I Want Energy

I Want Energy Reviews

About

I Want Energy is a Solar Power Installation company based in Moonah and serves TAS. Here are their reviews as submitted by visitors to SolarQuotes

Reviewers report paying: $5,700 - $10,900 for depending on hardware choice and installation difficulty ( how is this calculated? )

Panels, inverter and battery brands

Inverter brands currently installed

Battery brands currently installed

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

I Want Energy Reviews (84)

Show Most Recent reviews from All time

Average Scores

4.5/5

Value for money

4.6/5

Quality of System

4.7/5

Installation

4.8/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 37
  • 4 star 44
  • 3 star 3
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

View Timeline

Efficient, friendly and helpful

Quoting - very efficient and organised within a few days of my ringing for a quote; the installation was also very efficient, tidy and gave explanations when we asked for them. They also organised the grid connection - contacting our local electricity company who also organised everything immediately. So all very smooth and hassle free.
Show Details

Early days but so far so good. While I rated all four 'experiences' it is in fact too early to tell!

Four suppliers were selected to provide quotes and information - all four were suitable. Difficult to differentiate although Finn's criteria proved helpful when ranking all four. Installation went well - on time, completed promptly and advice provided on next steps by both the installer and supplier. Grid connection outstanding at the time of preparing this review, Aurora have contacted me and this is being scheduled. I was informed on how to switch on the inverter and connect it to WiFi. WiFi demonstration was provided and looks promising.
Show Details

Original Review on 23-09-2020:

Good, prompt service

The sales enquiry was dealt with swiftly and a salesman visited precisely on time and was very efficient in developing the quote at the time.
Price was good for the quality of the equipment supplied.
Installer was very good and dealt with a problem very well. He explained the process well and always delivered what he promised.
We now await the final inspection and cut over.
Slight concerns with the Wi-Fi connection to the inverter.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Alasdair : "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes, the system has fulfilled our expectations. We have only paid about $40 for power from November last year until May. I'm sure the system won't generate much over winter, but it's already saved us heaps.
Show Details

Original Review on 20-09-2020:

Great support

Had good contact, info and service throughout with tips for saving money and bang for buck. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Rose: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

We have had no power bills for 8 months. Now heading into winter I expect our bills will be halved.
Show Details

Fantastic company

The team at I want energy are fantastic, very helpful and polite. The installation went smoothly. I highly recommend this company.

Supplier Reply:

Thanks Theresa! :)
Show Details

A professional installer.

All activities from start to completion were done in a methodical, professional and a timely manner with no hiccups in between. An excellent job done to customer's satisfaction. Well done I want energy.

Supplier Reply:

Thanks for the review Asoka!
Show Details

Great product great installers awesome company

From the time I called them on the phone to ask for a quote to the time of installation they were friendly, helpful and no question went unanswered. They gave me several quotes for different sizes and I ended up going with the higher quote which was a bigger system. I was surprised with the pricing as it was much lower than expected. Come installation time the installers were friendly and extremely competent. They explained what I needed to know. I would recommend I Eant Energy to everyone, Thanks guys for a smooth and drama free installation. We are so thankful.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Thanks for the review Amanda, we're so glad you're happy :)
Show Details

A superb experience

Our experience couldn’t be bettered. We received quotes for two different size systems on the spot, including depictions of the panel layouts on our roof and a detailed explanation of likely generation amounts and payback periods.

After we accepted one of the options (10.7 kW) a couple of days later, we were given an installation date (4 weeks following) and that date was met.

The installers were very proficient and neat.

A very good experience for us all round.

We highly recommend I Want Energy.

Supplier Reply:

Thanks for the review Ian! So pleased you're happy with your experience with I Want Energy :)
Show Details

Efficient and Effective

Researched 3 quotes. I want energy provided the best explanation and service. The price with all three companies depends on what you want. Communication was good and the installation team incredible. I was impressed with the information they provided on the day of the quote in terms of the figures and data etc. Worked efficiently and the system was installed by the early afternoon. Highly recommend this company.

Supplier Reply:

Thanks so much Jill! :)
Show Details

A very efficient process

Installers were great, office communication very good with several follow up calls appreciated.

Just waiting on final approval from power company to switch on

Supplier Reply:

Thanks for the review Robert! So glad we could help you with your solar needs! :)
Show Details

Amazing product and service!

Highly recommended the team at I Want Energy!
Very knowledgeable and made the whole process so easy. The Customer service is outstanding. The product works and looks amazing. They even do follow up call after the installation! Couldn't recommend this company high enough for any smart energy needs.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Thanks so much Adrian! It was a pleasure to work with you :)
Show Details

Original Review on 13-08-2020:

Job well done

Professional from start to finish. Salesman dead on time, office staff great and installers exceptional. They were punctual, courteous , tidy with the worksite and did a very good job athsetically. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Ian: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

System working better than expected. Getting ready to put a system on another one of our properties. Still have a great opinion of I Want Energy.
Show Details

Comprehensive advice

Professional and thorough
Not trying to sell us things we didn't need - battery for example
High-quality service
The information they gave us made more sense than that given by other companies so went with them even though cost a little higher

Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Thanks Kristin!
Show Details

Amazing Service!

Incredible team to work with from beginning to end! From the quote to the installation the service was completely faultless. Alex came to our house to provide a quote and gave great advice, the workmen that installed the panels were friendly, on time and made provision to work around our dogs which made life so much easier and the office staff were always so friendly! We are so happy with the outcome of our installation and would recommend this provide to everyone!
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

A hastle free experience

Arranged three quotes
One gave minimal information and took a week to send the quote which was vague and still lacked detail so was rejected
The other two were price similar so it came down to which system seemed best for us.
Chose in the end I Want Energy and from then on the whole process was quick, efficient and painless.
Would highly commend them on their efficiency.
Show Details

Excellent investment

Everything was installed as planned and communication was excellent throughout the process. No hidden costs and easy to deal with! Would definitely recommend
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Very happy with the process and installation

Everything from the quoting process, communication and installation went very smoothly. Product installed efficiently and without any issues. I am waiting on the change of meters and turning on of the inverter before I can give any comments on the systems function.
Show Details

Great customer service

So far so good, only had solar installed for a month.
Great company to deal with.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Great to deal with this is our second install with I want energy and would definitely recommend them

Great to deal with this is our second install with I Want Energy would definitely recommend them
Show Details

Original Review on 18-09-2020:

Excellent work

The quotng process by Alex was thorough and complete. Got on the roof for inspection and measurement. Was knowledgable and discussed the pros and cons of alternatives.
The installation team was professional, tidy and competent. There was a parts glitch that delayed the install and also a decision to change the panel angle ( for a technical reason )without discussion. Both issues were dealt with easily and to my satisfaction. Sam the installer was very approachable and easy to deal with. He researched the issue and solved the problem.
The grid connection etc was flawless and rapid.
They have said they will look at shading issues after a full 12 mths data analysis and make adjustments as required.
Very happy with the service and would highly recommend the team
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 5/5

5 months later we asked Peter: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Almost. The winter output was a bit lower than expected but the summer has been spot on.
The tarrif 92 off/on peak has been a difficult issue to work around as it glitches with daylight saving.
Hotwater usage has also been an adjustment as using solar means my recirculating pumps cant be used long term and need to be specifically activated prior to use
Overall though unit is working well. Good install quality wise.
Show Details

Totally professional

Although our system has not been installed as yet we have been nothing but happy with the professionalism of I want energy. Alex came to our house spent a good hour and a half explaining the pros and cons of solar. He got on the roof with me and we discussed several options for our east west north roof. I have no doubt that the installation will be flawless and that the company will be there for the long term. After the install I will post an update.
Show Details

Great sales/design with top quality installation

Of the three quotes I WANT ENERGY was the best in all areas Alex was very polite listened to my needs was on time and before he left I had a professional design and complete quote in my hands. The installation team were excellent top job neat and left the site spotless. The finished installation exceeded my expectations. Very happy with the support of all the members of IWE.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Quality advice

They may not be the cheapest, but they really understand their product and design a system for your house. They stand behind what they sell and they care about their customers.
If you don't want any dramas or stuff-ups I'd recommend these guys. Very pleasant to deal with.
Show Details

Excellent customer service. Professional job.

Very thorough quote process including site visit. Detailed quote with four options presented. Chose 11kW system with two inverters and 30 panels. Reasonable pricing in line with industry standards. Professional, neat installation done on time. Customer service was first class throughout. Would definitely recommend!
Show Details

Great team

Really efficient, come when they say they will, quick installation, system performs exactly as promised.
Show Details

professional all round

Install went through with zero issues. Customer service was top notch and the panels look fantastic on the roof. Would definitely recommend these guys.
Show Details

Original Review on 14-04-2020:

Great team all round from quote to installation.

I want energy we’re fantastic through the whole process. Keiron helped our understanding of how our system would run and having a visual presentation on laptop was great. He was very professional and truthful about how much money we would save. The installation team were efficient and very clean in their work practices. Our experience with I Want Energy was brilliant and we have no hesitation in recommending them. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Allyson: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes absolutely! We have a 6kw system over two tariffs 31 and 41. Tariff 31 for power and lighting during days of high sunshine delivers 70 to 100% self sufficiency during the summer and 30 to 50% during winter (not bad for Tasmania). Tariff 41 is for hot water and we have a smart meter attached to this which delivers 100% feed in to the grid and allows us to consume hot water at times that suit our household.

One really great advantage with our system is the accompanying app provided by Fronius which allows us to constantly monitor our systems performance. To date we have saved 1.6 tonnes of CO2 being shed into the atmosphere.
Show Details

The greening

The helped organize the the grid connection ,thanks thanks thanks thanks
Show Details

Excellent

I Want Energy is a great company to deal with... organised... good quotes and information.... on time... good products
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Best choice I’ve made

Fantastic service , we decided to go with I Want Energy for a number of reasons
Alex turned up on time , no sales push just an honest quote and helpful knowledge.
Panels went on by their contractor Sam
No mess they cleaned up afterwards.
The panels look great with good quality materials.
When the electrical inspector came to look at the electrical works , he made comment that I Want Energy were one of the better companies around.
We accept their quote not on price but from word of mouth from others who had used them
Our power consumption has dropped from $8.00 a day to around $0.80 - $1.20 a day
We’ve been getting 30kw - 42kw a day back into the grid
A well designed system
Thank you
I Want Energy

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Contextualised expertise

Sales advice clear and based on current and future energy consumption.
Installation as per discussed, suited to layout and colour scheme of house.
Show Details

First Rate Solar Energy Experience

So far, we have ad a wonderful experience. I Want Energy staff have all been professional, accessible and extremely helpful. Installation has been efficient. We are now almost ready to switch on and see how the whole system works.
Show Details

Installation success! No coal burning and exporting 20kw per day

Friendly sales and reasonable quote. On site measure of roof pitch and panel direction. Bill comparisons determined the most efficient and cost effective size. Easy online agreement process.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

I am very pleased with the installation and the process followed to get it here. Well done!

The quote was prepared effectively and with full disclosure. The process was impressive.
Show Details

A pleasure doing business with this company & would recommend them to anyone looking at getting into solar.

Good quality & value for money & great customer service from the quote to the installation & promptness.
Show Details

Very professional installation. Good advice.

Good installation apart from grumpy electrician and reversed useage sensor.
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Flat roof system

These guys were very professional and neat and inspired a great deal of confidence for long term support
Show Details

Easy process from start to finish. Great price, exceptional customer service all round.

Fantastic process from start to finish, very very happy. Excellent customer service from I Want Energy from Josh, IT and office ladies. Installers, Toby & his team of 2 hard workers, very knowledgeable and polite. Thankyou for your recommendations.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

A very pleasing experience.

Very courteous, good communication from I Want Energy. and a good price with an itemized quote.
We were very happy with the contracted installer.who communicated for the installation date, arrived on time, and was very neat with their work. Very happy to recommend this company.
Show Details

excellent experience

From the first call from Chloe to meeting Josh and Toby his crew my solar experience was well planned and completed to my satisfaction I can recommend I want energy to all seeking a solar system. Well done team.
Show Details

Original Review on 27-01-2020:

Friendly, prompt and efficient

Sales and quoting was very friendly, business like and informative.
Installation was on time, professional and efficient.
Customer service couldn't be more helpful in all aspects.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Barrie: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

3KW system has yielded 2.3MW since Jan 2020.
In Tasmania the feed in rate has been greatly reduced so the inverter has been installed on the Hot Water tariff. I replaced the 3.6kW water heater element with a 1.8KW element to reduce the load on the PV cells and installed a time clock to make sure the HW only draws power during day light hours. This has meant a greatly reduced HW bill.
Show Details

Thanks for a great experience

A huge thank you to Rob and his team for the work they did to install our off grid solar energy system. We suffered a bit of a disaster and needed to have a new off grid system installed in a hurry. I Want Energy came to the rescue promptly and enthusiastically. I really appreciated that Rob was able to explain fully and clearly what was required and how it was all going to work, a great relief these days when things can be so complicated. All the team were cheerful and polite and efficient, everything was left clean and tidy. That Rob checked in regularly to make sure everything was working well after installation was an added bonus that further boosted my confidence. I love the App that allows us to monitor our system continuously. Recently the electricity was down in our area for 24 hours and ours were the only lights burning. Thanks Rob you have certainly earned my recommendation.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5
Show Details

Excellent service

Excellent service
The team at IWE were great - from quoting to installation to after sales service - all went smoothly. I am very happy with the product so far so look forward to seeing my next power bill. The app for my computer/phone is awesome enabling me to view power production at anytime. The staff kept me informed throughout the whole process - I am pleased to recommend them.
Show Details

Original Review on 09-01-2020:

Will be installed in early Feb this year

They were prompt with a rep on site for quoted, very polite on the ball with what they could do, onto paper work, and in touch via email etc. Install is in Feb due to a lot of installs at this time also wait on system. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Heather: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes at this stage we are happy with the system, have to remember we live in Tasmania and our season is not as long as mainland for summer sun, at present we are having a lot of cloudy days with dark skies and drizzle
Show Details

Premium service at competitive price

Having someone who understands every detail of their products and what options would best suit our needs lead us to 'I want Solar' after getting quotes from other companies/installers. As it is a large investment we needed assurance that we could get service and input in years to come, and I Want Solar is a well established company in Tasmania. Alex is a genuinely intelligent and helpful person with a wonderful ethos towards sustainable living. The installation team provided by I Want Solar were superb. They did a quality job, cleaned the site and would recommend Sam and team to anyone. Our inverter, gateway and battery are close to our front door so it was important that they looked slick. Every measurement was perfect. I would recommend to anyone and everyone.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5
Show Details

7.26kw system Tas

Clearly the most knowledgeable company I dealt with. Sales pitch put me off initially but they turned out to be the best.
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details
Company was easy to deal with from the office, to the quote on site, and the installers. Obviously a happy crew.
Panel rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 04-01-2020:

Excellent Installers, Great Customer Support.

The whole process was handled very professionally. I was very happy with the quality of workmanship by the Installers. Also the support from the staff at I Want Energy was fantastic. I would thoroughly recommend them to anyone considering Solar. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

7 months later we asked Bruce: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes, very happy with the system and the responses I have had from the Supplier, I Want Energy, to any issues I have had.
Show Details

Very good communication and explained clearly. Every step was made seemless.

Polite and happy to answer any questions. Kept good communication through out the process.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 07-09-2019:

Good service

I liked the thorough process of explaining to me all about sar systems at the quotation stage. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Keith : "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Performance is good, as expected
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: