SolarMyHome

SolarMyHome Reviews

About

*** SolarMyHome went into administration in September 2015 ***

SolarMyHome is an Australian-owned supplier and installer of solar power systems for Australian homes. They are based in Melbourne and serve the whole of Victoria.

SolarMyHome won't quote without a proper site inspection and, because they keep all their panels in stock locally, have most installations completed with 3 to 4 weeks.

Panels, inverter and battery brands

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

SolarMyHome Reviews (216)

Show Most Recent reviews from All time

Average Scores

4.1/5

Value for money

4.2/5

Quality of System

4.4/5

Installation

4.2/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 25
  • 4 star 151
  • 3 star 35
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 3

View Timeline

I'd like a recommendation for a good quality inverter to replace this Chinese rubbish please and a reputable and reliable company.
Inverter rating: 1/5
Show Details
We installed our solar from solar my home with 25 years warranty and it’s not worth a cent. My solar stopped working all of sudden and I tried calling solar my home but there no,s are not connected and look like they have run away. I have seen a review where some one has written that Cherry Solar is owned by same owners now.
Not sure what to do now and who will cover our cost or who will repair our system??
Show Details
Solar My Home is now defunct and Cherry Solar are now owned and operated by the same owner. Two years ago Solar My Home installed our system with a 25yr warranty. It was decommissioned today as being a fire hazard with warranties that are not worth the paper they are written on. Avoid at all costs - someone will get hurt or worse.
Show Details

Original Review on 30-08-2015:

The salesman was one of the best informed we came across. Their product seemed very good, and competitively priced. The installation was done promptly by friendly and knowledgeable tradesmen.
There was a problem with one of the panels that became apparent shortly after the system was connected. I think the company is fairly small and so it was hard to schedule someone to come in to fix the problem. However, it was just a matter of timing rather than willingness to deal with it, and it was resolved after a few weeks.
The system is now working, and we are very happy with it. I would certainly recommend the company.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Robin: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes, it's just the price I get paid for the power I put in the grid that hasn't!!
Show Details

Original Review on 10-04-2015:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

9 months later we asked This person: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

No not quite, it does not generate the total power output it is rated too.
In varying conditions and on some excellent weather days, it always comes up short of it's expected output
Show Details

Original Review on 24-07-2014:

The customer service from their sales rep, Andrew, was excellent. He knew his product and could answer any questions I had. He was always very quick to answer emails and was very helpful with arranging quick installation after signup (2 business days after signing). A couple of things they should be making prospective buyers aware of is a more accurate figure of how much energy companies charge to have your meter replaced or reconfigured (salesperson told us it would be about $65 and it was $220). The other thing that I was disappointed with was that we weren't told until after signing up that we needed a separate power point to plug the monitoring system for the micro-inverters into to set up the monitoring program on our computer. This separate power point was not offered to be put in at the time of installation (in our opinion, it should have been put in at no cost to us, as the price we paid included the monitoring system). We are currently sharing a double power point and it appears to be working, but the office have not returned our emails querying whether it is okay to be using it like this. Whilst the customer service from the sales rep and the installers was excellent, that from the office staff has been quite average. Difficult to get onto the right person or get answers to our queries and they kept sending important information to an incorrect email address, causing some delays with getting connected to the grid and getting the monitoring system up and running. No response has been received to my last email sent over a week ago. I am still happy that we went with Solar My Home and believe we got the best quality product for the price we paid. Connection to the grid was also quicker than expected - everything up and running within about 3 weeks from installation. Overall, many more positive aspects to the experience than negative. Micro-inverters certainly seem the way to go. We are producing a lot more power than I expected to in winter. Very happy to have finally gone solar! Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 3/5

18 months later we asked Kathleen: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

We were probably hoping that our bills would be reduced more than they have been. We were given the impression that we would be in credit over summer, but we now realise that is virtually impossible. It has been performing within the levels promised in the documentation though and it has certainly been nice saving an average of $200 off our bills.
Show Details

Original Review on 16-11-2014:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

13 months later we asked Robert: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes although not the connection to AGL as I have spent 9 months arguing the detail of the connection finally going to the ombudsman.
Show Details

Original Review on 06-04-2015:

Solar My Home came up with a clever solution that was out of the box, that their competition didn't suggest. Brad the salesman I dealt with was courteous, professional, knew his stuff and was passionate about his product. The installation was probably larger, and more complicated than most, so we had four installers working on it who worked professionally and smoothly together. We have had a few minor teething problems, due to the complex installation (not the products) and their after-sales customer service has been responsive and excellent. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Alistair: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes, however I was surprised at how few productive solar hours we have in Melbourne's winter, and how many we have in summer, so there is a huge difference between summer and winter electricity production. I have an unusual installation with a lot of panels facing east and west, and only a few facing north. It would have been good to have some modelling software to understand the compromise in going with the east/west panels which was an aesthetic consideration.
Show Details

Original Review on 31-03-2015:

I received 2 quotes and proceeded with the second one even though it was more expensive. The salesperson from Solar my Home convinced me that the microinverter system was a significant advance on the older technology so I decided to go ahead with that. It probably would have helped me to assess quotes if I had been aware in advance of the different technologies. After 5 weeks I am happy with the system I have Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Des: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes. However i am disappointed that most of the power goes into the grid for a minimum return. I will be looking for information about better ways to utilise unused power in future- batteries etc?
Show Details

Original Review on 08-04-2015:

Once we'd paid our money after installation, (6/2/15), they dropped the ball. The girl in the office, stuffed around for a couple of weeks with finalising the required forms. We're still not sure it's finalised, (8/4/15) and we have no idea if feed-in has been arranged yet. We've had no contact from them to see if everything's OK. We have been away for a couple of weeks, but there were no phone messages when we got back last night. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 0/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 2/5

8 months later we asked Bob: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes. We knew we had a problem with large shading gum trees that would affect their performance and winter showed that as the case. Shading will not be a problem during Spring and Summer. They have produced 2.18 MWh so far.

The 'poor' rating I gave Solar My Home was due to a particular female staff member being very slack in processing our documentation for connection.
Show Details

Original Review on 02-02-2015:

Good quality product. Clear guidance and information at time of quote. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Rob: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

we have a 12 panel 3k system from SolarMyHome
we get monthly update from Enlighten that tells us how system is performing
last month Sept2015 we generated 349 kwH
compared to 221 kwH in Aug

the system is meeting our expectations
everyone who possibly can, should get solar photovoltaics installed at their home and reduce need for brown coal powered power stations
Show Details

Original Review on 07-12-2014:

One of the only companies that were willing to quote prior to building and their sales and support staff were fantastic in their customer focused approach. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked This person: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Definitely one of the best investments for the house.
Show Details
Up to installation no issues with the Company.
Post installation service poor. Definitely would not recommend Solar My Home.
Problem with melted plug going into inverter 2 years after installation .
Called Solar My Home and they quickly had a contractor come the next day to disconnect it.
Minimal phone contact from Solar My Home to find out the progress on rectifying the problem.
I had to make weekly phone calls to find this out. Took 4 and a half months of phone calls to finally get the problem sorted. Very rarely did someone from Solar My Home return my phone calls. I was told by the Director of the Company, Peter that we would be reimbursed for the 41/2 months without solar over summer months. Still waiting despite me faxing the electricity bill to the Director and him confirming that he had received it.
Show Details

Original Review on 31-01-2015:

The salesperson was a little pushy, like this offer expires tomorrow i was told at 8pm so no chance to check other suppliers. The installers were excellent and fully explained everything. The only thing was they didn't clean up very well as opposed to a lot of other reviews on here, left offcuts and packing material in my backyard. But all that aside the system has performed well above my expectations and i cannot wait to see my first electricity bill. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 3/5

6 months later we asked William: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

6 Months on and the system has performed beautifully and way beyond my expectations!! I have had no troubles with the system whatsoever. I am a single person household with a 3KW system and so far it has produced 3 x the KWh that I use. In the 2 bills that I have had since having the system installed, I have only had to pay less than $5 for the electricity usage so I am really only having to pay for the supply charges.
Show Details

Original Review on 10-10-2014:

I didn't know there was such a delay getting the system running. The system was physically installed quite quickly (paid deposit 9 Sept, installation was 24 & 26 Sept) but I am still waiting for the system to be turned on, 10 Oct! The installers lead me to believe it would be up and running within a few days, that is not the case. United Energy have the paperwork and I am still waiting. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked John: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

So far I haven't been able to compare a whole year but savings appear to be around 50% at this point.
Show Details
The system and process was clearly explained, and the sales staff couldn't have been more helpful.
I went with a micro inverter system and I am very happy with it.
I have since referred the company on to family members who are considering solar
Show Details
Met with sales executive Brad Townsend..a very professional presentation which left me with no doubts about installing solar.
Their installation team lead by Mark was very professional.
I absolutely recommend this company to anyone who intends installing solar power.
Show Details
Show Details
Would highly recommend SolarMyHome, we were very impressed with the standard of the install. We went with a micro inverter system with a split array as suggested by the sales person who was both knowledgeable and enthusiastic. With all the quotes I cross checked the component against the information on the SolarQuotes website and other websites and this helped us to separate the quotes. The other two companies we looked at, Gryphon Solar and the Mark Group did both offer sound competitive alternatives making the choice more difficult, but in the end we were attracted to the micro inverter system.

Your website and advice was a most valuable and helped us to understand the various options and elements which make up a home solar system.

Many thanks,
Show Details

Original Review on 03-09-2014:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Bruce: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes. We now are in credit with the electricity (and gas) provider so haven't paid a power or gas bill since January 2015, the system having been installed in August 2014.
Show Details
Very good up to payment of deposit, then a little slack answering questions. Salesman didn't want to know us after signing contract. Installation excellent, prompt with safety certificate and all paperwork.
Show Details
Solar My Home were very helpful and professional in helping us make our decision. They delivered what they promised. Happy Customer!
Show Details
Simon ,the sales consultant really knew his products, explained all the products and processes in detail and was not at all pushy in trying to achieve a sale. The installation crew were courteous, tidy and went to a great deal of trouble to ensure that the installation was exactly as I wanted it. Any requests for information or assistance is handled promptly and efficiently by the office staff.
Show Details
Show Details
We didn't really hear much for about a week then in one day we had all 3 companies give us a call. That was great. The first company came out and before the first visit I did quite a bit of research on all the companies and made my choice. Thank you Solarquotes.com.au you have made a somewhat difficult task a breeze.
Show Details
The installation was done early February and we are still 3 weeks away (latest estimate) from finalising the paperwork. Not sure what the problem was (or is) but it seems that the Electricity Provider has only been given the required information a couple of days ago. This is despite numerous phone calls and e-mails to SolarMyHome and Simply Energy.
Show Details
We initially went with SolarMyHome as we connected really well with the Salesperson, who told us he was a part owner. When we didn't hear for several weeks, we called and found out that he had left, and that he was not a part owner. Very strange! I was contacted by two staff, who told me the story, but we were still very nervous. It took a call from one of their senior staff to get us to continue with them.
We had our installation yesterday, and we found out some things from our installer that neither the salesperson or head office told us; we had to wait for an inspection before the system could be turned on (our salesperson told us 'It will be switched on straight away!'), we didn't know about the paperwork we had to send to the retailer, and we also didn't know that SP Ausnet had to reconfigure our meter. The inspection and meter reconfiguring are two things that I would have thought would have been told to us straight away, not upon installation!
All in all, we loved dealing with the original salesperson, but as we found out he lied and didn't tell us the full information, and the head office also didn't tell us the full story, we feel as though we got pretty sub-par service. The system seems to be ok, but we won't know until it is inspected and switched on! Stay tuned...
Show Details
SolarMyHome offered options of product and explained the differences. I had researched product and market prior to meeting up with different companies provided by your website for information and quote of product and process. It was not the cheapest I was looking for but the best investment possible for today.
Show Details
Very happy with the service and installation. The install was done within a few weeks and done with care. Paperwork was smooth. They did a great job.
Show Details
The consultant Osman Sulaiman, provided us a truly thorough insight into how to make a better decision, based on options & benefits presented to us analytically, presented proven facts and figures made available by credible independent online resources. After evaluating both system types, DC vs AC systems, we felt the natural way to go was with the microinverter system. Thank you Osman for your professional advice. We are confident these guys know the business inside out.
Show Details
Best from 4 different quotations in terms of quality for price and extent of information. Excellent customer liaison. Efficient and polite installation.
Show Details
Professional approach, good advice, efficient installation, very good follow up re product recall for a PV Array DC isolator and seamless operation since installation.
Show Details
The highest quality micro system at a very good price . This company came in with their lowest price and the best product straight off . Where other companies were only ready to negotiate when they thought they were going to miss out on the job . The system was installed promptly and efficiently and the installers were easy going , polite and tidy . I am very happy with my system .
Show Details
Very happy with our experience, installed within in two weeks, very professional. Within 3 weeks we were connected to the grid. Still waiting for TDG Solar Australia to come back to us regarding login problems, sent an email 10 days ago, still no reply.
In all it has been a very positive and relatively easy process for us.
Show Details
Brad Townsend was excellent.
We wanted to go with micro inverters and this has proven successful with our split array. 50% north, 50% east
The advice was reliable and verifiable. The options were clear and practical.
An example of putting the needs of the customer first.
Show Details
I liked it that all three suppliers replied promptly to my initial query, came to talk to me and were not pushy in chasing the sale. I also liked the prompt same week installation.
Show Details
After quite a number of unsuccessful enquiries, we were so pleased to find an installer which has had good experience installing on Decrabond roofing - and they did so efficiently and in just a half day.
Show Details
The company salesperson was the most proficient, he inspected the roof cavity and the roof. His work on the quote was also the most easy to read and he was contactable at all times with any questions that had arisen. One salesman tried to push other products as well as solar.
Show Details
Show Details
I decided to get the AC system based on Finn Peacock's experience and comments about his own system he installed last year.
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
I was very impressed with the attention to detail by the Installers. I couldn't fault their work.
Show Details
We had a difficult installation, flat roof, use more power in winter than summer and have serious shade issues (tall trees).
Brad from SolarMyHome was the only one who took the time to understand our requirements and provide the best solution.
We are more than happy with the results. Even with shade our 4kW system is generating up to 24kW per day.
Show Details
Show Details
Solar My Home are a fantastic to do business with.The process starts with Brad coming to the home and explaining everything about Solar,Panels,Inverters,Micro-Inverters and going through our Electricity bills to make sure we got the right sized system . l researched alot and we had 10, companies quote! .Never once did Solar My Home pressure me,they were helpful and got back to me when they said they would answering all my questions.Ben and his Team were all Polite,Tidy and even removed their boots to come inside(we don't even do that!) All the work was first class and l couldn't be happier! Brad actually climbed up our 2nd storey roof and took proper measurements! Most companies only estimate there array of panels and there placements from Google Maps! The girls in Admin Penny and Angela are both great and guided me through the necessary forms needed to be scanned and sent to the Electricity Retailer. A 1st class Company,and a 1st class job.Michael,Bentleigh East Oct 2014.
Show Details
I found it difficult to decide on which panel & inverter as different organisations seemed to prefer one or two suppliers over others. This was compounded by one organisation who absolutely refused to deal with one type of panel which was the panel of choice for another organisation. Further consultation with Solar Quotes helped me make my decision.
Show Details
A+.Brad the Consultant is professional,knowledgeable and not pushy.He explained everything.We reviewed bills and designed a system to suit us. Brad got onto our 2nd storey roof to take proper measurements.We reviewed bills and designed a system that would give us the best outcome. Other Companies rely on Google Earth. Upon inspection we could fit 4 extra panels on the North giving us more kilowatt production.The 2 installers and Ben the CEC accredited electrician were all great,polite,clean,friendly,took off boots to come into the house and left NO evidence at all that they had been there spotless clean-up. Ben also set up ourWIFI MonitoringWe have the ability to view solar production from our computer or on our phones via an Ap.The Admin girls Penny and Amanda are both lovely to deal with.'m a very happy customer and recommend the team from Solar My Home to anyone looking into installing Solar Panels,you won't be disappointed..Michael Cashmore' Bentleigh 3165,Vic
Show Details
When the system was independently inspected, the person inspecting it commented on the installer. And how they always do great work. How he liked inspecting his work, as there was usually nothing to be fixed or changed.
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: