GI Energy

GI Energy Reviews

DETAILS
97% 0%
4.7

Based on 226 ratings

About

GI Energy supply and install high quality solar equipment for customers who want solar that is built to last. 
 
We treat our customers like family and our whole team is dedicated to being at your disposal whenever you need us, for the life of your solar system. We have been looking after people this way and helping Ozzys save money with high quality solar systems since 2011.
  • Platinum Supplier with SolarQuotes
  • LG Official Solar Partner
  • Gold Installer with Enphase
  • Diamond Dealer with Sumec Phono
  • Platinum Partner with sonnen 
  • Tesla Powerwall Certified 
  • One of the first ever CEC Approved Solar Retailers in Australia
  • Helping customers save money since 2011

The team that is here to help you is made up of electrical engineers, Clean Energy Council (CEC) Accredited Designers, CEC installers, experienced project managers and consultants who specialise in solar PV and energy reduction strategies. Our management team has over 37-years of combined solar experience. 

Our mission is to build long-term relationships with our customers by providing market leading energy reduction strategies through innovation and advanced technology.

 

Reviewers report paying: $6,000 - $9,000 for depending on hardware choice and installation difficulty ( how is this calculated? )

Panels, inverter and battery brands

Inverter brands currently installed

Inverter brands previously installed

Battery brands currently installed

Battery brands previously installed

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

GI Energy Reviews (226)

Show Most Recent reviews from All timeacross Australia

Average Scores

4.6/5

Value for money

4.7/5

Quality of System

4.8/5

Installation

4.8/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 140
  • 4 star 77
  • 3 star 6
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 1

View Timeline

Original Review on 28-04-2023:

Quick turnaround, smooth delivery

Easy to deal with, everything went smoothly. Looking forward to the savings. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Chris: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

12monts in and everything is still good - even with the heat and humidity this summer, and running A/C almost 24/7, power bills are still just over 1/3 of last years. Based on this, cost will be recovered in around 3.5years, but being comfortable is worth the extra cost recovery time.
Show Details

Original Review on 21-04-2023:

Totally Professional Giving Me Peace of Mind

From Start (Quoting Process) to Finish (System Up/Running and Monitoring) I cannot fault the professionalism of GI Energy and their Staff.

Their Sales/Quoting process was exceptionally informative with lots of questions and answers given from both sides.

Their were no hitches or glitches with our Installation. Everything was taken care of professionally.

I was assured that I would have nothing to worry about and that everything would be taken care of. That statement was 100 per cent True. They took care of absolutely everything. They contacted my Energy provider to inform them of what was happening. They even helped me to download a Solar Monitoring App and then showed me how to interpret the information.

Have we been left High and Dry now that the job is complete and we are Generating our own power. No way! We have been sent a link to the GI Energy Product Support Centre where you can access information on set-up support, product features, monitoring guides, maximising your savings, fault codes and resolutions. We have even had a visit from the fellow that gave us our original Quote to ensure that we are 100 per cent happy. His parting words were "We are only a phone call away should you need our help in any way". To date I have absolutely not been given any reason to doubt those words.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Linda: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system that we now have 36 Q-Cells, 2 x BYD HVM stacker boxes containing 8 batteries and 2 x Fronius Primo Gen 24 Inverters works wonderfully. Beyond my expectations! We have had our Ducted Air Conditioner running 24/7 since before Christmas and it is still on 24/7 now in February. We definitely would not have survived the Heat and Humidity that Mother Nature dealt to us in Brisbane without it and my Electricity Bill is still in Credit. I could not ask or wish for more that that.

I would like to add our very sincere gratitude to you Finn Peacock for sending your recommendations to me along with all the useful information on your Website and the pertaining informative paperwork that tells you what you should be asking your prospective Solar Provider. Before receiving any of that we entertained some real Cowboys on our Solar Journey. Thank you sincerely for Future Proofing not only mine but also my Husband's Retirement from the Workforce.
Show Details

Original Review on 14-04-2023:

Patient Salesman, Helpful Installer

Research: so much to understand.
Sales: many iterations while I was determining what I needed/wanted.
Installation: completed in a single day instead of 2 and very friendly, patient and informative.
After Install: system is easy to manage. However, even with maximum panels, battery, you still require grid and to pay the daily system charge for connection to it. Government limitations to how much you can feed in, the increase in Retail tariffs when you go solar and small payout for FIT, I still wonder if it is worth such an outlay… time will tell.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 4/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Peter: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Performance, yes, but would like to have more battery capacity for winter months when daylight is shorter
Show Details

Efficient

Got 2 quotes . Offered similar but different at the same time. Spoke to both and both friendly. Went with GI energy in the end as they offered the system which suited our needs and James whom I dealt was a wealth of knowledge and great response to all the questions.
Installation was early due to cancellation. The team from Chispa were on time and finished without any problems
Show Details

Original Review on 22-03-2023:

Very well done. Very happy customer

The sales process from G.I Energy was very good as Tom worked with me to find the best solution for me and made it easy for me to ask questions. He made every effort to understand my needs.
He was always on my side and wanted me to be happy.
He never told me what I needed but had the right combination of system elements available that would work best for me and worked with me to find the best solution.
The installation went well, the team used quality fittings and worked hard to get a nice neat job done.
The customer service has been very good.
They encourage me to call with any questions that I have which I have done and always have time to help me.
Being in a regional area the price was more than in the capital city but this is the way it is.
As it turns out we are making good power and the payoff time looks to be 4 or 5 years.
G.I Energy got it right.

P.S There are so many websites available for research. Solar Quotes was excellent as were others.
I encourage anyone to do a bit of research along the way. It helped me understand things and gave me a base for all of my questions to ask.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Chris: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes the system has performed exceptionally well. I get about 6.5 kw still out of a 8kw system consistently when the sun is hitting them with no cloud. I am still very happy with my solar company for designing a good system and ensuring high standards are met with the instillation.
North facing is great as per the recommendation, but we get a very good early boost as a third are on the east side due to roof pattern restrictions.
I can still look at it each day and be happy with its position on the roof and the quality of the install.
Everything that is on the solar quotes website is correct and is what you need to know.
We got 8kw installed as I was considering cost upfront at about my limit. But a few more would have been good, the hot sun and having the panels not aligned with the sun at all times cuts our 8kw down to about 6.5 on a good day.
Cloudy and rainy days are when you really notice a loss of energy and have to buy a fair bit in off the grid.
With 5 people we run 4 sometimes 5 aircons in the house during the day and night in the summer and our hot water is on it as well. This mostly covers it but not on cloudy days which is more than you may think.
1.I think I would have been better off with 9kw. But we do quite well on the whole
Show Details

Great Instalation service

The sales quoting process was very good, GI Energy were clear and transparent. They discussed all the options available and were able to explain the difference between the mid-range cost system I was choosing over some of the higher-cost systems and the implications in terms of the overall system performance.

The installers were local, they were booked to come on a day forecast to be extremely hot so they came two days early and installed the system before they were due to. After our recent building experience, I can safely say they are the first Contractors I have met who were early with anything!

The customer service was very good, they organised switching to a
Show Details

Professional and helpful

GI Energy subcontracted the installation to Chisla Electrics. At all times I could contact GI Energy when I had queries and received immediate responses. Chisla Electrics did a great job and were very helpful in explaining the technology associated with the converter and the Fronius app.
Panel rating: 5/5
Show Details

Really Great Service

The salesperson was really knowledgeable about the local area and asked a lot of good questions for the process.

He listened and understood our needs, and gave some great sets of options.

The subcontractors who completed the install were friendly and paid great attention to detail, and put in a lot of effort. Especially when having to work around the weather, and also having to redesign the panel configuration a couple times due to unforeseen issue with the roof space. They re-designed and we still have a great configuration based on the numbers.

Another follow-up more recently they improved the output to the grid after fixing a minor issue, which I wasn't even aware of, and am grateful they checked, and followed up and made the adjustments very quickly. 11/10.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Simply the Best

Shannan Moss and his team at GI Energy provided a detailed and competitive quotation for us.

We of course knew very little about solar at the time of getting quotations but needed to learn fairly quickly as the variations over the 3 companies we approached was vast.

I only needed to make one phone call to Shannan and he extended me his time to explain the intricate details of the equipment differences between the 3 quotes we had received.

Although GI Energy were not the cheapest we felt they were the most experienced and above all the most trusted provider.

Shannan's team took charge and made everything happen seamlessly, the information and paperwork, the process, the installation everything happened when GI Energy said it would and our occupants were at no point inconvenienced.

It has been an amazing experience and we are 100% happy we did business with Shannan Moss and GI Energy.
Show Details

From discovery to installation, our experience was exceptional.

James from GI Energy was fantastic and helped me understand the various options available. James came across as unbiased and helpful. I had one quote that I obtained early in 2023. James helped me understand that quote and advised me on the best option for our situation including what we wanted to achieve with our solar installation including batteries.

Because our roof isn't straight forward, changes to the design were required to better take into consideration shade. We had some issues with the inverter software. The installer came back within a day to rectify. Our solar is now working well.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5
Show Details

Very professional during pre sales and after installation

Very good to deal with during sales and negotiations through to installation
Show Details

Solar Install

A few hiccups, installation took longer than expected. Seems to be functioning properly. Only just had the system installed, so early days yet.
Show Details

Great service and professional installation

Everything went well and smooth would recommend this company there before and after sales were exceptional
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Good Quality, Fair Price and No Surprises

GI Energy provided great service, smooth process and fair price price without any 'surprises'.

Having two phase power on my property made my requirements slightly non-standard. Shannan provided sound advice and was able to answer my questions and concerns resulting a good system setup with minimal adjustments to existing.

Darren completed the installation, positioning the Fronius inverter and Trina panels in my preferred location, and was able to conceal the cables well for a tidy result. The install team arrived on time and the completed the work quickly without issue. Darren also gave good advice on appliances / timers etc to maximise use of generated power and minimise grid consumption.

Overall, happy with GI Energy.

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

The whole experience was so much easier than I ever expected.

From the very first phone call to when they guys drove away after installing my system, I can not recommend the team at GI Energy enough. They were just fantastic to deal with.

They definitely weren’t the cheapest quote I got, but they were comfortably the best and most knowledgeable out of the 3 companies I spoke to, the sales person really took the time in understanding exactly what I wanted.

I would recommend anyone looking in to solar to go with GI Energy!

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5
Show Details

Honest, professional and time in industry

Honestly all of the quotes I received were great, it actually made it a challenge to choose. What sold me with GI Energy was their time in the Industry, that made me feel confident that they would be around if there is a issue with my system. the GI Energy representative was honest and professional advising me about products they didn't even sell.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Seamless Experience!

This is the third solar installation we have arranged for our homes over the past fifteen years. Without a doubt, the whole experience was the best so far! Beginning with Finn’s informative website and then his referrals to reputable retailers, who all bent over backwards to assist us and consider our needs.
In the end, we chose the most expensive system because it seemed the best value for money and gave us a sense off “future-proofing” ourselves for the inevitable energy price rises!
While everyone throughout the whole process was courteous, informative and very helpful, specific mention is due to the installation team and the information session they provided once the installation was complete. This small band of workers worked tirelessly over two days to install our system … they worked so hard in searing heat … never once complained … and treated us with the utmost courtesy! And the best bit? Our system is working a charm!

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Professional installers, knowledgeable sales team…awesome end result ?

Installation was quick and efficient with safety top of mind. The fellas were tidy and solved issues of the distance covered for the cabling neatly and professionally. The placement of the inverter allows for a future battery installation. Well done to to the entire team?
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Excellent service, delivery and installation.

I was given the name of three solar companies by Solar Quotes.

We chose GI Energy based on expertise and initial feel. Perhaps not the most scientific method! From the outset their approach was most impressive and reassuring.

The initial site visit, invoicing as well as installation was excellent. The installation team was helpful and professional.

All in all this has been a very good experience. I cannot recommend GI Energy too highly.
Show Details

Original Review on 27-11-2022:

Great service

GI Energy have been great through the whole process. They were very confident with the recommendations they made for the system/brands they recommended for us. The installation booking process was easy and seamless. The installers were very friendly. Any issues I’ve had post installation were followed up and sorted out in a very timely manner. Very excited to have my solar system! Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Iwa: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system is going strong 12 months later!
Show Details

Well done!

Quote was accurate - they even covered the cost of an extra required inverter not originally included in the quote. System was installed within a reasonable time and is working perfectly. I have been informed that the grid connection has been organised. Looking forward to much smaller electricity bills. I am already generating more electricity than I am using.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Smooth Process, Quality Product

After a lot of research I decided to purchase solar.
Shannan from GI Energy patiently answered all my questions and guided me with honesty. Thank you Shannan
The process from beginning to end went as planned. Top quality service and product. Highly recommended.
Love the app to see how the system is performing
Show Details

Good quality and right price

I did a lot of research and in the end, this system seemed to be the best value for money. I had been burnt by another installer previously, but GI were excellent to deal with. The team that installed the system were great, they couldn't have been more helpful with showing us how to set it all up.
I was impressed overall by my experience with GI.
Show Details

GI Energy Review

GI Energy from advice to pricing and installation we found them to be very helpful and efficient.
They organised our connection to the grid and submitted all paperwork to have the system installed and working properly.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Looks just right.

Installation was a bit on and off because of weather but the final outcome looks great: today and relatively compact given all the equipment and controls. Initial performances of the panels looks very good. Now waiting for inspection and full commissioning.
Show Details

Great installer for a competitive price and incredible customer service

The quoting process from GI Energy was very smooth and they offered me a competitive price right from the get go. The installation itself was punctual and done on-time as scheduled.

Additionally throughout the process I received great customer service from Shannan Moss who was straight to the point and patient. He helped me with understanding the differences across various solar products as well as provided me resources to look into energy retailers and get the most out of my feed-in tariff rate.
Show Details

Pre-Installation Experience

Sales/quoting process seamless and informative. Prompt responses to my many questions. Looking forward to post-installation system performance.
Show Details

Original Review on 21-09-2022:

My level of satisfaction

Very pleased with the entire process. All were very polite helpful and professional. The installing group were prompt very efficient and clean. They were very polite and willing to explain everything slowly to me. I was very comfortable having them in my house Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Maurene: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Better than expected. I have not paid any electricity bills and I am still in credit fantastic
Show Details

Making the right choice

When waying up who to choose it came down to two companies, both were supplying identical systems, however one was slightly more expensive. the more expensive option used their own installer whom I met with and whom we were leaning towards, when I remembered reading on solar quotes website that if we weren't happy with the installation that they would work with the installer to rectify any issues. This gave me peace of mind so We went with the cheaper option with not knowing who would do the install, as it turned out the install team turned up on time. worked cleanly and efficiently and we could not fault them. Tom from GI energy was very helpful in answering our questions and providing answers and guidance. All in all we are extremely pleased with our system and with solar quotes website which supplied so much information on what can be a daunting process
Show Details

Original Review on 26-08-2022:

Competent and Professional

Initial contact listened and advised. Had one other quote but not what I was after.
Arrived punctually on the date provided.
Installation was difficult with an old terracotta tiled roof. I had to source 60 extra tiles as they were installing . Excellent clean up.
Distribution box had been left behind so had to wait 3 weeks for installation. Some communication problems over this time. Up and running from yesterday though no consumer information as yet.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 3/5

10 months later we asked Carol: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes. Enjoying playing with the sunlight curve throughout the day and planning my gas reduction . Electric vehicle comes next.
Show Details

Above and Beyond

This degree of positivity will seem a little unbelievable but as someone with whose usual instinct is to want to do everything myself (including wondering if I could buy all the components on eBay and convert my whole house to run on a 48v system) because I'm so used to disappointment when I trust someone else, this whole process was a breath of fresh air.
I felt that the sales pitch came with a degree of urgency but didn't feel pushed or hoodwinked and in the end a couple of things were thrown in to seal the deal. Normally I would expect the salesman to be MIA once that commission had been earned but when we left a couple of desperate after-hours messages over what we thought might be a major problem (it wasn't) we had calls from the installer and the salesman.
We used solarquotes to research the virtues of the different components on offer which helped us to settle on the installer so by the time we signed up we were happy that quality and value for money had been balanced ideally. The installation was above and beyond, with extra helping hands that had not been specified in the contract as we did away with the old gas oven and hot water, even down to a neatly-performed waterproofing that was not asked for but definitely appreciated.
The post-installation followup was actually better than expected as well so if this all seems a little too good to be true, it's because I've just become so used to being let down that when I feel I got more than I expected I feel I have to give full marks.
As general advice I would say if you can afford it, over-spec. it. We combined this process with an EV (MG ZSev, also pleasantly surprising and already used much more than we had intended) and suddenly the gas, bottle rental, electricity bills (as best I can tell from close monitoring of the Fronius software, the first bill hasn't arrived yet) and fuel bills have evaporated. We're so close to off-grid already in winter that I feel like I only have to tolerate being on-grid as long as I feel they have some convenience to offer me. We're also no longer hostage to the whims of the scoundrels (I'm being polite) who run OPEC. It feels good.

Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5
Show Details

Fantastic, Professional and Punctual

I got three quotes and GI Energy provided what I felt was the best system available. It was not the cheapest but after researching the products and the company it looked like the best option. The whole process was super easy and the installers on the day were great to deal with. I can see from my online monitoring that the solar is producing more energy than they promised in their quotation. I also had lots of questions after the install and they took a lot of time to go through everything with me. I am very happy and I have already recommended them to a few friends.

A very professional company who have been really easy to deal with pre and post install. If I had to do it all again, I would definitely use GI Energy

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Not the premium experience i was expecting from a premium installer and pricepoint

Initial contact was friendly and refreshing after previously trying to deal with companies from Facebook ads. Salesmen listened to what i wanted and provided appropriate products and options for what i wanted (reasonably priced solar/battery system). They did overstate the northern roof panel capacity (even when asked to double check due to other installers saying it was too much, and that was corrected once the installers did the site inspection. This was corrected and new figures provided which bought it very close to being a viable solution and at this point it did feel a bit more "salesy" when they suggested their figures were very conservative and electricity prices would probably increase more than the 4% quoted and the performance of the system would probably perform better than stated.

The install team were very polite, friendly and turned up on time on the days told. I was put at ease by them encouraging me to ask any questions i had, which i did, and they were happy to answer. I also appreciated the consideration of our neighbors considering we live in a strata complex.

During installation i noticed that while they gave us a late upgrade to black panels, they still used the silver mounting brackets, which in my opinion looks silly/out of place. It turned what would have been a good looking system install, into something that doesn't quite look right. Not sure why they wouldn't have changed the brackets to match. When i contacted the Gi energy, twice about it, they didn't respond on either occasion to that concern i had.

As for the rest of the install, the inverter and battery was installed neatly in the location we wanted. However, it wasn't successfully connected for monitoring by ethernet as we had discussed both during the sales/consultation process as well as stipulated in the site visit. I had run the cable to the location, and it appeared to be connected, but didn't work, only by wifi. when i contacted Gi, they had their IT guy contact me a couple of days later who didn't know how to fix it. He was going to organise a conference call with sungrow to problem solve it, but he cancelled it because sungrow couldn't make that time. I haven't heard from him since (about two weeks ago). The installers did give me a call to try and help, but they didn't know why and told be to google it or youtube it. I then started getting emails from gi asking for finial payment, however i was initially told during the sales process final payment is due 3 days after install to ensure it was all working correctly. As the system still wasn't working as it should have been, and poor response from Gi, i was withholding the payment until it was resolved. ( the communication/response was poor before the payment, i can only imagine what it would be like after i paid).

I ended up spending many hours googling, Youtubing trying to resolve the problem myself Which i was a bit nervous about due to having no electrical/Solar knowledge and was concerned i might break something or put in a wrong setting. I also joined the sungrow installers facebbok page trying to find the problem. Sungrow has a lot of information on the internet, but its not dated or organised, so i found it hard to navigate through to find relevant information.

Eventually, i contacted sungrow directly, which sounds obvious, but everything i had heard and read indicated that they wont deal directly with end users only installers, and even then it would be hit and miss on how helpful they were. To my surprise, they answered the phone, acknowledged i was an end user and after i explained what was going on helped me to resolve the issue after a bit of digging around. (turns out it wasn't configured properly, and needed to be unplugged and re plugged in).

Disappointing i had to spend a few nights and afternoons trying to resolve it myself.I still havent heard back from it to confirm its working or not, or in regards to the mismatched brackets being corrected.
My recommendation to my friends and family is now to take a gamble on the cheaper guys (which would have saved me about $4000, or the equivalent on 2 years electricity bills on this $18,000 system) as my other neighbors have all had good experiences with the cheaper guys.

Inverter rating: 4/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Shane

Thank you for taking the time to write an extensive review on your experience with GI Energy

We tailor every quote/proposal based on each conversation we have with a customer. This factors in roof type, roof angle, azimuth & shade. We adjusted your proposal based on the site inspection and used the same figures we have used throughout our consultation with you. We give a low, typical & high saving figure so you can make an informed decision on whether you believe this investment is worthwhile for you and your family. The fact you came through solarquotes gives you the customer every tool required to make an informed decision, you are not pressured into anything and you should have received three proposals from vetted companies not to mention the amount of detail on the solarquotes website to help with all of the products available.

Thank you for mentioning the great work our installers do, we will pass this onto the team so they are aware their efforts have been recognised. We try really hard to partner with the best installers we can, we vet our installers just like solarquotes vet us.

We upgraded your panels to the Trina all black due to stock shortage of the normal Trina Module, there is an added layer cost to this panel but this was not passed onto you so we could stay within the timeline of getting this project installed as promised. We did notify you this was an all black panel, if you wish to include black racking so it matches there is an extra cost for this. We would not be able to cover the cost of the brackets and the cost of the upgraded panel. You mentioned that you asked about this twice, while we did receive your email on the 8th May, we also responded on the 8th May with a resolution to swapping the brackets over however there would be a cost for us to do this as we would need to send the team back out, remove the clamps, take up the panels and then relay again so you would have black brackets. If you can please advise us of another email that has been unanswered we would love to check into this please?

While we understand the frustrations around monitoring, sometimes it's very difficult to get monitoring working when there are factors outside of our control. After our installer did the site inspection you had run communications cable for the inverter internet connectivity, there is no problem with this. Once we had completed the installation and tried to commission the system using Ethernet it was not working and we had to use the WIFI to enable the commission process to happen. We are sorry that we could not get the wired connectivity to work on the day, we did try but sometimes connectivity issues with inverters and routers is not a GI energy issue. We work with the manufacturers to try and find a resolution, while we had to get a response from Sungrow we acknowledge that it took longer than anyone would like but it did get responded to on the 16th May. To say that we have poor communication is a little unfair considering we have responded to every item you have asked about, we acknowledge that we may have taken a little longer to get a reply from Sungrow but sometimes connectivity issues take time to find answers, especially when we are going back to the manufacturer.

You have acknowledged that the installers did a great job, you have paid for a premium system that has been installed to the best quality and the safest possible way. While there was a connectivity issue which we really apologise for, it appears this is now resolved. I believe the only outstanding issue is the brackets to which we have provided a resolution for, you just need to please let us know if you would like us to come back out and swap them over?

To advise your friends and family to gamble on a cheaper system is up to you, we would highly recommend against this though whether you use GI or another premium company, you do not want your friends or family to become another solar statistic. We don't really buy into the fact that a connectivity issue with the inverter and a premium bracket upgrade means we have provided an inferior system or service, you have an excellent system that will be backed with our service for a lifetime.
Show Details

Very easy to deal with and very friendly installer.

I did shop around for quotes and I found GI Energy the most honest and friendly people to deal with. They gave me a clear understanding of what I will be getting from my solar panels and what will fit in with my budget. The sales and quote process went smoothly as did the installation. The guys were punctual and very polite. I would highly recommend GI Energy to my friends and family.
Show Details

Original Review on 27-06-2022:

Great installation of a solid product

GI Energy were great in working with us and spent a considerable amount of time on site discussing the logistics of our roof design and shading issues. They understood our objectives and came up with a couple of options we could choose from.

I think we were a hard sell in the end as we umm'ed and ahhh'ed (haha!) but they were patient with us and didn't get any pushy sales techniques on but seemed to genuinely happy to help.

The ordering process was delayed by a shortage of parts (not their fault) but once we got going everything went smoothly and all the paperwork to do with Energex was taken care of - quite easy.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

11 months later we asked Andrew: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

One year on and the system is still performing well. Zero complaints and haven't had any need to make contact with GI Energy for technical support. Shading from trees in winter is handled well by the system compared with running a string inverter system. Energy retailers certainly know how to work the numbers though, as while we make money in summer, that's offset by reduced performance in winter. So overall for the year we're still paying ~$200 despite having the largest and most efficient system permissible for our single-phase grid connection. We don't shy away from using heaters in winter though. The technical performance is still impressive.
Show Details

Quick, efficient quote, install and service

Easy sales process with a few options provided and good communication. Our install was quick and even brought forward. As soon as the post install electrical inspection was complete and signed off the paperwork came through. Whole process was very efficient.
Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Pretty good, works as expected, very happy

Sale process was easy, GI Energy just sent me their quotes and didn’t pressure.
Installation very quick, half a day. Worked immediately.

They organised all the grid install, literally just had to pay them and sign some documents.
Do remember to look into what your retailer will offer.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Great process, honest communication and beautiful installation

From the start they were very upfront about their methodology in recommending products based on my wants and needs. They were also willing to stand by their recommendation that it was worth taking the time to have things installed in a way that would have them last much longer than quicker (and cheaper) options would not have done.

I am very happy, they nailed our requests to the letter.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Awesome installation

Matt was quick to return my call and gave a quote on the same day.The installation guys turned up on time, informed me of what was going to happen during the course of the day.They completely stripped my old system out, and had my new one in and up and running before 3.00 o'clock. I can't praise them enough for the professional, courteous,manner in which they carried out the work. The best couple of tradesmen you will ever meet. On completion they left my place spotless and connected the inverter to the grid and put the app on my phone so I could see instantly the output of my new system[at that time of day and a few clouds around,it was pumping out far more than the old one]I have no hesitation recommending this company to anyone who is interested in a quality solar system,cheers guys for the outstanding work from start to finish.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details
Show Details

Informative pre-sales process, quick and smooth installation, after service maybe could improve

The solar quoting process was very informative with attention to detail, to produce a tailored solution. Some miscommunications in the after sales advice prior to installation, but installation was then scheduled in quite quickly. Installers were punctual, tidy and helpful with set up of inverter with wifi and explaining everything. Then, again, the communications after the installation were a bit confusing as to when we were supposed to pay the balance owing, what the next step was to get connected etc. Everything else had happened so quickly and smoothly, the paperwork seemed to take a lot longer, and little communication or explanation about what they were doing so we were wondering what was happening and what we were supposed to do next. We were eventually emailed a bunch of documentation explaining that they'd lodged the forms and whatnot and recommended that we speak to our energy provider to get connected.
Inverter rating: 3/5
Show Details

Great installation!

The team kept me well informed of progress, kept the place clean and tidy throughout and were very efficient.
Thanks, both the the GI Energy team and the installers.
Show Details

Best Recommendations Best Service

Matt was very prompt and professional in all of my interactions with GI Energy, I was given many different options including integration with my existing system. This was the point of difference for me.

The install team are great guys, they are very experienced and were very approachable. The team done my install over a few days as it was a big job and worked like trojan horses, even though the weather was not favourable.
Very happy at this stage with the system, neat install and they cleaned up everything at the end of each day.
Show Details

Very helpful explaining the sytem and limitations over the phone. have ordered the system, yet to have it installed.

Upgraded the system from original quote, and had the installer measure up our roof. waiting for installation.
Show Details

Excellent design process

Our property has heritage restrictions as to visibility of the panels and has a 3-phase supply, plus we wanted a quality system without breaking the bank.

GI Energy were very knowledgeable and patient over a number of months as we worked through quite a number of possible configurations before settling on the final solution. In addition to the panels and inverter we opted for a Catch Relay to allow us to move our hot water system (HWS) from an off peak, controlled load supply onto an "always on" supply controlled by the relay to charge the hot water from excess solar during the day thus maximising our self consumption of solar power.

The installation is not carried out by GI themselves but by local sub contractors. This has the potential for mis communication with 2 points of contact for any queries or follow up issues.

That said, the panel and inverter installation went well with the installers removing 2 obsolete, disconnected hot water panels to make room for some of the PV panels. There was some discussion and slight re-arrangement of the panels on the day which in a very good installation.

There was one minor issue with the Catch Relay installation where, during the design discussions I had asked for the supply to the HWS to be removed from the Controlled Load meter and routed through the main 3-phase meter. However this was not done and the installer merely disconnected the control wire from the controlled load meter which - apparently - causes to act as a regular smart meter. Although this was not what we had thought was agreed with GI, we were told that this was an acceptable solution and should we want the controlled load meter removed and the HWS re-routed we should employ an electrician to do this. We have not yet decided whether we will do this but the current situation leaves us with a small additional daily supply charge for a meter we do not really need.

Post installation, we are now 9 weeks into having the system up and the solar production has been very impressive, with output reaching the 5kW inverter capacity some days, from an array that is a tad under 6kW. 5 weeks post installation we switched suppliers from Origin Energy to PowerShop who have the best feed in tariff we could find and, since then we have broken even or been in credit most days, inclusive of daily supply charges.

So - overall, very happy. One comment is that, all other things being equal. if I were to do this again, I'd probably plump for a company that does its own installs. However, GI are a large, professional company with a long and good track record who, I'm sure will be around for any ongoing support well into the future.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Great Customer Service

Chose GI for their great customer service and the ability to work with us in a number of areas. The installers were quick, friendly and left the area tidy. They reduced the original quote as well and although not the cheapest, they appeared to be very honest with recommendations for our solar. Highly recommended
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Could not fault them. Just brilliant from start to finish.

Honestly, Tom their sales rep was faultless in his knowledge about the product. He was able to offer and supply hard copy evidence of the answers to any questions we had. No question was too hard, and he followed up to check we were happy with the information he supplied and respond to any further queries. The quote was clear and set out in an easy to understand manner.
They had a supply issue and initial installation was delayed, but they kept us up to date and also had an upgrade to the inverter at no cost.
The installers were on time and very efficient and professional. They left the site clean and tidy.
Customer service could not be better from initial contact to installation and after sales contact.
We have already recommended GI Energy to a friend and will continue to do so at every opportunity.

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Easy

The process was painless with an easy installation and the technician kept us informed
Show Details

Thanks GI Energy

Matt was extremely helpful answering all my questions. Grant, Daniel, and Sam did an excellent job with the install considering the extra challenge of our site.
just waiting for the final inspection before the grid connection, which they will arrange.
Show Details

Great Experience!

I had such a good experience, from start to finish. Thank you for providing all the info, it was so helpful to be prepared once I was having a conversation with the recommended providers. I felt very comfortable with the process and the company I chose, GI Energy, had my best interest at heart but also listened to my questions/ concerns.

The installers were fantastic, informed me when power would be off (a short time) and helped me set up the app. No mess was left behind.

So happy I made the switch!

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: