Menu
House
House Tablet

Find The Best Solar Deals In Australia

  • 3 Free, No Obligation, Solar Quotes
  • From Fully Qualified Installers
  • With 1000’s of Customer Reviews
  • Competing for Your Business
Finn Peacock Caricature

Ready for some quotes? Enter your postcode now


Seraphim solar panels review

Overall Rating From 44 Reviews:

Seraphim solar panels review

Average Customer Rating:
( 4.52 / 5 )

Tier 1

Seraphim Solar

Seraphim Solar is a Chinese manufacturer of tier one panels with 10 year product and 25 year performance warranties. They are certified as corrosion resistant which makes them suitable for installation in coastal areas.

Seraphim Solar now has an Australian office in Queensland.

I took an in depth look at Seraphim solar panels in August 2016 and you can read what I found out about them here.

Manufacturing Capacity

Seraphim solar was founded in 2009 and is a moderate sized manufacturer of solar panels. Their production capacity was approximately 2 gigawatts at the end of 2016. This put them well behind the world leader, Jinko Solar, which shipped approximately 6.6 gigawatts of panels in 2016.

As with many large producers of solar panels, Seraphim is vertically integrated and produces the silicon ingots and that solar cells are made from. This makes them less reliant on outside suppliers.

Manufacturing Location

Seraphim Solar produces most of its panels in the city of Changzhou, which is a one hour train ride north-west of Shanghai. In addition they also have a small manufacturing plant in Jackson Mississippi in the USA, with a current capacity of 300 megawatts. Seraphim Solar says this may be expanded to 1 gigawatt in the future, but this may not be true as in the United States it is common for companies to exaggerate their intended manufacturing capacity in order to wrangle increased concessions from state and local governments.

Seraphim Panels

Seraphim Solar produces a variety of solar panels. Standard sized, 60 cell panels are the type most commonly installed in Australia, but Seraphim also produces larger 72 cell panels and smaller 54 and 48 cell ones. They are all corrosion resistant and so suitable for installation by the sea. They have 10 year product warranties and 25 performance warranties.

Seraphim SRP-6MB Panels

These are standard sized, 60 cell panels and their efficiency ranges from 16.3% to 17.2%. Their temperature coefficient of maximum output power, which is usually called the Pmax temperature coefficient, is -0.43% which is slightly worse than average and will result. This means their efficiency will decline by 0.43% for each degree the panel is over 25 degrees Celsius.

AC Panels

Seraphim produces panels with built in microinverters called AC panels. They have two types. One panel has its own individual microinverter while the other shares one microinverter between two panels. Seraphim does not state on their site who makes the microinverters, but they have a 25 year warranty, which is impressive.

Eclipse Panels

Seraphim’s highest efficiency panels are their Eclipse line which are made with small, one fifth normal size, overlapping solar cells.. The lower cost polycrystalline version is 17.1% efficient and the monocrystalline version is 18.8% efficient. At -0.4% their Pmax temperature coefficent is average, so losses from heat will be typical for most solar panels.

Black Panels

In addition to standard panels, Seraphim also produces black ones.  These are solar panels that have a black backsheet rather than a white one and this makes the entire panel appear dark without the grid of white lines surrounding solar cells most panels have.  While some people prefer the look of black panels, their performance is generally slighly lower than that of otherwise identical standard panels because they get hotter in the sun and the extra heat reduces solar panel efficiency.

My Recommendation

Seraphim Solar produce reliable, tier one panels and I have no problem recommending them.

Rating Comments Name State Postcode

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 4 October 2018
Rob NSW 2477

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 2 October 2018
Ann QLD 4211

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 31 August 2018
Rob NSW 2484
We chose a panel that looked black on the roof, so there was little choice
Bought From: Green Solar Review Date: 29 August 2018
Denis QLD 4069

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 24 August 2018
Luca QLD 4209

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 23 August 2018
David QLD 4504
The good rating I gave is an early rating as we have only had the one bill since the system was fully installed 5 months ago and whilst it showed reasonable savings I thought the savings on our bill would have been better.
Bought From: ESD Review Date: 22 August 2018
Geoff SA 5556
no problems they just work.
Bought From: Advanced Solar Technology Review Date: 21 August 2018
Peter WA 6027

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 20 August 2018
Mark QLD 4563
All good so far.
Bought From: Advanced Solar Technology Review Date: 19 August 2018
James WA 6024

Bought From: Solar Storage Solutions Pty Ltd Review Date: 10 August 2018
David QLD 4816

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 7 August 2018
John QLD 4212
No issues so far and output as expected.
Bought From: Sunrun Solar Review Date: 26 May 2018
Erosh VIC 3810

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 24 May 2018
Peter NSW 2478

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 30 April 2018
Marilyn NSW 2478
No
Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 16 March 2018
Ray NSW 2485

Bought From: 888 Solar Tek Review Date: 17 February 2018
David NSW 2481

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 6 December 2017
Conrad QLD 4105

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 21 November 2017
Alan NSW 2477

Bought From: Solar Storage Solutions Pty Ltd Review Date: 2 November 2017
Stephen QLD 4814
Generally, our 6.3kw system has never reached more than 4.6kw at any stage on full sunny days - accepting that we have not yet had a full summer day - and while this is OK as it suits the inverter and pretty much covers our needs, it is not what we were quoted. However, we are generally satisfied and certainly don't regret the investment.
Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 1 October 2017
Chris QLD 4306

Bought From: Solar Storage Solutions Pty Ltd Review Date: 26 September 2017
Aaron QLD 4818
Well its hard to say, there are so many saying so much. They are upper middle I believe, black, and 270w. Perhaps what's best is the kids showing off with their mates landed a poorly tossed rock in the middle of them the other day and they didn't break, so they are perfect in my books.
Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 21 September 2017
Jason QLD 4300
No problems so far - probably about 5 years before they pay for themselves. The Fronius solarweb system allowed me to analyse performance in real time. I built a 12 month spreadsheet based on daily production from Fronius and daily consumption from the United Energy "Energy Easy" web site. Using these two data sources, it is possible to calculate an actual savings figure that is accurate to the last cent. Some figures from the spreadsheet below: 6.5 kW (nominal) system - 25 panels %ge of solar production used by house 31.89% %ge of solar production exported 68.11% %ge of house consumption provided by solar panels 44.59% %ge of house consumption provided by grid 55.41% % of total savings due to grid consumption reduction 53.8% % of total savings due to grid export earnings 46.2% Based on a very competitive installation price from Sahara Solar and the spreadsheet savings figures, my simple return on investment for 12 months was 12.8% PA. I expect a higher ROI next year as the Victorian feed in tariff has recently been raised from 6.2c/kwH to 14c/kwH (Globird Energy). Based on this year's data, ROI next year should increase to 19.9% PA.
Bought From: Sahara Solar Review Date: 1 September 2017
Graham VIC 3936
We opted for the SRP-300-6PA panels.
Bought From: GTL Electrical Pty Ltd Review Date: 21 August 2017
Mark QLD 4811

Bought From: Sahara Solar Review Date: 20 May 2017
Rob VIC 3915

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 8 May 2017
Al QLD 4272
The panels are producing 3.640 w but the inverter is a 3kw not getting the full potential of the panels.
Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 5 May 2017
John QLD 4152

Bought From: Sahara Solar Review Date: 24 April 2017
Barry VIC 3809
The maintenance check verified their output and function was normal as expected.
Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 4 March 2017
Barrie NSW 2478

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 3 March 2017
John NSW 2479

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 26 February 2017
Anon NSW 2487
@ 90kWh per day generated I am delighted.
Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 1 December 2016
Anon QLD 4213

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 30 September 2016
Gary QLD 4209

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 23 June 2016
John NSW 2420

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 7 May 2016
Glenn NSW 2486
Installed 6.24KW of panels and a 5KW inverter. It is worth installing the extra panel capacity as it allows you to operate at 5KW for more hours a day.
Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 16 March 2016
David QLD 4218

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 8 February 2016
David QLD 4218

Bought From: True Value Solar Review Date: 28 January 2016
Paul VIC 3150

Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 12 October 2015
Toni NSW 2484

Bought From: True Value Solar Review Date: 21 January 2015
Elaine VIC 3352
Operating well without any maintenance
Bought From: SAE Group Pty Ltd Review Date: 20 January 2015
Jeff QLD 4343
It works fine and output rating is as expected.
Bought From: Panel Review Supplier Name Withheld Review Date: 29 September 2017
Erosh VIC 3810

Bought From: Energy Storage Direct Review Date: 8 September 2017
Sam SA 5108

Seraphim has 8 solar panels in our database

Model Type Size PTC Performance Ratio Californian Approved
SRP-190-5MB (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline19017290.32Yes
SRP-195-5MB (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline19517690.41Yes
SRP-200-5MB (60 Mono cells)Monocrystalline20018190.45Yes
SRP-235-6PB (60 Poly cells)Polycrystalline23521290.04Yes
SRP-240-6PB (60 Poly cells)Polycrystalline24021690.08Yes
SRP-280-6PA (72 Poly cells)Polycrystalline28025290.04Yes
SRP-285-6PA (72 Poly cells)Polycrystalline28525790.07Yes
SRP-290-6PA (72 Poly cells)Polycrystalline29026190.10Yes
Seraphim
54.544