I Want Energy

I Want Energy Reviews

DETAILS
96% 0%
4.8

Based on 162 ratings

About

I Want Energy is a Solar Power Installation company based in Moonah and serves TAS. Here are their reviews as submitted by visitors to SolarQuotes

Reviewers report paying: $7,200 - $11,500 for depending on hardware choice and installation difficulty ( how is this calculated? )

Panels, inverter and battery brands

Panel brands currently installed

Panel brands previously installed

Inverter brands currently installed

Inverter brands previously installed

Battery brands currently installed

Battery brands previously installed

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

I Want Energy Reviews (162)

Show Most Recent reviews from All timeacross Australia

Average Scores

4.7/5

Value for money

4.7/5

Quality of System

4.9/5

Installation

4.9/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 99
  • 4 star 60
  • 3 star 3
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

View Timeline

Original Review on 13-08-2023:

It was delivered on time and on budget and the installer was very good. All professional.

The extra cable I needed to join the shed to the house seemed to throw a spanner in the works.
Initially this trench was going to include a network lead to join the inverters.

I am an IT guy and wanted to put a network lead in the channel for some POE stuff I am planning (cameras and network extensions)

Following up to find out if this was OK, I was told the WIFI would be suffcient, OK - that is true
Can I put a conduit with a pull through in the same trench?
This caused me to make 3 follow up calls with the supplier, none of which were answered. talking to the contractor at the job he had been asked a cryptic question that had not been clarified.

Talking to him on site, we got the extra conduit laid int eh same trench, with some CAT5 as a pull through.
So it worked out - but a little frustrated.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 3/5

10 months later we asked David: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes it has performed as expected. It is 9 months in and we are waiting to see the full year cycle, but sof far now power bills since installed
Show Details

Terrific installer. Very neat installation.

The quoting process with I Want Energy was very smooth (we had previously lived off grid, so pretty much knew what we wanted). Ed was very helpful and patient even through quite a few iterations of quotes.
The installation team was great. Punctual, friendly, efficient and helpful (took pics with our camera of the installed panels since they were on a second storey roof). The installation was very neat and everything was left clean and tidy. Rob configured it all and ensured everything was working before they left.
The admin team also did all the necessary paperwork for a Tas Renewables Loan as well as TasNetwork grid connection and advising our electricity retailer of the requirement to modify the configuration of our Smart Meter for a Feed in Tariff.
Very glad we went with I Want Energy. They are an extremely professional solar company and I couldn't be happier.

Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5
Show Details

Great Team.

We have just had our system installed and we are super happy with the entire process. After having many other solar quotes, we found Ian listened to our needs and helped us decide on a system right for us and pointed us in the right direction to get the Tas Networks power stuff arranged. The install date came around very quick and the team on the day (6 guys) all worked super well to get the whole thing up and running in a few short hours. We were making power that arvo and feeding back into the grid next day.
A well oiled team at I want Energy. Well done.
Show Details

Another satisfied customer

We discussed with Abi the best best panel requirements for our needs given we are in our late 70’s and just 2 of us. There was no sales pitch just straight out information/suggestions and a final quote. After final discussions we decided on the Sungrow panels and inverter at 9.6 kw (we have a EV) with a cost of around $12.4K.
A date was set and 4 guys arrived on time and did the complete 22 panel installation in about 6 hrs, we only have a 10deg slope on our roof which made it a bit easier. When they left the electronics was all sorted and the panels were producing. 24 hrs later Aurora had done their bit and we were receiving our feed-in tariff.
If you want a professional job done speak to ‘I Want Energy’, highly recommended.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Excellent people to deal with.

I want energy are a great company to deal with you can see by their quick response to questions raised in the quotation and installation process they plan on being around for the long term.
Ian was the only rep to get on the roof and check things out. He explained the pros and cons of all the system options.
Show Details

I Want Energy Satisfied Customer

The sales/quoting process was very information. Abby was fantastic. She was patient, friendly, explained things very well - no question was a dumb question. The installation appeared to go ahead without any hickups. Robert was a great communicator managing the installation and friendly and approachable. The team were punctual and polite. The grid connection was organised by Robert with a simple text link for me to activate and download the app. Topped off by a personal visit from the Manager.
Show Details

Efficient from beginning to end

The quoting process went very well. Everything was explained simply and so was the pricing.
Of course, top products were more expensive and lesser efficient products less expensive, both were available.
The installation, which was a tricky one, went very smoothly and efficiently over 1.5 days. Yes, they were all punctual and tidied up after themselves. All three guys were very nice, polite and cheerful.
Everything was organised - I was told who I had to contact, and they did all the rest. My solar panels were up and running when they left and I was shown how to check the system.
I would be pleased to recommend ‘I Want Energy’.

I wondered why one of the original three companies you suggested to me said Solar could not be fitted at my house, too difficult for them maybe?
Show Details

There knowledge and understanding of what I wanted and

Easy to do with seems to know what there talking about and they understand of my needs
Show Details

Great service, nice neat job

I want energy was great! They actually listened to what I wanted and quoted me for a system that suited my needs. The installation was much quicker then I thought it would be and everything was done really neatly.
I would definitely recommend them!
Show Details

Excellent quality install and very helpful team members

Everything went smooth and quickly, I am very happy with the install.

I'd like to thank Edward Guglielmino for how helpful he was. He explained everything to make it make sense. He even helped out other family members with their solar as well.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Fantastic work by I Want Energy

Very professional and quality installation. Will recommend I Want Energy to anyone looking for quality solar installation.

Sales process
The sales person (Edward) was very knowledgeable and not pushy. Gave me various options with full transparency on each item and cost. Went up on the roof to assess and proposed a good design

Installation
Kushal and team were very polite and diligent in their job. The installation looks beautiful. They were careful to put the cables and inverter in a non-conspicuous location on the side wall, even if it meant more work for them. Patiently explained to me the usage and app integration. Excellent

Customer Service
The service (Lynn) was prompt and follow ups to any queries were quick. They followed up with the grid connection on the same day as the installation, and I can see the solar credits in my Aurora bills on the same day.
Show Details

Original Review on 23-01-2023:

Very professional company, could not be happier with whole process from quote to completion.

I Want Energy provided a face to face number of options and costs after doing a site inspection including roof measurement, identifying a solution for fitting required components into the full switchboard, and providing options in locating the inverter which was not possible next to the meter box. The system designer, Josh, was very helpful and not pushy at all. We were impressed with how thorough he was in discussing our requirements and providing well detailed quotes for various configurations.

Their quote was very competitive with other companies and in the end we decided I Want Energy provided the best value for money considering all the requirements for installation. A Fronius Primo Gen24 was suggested with a free smart meter. We also went with a hot water timer and PV Point attached to the inverter.

I Want Energy provided excelled communication throughout the process, keeping us informed and providing documentation of the system components.

Derwent Electrical as subcontractors installed the system. They did a fantastic job, very neat and clean and the system was generating later that afternoon. They set me up with Fronius Solar.Web (I have paid for the premium version) and I find this great.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

12 months later we asked Andrew: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Absolutely!! No problems at all. Our solar production for 12 months was 8.42MWh which was slightly more than estimated by I Want Energy in their proposal. Actual savings of $1156 gives a payback period of 9.5 years. We have achieved an average of 41% self consumption and 56% self sufficiency through moving to a time of use tariff, hot water timer and where practicable maximising use of power hungry appliances during the day.

The Fronius Gen24 (inside the laundry) at full capacity is fairly quiet and we don't notice it anywhere else in the house. We are using the premium version of Solar Web and being technical minded am recoding monthly figures in a spreadsheet..

Overall very happy with the system, installation and performance and the savings we are making.
,
Show Details

Original Review on 19-03-2023:

Very happy with I Want Energy

The most thorough quote, discussed all aspects of installation, including location of the inverter. Actually went on the roof.
Were very responsive in replying to questions.
Very polite, punctual installation team. Inverter was installed on the same day as panels.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Sandy: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes, I've been very happy to have credits for the last few monthly bills.
Show Details

Excellent

Very professional from the very start to completed installation. would highly recommend great Team of people.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Professional and practical service

The initial quoting process was clearly explained and we felt confident the system suggested was the best one to meet our needs. Follow up questions were answered quickly and the time frame was shorter that originally scheduled. The installers were extremely competent and friendly. Follow up issues with wifi compatibility were quickly resolved in a very supportive manner.
Show Details

Top End Service, efficient low pressure sales and quoting, punctual tidy install

I could not have asked for a better experience, from the sales consultant visit to our home discussing our requirements, doing a physical site assessment, and providing detailed quotes for two different sized systems the next day, through sales support keeping me up to date on the install schedule and quickly responding to my enquiries, to the install team who were punctual, neat, tidy, and delivered on schedule.
Post commissioning there was a minor feed-in vs. self consumption monitoring problem (not the revenue meters) which was quickly corrected by the install team the next day.
It is early days but system performance matches the proposals estimate for the current month.
Several neighbours have commented on the neat unobtrusive install and asked who did the work, I didn’t hesitate to recommend I Want Energy.
I Want Energy organised the required coucil build approval (30 panels) and grid connection
Show Details

Original Review on 03-01-2023:

Very factual and helpful sales rep

Not yet installed so cannot comment on installation process or customer service. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Terry: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Experienced a few issues with the iSolarCloud app going offline for no apparent reason; did not affect actual performance.
Show Details

Professional quote, presentation and equipment

salesman was organized and had a professional attitude, good advice, punctual. all the administration with the power authority was arranged.
Show Details

Original Review on 05-08-2022:

Impressive System

We had four quotes and chose I want Energy because of the professional presentation of the system by the salesman (Alex)
A laptop was used to show the potential savings and costs using a variety of panels.
He got up on the roof and had a closer look which enabled him to identify a potential issue.
System installed in time frame stated using one of their trusted contractors, tricky due to our pitched roof but they did a great job
Less than two days after installation we were making electricity
The app is great and I have a feeling that the novelty of using it won’t wane, really helps you to interpret how system functioning.
No hesitation in recommending this reputable company
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

14 months later we asked Kimmy: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Absolutely!
So glad we invested in this system, no regrets
Show Details

Fantastic company to deal with.

Fantastic company to deal with.

* Easy quote and payment methods
* Punctual and Polite installers and salesmen
* Great after install support

Have recommended to other people for install.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Great experience all round

Polite, punctual, neat and completed on time. Customer service has been great and kept me in the loop. Abi from the sales team was very informative and was the only company rep to have a look at the roof and take measurements
Show Details

A Great experience

The guys arrived and did the initial installation, worked well with our builders and had all the required safety gear.
The final installation is very neat and tidy, all equipment is exactly where I asked it to be and all well marked.
Communication throughout was excellent and the result is very good

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

An incentive was offered by I Want Energy for this review. Learn more here.

Did exactly what they said

I Want Energy did exactly what they said they would do, on time and as quoted, which to me is the key to excellent customer service. The very few questions I had post install were answered quickly and concisely. As an added bonus, their installation team was both ethnically and gender diverse. Well done!
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Solar at last.

A truly professional job. I was kept up to date the complete time. Instal was done on Friday and totally happy. As I already had the smart meter I was connected immediately and now generating my own supply. Everyone from I want energy and the electrical team were very good at what they do. I have no hesitation in recommending them for solar.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

An incentive was offered by I Want Energy for this review. Learn more here.

Would definitely recommend

The quote was the best we had, plus the most honest. The customer service from everyone was great. The installation went without any issues.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Buy and install process.

Installation from the actual quote to the installation was excellent.
Show Details

Original Review on 24-05-2022:

I want energy

I could not fault I want energy there quoting process was great the Sales person who came explained everything and was very professional

the installation went very well still have to have the battery installed

i have been told that I want Energy will help with the connection after everything is set up

i really happy with there service recommend them to anyone and everyone
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

11 months later we asked Wendy: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

yes very happy
Show Details

Friendly, efficient and quality installation

My initial equiry was met with a prompt call to facilitate a visit and meeting. Josh arrived, explained my options clearly and got the quote to me the next day. Once the quote was accepted the installation process was seamless with I Want Energy arranging all the paperwork with my energy provider and Claire (in the office) kept me abreast of progress on this front. Tim duly arrived on the appointed day and carried out a quality and efficient installation. No fuss, no mess and the system was fully operational the next day. Couldn't be happier, thanks to the team at I Want Energy.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Excellent system provided by a reputable company.

They were the only company really interested in giving us an on-site discussion and quote not just a on line quote or video discussion. They were not the cheapest but had good equipment options to choose from and offered the best warranty and back up service.
The installation was done earlier than expected by a team who were professional and considerate. They cleaned up after themselves and finished much earlier than expected.
I would rate their service as excellent and they even organised the grid connection to be done before they left.
Everything was up and running by early afternoon.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

An excellent customer service experience

From the time I first contacted I Want Energy about the installation of solar panels on two properties in very different locations, the customer service experience was exceptional. The proposal developed for the solar panel installation was prepared with close and very informed consultations; I learnt a lot! And the installation of the panels was undertaken efficiently and in a very friendly manner. I’m very happy with the whole process and outcome.
Show Details

We made a great decision!!

Neither of us are engineers and had no knowledge about solar energy or how it works, but we felt it would be a good thing to do to save some money and to do our bit to help the planet.
We got three quotes and Alex from I Want Energy was by far and away the most professional and took time to explain everything to us. We opted for a system with a slightly higher spec than the other companies suggested.
The communication from Sarah and her customer service colleagues was great and we were very pleasantly surprised at the early install date.
The installation team were also great. They arrived on time, were polite and friendly and tidied up after themselves!!
Alex set me up with an app that shows how many kW our system is producing, how many we are using and how many we are sending to the grid - I know it's a bit geeky but I love it.
I've saved the best bit to last: our first electricity bill: ELECTRICITY CHARGES = $86.47, SOLAR FEED-IN = $46.67, TO BE PAID = $39.80
My wife and I are so pleased we went with Alex and I want Energy - as I said at the beginning, we made a great decision

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Excellent team with great communication.

After months of research we decided to deal with a reputable local company which had it's headquarters in Tasmania.
From our initial contact, site visit and subsequent installation process our experience was nothing short of exceptional. In todays environment where time is important the communication process was precise detailed and accurate. We were well informed about the system components and the process that would be followed on the day of installation and beyond.
The office staff and installation team kept us informed along the way and the quality of work was performed to a very high standard.
We would certainly recommend I want Energy for your solar array design and installation.
Show Details

Recommended

Great customer service, responded quickly to my many queries. Highly Recommended
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Tassie Solar

A quick instore quote using google earth provided an easy indication that this was an affordable move.
One site visit and we were underway. A no fuss one day install and meter upgrade was all it took.
All council approvals, Tas networks notifications and rebates taken care of. Would definitely suggest the hot water timer be included, big saving in power right there.
I would recommend I Want Energy for any solar or electrical work without hesitation
Wayne
Hobart
Show Details

Excellent experience.

This is what I wrote (unprompted) to I Want Energy:

"I would like to say that I have been impressed with I Want Energy’s professionalism, efficiency and friendliness. It has been a pleasure to deal with you all. Sam was also friendly, efficient and informative, it has all been an enjoyable experience, Thank you."

Highly recommended.
Show Details

Original Review on 12-10-2021:

A very good overall experience.

The sales person, office Staff and the installers they were all on the same page and with a similar goal (to have a great outcome for the customer) well done great job. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Alan: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Living in Tasmania with very low feed in tariffs I was concerned whether it was worth buying solar, however after going ahead and placing panels on the roof almost 12 months ago my concerns proved to be unfounded.
Choosing I WANT ENERGY from 3 other companies formed a large part of my very good outcome.
Show Details

Great service; a very tidy, professional install

Both quotes were for similar hardware and were a similar price, but we went for I Want Energy, as their sales-person went to a lot of trouble to get the details right, and their layout was also the tidiest.
The install was on the day specified. It was done neatly and tidily and the installers were polite and helpful.
The work was inspected a few days after the install.
It is now two weeks since the instal, and we are still waiting for Aurora to change the meter, so that we can go to go to Tariff 93.

Update 8/5/2022:

have only just had a chance to review our usage to date , using Sungrow's ISolarCloud app. Over the past 3 months,the Solar has provided abour 25% of our electricity usage. This probably not surprising, considering we have a household of seven, including 2 long-showering teenagers, who mostly shower at night, & who watch a lot of TV.

We made the decision to switch from a General/Hot water tariff ot a Peak/Off Peak tariff. We haven't yet received our first bill since the installation. When it comes, I'll be able to see the balance between our Peak & Off-Peak usage & 'encourage' our family to shift as much as possible of our currently imported consumption into the Solar and Off-Peak time windows!
Show Details

Customer service

Listened to my requirements. While not achievable due to voltage drop limitations, proposed a suitable solution.
Initial site survey was very thorough and all the members of the team were always approachable and willing to answer all my questions.
Show Details

The Best Choice

From my first contact inquiry there was a huge knowledge base, high tech remote sizing & an instant, easy to read multi choice quotation system.

Polite & intelligent admin staff sorted install times & communication between the whole team.

The install was completed on time smoothly & thoroughly by obviously experienced professionals - no problems.

I was contacted after the install to ask me if I had any questions which was appreciated.
I Want Energy offered competitive pricing with premium gear & am very happy with the new system.

These guys are by far the best in the country.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Easy process

The process was very smooth. The sales person was excellent and helped us understand many parts of the industry and went beyond what he had to help us. I did get slightly confused by the numerous different people from the company I had to deal with and the numerous emails of information but I was given everything I needed. Highly recommend this supplier.
Show Details

Professional, quality installation, providing great outcome with the ability to continuously monitor the performance of the system.

Professional installation carried out quickly. Quality panels and inverter providing expected output with performance monitoring via the Web and mobile app.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 16-10-2020:

A very pleasing experience.

Very courteous, good communication from I Want Energy. and a good price with an itemized quote.
We were very happy with the contracted installer.who communicated for the installation date, arrived on time, and was very neat with their work. Very happy to recommend this company.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

16 months later we asked Gerry: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Since having our solar system installed in September 2020, it has been performing without problems as of Feb 2022. The only glitch is accessing the online data which I haven't sorted yet. Overall very happy.
Show Details

Great install

The team at I want energy were very professional. Quoting was transparent showing us information on costing and quality across the market. Listened to our wants and answers questions well. Weren't rushed or too pushy.

The install was done professionally as we asked and again all questions were answered to completion.

Would highly recommend using I want energy for quoting and installing your solar
Show Details

Excellent

I had very good service from start to finish
Thankyou
Show Details

The entire procedure was a very positive experience.I can highly recommend this company

The entire procedure was a very positive experience.I can highly recommend this company
Show Details

Original Review on 02-06-2021:

Early days but so far so good. While I rated all four 'experiences' it is in fact too early to tell!

Four suppliers were selected to provide quotes and information - all four were suitable. Difficult to differentiate although Finn's criteria proved helpful when ranking all four. Installation went well - on time, completed promptly and advice provided on next steps by both the installer and supplier. Grid connection outstanding at the time of preparing this review, Aurora have contacted me and this is being scheduled. I was informed on how to switch on the inverter and connect it to WiFi. WiFi demonstration was provided and looks promising. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Howard: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes. My only gripe is that the connection to the app on my phone which keeps me informed about how my panels are performing each day often does not work. However, I suspect this is my problem rather than the providers.
Show Details

Returning customer!

We first installed solar panels, Fronius inverter, and a Tesla Powerwall with IWE a couple of years ago and this year decided to double the system - the sales advice and customer service was impeccable, we were especially grateful for the explanation for sourcing a different brand of panels due to uncertainty around the ethics of the original brand. On top of this, when global shipping impacted on the original agreement we were offered a free upgrade to both panels and inverter. Installation was a breeze (and was even done early!), also had a Tesla car charger installed and the guys were awesome. As return customers we are as happy the 2nd time as we were the 1st :)
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5
Show Details

Professional and helpful from start to finish.

Knowledgable and polite sales person made the quoting process informative and answered a few questions we had. The installation team were terrific; polite and punctual and did a fantastic job installing the entire system over two days due to bad weather. Follow up from customer service throughout the entire process was friendly, prompt and professional, including organising grid connection. Would highly recommend this installer.
Show Details

Sunny Side Up

Really impressed with the whole process. It took me a year to decide but there was no pressure. Excellent communication from the office and professional installers. Panels look fantastic on the roof. Highly recommend I Want Energy.
Show Details

Maintenance service

Original installer not available, so I want energy to the rescue. Prompt, efficient service to check and assess our system. Great work carried out by professional service technician.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: