Expert Energy Tasmania

Expert Energy Tasmania Reviews

DETAILS
90% 0%
4.8

Based on 57 ratings

About

Expert Electrical Tasmania - serving the whole of Tasmania - designs and installs grid connect solar, batteries, and bespoke off grid systems. 
We are trusted to be Power Plus partners for the industry leading German solar inverter manufacturer SMA. We have selected the Australian made Tindo Solar panels as our premium line because of their commitment to building an Australian product for Australian conditions. Sumec Phono Solar selected us to be their exclusive Tasmanian suppliers for their Diamond Dual Glass panels due to our commitment to the highest quality design and installation practices. We will also install other high-quality solar brands if they better suit your budget or situation.
Whether you want a high performing residential 6.6 kW system or a bulletproof 30 kW off-grid system in the remote Tasmanian bush, we can design a system to suit your home, and install it to the highest standards.
We have a highly rated sister company in Queensland, Expert Electrical, but Expert Electrical Tasmania - run by Accredited Solar Designer and Installer, Scott Logie - operates out of Tasmania, and we are here to support our customers for the life of their systems.

Reviewers report paying: $7,800 - $9,000 for depending on hardware choice and installation difficulty ( how is this calculated? )

Panels, inverter and battery brands

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

Expert Energy Tasmania Reviews (57)

Show Most Recent reviews from All time

Average Scores

4.8/5

Value for money

4.9/5

Quality of System

4.8/5

Installation

4.7/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 34
  • 4 star 22
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

View Timeline

Solar and hot water service installation

A great experience from start to finish, from the quote to the installation.
All the staff were helpful, knowledgeable and efficient..
Show Details

Great Service

Very professional with all aspects including quote, installation and after sales service.
Show Details

Excellent Thank You!

The staff are professional and honest. They discussed various options first in an online consult using maps and satellite imagery. Then we had a longer consult in person. Very happy with the install so far.
Show Details

Very efficient and thorough, solar panels have been up for over a month and already saving and working swimmingly. Big thanks to Scott and the team.

Expert knowledge and support through sales/quoting process
Instillation was seemless, efficient and clean.
Brilliant customer service and timely honest communication.

Expert electrical managed every aspect of our solar installation without any issues.
Show Details

Efficient service

From the start to the finish of our solar panels installation we were very happy with all aspects
Show Details

Great service job completed on time no mess left on job site

All made very easy to operate and understand neat instlation
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Fantastic solar installation

The Expert Electrical Tasmania team were very professional. From our first enquiry until the installation they kept us informed and updated. They use quality products at an affordable price and Carson was a wealth of knowledge. Can highly recommend this business for prompt and professional solar solutions
Show Details

Total satisfaction

Quoting process very professional
Faultless
Seamless
Overall a very professional service.

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

The guys were really good from start to finsh so now it's up to the sun ?

Carson was a great person who answered everything on quoting.

Tom the installer and his crew were very nice.

Chris was great and my installation got moved forward.
Very happy so only time will tell with the overall performance. ?
Show Details

Great Team!

Expert electrical installed my system in october of last year,
I found the whole process really easy, although i was a little dubious on the virtual meeting, it was really nice to be able to see the products in real time while scott went over all the details with me.
the actual install was alot faster than i thought it would be, from when i signed the contract to the system being installed was less than 2 weeks,
on the installation day, jake held my hand through the app set up and showed me how to use the system.
overall very impressed by the performance so far, i think ive paid a total of $12 so far since installation so im happy as larry!

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Expert Electrical Tasmania - professional and personalised service throughout.

Expert Electrical Tas were great from the start, where they listened to my needs, did not try to upsell unnecessarily and were happy to answer all my silly questions. They provided comprehensive information and clear options with pros and cons. A few mix ups with emails were smoothly and patiently dealt with.

The install was great - very smooth, and when my old house brought unexpected surprises they were clear in the options I had and the risks and benefits of each. The team were prompt, polite, and friendly. They worked hard and refused cake (perhaps their only flaw)!

It is rare that you find a company that will give unbiased and supportive customer service in all parts of the purchase and installation.
Show Details

Easy as!

Quoting was excellent, provided a number of different options and price points and happy to then arrange an alternative mix.
Installation was easy as, barely knew they were there, overall tidy and polite
Show Details

Original Review on 22-05-2023:

Go sun

Fine, fitted in June 2023 Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Battery rating: 3/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Peter: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Apart form communication, OK
Show Details

5 star across the board - thanks!!

We recently had a large 13kW Solar system installed on our roof by Scott, Tony and the team at Expert Electrical Tasmania. What a fantastic end result, we are very happy with their work!!

In addition to the standard solar install they first had to organise the removal of our old hot water solar system and a gas plumber to disconnect the gas boost. We then has another plumber fit the new electrical hot water at the same time. All these moving parts & different trades were well organised and done very professionally. A special mention to Tom who even came to our property on his day off for the connection to ensure my wife and kids would have hot water for the weekend.

The actual Solar install was led by Jake & his team of 3 other workers. It was a hive of organised activity as they completed the entire install in 1 day including wifi connectivity and everything!

Fantastic job guys, very happy to have used your services. Will definitely have more work for your office at our property in future and are recommending to our friends. My Dad has already had your business install solar on his place also on the back of my recommendation :)

Finally, a thanks to Scott & Tony who were very helpful and informative in coaching me through the process to secure the 0% finance fee's scheme currently available in Tasmania. It was very simple and swift. This allowed us to borrow & invest an additional $10K on an interest free loan above our original budget. We used this for a much bigger system and the electrical hot water switch over which I feel is a great long term move.

5 star across the board - thanks!!

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Sales person excellent, installers awesome

Sales person excellent - provided multiple options, responsive to changes, good follow-up
Installation brought forward 3 weeks due to planned job cancelled which was great for us. Very efficient at installation done in great time. Warned of potential problems with new switch board which unfortunately did come to pass - they have organised electrician to come to sort this out.
Good customer service all round.
Show Details

Solar 2024

I want energy & Expert electrical were both good with thier quoting-no complaints.
Installation from Expert electrical was excellent & quick.
Everything was done for me -all I had to do was pay the bill.

Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Great company to deal with

Thanks to the all the crew from quoting , being kept in the loop plus the installation crew great work and pleasure to deal with cheers
Show Details

Excellent installation

The sales and quoting process was very efficient and informative. Installation went smoothly and the crew were punctual and very pleasant. Customer service five stars.
Show Details

An easy process from start to finish

All the staff I dealt with at Expert Electrical were professional, responsive, informative and, unlike one other company, didn't try to push me into making a quick decision based on getting a cheaper deal if I did. The installers were punctual, friendly and tidy and my grid connection was seamless.

Supplier Reply:

Hey Elizabeth,

We appreciate your positive review and we're glad you found the experience seamless. You're right, no pushy sales tactics over here, only informed decision making with your best interest in mind!

Sincerely,
Carson
Show Details

Empathetic Understanding

My house is an architecturally designed passive solar home, Expert Electrical understood the difficulty in building a "different" house 20 years ahead of it's time.
The electrical and physical construction was performed safely and to specifications of the Electrical Authority and to the requirements of an architecturally designed roof curved through 180 degrees.

The administration and communications throughout the project where very much appreciated.

Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hey Chris,

We're so appreciative to receive your positive feedback online. It was nice meeting you during our site inspection and Jake and the boys had good fun completing your installation on your architecturally designed home.

We look forward to staying connected into the future!

Sincerely,
Carson
Show Details

Couldn't be happier with Expert Electrical!

I was so impressed with the entire experience with Expert Electrical Tasmania. I can't rate them highly enough.
Carson, who quoted, was friendly, punctual and responsive, not the slightest bit pushy, and was able to answer all my questions in detail (and patiently!).
Chris, who liaised with me to follow up and confirm the paperwork, was professional, friendly and informative.
Tony, who kept me updated on the time of the installation and checked in immediately after to ensure the team had done a good job, was top-notch in terms of communicating what was happening and/or what might have changed in terms of timing.
And Jake and the team, who did the hard work installing my 30 panels, were fast, professional, punctual, friendly, respectful and knowledgeable. And they tidied and cleaned up after themselves!
The system was working immediately, and I'm stoked with the way it's going, even after only a short time.
Thanks to Expert Electrical. I couldn't be happier! And thanks to SolarQuotes for helping me find the right installers to deal with.

Supplier Reply:

Hey Liz!

We're all really appreciative the effort you went to by mentioning each of us and what you valued from choosing Expert Electrical Tasmania as your provider. We're glad the whole process exceeded your expectations!

We value you and will strive to stay connected!

Sincerley,
Carson
Show Details

Thrilled with our system

Awesome customer service and professionalism from quoting throu to installation and energisation. The process was quick and simple and they were happy to answer all our questions and help us through everything. Our bills are a fraction of what they were and we love opening the app to see how little we are using now

Supplier Reply:

G'Day Gaby,

Thank you for your review! We're glad you liked the online virtual quoting process and found Jake and the team proffesional.

We're happy to help again in the future! :)

Sincerely,
Carson
Show Details

Excellent discussion of options

Expert Electrical were easy to deal with and listened to my requirements and preferences before providing three quotes. The installation process went smoothly and I'm confident that I've got an excellent system within my budget.
Show Details

Great service. Great system.

Happy with every aspect. Friendly staff. Good quoting process. Prompt installation.
Show Details

seamless process

These company was easy to deal with; friendly, responsive and efficient.
Show Details

Good Service but less than promised

Very happy with Expert Electrical Tas, and their off site system design and discussions made me choose them over the others. I advised all quoting companies that my house had a few potential installation issues (3 phase, parapet walls, salt water spray, sky lights & cable run location issues etc.) and I wanted a site measure up before the quotation.
EET came to site and measured my roof for the maximum amount of panels that they could fit and quoted me a 25 panel 10.375kW system. I accepted their quotation but when their installation crew & electrician came to site they said that they could only fit a 22 panel 9.13kw system on the roof. The discount offered was only $600 less which seemed a bit light on for 3 panels (including 3 Tigo optimizers) on a separate roof along with less bracketing and cabling. This left me feeling a bit ripped off as the boss of EET was the one who had measured up.
But despite the slightly smaller system, Im happy with the install works and very happy with the performance (so far, but I have not received my 1st bill yet)

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Very Professional

I found all those that I spoke with at Expert Electrical to be very professional. They where generous with their time answering all my questions. The electricians that installed my system did a great job.
Show Details

Original Review on 24-08-2022:

Fantastic to deal with

Out of the 3 companies that contacted me, Expert Electrical was the 2nd to contact me. The sales guys was very pleasant and easy to deal with, conversations felt more casual vs a sales pitch which was very nice. Quotes came in fairly quickly and often replied to my email within the hour of me sending them on any clarifying questions that I had. No pressure was applied to me at any point. I took a couple days to read and sign the contract. Booked in install was about 6 weeks after signing the contract. about a week later Expert Electrical called and asked if they could bring the install forward 4 weeks, I gladly accepted.

They were very professional, with dealing with them. Expert Electrical do not install the solar system themselves, they subcontract it out, Derwent Electrical was the electrician that installed my solar system and they did an excellent job.

The biggest issues I have had was nothing to do with the install itself or Expert Electrical

1) First Energy took a long time (11 business days) before they allowed me to turn the system on, for some unknown reason.

2) The SMA app (I have a SMA inverter) seems to be having issues (and looking online it has for the past 6 months) where it just doesn't work half the time. It loads the information from their website. You open the app and its basically a coin flip if it's going to work. I have found going to the website or logging onto the inverter directly does the job

Again, nothing bad about the installer or install, but some notes worth noting about other factors.

Overall, happy customer.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Bradley: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

System has exceeded my expectations. after 9 months I had saved over $1000 in power. I expected those sort of savings after 12 months. Being winter im generating very little at the moment (Hobart has very few sun hours at the moment being the winter) but still saving money.
Show Details

Original Review on 21-08-2022:

Expert electrical very professional, good quality products

I enjoyed meeting Scott from Expert electrical on Zoom. The quote was done without a site visit. I selected the Australian made panels even though these were a slightly dearer option, hopefully the quality will prove superior and I am very happy to be supporting Australian industry.
The installation was organised within 3 weeks of my accepting the quote which is a much quicker turn-around than the competitors, and the installer was polite quick and efficient. However I think the roof would look neater if the rails for the panels were cut off flush, they seem to be visible sticking out slightly at the edges of the panels.
The panels have only been up a week so it is too soon to say how well they are working.
I have not yet been able to log in to the online tools to see the graphs of energy production and useage, I could have done with a bit more help with getting that up and running.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

10 months later we asked Chando: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes
Show Details

Quote Installation and Follow Up Excellent

From quote through installation and follow up has been a satisfying experience. The installation was offered in advance due to postponement by another customer which we gratefully accepted. The crew doing the installation were friendly, professional, efficient and left the site in a tidy condition. The solar panels are happily pumping out free power which will undoubtedly reduce our power bill significantly over the coming months and years. We are more than happy to recommend Expert Electrical Tasmania to provide you with a quality product and installation.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Great customer service, knowledgeable, quality system

The whole process with Expert Electrical was really great, and I subsequently recommended them to my folks who had an equally excellent experience.

I corresponded with three other companies. One didn’t fill me with confidence when I spoke to them over the phone so I didn’t pursue. The second were more interested in trying to offer me a discount for putting up advertising than telling me about their service/system (wasn’t recommended to them via this website). The third was an $8000 quote and they were super friendly but they didn’t know much about the actual system they were quoting, and I had to follow up with them a lot, and that was during the sales process (which didn’t fill me with confidence about chasing them up later, if needed).

By comparison, Expert were more expensive but from the first interaction with them I felt confident and comfortable speaking with them. They passed the ‘can I ask them a stupid question’ test without feeling like I’ve asked a stupid question, and they passed with flying colours- which is very important to me as a single income, female household.

They were responsive, followed up with me in a way that didn’t feel like they were pestering me, and in our initial meeting (online) talked me through all the options, how everything worked, etc. They had also identified that I needed a fuse board upgrade before work started (other groups hadn’t) and were willing to negotiate on a price that worked with my budget.

The system was booked in for about a month after I paid the deposit but was moved forward two weeks when they had a gap in their schedule. The install itself, electrical box work and all, took about 5 hours. Their crew on-site identified an issue with my existing house wiring and fixed it, and we’re very professional/friendly. The work was signed off by the authorities less than a week later, and after a meter upgrade from my provider, was online within the fortnight.

Thanks to the team, I’m very happy and looking forward to reporting back on its performance. So far, highly recommended.

Some tips for those in Tassie that weren’t on the this website (that I wish I’d known):
- since Oct 2022 the tas gov has energy saver loans, where you can apply for interest free loans for 1-3 years to have solar and other things up to the value of $10,000. It’s all organised through the provider and you just complete a simple application. I did this with a 3 year period, it’s costing $64 a week, no up front deposit, no fees, and the process was super smooth. With this and the rebate, it makes it a great time to get solar and didn’t put too much pressure on me financially.
-be aware of the process around the installation and related timeframes to avoid disappointment. You can’t just switch the system on after it’s been installed. It needs to be certified by Tas Networks (apparently can take up to 4-6 weeks, 4-7 months if a major network upgrade is needed!!!) and your energy provider may need to upgrade your meter, even if it’s already a smart meter.

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

The sun shines on the righteous

At this stage we are true believers, job done on time and on budget Installers all good blokes easy to be around Carson always on line with any questions from us no problems as yet all good.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 27-05-2022:

Great service!!

Good explanation on what they had to offer and the price was reasonable for what I wanted. Installation went well, people doing the installation were nice as well as tidy and punctual. Had an issue with the network but the company worked with them to get it all up and running. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Linda: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes I am really pleased with the entire system
Show Details

Great system, installed professionally

The whole process was great. We utilized the Tas government loan scheme.
Rain delayed the install, but the guys got it done in just over half a day.
The install looks great. Really neat with no exposed conduit.
I was able to switch the system on the following day!
Show Details

Happy with the system so far.

The sales/quoting process was very good, informative and answered all my questions.

The installation was delayed and some confusion over dates (dates were changed 3 times), and a lack of communication. The installers were great, and talked to us throughout the installation.

Customer service was poor. No follow up after installation. No information provided with regard to explaining or assisting with monitoring software, etc. Only after we asked for the links and warranty information, was it provided. No overall explanation of the process. Apparently their side of the contract ended with the installation!

Disappointing. But the system is good and it works, saving us bucks so far. Looking forward to how it copes with winter.
Show Details

A quality installation

Initial contact was with Scott through a Zoom meeting, a great way to get heaps of information and to meet the people at the same time. So much better than a phone call.
We chose to go with a top quality system using German Solarwatt panels and an SMA inverter. We also opted for a hot water timer, energy consumption meter and our aging switchboard needed upgrading as well.
There was a bit of mucking around initially with the install subbie moving the install date a couple of times and the actual install had a couple of hiccups but Expert were extremely quick to rectify the problems and within a couple of days we had a fully functioning high quality system.
Watching the figures on the SMA sunnyportal website showing how much our system is generating and how much we are saving is almost mesmerising. I can't wait to see the first power bill, it's going to be significantly less than previously!
I would be more than happy to use Expert Electrical again.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 03-02-2022:

Seamless process from start to finish

Friendly and informative quote process undertaken in an efficient way. I was lucky that the house/roof design allowed a very simple installation. A window came up early for the installation and the crew were on site the next day and the system was installed and operational in no time. They were efficient, polite and tidy, what more could you ask for. No problems whatsoever. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Rod: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system works extremely well
Show Details

Knowledgeable, friendly, neat install and great after sales service.

Very Happy with the service. Answered all our questions before and post-install. The install crew were friendly and cleaned up after themselves. We have had our system up for some months now and are happy to report that their after-sales service is great.
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Fantastic, comprehensive, and excellent job

Tony and team from Expert Electrical have done a fantastic job on our large solar plus SunnyBoy battery system. Their communication, price, and follow up service have been fantastic, particularly with ironing out any of the kinks that cropped up once the service was up and running. Very highly recommended company, and definitely get a quote from them before you start!
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Fantastic to deal with

Great customer care and service before and after installation
Installation went well very professional

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Great service!

What I like most, is we had more than 30 minutes online meeting (or presentation) before quotation and making this informed decision of what is best for my situation, and I have a visual image of what the monitoring system will look like. The process is smooth and professional, and with the heater timer on the panel, I can now harvest most of my solar energy for my own use!
Show Details

I would recommend these gents to everyone!

I was referred to Expert Electrical Tasmania by a friend who had their system installed by them.

I got some quotes from other companies in the area but their products did not appear to be as good.


I called and they arranged a virtual appointment for me with Scott, which was very informative and well presented, and sent me a quote with several system plans because I was so indecisive at first. I requested a further site inspection just to make to sure of a few things and Scott was more than happy to help me with this. They organised all the paperwork and contacted my power supplier too.


I bought a 6.6kwh SolarWatt/SMA system in mid May 2022 and it was installed (and running) by the end of May. The installation was very tidy and the installers, Sam and Jake, answered all my questions while they were working. Expert Electrical even called me to check that everything went well and to help me set up my monitoring app.

I am very happy I went with them!

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Review

Very happy so far …just waiting for smart meter installation so we can start using the system!
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Great company

Very happy with the quoting and installation from Expert Electrical.
Show Details

An incentive was offered by Expert Energy Tasmania for this review. Learn more here.

A1

No hassles, great price, great customer service and followed up a few months later to see how everything is going, would recommend.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Fantastic

We are extremely happy with our Solar the team were great to deal with and the installation was great

Thank you for our great solar system

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Fantastic Off-Grid System

Very grateful to be put in contact with Scott and Tony from Expert Electrical Tasmania via SolarQuotes. I had been finding it difficult to get information and a quote for an off-grid system in Southern Tasmania. Scott was very helpful and knowledgeable with some great advice. They were able to install in a much quicker time frame than the other companies I contacted and their communication and follow-up so far has been great. System working well so far and remote monitoring system is easy to use.
Show Details

Very good overall

Original contact was prompt and received quotes on good, better and best systems within 48 hours of the first visit. First installation date was put back by 3 weeks due to inclement weather affecting other jobs. Second date was met and 2 chaps did the installation in 1 day ( 25 panels, inverter , 25 Tigo optimisers and energy meter}. Solar was operational same day and Tony and Scott did the appropriate work within the next few days so that I could monitor the system. They also handled the paperwork, etc, with the energy supplier. The 2 subbies used for the installation were excellent tradesmen and good workers. They did a very professional and tidy job. Customer service in the main was very good. Had a couple of communication problems early on - probably because of some confusion with which email addresses to use. Expert Electrical were the most expensive of the 3 quotes received but I asked for what I believed was the best equipment available and they had the gear in stock. (Paid $14,280 incl $800 for switchboard upgrade ). Have saved over $600 from 23/12/21 to 9/2/22. More than happy with the whole deal.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Scott and his crew were cared and were so professional

***** No problem's 100 % 5 STARS for all concerned. We are very happy with price a and installation. Thank you so very much,

Thank you & regards,

Robert & Jann.
Show Details

Mid Century Modern Solar

The sales and quoting process was very friendly and informative, with a prompt appointment and an efficient assessment of the peculiarities of the site. Excellent links and videos were sent with the quote, which was received several days later. For a visual thinker the information presented was much easier to absorb than a lot of statistics and graphs, which can be overwhelming when trying to comparatively understand the differences between solar systems and components.

Once the deposit was paid EE made a request to upgrade to a digital meter and both TasNetworks and Aurora were very efficient with updates on the progress from booking a date to the arrival of the installer, which was done within 2 weeks. EE installation of the solar system occurred on the date booked with an extremely efficient team with an app link sent once remote reading of the system had been set up. The customer service was excellent and I have no hesitation in approaching them with questions or further information. Now we just have to change our daytime electrical use and learn how to read the data to make the most of the solar energy we generate.
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: