Specialized Solar

Specialized Solar Reviews

DETAILS
95% 0%
4.4

Based on 140 ratings

About

Established in 2000 as part of the Specialized Heating & Cooling Group, Specialized Solar &

Electrical is a fully accredited, family-owned solar and electrical retailer and installer based in

Lynbrook, Melbourne.

 

With six offices in regional Victoria and NSW and as an accredited retailer for Tesla,

Specialized Solar & Electrical have a proven track record as an installer of quality solar

panels and battery storage systems for households and businesses.

 

Customers rate Specialized Solar highly for service and customer support. Going the extra

mile is ingrained in the company ethos. Look at the customer reviews to see what they say!

One of the key advantages Specialized Solar offers compared to other solar companies is a

total system 10-year performance guarantee. This states that your solar panels system will

generate the power it’s meant to over a 10-year period (based on the estimated yield in your

quote) – or it will be fixed at no cost to you.

 

Specialized Solar’s quality focus has been noticed by councils. That’s why Specialized Solar

has been appointed the exclusive solar retailer and installer for several council-supported

solar bulk-buy programs throughout Victoria. These include:

 

- MASH Community Solar Bulk Buy – Central Goldfields Shire, Rural City of Ararat,

Loddon Shire, Pyrenees Shire, Mount Alexander Shire, Macedon Ranges Shire,

Hepburn Shire.

-Mallee Sun Solar Bulk-Buy – Rural City of Swan Hill and Buloke Shire.

-Brimbank Community Solar – a program organized in partnership with Brimbank City

Council and Central Victorian Greenhouse Alliance.

Choose Specialized Solar & Electrical and you’ll get guaranteed quality every step of the

way.

 

Specialized Solutions:

- Residential Solar and Battery Systems

- Commercial Solar and Battery Systems

- Off-grid Solar, Battery and Storage Systems

- Solar Panel Cleaning & Maintenance

- Electrical Solutions (Split Systems, Security Systems, Switchboard upgrades and

more…)

 

Notable Installs

- KEMPOWER- 26.28KW SOLARIA/ FRONIUS

- RIPCURL (MORNINGTON)-  17.6kw Seraphim/Fronius

- RIPCURL (RYE)- 11.44kw Seraphim/Fronius

 

- SES SWANHILL - 6.66KW SERAPHIM/SUNGROW- TESLA was added at a later date

- SPECIALIZED ALBURY - 19.8KW SERAPHIM/FRONIUS

- BURTON GROCER- 13.20KW SERAPHIM/SOLIS SYSTEM

- ST HOAN-THIEN CATHOLIC CHURCH- 7.59KW SERAPHIM/SOLIS SYSTEM

And much more

 

Connect with us:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SpecializedSolarandElectrical

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/specializedsolar/

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/74372372/admin/

 

Attend a Q&A Workshop: https://brimbankcommunitysolar.com.au/q-a-workshops/

Reviewers report paying: $8,850 - $9,000 for depending on hardware choice and installation difficulty ( how is this calculated? )

Panels, inverter and battery brands

Battery brands currently installed

Battery brands previously installed

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

Specialized Solar Reviews (140)

Show Most Recent reviews from All time

Average Scores

4.3/5

Value for money

4.4/5

Quality of System

4.4/5

Installation

4.5/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 34
  • 4 star 88
  • 3 star 15
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 1

View Timeline

Great service

Very easy to deal with and provide quality equipment.
Very good level of detailed information during the quoting process

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Existing Solar System upgrade

We decided to extend our current 6 kw SolarEdge system but adding a battery, after quotations and research we chose to use a SolarEdge Battery, once that was decided the installers advised we could add additional panels under this agreement, which everybody else wouldn't do. Installation hasn't commenced yet because of delays obtaining the Vic Solar Loan, and waiting for an onsite inspection. Overall the experience has been good from Specialised Solar
Battery rating: 4/5
Show Details

Highly recommend them

Very quick and pleasant and a great job. Hardest part was completing the solar rebate form on line forvic Gov.
Show Details

Very professional Sales and Installation from Specialized Solar

Specialised Solar gave us a great sales process and steered us through organising the government solar grant paperwork and the installation process very professionally.

The grid connection was organised with our retailer, it is only the retailer holding up the final connection process.

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

A great experience

Great Process. Good selection of quotes and systems received. Quality suppliers! Overall a great experience. Thank you
Show Details

Pure Quality

Specialised Solar have been an absolute dream to deal with. They were incredibly knowledgeable, trustworthy and I never felt any pressure. The sale rep, George, was always happy for me to touch base and ask a question or 20. He was always available and more than willing to look at various options and designs based on my specific needs. The installation process was quite streamlined and all the paperwork was generally handled on their end (unless I needed to complete something). They offered top of the range items and were extremely clear and upfront about what to expect. I have felt extremely well supported throughout the entire process. I highly recommend Spec Solar!
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Great Customer Experience

Seamless customer experience. Was kept well informed from design through to installation and commissioning of the system. A great outcome functionally and aesthetically.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 29-07-2022:

Marks review

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 1/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: N/A
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

10 months later we asked Mark: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

System was installed Oct 2022 so yet to acquire 12 month nor winter solstice data.

Follow up with installer (and solar quotes) on system install has not been fruitful with commitments left unfulfilled.
Show Details

Original Review on 28-07-2022:

Excellent prompt service

The initial quoting process was done over the phone and internet without the sales staff attending premises but COVID may have had something to do with that. The installers did attend the site for an inspection prior to installation and final quote acceptance.
The installation was done on the planned date, the installers were polite courteous and punctual.
The customer service team were extremely helpful in arranging final inspection and grid connection after the install including liaising with the power retailer.
The whole process was done very quickly and painlessly once quote was accepted.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Noel: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes
Show Details

Extremely satisfied with Specialized Solar

I would recommend Specialized Solar as they were very professional and knowledgeable. The person I was dealing with was always willing to help and answer any questions I had. The installation and grid connection/approval was very well managed. We are now enjoying the benefits of the solar panels and battery.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

easy procedure

all seemed easy and helpful, will see how it goes through winter
Show Details

Original Review on 22-06-2022:

Worth talking to them

Specialized Solar was supportive all of the way.

Initial salesman was informative and thorough in analyzing our situation and devising a better solution than other quotations which were higher in price and complexity.

We had a few issues and they were always responsive and courteous. Installation guys answered many questions with patience.

We still have an issue but it is with our power company and Specialized is assisting us with this.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Michael: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes.

Battery backup circuits on lights and fridge work seamlessly.

Roof panels and battery capacity (9.5KwH) adequate for our two person household.

We replaced old hot water system with a modern high capacity heat pump.

This has proven a great benefit lowering mains usage as it only operates when solar panels power it.
Show Details

A well oiled machine

These guys were prompt, professional, knowledgeable, helpful, well resourced the whole way through the process. We have been renovating our whole house and they would have to be on of the easiest contractors to deal with.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Very satisfied customer

Electing for a solar system in November for completion in December was, in retrospect, ambitious on our part. Specialized Solar provided the system and the sales process went very smoothly, however, circumstances resulted in the installation being deferred to January.
The weather in Melbourne in the late spring / early summer period was variable, at best, and not always conducive to people working on an exposed roof. We get that clearly and understood completely the need to install in January - we also want a great job!
By way of compensation for the change (reduction) in the STC's, Specialized Solar absorbed the difference in price, thus, we received our system at the quoted price for last year. That was pleasing.
The installation and commissioning process went very well with no surprises or issues.
Whilst we are still getting around the technological aspects of the installed solar system =, we have no hesitation in recommending Specialized Solar to prospective solar users.
Show Details

Specialized installation

Specialized Solar are friendly and reliable.
They use top of the range, latest components.
They are flexible with the price if you are ready to forgo some of the warranty period.
They give a 15 year "power performance guarantee", which I never heard of from the other companies.

Supplier Reply:

Hi Bruce,
Thank you for leaving this review for us. We really appreciate it. We look forward to speaking with you again on your next 6 monthly check-in call.
Feel free to call us if you need anything beforehand though, we'd be more than happy to help.
Speak soon
Show Details

Very satisfied

Customer service was great. Would have appreciated more communication from the contractor on timelines, etc, but quality of job was very good. Highly recommend
Show Details

Smooth process from beginning to the end!

From start to finish you know what is happening next. Any questions you have are answered promptly. Quality service & quality solar installed.
Show Details

Expert Advice and a Good Price

Ben was easy to talk to and provided a prompt quote for a good system and heat pump hot water service.
We are in the process of building a new home but his team liaised with our builder and have installed first fixings.
The process has been very comfortable
Show Details

From start to finish absolutely fantastic. Great team from sales to installation.

George was the Sales representative and he was brilliant. His knowledge of products and will to have an honest conversation and answer any questions via email or phone call were first class.

The installation team will here for 2 days and they did not stop, the work ethic and quality of the work was fantastic. Friendly and polite and had a few friendly conversations with the team. Wish all experiences with works on my property were as seamless.

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Hope and trust

The sales/quoting process was extremely prompt. We were assured repeatedly that any information we needed would be supplied. Not understanding much about panels and electricity and technical stuff, we were apprehensive, but we felt the company representatives made every effort to inform us.
We appreciated being forewarned that replacement roof tiles would be needed and our sales contact informed us of a tile supplier who sold us the required number of hard-to-source tiles.
Installers were polite, tidy and punctual. We were disappointed that the discarded broken tiles were not taken away from the site but we appreciated being informed that the installers wouldn't be taking the rubble away, rather than just leaving an unexpected mess. They even toiled to tuck the remains away, out of sight.
They did organize the grid connection and they did make clear that the system would be switched on when inspected which is out of their control.
Show Details

Very transparent from start to finish.

Not the cheapest nor the most expensive. Specialized Solar took the time to review the aerial map and offer an alternative to having all panels only on one side. Panels and inverter from the same parent company also ticked the box along with long warranties. Specialized are a local company who have been in the industrial for many years with their own team of local installers and electricians.
Easy quote back in less than 3 days, took calls on questions. Installed when they said they would and followed up to see if things were right. An outstanding customer service team.
Very seamless process from start to finish.
Highly recommended.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Great Solar Install

Specialized Solar was one of three installers recommended by Solar Quotes. The process was easy, and considering Christmas Holidays the system was scheduled and installed on time.

Installers showed up on time, and even with the rain we had that day they finished on time and left the installation area clean. The installer had some issues with getting the Consumption meter to hook up via Wifi so that was delayed while they waited for a replacement. Inspector switched the system on nine days later and I've been impressed by it's output so far.

Customer service has been great they handled virtually all the paperwork involved.

The consumption monitor has been replaced and is now working. We're still working through some readings that are showing in the App.

Overall extremely happy with the system, service, and sales staff.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 17-05-2021:

Excellent Company, highly professional.

The sales quote was detailed and carried out highly professionally. The installation was carried out on the day arranged. The installers were punctual, very polite and informative and were extremely tidy. I was blown away with their professionalism and customer service skills. It’s not very often I have come across such good workmanship and service. The only aspect of the article overall service provided is that the communication was lacking after the install was complete. Both myself & my partner phoned to find out when the 3rd party inspector would be on-site to sign off on the work. We spoke directly with the salesman and left messages with the after-install contact, but we were not contacted with an update by the company. Thanks s would have been good to have been provided with feedback out of courtesy. That’s the only fault found. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Lorna: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes it had and is still performing. We’re very happy.
Show Details

Quality product, flawless operation

I was impressed with the professional installation, and over a year later I am even more impressed with this product. We have had no problems at all and the system continues to perform flawlessly.
Our savings and quality installation make it all worthwhile.
Charles

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Better than expected.

The consultant I dealt with knew his stuff. He answered all my questions and concerns, we went to & fro until we reached the desired outcome. The installers arrived on time, were very polite and tidy , no issues.
Show Details

Great installer.. awesome customer service from Specialized solar

Great service good unit . Too early to tell how good it is but appears allg
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Super System

Very pleased with the service, including the explanation and reason for the final decision afforded, for our particular needs.
(Our 6star rated home had a poor design roof system to allow any more panels to be fitted.)
On completion, despite being assessed on a cloudy day, I was surprised how it reached 4kw.
Show Details

Happy customer

Everything when smoothly first they told me what would happen and then they did it.
Show Details

Very pleasant experience

Specialised Solar have been fantastic! Always keeping me up to date, open about what’s happening and happy to answer any questions we had. Would definitely recommend them!
Show Details

Great company to deal with both in service and installation

From initial contact, the quoting and sales process has been excellent, The sales and office staff have been very helpful and obliging throughout the process and after the installation,
The installers completed the job efficiently and were very helpful
Job was started and completed on time,
Well done to all the team,
Show Details

Original Review on 12-11-2020:

Professional

All information about the systems was delivered in a way I understood, sales person was so helpful and friendly he went over and above by lowering the cost and helping fill out rebate forms for the battery.
Installers were prompt and reliable and followed through quickly to get it inspected.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Veronica: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

No, in winter I tend to need the grid as back up, but I’m hoping that having the full summer next year my credit will cover the expense. At this stage I’m still in credit but it won’t last all winter
Show Details

Roll on Summer and Spring

The Salesperson visited uas. He made it wasy to udnerstnad the process. There were a few changes to the initial quote but everything went through smoothly.
Show Details

Trouble Free Solar Install

From our first contact with Specialized Solar we could not fault their service and backup. The sales consultant provided the quote quickly with a number of options available and answered any questions promptly, whether it be pricing and rebates, components or installation. The installation team arrived on the nominated day, and early due to forecast rain, and were very competent in their works. Before installing the solar panels they discussed with us the best placement of the panels on the roof and gave an estimation when works would be completed later that day so we could better plan our own day. Even with a few showers, they continued to work and were completed about the estimated time. Everything was cleaned up on site before leaving so no complaints there. The Electrical Inspector was on site the next working day and gave a glowing report of their work citing they were one of the better teams he had inspected. The girls in the office then went to work on the paperwork, etc, and could not be faulted. They led us through the whole process, explaining what was required, what to lookout for regarding paperwork, providing email addresses and phone numbers for support if required and then following up with inquiries as to how the process with the energy providers was progressing and was there anything they could help with.
Overall we could not fault our dealings with Specialized Solar and would highly recommend them to anyone considering installing solar panels
Show Details

Excellent service and support

The sales and quoting was simple/straight forward. The sales person understood my issues re trees and knew what I needed.
Instillation was professional/punctual and considerate.
Customer service was excellent. Very helpful with all inquires and problem solving.
Show Details

Beware the time it takes to turn on your system

Everything was handled very well until the inspector was required to turn the system on. From the time of instillation to the system being operational took 42 days. Not the fault of the supplier but very frustrating for us to have 18 panels on our roof doing nothing for that long period of time.

Finally all up and running and we look forward to much lower power bills in the future. Specialized solar tried very hard to speed up the connection process, if that had gone smoothly as it should have we would have had an excellent experience with Specialized Solar.
Show Details

Fantastic experience

From start to finish the team at Specialized Solar have been fantastic. All through the process they have been polite, clear, transparent and a pleasure to work with.

Their electrical installation team were fantastic even suggesting on the day of installation some reconfiguration to further optimize.

They discovered that behind our switchboard was a mess of wires from our original renovation. They cleaned it up at no extra charge. They want to do the job right.

Highly recommend.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 21-04-2020:

Professional and prompt in their dealings and a top quality installation

The salesperson was responsive and helpful and adjusted the system to suit my needs, which were a little unusual (I wanted a higher end inverter and just a few panels so it could be fit within a budget, which didn't make a lot of sense except that it was all to do with timing! anyway, I ended up spending extra to do it properly in one go, but they were helpful nonetheless Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Tim: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system has been excellent, and the quality of the install job has been commented on positively by a few friends who are electricians.
Show Details

Excellent service and good price

Installation was excellent - Installers where polite and punctual and communication spot on
They were very clean and tidy and did not leave any mess
Customer service is great and they help with grid connection
Show Details

Original Review on 11-12-2019:

Excellent technical knowledge, quality install, great support

Adam discussed the technical issues in detail, the quote was detailed and the cost satisfactory, installation went well and the process of handover was smooth. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Barney: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes it has!
Show Details

Good job, well done

Will and his team came at 7:20am and left at 5pm having worked consistently all day. Good safety procedures, pleasant people who cleared up after themselves and left everything tidy.
Show Details

Recommend Spec Solar

Awesome customer service through entire process. Knowledgeable sales, good installation and thorough follow up and connecting to grid. Had a really good experience with Specialized Solar
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 19-11-2019:

Great installer

Installers were excellent, although there was a miscommunication on the fact one part was missing and the part ( meter to go in meter box) should have been installed quickly and took another week to install.Took anther 4 days for part to be made operational. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Sharon: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

We have had one summer and one autumn electricity bill so far and are very impressed with the results. Would suggest the people considering installing solar panels, remember to utilise the suns energy and not be to concerned with want is being put into the grid. Housework such as washing or using dishwasher do during the day so use what the solar panels are producing and not to take so much from the grid.
Show Details

A fully professional job

The sales and quoting process was pure business, not a friendly chatty experience. However, this gave me confidence that I was dealing with a decent, B/S free professional outfit, maybe I annoyed the sales guy because I kept changing my mind as to what I wanted. I started at 5kW and finally settled on a 10.3kW system. The installation team arrived on time and finished as planned the next day. The guys were pleasant and efficient and left the area clean and tidy. They organised the safety inspection and grid connection for the following week (yesterday) and after one sunny day and one cloudy day of operation the system has pumped out 58kWh of clean energy; Fantastic!!
Show Details

Poor installation

Rough installation. I had cracked and broken tiles, rubbish left on my roof, penetrations through the roof not water tight, sarking tape not sealed correctly. I picked Specialized solar due to their years of experience in the trade but got rough and rushed work from their contractors. Besides the installation their sales and customer service team were great, couldn’t say a bad thing about them. Sad that poor contractors let a company down.
Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 3/5
Show Details

Failure to site inspect

Despite my encouragement that they inspect the site before installation they chose not to. They quoted on a single storey property judged by a google map image. I corrected them that it was 2 storey. Later they indicated it was a flat roof. I again corrected them that it was a gabled roof. They turned up for the installation but left as they said they were not adequately equipped but would return another day. This has given me little confidence in this "recomended" company but to change or get new quotes is more inconvenience.
I now have to wait for them to re-schedule the installation.
Show Details

Great service from all of the staff i dealt with,very helpfull,Excellant service from start to finish. Hasle free instalation.

Great service from all staff involved from start to finish,especially the ladies from the office,service at its best.
Installation went smoothly with no issues at all,tidy,punctual & polite.

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Great company to work with

Spec solar are true professionals. They know their stuff and make the whole process easy and streamlined from beginning to end. From the sales team to the installers to the customer service team - all excellent.
Show Details

Good communication, delivered as stated

Accurate and timely communication. Polite installers, nil issues, thank you
Show Details

Great installer!

The sales and quoting process went well - was not over sold to, down to earth salesman. Install crew were punctual and polite. Customer service has been very good so far - was contacted the following day for an explanation regarding next steps and gave me expectations on the likely timeframes on each step.
Show Details

Good company

All done via email. Punctual and no hassle efficient installation Very helpful with obtaining government rebate.
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: