ZEN Energy

ZEN Energy Reviews

About

In 2015, ZEN's next evolutionary step was taken

Through a major industry merger in October 2015, the new ZEN Energy emerged as Australia’s first dedicated Community Energy Provider. Our business model enables households, businesses and entire communities to be genuinely self-powered with cutting-edge technology backed by vast storage capacity. Renewable energy is delivered 24/7 via localised community power networks or directly into your property. It’s affordable. It’s clean. And ownership rests with the customer.

ZEN Energy provides and will continue to provide end to end solutions that deliver renewable energy generation through new and reformed power networks. Our solutions harness the latest in energy storage technology, with a future capacity to retail energy direct to consumers, commercial businesses, communities, townships and councils.

With ZEN leading the way, Australia’s energy transformation has truly begun.

Panels, inverter and battery brands

Panel brands currently installed

Panel brands previously installed

Inverter brands currently installed

Inverter brands previously installed

Battery brands currently installed

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

ZEN Energy Reviews (103)

Show Most Recent reviews from All timeacross Australia

Average Scores

3.9/5

Value for money

4.1/5

Quality of System

4.1/5

Installation

4.0/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 9
  • 4 star 66
  • 3 star 20
  • 2 star 6
  • 1 star 2

View Timeline

Expectations met

Sales and quoting process was very handled, all questions answered promptly. Installation was prompt and done well. Customer service was very good.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

whats happened ? can't give them any stars if nothings happening !!!

What has happened to Zen service ? we have accepted their quote, now cant get hold of someone who will tell us accurately when and if its accepted and when installation will happen,, we have installed Zen panels 7 years previously and the service advise etc was exceptional then, but now they have become a mega company the residential installs dont seem to matter,,,
Panel rating: 2/5
Inverter rating: 2/5
Battery rating: 1/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Micky,

Sorry for the delay in responding to this review. We're sorry you had this experience with a previous member of our team. I'm glad that Peter was able to pick it all back up and you're now enjoying the benefits of your solar system. If there is anything else you need, please do not hesitate to reach out.

Thank you for your business.
Show Details

Very professional from start to finish!

From the very beginning contact with Zen Energy through to quoting and then to installation. The whole process was smooth, and happened pretty quickly too. The team at Zen Energy were very informative, answered my many, many questions, and were very helpful. We nutted down to what I was happy with design wise, and product selection too. Got our approval in no time and installation was done within 2 weeks. Very happy with that. The installation team were awesome with their professionalism and safety. The whole day went smoothly and they did a fantastic job. Cleaning up after themselves too. I was informed throughout the day what steps they were up to. And then had the ins and outs of the inverter explained to me as well as wifi connection setup. A great job, and very happy. Thanks Zen Energy.

Supplier Reply:

Hello Priscilla,

Sorry for the delay in responding to this. Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, it means a lot to the whole team to hear about your experience and I hope you're now experiencing the financial and sustainable benefits that our ZEN solar systems provide. Great last name as well. ;)

Show Details
7 years in and I have no problems. Although they were a bit more expensive than other quotes I liked the explanations about solar and felt they are a reputable company. My gut feeling paid off. I have heard some real horror stories about solar. Very happy.

Supplier Reply:

Hello Pauline,

Sorry for the delay in responding to this. Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review after 7 years of enjoying your ZEN system. We're glad that you trusted your gut. If there is anything else we can help you with, please do not hesitate in reaching out.
Show Details
Amazing from start to finish, Very happy with the installment.

Supplier Reply:

Hello Frank,

Sorry for the delay in responding to this. Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. If there is anything else we can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact our team.
Show Details
Show Details

Original Review on 08-01-2018:

System is installed but not yet operational. We are awaiting advice on how best to integrate the new system with our old one (TRACE 3.5Kw inverter with 20x75w panels and gelcel battery (330AH @ 24v backup). Once the system is operational, our ratings may well change! Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked John: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

No. Largely due to the fact that Zen oversold what they could do. They initially promised 24 x 250w panels, 12 east and 12 west facing, but when it came to the crunch, they only installed 6 each side. I don't think they tried very hard, and claimed clearance issues from gutter and apex as the reason. However, I have since seen many systems installed with much tighter packing density than we have, hence my claim that they did not try very hard.
Show Details
Show Details
I have dealt with this ZEN Energy before and had no hassles and awesome customer service but this time around there have been some issues as not sending enough rails to complete the job also on the day of installation wanting more money than was in the contract which was a complete install no more to pay which we had both signed and as yet it is still not fully connected so not happy and would not be recommending or using them again.
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
Zen has got an attitude of near enough is good enough when it comes to claiming warranty. It’s off to ACCC and my local MP to help fix the problem.

Additional Feedback received on 5/3/18:
Got an AC system and have had re occurring faults. Now I have one panel malfunctioning and have had to go to the ACCC. Their final solution is to replace the faulty black framed panel with a silver framed one. Their option to minimise the visual clash with the other panels is to mount the silver panel on another aspect of the roof. They were told this is not a option as i will be utilising this eastern aspect roof with additional panels before a battery install. They have now been given 21 days notice to refund the system due to their un willingness to honour the warranty. I am under the impression that the only thing they design is a web page and stickers to place onto other manufacturers products.

Supplier Reply:

Hi Mark

We appreciate the issues you have faced and have been working with both you and the original panel manufacturer to find a resolution to your issues.

Whilst we have tried to source a like-for-like replacement of your solar panel, the manufacturer has advised us that replacements of that particular type are no longer available, and so we have needed to suggest an alternative panel or a monetary reimbursement in line with the manufacturer’s warranty terms if the alternative panel is unsuitable to you. This approach has also been reviewed and accepted by Consumer and Business Affairs. We do however continue to act as your advocate for the warranty issue with the manufacturer as part of the extra service and after sales support ZEN provides for all our customers.

Thank you,
ZEN Energy
Show Details
Show Details
I have now purchased three systems from ZEN. In the early days the support/service was excellent but over the last year or so, their responses to my Email queries have often gone unanswered or ignored.
Not happy ZEN, I have recommended to other friends that they buy from ZEN which they did. So in reality I have been responsible for about 6 systems being sold by ZEN.
Their apparent lack of care lately is very disappointing. Again today, three Emails sent and still waiting for a reply..!!
Show Details
Getting numerous quotes and referrals is a good way to do business with solar supply and installation. The quotation process gives an opportunity for the buyer to learn the facts, the jargon and the intricacies of solar energy. The more quotes you get the more you learn and understand about the systems. Do not be price-driven during this phase, it should always be about quality, installation, workmanship, warranty and after-sales service. Choose a company that you think will likely be operating decades into the future. Look at the company closely, its management structure, its track-record, where it is located, who owns it and what are their strategic plans and long-term goals. In short, don't deal with cowboys who try and up-sell their products and seek to install a system that is larger than your needs and cheaper than everyone else. Buy the very best inverter on the market and do your homework on the PV panels, their performance is extremely variable.
Show Details

Original Review on 14-12-2016:

Several years ago we installed ZENs 3kW system (and solar hot water system) and we were very happy with what we have got then. ZEN was more expensive than others but - and though it was not necessary offering better/the best quality system components, we liked how ZEN looked at that time. Its installations were aesthetically superior (tidy, all black, with hidden brackets and black capped rail ends), and their business/company was well presented too... We now wanted "extension". But did not ask necessary questions. We trusted the BRAND. We have got an ordinary 1.5kW "industrial" and separated system/"extension". And extraordinary extended delays. Job first delayed and at the present time still not completed (several weeks later)... If somebody would ask me I think that ZEN doesn't exists anymore. Somebody just uses ZEN brand name to sell what any other "solar business" could sell to you - ET Solar panels, Enphase Micro Inverters, and "standard" mounting system. As in our example... If you are still tempted get quote from ZEN (or so called) Energy and then talk to you "local installers". Unless you cannot get a better price from ZEN (for the same product), in my opinion you have no reason to go with them... Original ratings

Panel rating: 3/5
Inverter rating: 3/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 3/5
Installation: 3/5
Customer Service: 3/5

9 months later we asked Nikola: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

ZEN never provided to us any means of monitoring and we (while still waiting/hopping) actually do not know it...
Show Details

Original Review on 03-08-2016:

Zen supplied our original system in 2010 and we were very happy with the service and quality of the system so we decided to try them again.
One disadvantage of this company now is they do not have a shop front locally only a representative who is sometime difficult to contact.
We are promised a free net meter from Origin Energy sometime soon but I can see problems ahead coordinating Zen and Origin Energy so we can have the system working by late Oct 2016.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 3/5

8 months later we asked Graham: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Everything is now working as expected
Show Details

Original Review on 02-09-2015:

Just being installed today! Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: N/A
Quality of System: N/A
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Chris: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes
Well thought out placement of panels and advice on size of installation.
Show Details
Whilst all 3 quotes including Adelaide Solar were similiar in cost we chose Zen in the end as they had provided our previous system at our last home in 2011....they were prompt reliable and efficient.
Show Details
Everything for the initial quote to the installation was exceptional.
Show Details
Show Details
Due to the longetivity of the company, local proximity and friends recommendations I chose this company. Also my previous solar supplier had gone bust so I wanted reliability.
Show Details
Well where do I start, The system, at this stage has been running for 13 months , we have replaced inverters and a panel now the system for the last week 20 panels not working by the zen energy system graph and it also said the system is working fine.
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details

Original Review on 22-04-2012:

Will get back to you when it has been installed. Have been wondering why the solar energy has gone down quite a bit since having signed on to this "deal". Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: N/A
Quality of System: N/A
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: N/A

26 months later we asked Ursula: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

I need to find out what the reasons are as to why I am getting the bills, whether I am using more power, the price increase, dirty panels or just mother nature. Are you able to help me understand the reason behind this.
Show Details
Confusing to try to make the right choice, given I'm not technical. Feel I did in the end by doing lots of research, including Solarquote website. Found that in particular, very useful.
Show Details
Show Details
I only had Suntrix contact me - the other suppliers recommended through your service did not contact me
Show Details
Services need to have high quality phone staff to organise the initial appointments and liason. Many companies I had cold calls from people I could not even understand and clearly had no interest in my situation or needs.
Show Details
Show Details

Original Review on 03-03-2011:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 5/5

21 months later we asked Josie: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

yes, I expected to at least half my bill in the winter months and at least almost in the summer months and it has performed to my expectations.
Show Details
Not yet operational - waiting for SA Power to connect.
Show Details

Original Review on 16-08-2010:

Due to be installed 16 September. Communication from Zen has been very good to date.

Post Install Update:

I thought you might like some more up-to-date feedback on my solar installation.

Our solar panels etc were installed on 16 September by Zen Home Energy Systems. We are expecting ETSA Utilities to change over our 3 phase analogue meter on 1 November. It seems that Zen did not reqest ETSA to do this until they had installed the panels, even though we ordered the system about 3 months earlier. Fortunately, our meter runs backwards when the sun is generating enough power, but clearly ETSA has no motivation to rush the meter changeover!

Our portable meter, which monitors the power generated by the panels, rarely matches the reading on the inverter box, due (according to Zen's Technical Manager) to the vagaries of the bluetooth device. The daily graph also varies quite a lot - so the result is that I am unsure of what is actually being generated. Zen has been reluctant to do anything about this so far, but I will persist. The portable device also had a progamming fault which they corrected, but only after several weeks from my being first told about it when I complained about the device's odd results. The results still seem odd, even after the fix.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

25 months later we asked Charles: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes
Show Details

Original Review on 26-02-2011:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 3/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

19 months later we asked Tony: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Not quite. I suppose I expected a 3kw system to produce 3 kw.the max I get is about 2.7kw. I was told this as they were installing system.

Overall I expected to produce more power than I am but I quess I should have asked more questions. What I mean is I expected if the sun was shining it would make 3kw not graded in the morning up to max at midday then dwindle off.
Show Details

Original Review on 04-06-2011:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

16 months later we asked Peter: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Exceeded. I get a rebate cheque every quarter and system will have paid for itself faster than anticipated.
Show Details

Original Review on 04-04-2011:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 5/5

18 months later we asked Scott: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

System has performedwell beyond my expectations and the quoted annual output expected from this system
Show Details

Original Review on 01-06-2011:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 5/5

16 months later we asked Gabrielle: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes
Show Details

Original Review on 30-03-2011:

Overall I was happy with the service your site provided. It certainly made my decision more informed than it would have otherwise been and gave me the confidence to proceed with solar power. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

18 months later we asked Audrey: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Absolutely.
Show Details

Original Review on 11-07-2011:

Still in process. Let me get back to you after installation and an initial month or so of operations. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

14 months later we asked Tony: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes, it has (if you take into account not having to pay for electricity for the past year! We're about to contract Zen to instal a similar system on a holiday house we have in country South Australia.
Show Details

Original Review on 19-11-2010:

The system i chose will not be installed until the 3/12/2010 so i still have no experience of its operation.
I say no to the next question because i don't know if i've chosen the right system as at this time.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

22 months later we asked Richard: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes it has to date generated 7960 kWh. with no troubles
Show Details

Original Review on 18-08-2010:

I never even heard from two of the three companies you recommended. The one I did hear from wouldn't even come to the house to inspect the roof, conditions etc. He just wanted to quote me over the phone, which I found unsatisfactory, when you are spending that much money. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 5/5

25 months later we asked Margaret: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The panels have performed above our expectations. For 2 years we did not pay an electricity account. Although there is only my husband and myself in the house and we also have gas heating, oven and hot water service.
Show Details

Original Review on 26-11-2010:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 3/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

22 months later we asked John: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

No unfortunately the electrician who installed the inverter placed the wrong size fuse in the fuse box. For the past 12 months the fuse has triggered off on several occassions. Unfortunately we do not know over what period of time the solo panels were switched off and we were not receiving any benifit.rnrnIt took a while to find the problem at first we thought the meter reader may have switched them off to read the metre. The next time was after a thunder storm, then the next time I contacted my power supply company to ascertain when they read the meter last, finally I thought may be some kids in the neighbour hood were playing up. rnrnEventually I contacted the Solar Shop (our supplier) to find out that part of the business went into liquidation and the new people will honor the inverter and pannels but nothing else.rnrnI was advised that the common problem they received was the size of the fuse. I was requested to go out and look at the fuse box and tell them the code on the fuse C16. He stated I needed a larger fuse a C20 and he would send an electrician at a cost of $99.00 for the first hour plus parts to fix it.rnrnI asked if I get change from a 5 minute job to which he said no. All this while I am wheel chair bound.rnEventually a friends son worked for a solar company and installed the correct size fuse, then moved the wire connecting the fuse from my lights supply to where the power comes direct into the fuse box. The way it should have been done originally.rnrnFurther more he stated that a mains switch should have been inserted once an electrician relised my power board did not have one. (It was built before legislation changed) However once an electrician adds to the power board it should have been placed in the fuse box.rnrnSo for the time we have had the solar Panels (12 months) we are yet to have a full reading of solar power.rnrnSlightly peeved off after paying close to $10,000 you bet ya !!!!!!
Show Details

Original Review on 25-12-2010:

Zens representative was very prompt, his explanation of their systems was very easy to understand, at no time was he pushy for you to accept their system above all others, but we were left to decide this in our own time, a good experience all round.
Since our acceptance of the firms quotation, they have been very quick in their dealings, and in quoting a fairly reasonable installation date. I have been very happy in dealing with them.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: N/A
Quality of System: N/A
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

21 months later we asked Colin: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system has performed very well indeed and I am more than satisfied with the results attained.I can thoroughly recommend Zen and their products.
Show Details
Show Details
I went with this supplier because the techno was someone I knew.
Show Details
All my dealings with ZEN have been very good. I was impressed with both the sales consultant and with the installation team. I have only had the system a few weeks, and the weather in Perth has not been great, so I'm yet to see how the system will perform under better conditions.
Show Details
The information I got from your web site was very useful in educating myself on solar and helped with questions to ask suppliers. Only received 1 reply from the 3 recommended from the web site, so got other quotes elsewhere. In the end went with company that a neighbour and a work colleague had used and were very happy with, the look and quality of their panels impressed me more. The service was efficient, tradesmen turned up as booked, were friendly, polite and kept me informed on progress all through installation, could not fault them.
Show Details
Darryn sold the Zen product to me, with his knowledge and experience. He was the person who also installed the unit so knew all about it from start to finish.
Show Details
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: