16 January 2014
Bryan NSW 2087
I am very pleased with what we received at a very reasonable price
Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 21 January 2015
Bruce NSW 2036

Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 27 December 2014
Anon NSW 2530

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 22 December 2014
Paul VIC 3115

Bought From: MC Electrical Review Date: 13 December 2014
John QLD 4013
Have only seen max 5KW output on a few occasions on perfectly clear days in summer. Possibly due to westerly aspect. Very low output on current cloudy winter days. Have nothing to compare with so performance may be consistent with most panels.
Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 12 December 2014
Colin SA 5050
Panels are fine but the installation wasn't right as one of the panels wasn't installed flat inline with the rest. Calls to he Mark Group weren't returned. Had to sort it myself.
Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 27 December 2014
George VIC 3041

Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 4 December 2014
Melinda NSW 2323
My son-in-law works in the industry and at times is asked to audit installations. He commented positively on my installation for its professionalism and neatness.
Bought From: Pure Coastal Solar Review Date: 8 November 2014
Allan NSW 2428

Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 4 November 2014
Phillip QLD 4650
no problems as yet
Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 1 October 2014
Brian VIC 3350

Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 28 August 2014
Karen NSW 2517

Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 18 August 2014
Charlie VIC 3752
The installers have mounted the panels on the north facing side of the house and have installed them so as they are not seen from the front of the house therefore not creating a ugly look on the overall appearance of the house
Bought From: Electricians On Call Review Date: 22 August 2014
Ron VIC 3754

Bought From: Living Energy Solutions Review Date: 11 August 2014
Alan SA 5031

Bought From: Nicholls Solar Review Date: 26 July 2014
Geoff QLD 4068
Manufacturer: Renesola Jiangsu ltd. model: RENESOLA JC250M-24/Bb-b (60 Polycells) Number of panels installed: 20 in two arrays of 10 I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone to be used in conjunction with an SMA inverter. Wish I had installed a 10KW system. (Maximum allowed under small generation systems).
Bought From: Blue Tongue Solar Review Date: 10 April 2014
BYRON VIC 3429
They survived a hail storm that put holes in my laser lite roofing.
Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 2 June 2014
Sylvia NSW 2578
12 panels facing north and 8 panels facing east - perfect array as gives a nice smooth curve of production over the day. Being in a urban/rural environment have aligned the use of power through the day to maximise use of solar generation for water pumps, garden watering reticulation system, jacuzzi heating and washing. Once batteries become affordable we believe we will nearly be self sufficient and hardly need the grid except in overcast days when the solar output falls below our requirements.
Bought From: SolarWide Pty Ltd Review Date: 9 May 2014
Frank QLD 4562

Bought From: Living Energy Solutions Review Date: 26 April 2014
Ray SA 5016

Bought From: Nicholls Solar Review Date: 10 April 2014
Fred NSW 2145

Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 6 April 2014
John NSW 2250

Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 9 January 2014
Bruce NSW 2844

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 2 January 2014
Marvin VIC 3129
all good with the panels
Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 31 December 2013
Steven NSW 2328

Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 30 December 2013
Robert QLD 4000
Nil
Bought From: GreenB Group Review Date: 13 January 2013
Ian VIC 3400
So far so good. Only time will tell.
Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 18 April 2012
Troy QLD 4034

Bought From: Enviromate Review Date: 4 October 2010
Sarah VIC 3677
N/A
Bought From: Panel Issue Supplier Name Withheld Review Date: 4 March 2017
David QLD 4207

Renesola has 77 solar panels in our database

Model Type Size PTC Performance Ratio Californian Approved
JC180S-24/DbMonocrystalline18016490.83Yes
JC185S-24/Db (72 Mono cells)Monocrystalline18516890.86Yes
JC190S-24/Db (72 Mono cells)Monocrystalline19017390.95Yes
JC195S-24/Db (72 Mono cells)Monocrystalline19517690.26Yes
JC200S-24/Db (72 Mono cells)Monocrystalline20018190.30Yes
JC220M-24/BxPolycrystalline22020090.73Yes
JC225M-24/BxPolycrystalline22520490.80Yes
JC225S-24/BbMonocrystalline22519285.24Yes
JC230F-24/Bb (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline23019685.30Yes
JC230M-24/Bb (60 poly cells)Polycrystalline23020990.83Yes
JC230S-24/Bb (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline23019685.30Yes
JC235F-24/Bb (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline23521189.91Yes
JC235M-24/BxPolycrystalline23521490.89Yes
JC235S-24/Bb (60 mono cells)Monocrystalline23521189.91Yes
JC240M-24/BxPolycrystalline24022091.46Yes
JC240S-24/Bb (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline24021991.25Yes
JC240S-24/Bb-b (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline24021991.25Yes
JC245M-24/Bbv (60 Quasi cells)Polycrystalline24522089.63Yes
JC245M-24/BxPolycrystalline24522491.47Yes
JC245S-24/Bb (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline24522491.27Yes
JC245S-24/Bb-b (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline24522491.27Yes
JC250F-24/Bb (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline25022891.32Yes
JC250F-24/Bb-b (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline25022891.32Yes
JC250M-24/Bbv (60 Quasi cells)Polycrystalline25022489.68Yes
JC250M-24/BxPolycrystalline25022991.52Yes
JC250S-24/Bb (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline25022891.32Yes
JC250S-24/Bb-b (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline25022891.32Yes
JC255F-24/Bb (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline25523391.37Yes
JC255F-24/Bb-b (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline25523391.37Yes
JC255M-24/Bbv (60 Quasi cells)Polycrystalline25522989.73Yes
JC255M-24/BxPolycrystalline25523491.57Yes
JC255S-24/Bb (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline25523391.37Yes
JC255S-24/Bb-b (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline25523391.37Yes
JC260F-24/Bb (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline26023891.42Yes
JC260F-24/Bb-b (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline26023891.42Yes
JC260M-24/Bbv (60 Quasi cells)Polycrystalline26023489.81Yes
JC260M-24/BxPolycrystalline26023891.62Yes
JC260S-24/Bb (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline26023891.42Yes
JC260S-24/Bb-b (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline26023891.42Yes
JC265M-24/Bbv (60 Quasi cells)Polycrystalline26523889.85Yes
JC265S-24/AbMonocrystalline26523488.38Yes
JC270M-24/AxPolycrystalline27024189.19Yes
JC270S-24/AbMonocrystalline27023988.41Yes
JC275M-24/AxPolycrystalline27524589.20Yes
JC275S-24/AbMonocrystalline27524388.47Yes
JC280F-24/Ab (72 mono cells)Monocrystalline28025290.14Yes
JC280M-24/AxPolycrystalline28025089.25Yes
JC280S-24/Ab (72 mono cells)Monocrystalline28025290.14Yes
JC285F-24/Ab (72 mono cells)Monocrystalline28525790.18Yes
JC285M-24/Abv (72 quasi cells)Polycrystalline28525689.75Yes
JC285M-24/AxPolycrystalline28526191.44Yes
JC285S-24/Ab (72 mono cells)Monocrystalline28525790.18Yes
JC290F-24/Ab (72 mono cells)Monocrystalline29026290.21Yes
JC290F-24/Abh-bMonocrystalline29026691.55Yes
JC290M-24/Abv (72 quasi cells)Polycrystalline29026089.79Yes
JC290M-24/AxPolycrystalline29026591.48Yes
JC290S-24/Ab (72 mono cells)Monocrystalline29026290.21Yes
JC295M-24/AbhPolycrystalline29527091.53Yes
JC295M-24/Abv (72 Quasi cells)Polycrystalline29526589.86Yes
JC295M-24/AxPolycrystalline29526991.15Yes
JC295S-24/Ab (72 Mono cells)Monocrystalline29526690.27Yes
JC300F-24/Ab (72 Mono cells)Monocrystalline30027190.30Yes
JC300M-24/Abv (72 Quasi cells)Polycrystalline30027089.90Yes
JC300M-24/AxPolycrystalline30027591.53Yes
JC300S-24/Ab (72 Mono cells)Monocrystalline30027190.30Yes
JC305F-24/Ab (72 Mono cells)Monocrystalline30527690.33Yes
JC305M-24/Abv (72 Quasi cells)Polycrystalline30527489.93Yes
JC305M-24/AxPolycrystalline30527991.57Yes
JC305S-24/Ab (72 Mono cells)Monocrystalline30527690.33Yes
JC305S-24/AbhMonocrystalline30528091.64Yes
JC310M-24/Abv (72 Quasi cells)Polycrystalline31027989.97Yes
JC310M-24/Ax-bPolycrystalline31028491.61Yes
JC310S-24/AbhMonocrystalline31028491.68Yes
JC315M-24/Abv (72 Quasi cells)Polycrystalline31528490.03Yes
JC315M-24/Ax-bPolycrystalline31528991.65Yes
JC315S-24/AbhMonocrystalline31528991.71Yes
JC320S-24/AbhMonocrystalline32029491.75Yes
<< Prev Recom
Next >> Renogy LLC
Renesola
54.370