1KOMMA5

1KOMMA5 Reviews

DETAILS
99% 0%
4.3

Based on 671 ratings

About

Solaray Energy is now part of the 1KOMMA5° family and is now called 1KOMMA5° Sydney and 1KOMMA5° Melbourne. They specialise in customised energy systems including solar systems, battery storage units, EV chargers and heat pumps. Its comprehensive services extend from initial consultation and planning to government rebates processing, seamless installation and ongoing maintenance of energy systems, making them your trusted and reliable partner from start to finish.

Reviewers report paying: $6,990 - $10,000 for depending on hardware choice and installation difficulty ( how is this calculated? )

Panels, inverter and battery brands

Inverter brands currently installed

Inverter brands previously installed

Battery brands currently installed

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

1KOMMA5 Reviews (671)

Show Most Recent reviews from All timeacross Australia

Average Scores

4.2/5

Value for money

4.5/5

Quality of System

4.4/5

Installation

4.3/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 148
  • 4 star 412
  • 3 star 94
  • 2 star 12
  • 1 star 5

View Timeline

Solar installation

The sales quoting and installation process was to my expectations, prompt, knowledgeable and the installation team had all required expertise. I can recommend this company and their 3rd party installers.
Show Details

Original Review on 10-08-2023:

Great company to deal with

The quoting process was excellent, the salesperson listened to my needs and designed a system to suit my complex roof design. Customer service was informative to the process, keeping in contact throughout and completing all the necessary paperwork.
The installation team were punctual and completed the install with little disruption to my day, although they were a little messy.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Peter, we are thrilled to hear that your overall experience with our company was positive and that Lisa was able to design a suitable system for your complex roof design. Our years of experience in the solar industry allow us to tackle trickier designs. Our team always strives to deliver the best possible solutions for our customers, and we're delighted that we could meet your expectations.

Our installers typically leave a nice clean site behind. Sorry to hear that wasn't the case here. Will pass that feedback onto management and the team.

Enjoy your new solar and storage!

10 months later we asked Peter: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

As this system is only 8kw and the layout is complex, I find it functions somewhat better then expected, especially due to the number of overcast/rainy days we have had since install.
Show Details

The Installation Company 1KOMMA5 does not have the systems in place to provide acceptable solar installation outcomes

The sales quoting process was reasonable except that it took much effort to get a well designed panel layout.
The installation did not conform to the agreed panel layout.
The inspector reported that the switchboard was not left in an appropriate condition and that the electrician would have to return to rectify it. He taped it up so that my power could remain on. It was 2 weeks before 1Komma5 would rectify this.
It is still unclear what they have organised. I still do not have a FIT and 1KOMMA5 are not responding.

Supplier Reply:

Hi John,
I have reviewed your profile and was pleased to see that the installer returned to site to resolve the meterboard issue for you several weeks ago.

The confirmation you requested in writing from the installer - we are following up to confirm if this has been actioned. If it hasn't, pardon the delay - the installer's wife had a baby shortly after this request was made - so they had taken some time off. We will confirm with them to ensure this has been actioned for you.

As for the Feed-in Tariff - we have been liaising with CitiPower/Powercor behind the scenes on your behalf. Our Service Manager Hunter sent email updates to you several times last week keeping you in the loop on anything we are hearing back from them.

Hunter is out sick today, so I haven't been able to check if anything further was heard from CitiPower since his last update to you on Thursday. Hopefully this will be resolved for you soon - it is EnergyAustralia who needs to complete the smart meter upgrade for you and we are doing what we can from our side to assist with moving this along for you.

We look forward to these final pieces of the puzzle being in place so you can sit back and enjoy your new solar system - which is working well and has already reduced your grid dependence by 58% since installation in late April.
Show Details

Amped up solar

I was very please with the sales person and this was a large part of why I went with 1komma5. The installation was very professional and produced a good quality install all be it we did have same issue at first due the installer wanting to rap it up quickly. Having said that they did accomodate our ask and in the end we are very happy with the installation and they covered all inspections, enphase app setup and grid connection.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Thank you Tony for your review. Your salesperson has been promoted within the company, so you were always in safe hands. We are pleased any issues with the installers were addressed and the rest of the installation went smoothly.
Show Details

fantastic team

the team were good to deal with from the initial design to installation
Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Supplier Reply:

Thank you, Nable, for your review. With the installation of your SolarEdge system you will start saving straight away. We pride ourselves on a smooth sale to installation process.
Show Details

Easy to do business with

I would recommend the team from 1KOMMA5, they were easy to talk to, had many options to suit my needs and were flexible. They didnt try to push a particular solution or timeframe and provided lots of supporting information to help me make a decision.

Supplier Reply:

Thank you for your kind review. We always deliver a no pressure sales approach. We tailor each solution to the needs and requirements of the customer.
Show Details

Integrity and service

After getting a cold call I started shopping about. I knew nothing so did a crash course on YouTube and discovered solar quotes. I eventually picked 1komma5. The team there were so informative and patient with my multiple questions, my change of mind, very professional, quality components and service.

Supplier Reply:

Thank you Alan for your review, we tailor each solution to the customers needs and requirements and more than willing to answer all your questions along the way.
Show Details

Easy smooth installation, Great communicators

The sales quote was good and very flexible with changing options—installed sub-board at reasonable costs.

Supplier Reply:

Thank you for your review Peter, glad everything went smoothly from sales to installation.
Show Details

Happy Customer

The installation was actioned fairly quickly once we paid the deposit .The installers turned up on time and got stuck into the job . Unfortunately it rained 1/2 way through but they waited it out and completed the job once the rain eased .They completed all the connection process with our energy company so we did not have to do anything
We would recommend Komma1.

Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Thank you Cherie, it certainly makes it challenging when it rains. Our teams are always dedicated in their work whist keeping safety first.
Show Details

Easy to deal with, good communication, but….

Good to deal with for a quote, easy and responsive communication. Very helpful and happy to re-quote based on my requests. Slight issue with installation access where the installers stated that access was not very easy, but despite a site visit from the sales rep, this wasn’t identified. The installers stated that sales reps don’t really know anything about how it’s installed though. Good learning opportunity to avoid this. Anyway, the installer found an access method that they were happy with, and installation went well. Upon leaving, I questioned part of the inverter install as being untidy, but was told there was no other way. When closing up a man hole, I noticed a lot of light coming into the roof cavity where the cables entered. I was concerned this would be a leak path, as from my view it didn’t appear sealed. I emailed 1komma5 about this and the inverter install concerns. They sent someone else out the next day to confirm the cable entry was adequately sealed. It was, but they added a dektite be sure. Happy with that response, but nothing regarding the Inverter concern. Next time I need electrical work I’ll get it checked, as I’m worried about the exposed copper on the 230v cable. System is working well, despite the horrible Sydney weather at the moment!

Supplier Reply:

Hi David,
Thanks for your review. I am glad that the installation team was able to alleviate your concerns by putting the additional measures in place (dextite and a cover over your Modbus) to put your mind at ease).

Now you can sit back and relax and enjoy that solar!
Show Details

Excellent Sales, Installation and support

Salesman was informative, the installation was a seamless experience. Tradesman were polite and very tidy and the support team answered all questions promptly.

Supplier Reply:

Joel you have certainly experienced the 1KOMMA5° customer service - A smooth process from start to finish - We do it right the first time.
Show Details

Up to the challenge

On the day of the install the rains came down and work had to stop mid-install. However the installers stayed in constant communication and a few days later were back to finish the job.

Appreciated the continual comms, workmanship, and finished product. Overall despite the interruption the process was hassle free.

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Quick service, attention to detail, meeting requirements, competitive pricing, great end result.

I got in contact with 1KOMMA5 through the Solarquotes website who contacted three solar companies to quote on my home. Noah Fowler from 1KOMMA5 came out to meet me and put together a competitive proposal, which I liked because it provided the maximum capacity for a competitive price - 13.2kW Trina panels, Enphase IQ8H inverters and Powerwall 2 battery. iKOMMA5 organised the installation within two working days of acceptance of the quote. The installation was fully completed in one day and generating power for the house the same day. iKOMMA5 arranged the designer and installer (Light Em Up Electrical Services), organised the STC credits and notified the supplier to change the meter. I am stoked with the results. After my last bill of $820 per quarter for electricity, I have not used any grid power since installation. I recommend 1KOMMA5 for anyone interested.
Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Battery rating: 4/5

Supplier Reply:

WOW - what a fantastic review.
Noah - one of our experienced solar advisors is highly regarded within the team - You got the best!

Our entire team work seamlessly to ensure a smooth transition from sales, installation and retailer notification.

With the Enphase system and Tesla Powerwall you will certainly save on your electricity bill.
Show Details

My introduction to a new solar experience.

My project is a bit different than most others.Since 2009 I have had 12 panels ( = 2.1kW) mounted on a large solar tracker up the hill from my house. An inverter attached to the tracker converts DC to 240V AC which is cabled 90m to the house meter box. These panels have always worked reliably.
Because of rising electricity costs, I decided to install a battery to "time shift" the power I use at night when the panels don't produce power.
Based on a recommendation from Solar Quotes, I contacted 2 companies and obtained quotes for a 5kW battery and control system. I found both companies easy to deal with. One quote was slightly cheaper than the other and their sales rep answered all my questions with patients. I decided to go with them. (1Komma5)
They came within 1 week, Installed the equipment in half a day, answered my annoying questions (with much humour) while doing so, tidied the site and left. I was impressed by their neat, professional work. They even signed me up to the battery company's phone app and showed me how to get performance information.

Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Thank you, Barry, for your kind review.

With your new battery, you are one step closer to being energy independent.

Our installers are always working to provide the most enjoyable installation experience to our customers.
Show Details

1komma5 aka Solaray Energy

Long, complicated, difficult.

No site inspection, rushed job, incorrect information given regarding meter box upgrade.

Meter box work that was done, was not done properly.

We ended up not being able to use our panels for an extended period due to meter box debarkle.

The meter box upgrade cost $5,000, money we had not budgeted for. Obviously if a meter box was that unsatisfactory we should have been told in advance. We had sent photos as requested.

Customer service
Initially all very nice but as soon as they had your money well - what customer service. If you tried to ring you got answer machine. If you left a message they never rang back. I am actually still waiting for call back 6 months later. If you did get someone you were consistently gaslighted.

The job done was very quickly. The actual positioning of the panels was decided, by a bunch of bullies, who had been subcontracted by 1KOMMA5 to install the panels, on the morning of installation. As a result the panels are not where we would have liked them to be.

The job was done very quickly with no care taken at all.

They did nothing toward organising the grid connection after the install. In fact they ghosted us when we tried to contact them with regards our meter box issues.

Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Original Review on 09-06-2023:

Awesome customer service

It was great customer service from sales to installation, turn up on time remove old solar system
Fully install new solar system, up and running on the day because of old system had all ready connected to the grid.The installer were polite and tidy.
Just awesome thanks
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Mark, thank you for your kind words. We're always happy to make the transition to a new system as simple and efficient as possible. Our installers pride themselves on the work they do and they'll appreciate your feedback. Enjoy your new system!

10 months later we asked Mark : "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes the system is performing above expectations
Show Details

Highly recommend, very professional!

Price is always a big factor, but there were others around the same ball park.
What I loved about 1komma5 was they did not engage in pushy sales tactics. They did not bag out other companies as most others did. They listened to what I was wanting to achieve not just push me towards products they wanted.
So many people told me outright untruths, but 1Komma5 were very honest and professional to deal with.
It is a veritable minefield going down the rabbit hole of battery quotes, but Finns website suggestions were great, and only his 3 suggestions ended up being considered, and I would highly recommend 1Komma5.

Battery rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Thank you Colin for your glowing review. We believe at 1KOMMA5° in having all our customers join the 1KOMMA5° family. Each of our solutions are tailored to the individual needs are requirements. With 1KOMMA5° you are always in safe hands.
Show Details

Original Review on 31-03-2023:

Very smooth process

From preliminary planning through to final installation the whole process proceeded seamlessly. In initial discussions Steve patiently explained the various steps that would be involved in the installation and discussed our specific requirements and the options available. Not having had any previous experience in this area we found this essential. He helped us plan a preliminary layout of four arrays of panels. We are impacted significant shading and it was important to work around this. We were determined to get the largest system possible. Siting of the battery was a major problem and Andrew and later Stuart came to assist in this decision and in the end there was only one option.
On the day of installation Chad from Top Power Electrical said that they do not like installing south facing panels so he rearranged our preliminary four arrays by removing the six south facing panels and redistributing them to the west and horizontal arrays. I was amazed at how he was able to fit an extra four panels into the west array and another two into the horizontal as I thought that these were already at full capacity. The final system was a very tidy and unobtrusive job.
We now have an 11.2 kW system of 28 400W REC panels with Enphase micro inverters with a Tesla Powerwall 2 battery on our 3 phase supply. It is currently generating up to 50kWh per day at a maximum power of 8.2kW at the end of March just past the equinox.
Solaray have arranged for Origin to change the meter and to effect the grid connection in two weeks time.
I can't speak highly enough of Solaray as a company for anyone contemplating a star installation.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Bernard, thanks for the kind words! We pride ourselves on having an amazing install team and im glad they were able to sort out both the solar and storage that worked for you as well. I'll make sure to pass the kinds words on to Chad and the rest of the team from Top Power Electrical. Glad to hear the consumption is doing well and that so far you've had to import nothing from the grid (let's hope it stays that way). Enjoy your solar, storage and consumption monitoring!

12 months later we asked Bernard: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Fifty years ago, my brother and I bought a 170-acre ex-dairy farm in old rainforest country in Southeast Queensland that we worked for the next thirty years. Our intention was to set up a self-contained sustainable living environment using only natural resources. We investigated the possibility of mud brick houses and independent sources of energy supply such as locally generated wind power and harnessing the energy from the water flow in our creek. At that time solar was only obtainable for thermal water heating, but I wished for the day when we might be able to have access to an economic photovoltaic source of electricity. However, I never thought it would happen in my lifetime.

Last year we finally achieved this goal when we installed an 11.2kW system with battery (total $34,000). It consists of 28 400W REC panels all with Enphase microinverters ($17,000) and backed up with a Tesla 2 battery ($17,000). Panels are oriented - 3 North, 14 West and 11 Flat. The installation was organised by Solaray (now 1KOMMA5). The system has performed faultlessly since then and it has not been necessary at all to contact the company for support.

Over the whole twelve months the total cost paid to the retailer Origin for electricity has been a credit of 86 cents (previously $2,242). The tariffs are fixed at: Daily charge 92.554c per day, Import tariff 38.445 per kWh, and Export tariff 7c per kWh. It is only during one quarter of the year, over Winter, that we import any energy at all when the cumulative cost gradually rises to a maximum of $250. During the remainder of the year this amount progressively eroded away to almost nothing (a net credit of 86 cents) during Spring, Summer, and Autumn as a result of a slow trickle of rebates from feed-in to the grid.

As a scientist I have been extraordinarily impressed by the excellent, comprehensive data provided by the Tesla app that has allowed the construction of a complete set of daily charts illustrating various aspects of the performance of the system over the whole twelve months. The insight it provided into the pattern of my previous energy use allowed me to optimise this to reduce it by over 40%. Obviously, I am delighted by the technical performance of the overall system.

However, even though the economics of the system was not a consideration during its conception, I was interested in carrying out a financial analysis using the full wealth of data that was available from the Tesla app. It is well known that batteries are not economic entities yet, but the data obtained did allow me to determine the economic performance of not only the full system, but also of a hypothetical system consisting of the panels alone. In addition, I was able to estimate the economic performance of these two systems if say only half the number of panels had been installed.

Assessing economic performance based on the usual simplistic calculation, of the number of years to “payback” the initial investment, is extremely misleading. Remember you are investing in a wasting asset that will be worth nothing at the end of its life. This is unlike a term deposit that is worth the same at the end of its life as it was at the beginning.
Instead, for a realistic appraisal it is essential to include in the cost, not only what you pay the retailer but also the loan interest if you borrowed, or the lost interest you were previously receiving on the capital you have diverted from say a term deposit, for the initial purchase, as well as amortisation, that is the money you must put aside each year to enable you to replace the battery (in say 10 years) and the panels (in say 25 years) to maintain an operational system.

These are real costs, not just theoretical ones. In my case the full costs are: $4,079 pa:
-$0.86 pa (retailer) + $1,700 pa (forgone interest) + $1,700 pa (battery amortisation) + $680 pa (panel amortisation).

In the case of the system consisting of panels alone (ie without the battery) the full costs would be: $2,093 pa:
$563 pa (retailer charge) + $850 pa (forgone interest) + $680 pa (panel amortisation).

From these figures you can calculate your return on capital (ROC) and compare it to that obtainable from alternative “investments”. I have a spreadsheet that performs these calculations and allows you to assess the interesting effects of, for example, prospective changes in electricity tariffs, removal of government subsidies (+$4,700 on initial capital cost in my case) and even inflation, interest rates and taxation rates. However, it does not consider the falloff in efficiency with time in panels and batteries that would underestimate the complete annual costs. I would be happy to provide the detailed report that includes all the relevant daily charts and also this spreadsheet to anyone who wants it.
Show Details

Simple process and instead quick and seemless

Going through solar quotes helped because it gave me the confidence that the quotes were similar.
The recommendation of trusted companies gave me added confidence in my decisions as well.
All in all it was a good experience, no nasty surprises and the process was smooth.

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Good installer but after sales service horrible.

Sales and quote was good. First installer chucked the job in on the day so I wasted a day off work.
Battery rating: 4/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Jason,

Thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear that the install had to be rescheduled - but am glad it was able to get completed for you in a timely manner.

I see you had an issue with your system that required a Support Ticket and that technicians were sent out to resolve the problem.

I am glad to see that they got it all sorted for you and all is working as expected.

Kind regards,

Krissie
Show Details

Great installer, ok company

Made me pay a deposit before confirming if they could even do the install and then did not take the deposit off the final invoice, which they only sent 45 minutes before close of business the day before it needed to be paid.
But they did install the system how I wanted it, not just a their standard cookie cutter install like others I got quotes from. And the person doing the install was fantastic, although not an employee of the company I signed the contract with, they explicitly stated.

Supplier Reply:

Hi Todd,

I am glad to hear you were happy with your customised system and that the planning team and installer were able to make what you wanted a reality.

We pride ourselves on not being a 'one-size fits all' installer - and really tailoring a system to the homeowner's needs. I am glad that we have been able to deliver on this for you.

Just to clarify - the only reason you were asked to pay a deposit prior to the site visit (which isn't typical) is because you were getting a discounted price which ended on January 31. As Patrick outlined, by paying the deposit you got to keep the January discount - and it was fully refundable should the installation not go ahead for any reason. I'm glad Patrick was able to keep the best price locked in for you in that way!

With regards to the deposit on the invoice - simple human error on that one. I'm glad the team were able to get it corrected for you.
Show Details

Every aspect post sales was extremely poor (pre-installation, installation, support, SYSTEM ITSELF!).

I thought they were bad initially. 6 months later turns out they are SO MUCH WORSE

Go with Solaray at your own risk; if you do, hope nothing goes wrong, that they designed the system correctly and didn't mash together premium products.

tldr; after collecting my deposit, they mucked up my installation. 5 months later, one panel had an issue, took 4 months to fix. They rarely respond to communication. Worst of all, the entire system does not perform as well as expected. After investigating the issue myself, it turns out that they sold me solar panels and inverters that don't match well, so can never produce the expected output. They don't understand the products they are selling! After presenting evidence from Enphase confirming this issue, they've ghosted me for 2 months.

Sections of review:
Installation process
Failure to fix a simple problem
Selling badly matched (but premium/expensive) products
Timelines when trying to contact support

Installation process:

I have non-straightforward requirements due to shading, so wanted to opt for a more "premium" provider, expecting I may need more support.

Before signing up with a deposit, the sales team ensured me (verbally) that they would revisit the panel layout during the installation review process to do their best to optimise the system given the shading issues. After signing up, I asked them to do this again by email and was told they would do so. Shortly before the installation, they came to measure our roof (btw. I wasn't notified of this visit - I just got a knock on the door and fortunately I was working from home that day). At this point, the layout had still not been reviewed - the measurer suggested the current panel layout should be improved. Two days before the installation, I then called to check if it has been reviewed; it still hadn't been reviewed. To their credit, at this late stage they did review it and come up with an alternative layout. The installer on the day said it was "obviously better" than the original layout.

On the installation day, most work was complete, but one piece of equipment didn't work. This was a Friday, he said he would come back on the Monday to complete the job. He obviously forgot, I was at work that day, so was unsure if he came or not, but on Tuesday I received an email stating my installation was complete and asked for the final payment. I assumed he came and that it was working, so I paid them.

However, I was meant to receive monitoring information within 24 hours. I didn't get this.
After 48 hours, I sent an email asking for an update on progress, received no response.
After 72 hours, I tried to call, always went to answer phone.

After the weekend, I remembered the installer told me he needed wifi to complete the system set-up, so I checked my wifi logs. No new connections - they didn't come. So I called again. Tried their support team as well. No response.

Finally I called their sales team (near instant pick-up), and I asked to be put through to the install team, finally got in contact.

The installation team told me the system was completed and working, but just the monitoring wasn't working. But the installer told me he couldn't commission the system without the monitoring, so the system would remain off. I'm not sure who is correct.

They did at least arrange for the installer to return to fix the system. Unfortunately, when the installer returned, he again had some issues with the same hardware. I have called/emailed requesting a progress update, again receiving no response.

After raising this issue on product review, the installation team was chased up (took 3 business days). Two business days later, I received a call from Solaray saying they will come in half an hour. Fortunately, I was home, but more notice would be appreciated. They managed to complete the installation and follow up paperwork.

If Solaray do not complete an installation on installation day, they should know this and do whatever they can to get this completed as soon as possible. If I didn't chase them, it wasn't clear that they were even aware that it wasn't working, or taking any action to complete the installation. Moreover, the way to get through to them shouldn't be through productreview.com. They should answer their phones, respond to their emails, and call you back if you leave a message. None of this was done.

Failure to fix a simple problem:

One of my panels started performing poorly. After first raising this issue, they quickly ordered a replacement Enphase micro inverter under warranty and replaced it. This did not fix the problem, but Solaray did not check it fixed the problem, they did nothing further (I'm guessing they assumed it worked). So a week later, I point this out. They arrange the technician to come again (2 weeks later). This time he just swaps two microinverters. It just moves the problem. They do nothing further. Since then, despite multiple emails they have taken no further action. I spoke to Enphase myself, they think the problem is likely bad connections or cables (makes sense it isn't the inverter), but Solaray seem to have ignored the issue. Eventually after 4 months, simple fix complete. Please see the timeline below.

Selling badly matched (but premium/expensive) products:

Description: My system had Enphase IQ7A inverters. To make the most of these inverters, they need Solar panels with specific characteristics. This information is held in the datasheets of the Solar Panels. One would expect Solaray to select Solar Panels that can get the most out of these inverters, as opposed to clients. Anyway, the panels that they sold me do not match well. So I have inverters that should produce up to 350W, with panels that are rated to 410W. However, I'm only producing 295W. Basically, I'm losing 20% of my performance due to bad matching.

How bad is this? Basically, I paid more for better panels, which actually perform worse and take more roof space than cheaper panels.

How did Solaray respond?
First, they said it was due to shading. My house does suffer from shade, but once I showed images of its performance when the entire array is in full midday sun at low temperatures (ideal conditions), this clearly was not the issue.
Next, they said it shouldn't be an issue because they've sold "many" of these systems before. So their justification for selling a badly designed system is that they've sold many badly designed systems? Perhaps this isn't the smartest thing to say.
Next, they ghosted me.
Next they claimed (without showing any evidence) that Enphase confirmed there is no issue with compatibility and Solar Quotes (who have kindly been helping me) agreed with this evidence. So I contacted Enphase myself, and they confirmed the panel and inverter are not compatible. I forwarded 1Komma5 this email (no action taken since). Enphase also told me that one can check on their website: https://enphase.com/en-au/installers/microinverters/calculator. You have to click customize a module and put in the information from the datasheet of the panel. The panel is Qmaxx G4 410 W, the inverter is IQ7A. So anyone reading this comment can check for themselves and see that this combination results in clipping. So no, they are not fully compatible. I also contacted Solar Quotes who confirmed they didn't accept the 1Komma5's claim of no issue.

Timeline with respect to issue 1 (One inverter/panel started to perform poorly):

24th July – Raise issue
27th July – Solaray start warranty claim with Enphase
3rd August – Technician replaces inverter. Makes no difference. Solaray do not follow-up/verify success
9th August – I follow up with Solaray
16th August – I try to follow up again – Solaray arrange for technician to come again
21st August – Technician visits, makes no difference. Solaray do not follow-up/verify success
30th August – I follow up again with Solaray – Solaray respond, state they will get technician to come again.
4th September – I ask for further updates.
18th September – Solaray state "investigation has been ongoing and unfortunately I have been in and out of the office recently"
21st September – I ask for further updates.
27th September – Solaray state "I do apologise I have been away from the office over the past week and was not able to respond"
11th October – I ask for further updates. Still awaiting reply
22nd November - Issue fixed.

Issue 2 (Panels not fully compliant with the inverters (IQ7A))

17th August – I raise issue.
...unfortunately I'm out of space...similar email attempts to above.
5th December - Send me email saying Solar Quotes, Enphase see no issue with system
8th December - I forward email from Enphase confirming there is an issue. No response from 1Komma5.
11th December - Solar Quotes confirm they did not accept 1Komma5s statement there was no issue

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Decent company that was let down by their sub-contractor

Sales: I selected Solaray / 1komma5 because their sales team was able to factually answer my questions during their site visit - the other companies promised things that weren't actually possible (confirmed by inverter manufacturers). I also liked that Solaray / 1komma5 is a large company who I expect will be around if there are any warranty issues down the track.

Value for Money / Quality of System: I selected an Enphase system because it is inherently safer, provides panel level monitoring (which gives me more information/data if there is ever any warranty issues), and comes with a much longer warranty. My panels, racking, and inverters all come with 25-year warranties (I upgraded the inverter's standard 15 warranty for just a few hundred dollars more, and Solaray upgraded me to their premium black racking which has the higher warranty). Hopefully I won't have to worry about the system for many years to come.

Installation: Solaray / 1komma5 use sub-contractors, which I was fine with - that is how most building work gets done in Australia. Unfortunately, I appear to have been unlucky with the sub-contractor who came to install my system (I won't name names). Here is a list of issues that were detected by me and Solaray / 1komma5: Panels installed in wrong layout, insufficient feet used to secure panel racking to roof structure, roof tiles not grinded where feet are located, cables under panels not secured properly, cables in roof cavity not secured properly, sarking damaged by installers and not fixed, broken roof tile fixed with silicone rather than replacing with one of the spares, Enphase enclosure installed in wrong location, Enphase enclosure broken, 32A main circuit breaker installed in Enphase enclosure for 43A capable system, Enphase enclosure not labelled, no inverter supply switch installed in main switch board, labelling incorrectly applied to main switch board. The summary is that the system was not compliant with the CEC solar installation standards and multiple Australian electrical standards. The sub-contractor did return (a total of three site visits, two different installation teams) and fix some of the issues, but not all. I even had to argue with them to install at least a 50A main circuit breaker in the Enphase enclosure - they said that a 40A breaker on a 43A system "should be okay".

Customer Service: To Solaray's / 1komma5's credit, they arranged one of their own quality assurance staff to come and look at the system after I started pointing to the issues I found with the system, and they have now finally agreed to arrange a new sub-contractor to rectify and certify the system (hopefully that will happen soon). My only real gripes with Solaray / 1komma5 is that it has taken far too many emails to reach this position, and I didn't like the feeling of sometimes being caught between Solaray / 1komma5 and their sub-contractor - my contract is with Solaray / 1komma5 and I expect them to act on my behalf.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 31-03-2023:

Good experience so far

Quotation was prompt and transparent in all respects, installation took place as scheduled, installers were friendly and professional. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Helen,

Thank you for the kind words, I will make sure to pass them on to Adam and the installation team!
Enjoy your solar and years of trouble free, off-grid power!

10 months later we asked Helen: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Has performed beyond expectations, have not needed to contact installer since system went live as we have not needed to. Finally as far as impact on power bills is concerned our last power bill was $17 for three months, including one month where we sold more back to the grid than we bought, including supply charge.
Show Details

Great service, quick clean professional and very polite

The guys were very professional, quick and tidy and very polite and helpful, would recommend this company to friends and anyone wanting to install solar

Supplier Reply:

Hi Linda, thank you for your kind review. Our teams strive to provide the very best customer service.
Show Details

Fantastic Installer

The installer did a great job. They were punctual and polite, while working under extreme conditions (heat).
Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Dear Glenn,
Thank you for your review.
Our installers are dedicated to providing excellent service in all conditions. We look forward to hearing how you are saving from your Enphase solar system.
Show Details

Installed it the day after finance was approved.

Initially wanted it installed on the garage. They were the only company to point out the huge power loss in the run to the metre box.
We now have 10kwts of micro's and the Tesla battery
I have a previous 5kwt micro inverter system and the new micro's aren't compatible with the new so took a week or so to sort it out. To be fair it was the first time they had done such a job and only found the problem when it was turned on.
Really happy with the Tesla Powerwall. Works great and most days we are using no power from the grid at all.
Looking forward to our $1,200 power bills reducing to under $200. Won't take long to pay the system off at that rate.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Peter - Thank you for your review. You are now one step closer to being energy independent. The Enphase and Tesla bundle are both premium options and you will be the talk of the neighbourhood. We look forward hearing your energy savings.
Show Details

Good customer service and very professional. Quick install

Sales quote was good and showed cost breakdown
Install was quick and done in a day
Good customer service and responsive but i had to chase down for documents for a grid connection
Show Details

Tesla Powerwall 2AC solar battery

The quote was provided quickly and the successful installation happened soon after. The only problem is waiting for the promised $750 rebate from Tesla.
Battery rating: 3/5
Show Details

Delivered on what they promised

After a month of searching and selecting we went back to the first provider. There is a lot of hype about quality. Solarquotes was useful to check out.
We obtained a 10 kw system. Quite happy with what it is delivering.

Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Rohan, thank you for your review. We look forward to hearing of your energy savings over summer.
Show Details

Answered all the complicated questions i had

the sales person, Aaron was excellent and stuck with me with all my complicated questions and then that was carried on by the office support team. then the installing sparkies were excellent and did it amazingly so quick.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Mark,
We are pleased Aaron was able to answer all your questions. He is one of our solar and battery experts. With your solar and battery installation, you are now one step closer to being energy independent.
Show Details

Very happy

We are now the envy of the street, installation was very quick and punctual and the staff at Solaray were very patient, as the renovation we were having done took a bit longer than we thought.

Supplier Reply:

Hi Michael, thank you for your great review. You can now tell all your neighbours of the benefits of solar and batteries and becoming one step closer to energy independent.
Show Details

Good sales & installation, at a better price than the competition

1KOMMA5 (Solaray when I dealt with them) were responsive during the planning & sales process, discussed various options and we settled on a balanced system at a decent price compared to competitors, albeit still on the expensive side.

After-sales customer service is too early to tell, giving them a few more days to solve a minor issue with app monitoring. The installation otherwise was done pretty well by subcontracted electricians (Josh Begbie).

Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Thank you Nicolas for your review. We are all excited about the transition into 1KOMMA5.
Our support team is on the case regarding the app monitoring. With your solar and battery installed you are now one step closer to being energy independent.
Show Details

Good experience

Good experience overall. Salesperson provided options and was able to walk me through the pro and cons of each. I had researched a lot during this process so there's a little fatigue about remembering which company was which, but the early dealings with Solaray were positive and they got my business in the end.

Only issue I had was the initial quote featured panels installed on my seperate garage, which I didn't want. Once we went ahead, I repeated my request that the garage not be used at least twice. On the day the installer showed up, his plans included the garage. To his credit, he was able to reassess the roof and called in for some optimisers (which I wasn't charged for) to enable all the panels to be installed on the roof as I'd wanted.

There were some issues with the admin team, seemed to be at least 3 people whose initial email to me suggested they were going to be my contact for the install, and I never heard from them again. Also provided an app to monitor the performance of the system, but with no real explanation of how the app works or what all the values shown actually mean. It provides a basic display that's straightforward enough, but no real explanation how you could use that information going forward.

Supplier Reply:

Thanks Gianni for your review. It was great to hear the installers were able to adapt to a change in panel location on the day. We will endeavour to streamline our administration process in the future.
Show Details

Professional and very efficient installer

1. The sales quoting process was very comprehesive and easy to follow.
2. The installation was very efficient and only took 5 hours for completion. All of the tradies were very punctual and started on time, as well as being very polite and helpful. They did a fantastic job in cleaning up after the installation.
3. Customer service was excellent from the start of our enquiry to completion of the job. They did help organise the grid connection.

Supplier Reply:

Hi Bill,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We endeavour to provide outstanding service throughout the entire process. We are so pleased it was a smooth process and the installers did a fantastic job.
Show Details

Excellent Communication. Incredibly fast turnaround for install, professional staff, understanding of requirements.

Once I was ready to proceed the quoting process was made so easy I was able not make a decision within hours. Communication with sales and the installation teams was incredible and worked a dream. The turnaround was within a couple of days, I couldn't have been more pleased. Installers were polite and respectful and turned up when they scheduled, took into consideration of clients needs and site conditions. The rebate was made so easy and full guide to set up the APP to monitor the panels which is just awesome. Fantastic experience and very very happy.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Maria,
What a kind review! Our office and installation team work extremely hard to provide outstanding customer service.
We are so pleased the installers were able to work with you on the day regarding placement.
Show Details

Timely and Efficient service

Although there was no site visit pre-sale, the communication was very good. Responsive and forbearing with the numerous questions I had.
Installation team were friendly and seemed to have done a great job (no broken tiles).
The follow up visit to get the 3 phase monitoring working was great. Again good communication.
Only let down was that the inverter CB on the switchboard popped and I did not get a response on why that might have occured - however the system has operated effectively once I reset the CB.

Inverter rating: 4/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Jon, Thank you for your review and sharing your good installation experience. The installers do take care not to break any tiles. If the CB trips again, please reach to support who will look into the issue.
Show Details

Great experience and customer service

Very happy dealing with Adam from Solaray. He listened to my needs and requirements and was happy to provide quotes and adjust along the way. Would highly recommend having a chat with Adam.

The install team did a good job and they were very punctual.

Have been able to view my solar production via the app now but for some reason I can't see consumption data from the smart meter that was installed so hopefully that can be rectified.

Supplier Reply:

Hi Jason, Thank you for your review.

Adam is our Melbourne expert who is very experienced and knowledgeable in design and installation.
Our support team is already investigating your smart meter consumption issue.
Show Details

Overall Satisfaction

Solaray was not the best in the quoting process as they hadn't read the brief in respect of a tree that was scheduled for removal. But after we got beyond that they were very good. I went with their solution as it represented closer to what I thought I needed at a reasonable price. I wanted to be able to monitor individual panels so I could assess whether any further tree work may be necessary.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Ross,
Thank you for using Solaray for your Trina and Enphase installation and are pleased you are now able to monitor production using the Enphase app.
Show Details

Solaray installation.

Solaray provided a knowledgeable and realistic appraisal followed by a prompt and efficient installation.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Dear Andrew, Thank you for your review and glad you had a smooth installation. We look forward to hearing about your reduced electricity bill
Show Details

Happy with my Solaray System

Very good pre-sales data and service on the system hardware, commissioning and installation options without any hard sell tactics. After sales services isn’t as responsive. It’s ok, just not as good as the pre-sales service.

Supplier Reply:

Hi Don, Thank you for your review and feedback. We look forward to delivering a positive experience in all areas of our business in the future.
The solar installation is one step closer to being energy independent.
Show Details

Overall great

Overall a very good process. Might be helpful to have 1 point of contact instead of multiple ones but having said that nothing was a problem and all went well
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5
Show Details

Great experience sensible price very fast and prompt

Very happy with this company had a good easy experience thank you
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Lesley, Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to hearing the savings on your electricity bill.
Show Details

Great installer, quality product

Sales process easy and patient with me
Installation guys made the install easy , were on time, cleaned up all the mess after installing
Just waiting for the app etc to happen

Supplier Reply:

Thanks Wayne for your kind feedback. We pride ourselves on great installation teams. We look forward to hearing how you are following the solar production with the app.
Show Details

Original Review on 21-12-2022:

Speedy and professional.

Quote was done online as was the sales process. There was a false start to the installation process but was resumed and completed two days later. Customer service was thorough. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Thanks for the great review Dennis!

Enjoy your system and consumption monitoring.

10 months later we asked Dennis: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes.
Show Details

Great service from Solaray and their installer.

After a few major changes from the original quote, I decided to go ahead without a battery, which may be retro fitted later. Very good service from both Solaray and the installer. The original planned installation was delayed because of sickness of original installer.

Supplier Reply:

Dear Paul,
Thank you for your review and your kind feedback. On the odd occasion installers are unable but glad the installation ran smoothly after a new installer was organised.
Please reach out to us when you are ready for a battery installation
Show Details

Original Review on 19-12-2022:

On the ball

Seamless process with accessible, friendly, professional response. We made final decision based on their accurate depiction and understanding of the roof layout and best possible configuration of panels. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

Supplier Reply:

Hey Sue,

Thank you for your kind words, I will make sure I pass them on to the rest of your team.

Enjoy your solar, Christmas and New Years!

10 months later we asked Sue: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

We remain happy with our decision and the installers. We did not have a north facing roof, so instead we have some panels east facing and some west facing. We were limited by size of these roofs. Grid dependence (yesterday in sunny, hot spring weather) can be around 50%. Winter performance is much less, due to shorter days (around 75%).
Show Details

Very professional

Quote accepted on a Thursday and installation was done on the following Tuesday. The team were very polite and professional. The office has been very helpful with any follow up questions that I have had.
Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Battery rating: 4/5

Supplier Reply:

Thanks Howard for your kind feedback. We are so pleased we were able to schedule your install promptly. We look forward to hearing of your savings from the solar and battery install.
Show Details

Original Review on 08-12-2022:

Great communication and customer service

The sales person was very knowledgeable and quotes were very prompt. Discussing alternatives and adjustments was easy and I ended up with a great solution for my home.

The installers were very efficient and friendly and only took half a day to remove my old system and replace it with the new one.

The application is great - shows me the real picture of how we use energy and has already helped us change habits to maximise use of the generated solar energy.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Greg,

Thanks for the positive feedback! I will make sure to pass it on to the whole team.

Enjoy your consumption monitoring!

10 months later we asked Greg: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system has definitely performed to expectations.

With no battery, you need to rethink some basic things to ensure you maximise the sun's power and reduce the draw from the network

Wash on sunny days ... run the dishwasher on sunny days ... run the AC during the sunny hours and minimise use after the sun goes down ... put a timer on spa heaters and pumps so they only operate after sunrise. Do these things and the difference is hundreds of dollars per bill!!
Show Details

Original Review on 04-12-2022:

Very efficient

Prompt response to quote and left without sales pressure. Well organised, once quote was accepted, their installers were on time, quick and tidy. Online monitoring is excellent. Contacted energy company to arrange meter change, and turned the export straight back on when it was done. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Steve,

Thank you for your kind words, I will pass them on to the rest of the team.

Enjoy your consumption monitoring!

10 months later we asked Steve: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

1 year in and all working well. Enphase sorted out a communication issue so the live status works which is handy for knowing what you can run.
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: