Sunny Solar Cairns

Sunny Solar Cairns Reviews

About

Sunny Solar Cairns is a Solar Power Installation company based in Cairns and serves QLD. Here are their reviews as submitted by visitors to SolarQuotes
Panels, inverter and battery brands

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

Sunny Solar Cairns Reviews (27)

Show Most Recent reviews from All time

Average Scores

4.5/5

Value for money

4.4/5

Quality of System

4.6/5

Installation

4.5/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 9
  • 4 star 16
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

View Timeline

Excellent customer service and knowledge.

Sunny Solar Cairns were polite, professional and provided excellent customer service from the initial phone consultation through to final setup of the monitoring App.

Sunny Solar was the only company to actually get on the roof to measure up. Clayton then provided practical advice on system sizing based on our individual household needs.

I would have no hesitation in recommending them.

Ken.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Thoughtful guys giving fantastic results.

First class operation. They really put the most effort to get my partially shaded house the best outcome. It was a pleasure working with them from start to finish.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 26-09-2018:

Solar Quotes was an invaluable source of information. Enabled me to sort through misleading information provided and understand which companies were providing quality and value in their quotes. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Phil: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

We are thrilled with the performance and reduction to our power costs.
Our installation is a valuable asset for our home.
Show Details
Show Details

Original Review on 27-07-2018:

Very easy to work with site visit before quote all questions and queries answer promptly
a lot of care taken with the installation very neat and tidy and detailed explanation of system operation
Quick time frame from order to installation 2 weeks
This is the second time I have used SolarQuotes and you have recommended another top supplier, made the process easy

Thank You Sunny Solar Cairns & SolarQuotes
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Adrian: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system has out preformed my expectations there have been no problems &
power bill has been in credit since installation
Show Details

Original Review on 30-07-2018:

They actually came to site, looked and talked it through. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Alfie: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

only been in since September 2018 so not a full year yet, so far so good
Show Details
I was looking for a local Cairns company and got a quote from Matt which ended up being the cheapest of all quotes. I am usually a little cautious of the cheapest quotes, but given I had limited shading issues and after further review and a few questions to Matt, I decided to proceed with them. To be honest, I couldn't be happier with the install and the system (Fronius 5kw inverter and GCL Q series 325w panels). Jason and Damien were the installers who took pride in their work. We had a few little issues with the install given the age of my roof (ie the issue was with my house and not the solar system), but Jason & Damien kept me informed and came up with a solution and fixed it and no extra charge. Matt (the electrician) also took pride in his work and everyone left the house in a clean and tidy condition.
In terms of the system, I have had it for just over 1 month and I am averaging 27kw per day, noting the average for Cairns this time of year is around 23kw, however I do note that we have had a lot of cloud free days in August.
Show Details

Original Review on 04-01-2018:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

7 months later we asked Dianne or Tony: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes. Our electricity bill has gone from an average $450 for this time of the year (March - June) to $168.
Show Details
I recently purchased a 6.48kW system from Sunny solar. After getting few different other quotes for the same set up, I picked them for their best price. But also I felt great to go ahead with them after meeting with them and having a good chat. They had great advice and the install happened super fast (only 4 days after I decided to commit). Great system and service. I’m very happy with my choice.
Show Details

Original Review on 23-08-2017:

More clarity with quotes. Quotes should be for panels, inverters and for installation and other equipment. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: N/A
Quality of System: N/A
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Les: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

System is good and last 2 power bills down by 60 per cent. Put in 46 panels. Putting in extra panels important. If in a situation of less light panels are still meeting power requirements. When I get my electric operating I may need to add some more panels. It is advantageous to put in more than the recommended number of panels. May require some batteries to store the extra power.
I think people contemplating going solar should also try to arrange finance so that repayments on the system do not exceed the saving in "on going" electricity purchases.
Show Details

Original Review on 19-08-2017:

Solar quotes was extremely helpful in enabling me to contact a number of good companies. I got quotes from at least 5 companies and gained a whole lot of information about solar systems. I was then able to decide on exactly what system I wanted. The prices ranged from $6000 to $8000 for the same system. I then looked at the quality of the service I had received up to that point. Sunny Solar had a good price and had given me a lot of useful information and good service.

I really appreciate the contribution from Solar Quotes. I was able to hit the ground running.

Thanks a lot

Mike
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Mike: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes
Show Details
Show Details

Original Review on 30-06-2017:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: N/A
Quality of System: N/A
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Kornelia: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes.
Show Details
Easy to contact. Always returned calls if not immediately available.
Show Details
The crew from Sunny Solar were excellent. Very helpful and extremely efficient.
Show Details
Show Details
Really appreciated both your web site and the referral. Made the process much easier - in fact it probably was the deciding element that helped me decide to go ahead.
Show Details
Show Details
I am sure it will be good value but it has only been installed for a couple of weeks which is why I am unable to answer all questions. Sunny Solar and Lumux followed up on the query I made via your web site and were very informative and helpful. After consideration of the various products I have installed a 5kW system with Sunny Solar
Show Details

Original Review on 17-02-2017:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked This person: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Am saving approx 80% on my power bills since the 6kW system was installed in sunny Cairns.
Payback will be in 3 years I estimate.
Show Details
Matt and his team provided great service and a thoroughly professional installation. 21 Q cells coupled with a Fronius inverter are supplying our daily energy needs.
Show Details
Very happy with the installer he was great and explained everything and was happy to answer any questions.
Show Details
One could not be bothered to quote after repeated requests and another in my opinion gave misleading information.
Show Details
The salesperson was honest and knowledgeable. He a local resident here in Cairns and is a part owner of the business. He managed to cut through much of the BS that seems to permeate this industry and did not try the hard sell. By contrast, I was cold-called by another company which tried, using hard sell techniques, misinformation and downright lies, to convince me to buy a comparable system for $8000 more than Sunny Solar's quote. Sunny Solar kept me up to date with installation progress and the installer managed to get the job done even in the middle of a typical North Queensland downpour.
Show Details

Original Review on 21-04-2014:

Of the 3 solar installers, I got only 2 quotes in reply. (Mark Group did not tender)
Naked Energy was over expensive - with quoted items of $2200 for "commissioning" and $1080 for miscellaneous cabling, fittings etc. Their sales office was well staffed, with brochures, video displays & presentations etc (high overheads ?)
Sunny Solar was a father & son outfit operating out of a backyard shed - who seemed to know their business ... and quoted an all-inclusive & reasonable price.
They answered all my questions & queries and were very helpful with alternate suggestions for a better system.
I have awarded the job to Sunny Solar. They haven't as yet started the installation but have submitted the appropriate paperwork to Ergon Energy to start the ball rolling.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Justin: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The Samil Power / SolaRiver system has fulfilled my expectations. Once set-up, it does its thing with minimal input by me.
The recent decrease of the feed-in tariff from 9.07 c / kWh to 6.53 c / kWh (due to the lifting of the Carbon Tax) will affect my bottom-line power savings.
I therefore eagerly await the availability of light-weight, low-cost and energy efficient battery storage banks, whereby my solar power system can be charging up and storing energy for my use at night. My use of reticulated grid power would then be much less.
Show Details
Company was awesome to deal with. Give them a call for a quote.
Very friendly and no high pressure sales tactics like other companies I dealt with.
They installed a 6KW System which I didn't have to pay for until after installation.
I paid $7400.00 and that was with a dual tracking internet connected inverter so I can view the system online.
Show Details
We installed 2 systems at 2 different locations. It has been a painless experience with excellent communication and the company helped enormously with the detail and did not require any payment until the job was complete.
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: