Energy Aware

Energy Aware Reviews

About

Energy Aware is a specialist solar power installation company with operations in Victoria, South Australia, New South Wales, Queensland, Western Australia, Tasmania and Northern Territory.

All solar systems installed by Energy Aware are certified to Australian Standards and installed by Clean Energy Council accredited electricians. In addition, all our solar systems are approved by the Clean Energy Council and supported by Australian based lifetime warranties.

We pride ourselves on offering customers the best value-for-money solar systems on the market. We stock affordable systems for the average Australian home, as well as premium systems for customers with larger budgets.

We help our customers understand the financial benefits of solar power before purchasing. In addition, we provide a fast and straightforward installation service which includes managing all rebates and Government paperwork. For customers seeking finance, we provide direct debit repayment plans for up to 30 months.

Panels, inverter and battery brands

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

Energy Aware Reviews (234)

Show Most Recent reviews from All timeacross Australia

Average Scores

4.0/5

Value for money

4.1/5

Quality of System

4.2/5

Installation

4.0/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 16
  • 4 star 159
  • 3 star 51
  • 2 star 6
  • 1 star 2

View Timeline

Good result, but slow.

Good sales and service. Slow for parts to arrive over summer 2019, then install went ok but couldn't connect due to meter issues. Then covid delays and elec upgrade took ages. 18 months from signing up to turning the system on.
Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Good service and good quality ppl

Good service and hope panels and inverter can stay the period proposed for the money spend
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Poor after sales service

Although initially quite pleased with the process of getting our solar from Energy Aware, we have found them to be lacking when we had fire caused by a faulty DC isolator on our roof, they called it a installation fault and our installation warranty had finished 5 months previous.
Initially when speaking to them I was told that we would be looked after as our warranty was not long ended.... famous last words, we managed to get the repairs covered by insurance and asked Energy Aware to cover the $500 excess, they then pulled “I have spoken to the manager and he said that it was not covered by warranty, so we will not be paying anything”.

DC isolator was supposed to be weather proof, I was told that the fire caused by a faulty DC isolator which they supplied, be careful when dealing with Energy Aware... profits are number one, not my family’s safety, if this was my company I would be very concerned with this happening with systems that I had installed.

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Original Review on 21-11-2019:

Easy to discuss my queries with

Sales and quote was good, the salesperson was helpful and conscientious. The system is yet to be installed so I cannot make further comments. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Richard: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

the system is fine, however origin energy have been difficult to deal with on ALL LEVELS i would not recommend this company to anybody, recently they reduced the feed in tariff to 8 cents a kilowatt. I would like information on battery systems as well thanks.
Show Details

Provided information that was easily understood and worked with us through the process.

Clear and good advice along the way
The installation was well organised and ran like clockwork which was great since I was working from home. The installer consulted with us through out the work which made us really comfortable
We are connected to the grind and fascinated to be able to watch our panels produce electricity over the day

Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Good Installation

Quick and happy to answer any questions

Installation went off without an problems the arrived on time and the workers were polite and explained everything clearly

Grid connection and organised by the company we only has to be here as the inverter is inside out garage we have has no problems. The app on the phone is great and easy to read.
Show Details

Brilliant Electrical Contractor did a very professional Job. Pity about the supplier.

This was a terrible experiance, after getting over 10 different quotes I decided to use energy aware as they had given me dates and agreed to the specifications that I had requested.
We HAD to sign up that day to get the deal and to get it in the time frame we wanted it in.
Application with Tas Networks would be submitted as soon as the deposit was made. [which proved to be very incorrect]
2 points were made very clear,
Completely Black Frames as the panels were on the front face of the house.
A Smart meter was to be installed.
Timeframe was VERY drawn out.
The second lot of panels weren’t much better than the first, and a lower grade panel, to which I really think you should have given us a discount or the extra panels.
A Hybrid Fronius Symo inverter would be installed so I could add Batteries down the track.
Show Details

Original Review on 25-04-2019:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Gary: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Performing well. Only downside is export-limited to 3kw and low feed-in tariff ($0.08)
Show Details

Original Review on 16-11-2018:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 3/5
Customer Service: 3/5

8 months later we asked Ian: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

System working fine. Panels are mounted on roof which is 12 degrees. Wondering whether I should tilt them to 41 (Tasmania). Also fronius smart loses comms occasionally
Show Details

No back up service

After 8 months of emails and phone calls to replace our inverter, under warranty, we are still waiting. They are happy to take your money but when there is a problem they just keep passing the buck. We would not recommend Energy Aware to anyone
Show Details
Price includes a battery as the system is for a farm stock watering project where water is required 24 hours
Show Details
Out of the three companies you put me onto only one got back with a serious quote which was energy aware. One said they would send through a quote but couldn't get onto the job and the other told me up front they were expensive and would send a quote but nothing ever came of it. Energy aware are great to deal with. They have kept me informed through the whole process and haven't installed yet due to rainy weather. I wouldn't get up there either in the wet so I'm happy to wait till the right time for them. Thank you for your help with solar and I found your web page very informative. Cheers Mandi
Show Details

Original Review on 15-06-2018:

Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 3/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Greg: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

yes
Show Details
We bought Trinia panels with SMA inverter. System generates about 28kw a day in summer and 22-24 in winter, so happy with that. Products are great, its the service which is poor. After a storm, cable ties that had broken washed down the downpipe from the roof and caught on the leaf guard. A spanner would appear on the SMA screen saying check insulation and power generator. Sent a photo of the screen to Energy Aware asking for advice....still nothing. Their customer service is poor
Show Details
Energy Aware did not come to the house to quote. Quoted on 20 panels. When the installers came they could only fit 19.

They then said

We have just received word from ###### on site that he is encountering significant difficulties with the tile situation on your roof and this is blowing out install times significantly. There is also an issue with your board and we will need to swap out your main switch. Additional costs come to:

Main Switch: $150
Roof work: $450

They had rung my wife saying the same thing even before the installers had arrived (they later said they were confused with the morning job). Is this a pattern?

The main switch was not changed and the roof has been there for 65 years, so was no different to the time of the quotation.
This claim was ultimately dropped.

The installers came 3 hours late and did not finish. The job was therefore delayed for 3 weeks (christmas) When they came it took the team 6 hours to finish the job so there was no way they could have completed the job in an afternoon on the original visit.
Show Details

Original Review on 19-04-2018:

Will know more when we have it installed late may feel free to get back to us Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: N/A
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 5/5

9 months later we asked Dave: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Overall the system performs well but it often has an error code 48 which we have reported but it was never corrected. This means that the system turns itself off and restarts.
In general we are saving lots of money in power bills which is great and our overall satisfaction is high .
Show Details
Energy Aware gave great information, were timely, and communicative. The other two you suggested were not as thorough and gave us conflicting information. We don't have an installation date yet, but they said it will be in about 2 to 3 weeks. Thanks for all your help. Much appreciated.
Show Details
The company I dealt with didn't quite deliver what they promised, however the sub contracted installer was excellent. The company rang me and advised me the supplier would be there at 8am, and at 9am, I rang them back, to be told that they were having trouble with a forklift and were running a bit late. Installer arrived at 9.10, and advised me that they don't start work until 9am, so never should have been booked in for 8am. Salesman then rang me about 30 minutes after installer arrived, and told me he had just spoken to the installer and they would be there in 10 minutes. I then stopped him and advised him that they were already there, and that I had now been lied to by 3 different staff members. Installer 5 stars, Salesman and office staff 0 stars
Show Details
Our experience at quoting and installation stages was excellent. Installed September 2013 we've had good as expected returns.
October 2018 and our Aurora invertor stops working and displays an error code E031. Call Energy Aware who state "Oh what a shame its one month out of warranty " Around $2000 to replace after only 5 years!! We are in the process of collating our AGL bills to show the invertor stopped working within the warranty period. Lets see how we go??
Show Details
Matthew from Energy Aware & the installation team were all courteous, professional & respectful. The installation was done 2 days ago & no mess was left behind. The Trina Honey panels were installed with a Zeversolar inverter Zeverlution 5000. It's early days but with some reasonable sun today I was able to connect wirelessly & noted attainment of over 22 kWh by 3:40pm. My daily average over the past 2 months was 20.77 kWh so it is looking promising to achieve payback & benefits from the system.
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
Good value for money. Quality panels and inverter, easy installation done in a timely manner
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details

Original Review on 01-09-2017:

Good communication and information. Helpful.
Friendly, competent, efficient installers.
Region - Northern Spencer Gulf. Roof facing due North.
System seems very sensitive and has an output of up to 2.5Kw on August -September days (its maximum is 3.2Kw). Very pleased with this. The new import/export meter hasn't been installed yet and so I can see the current analogue meter going backwards - profit, profit, profit.
Summer cooling is via a ducted evaporative system.
As a small power user overall in a traditional three bedroom house I have calculated that I will pay off my investment in under five years, perhaps even sooner, helped by the AGL feed-in tariff.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Frank: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes. An excellent 3.4kW system.Always provides more power than I use each day. Next step is to add a battery which I couldn't afford when the system was installed.
Show Details
We were late in accepting the quote (by about 8 months) but Energy Aware still honoured the original quote. It took 4 months for them to install the system due to the Christmas break, electrician on holidays etc and a heavy workload, but 3 men arrived one day and it was all installed and up and running by 2.30 that afternoon. Neat job. No complaints.
Energy Aware have provided lots of information about the system and are tracking the installation of our new meter box which is the responsibility of the area energy company.
Show Details
At the start Energy Aware were very helpful and consistently called to find out where we were at with our decision on solar but as soon as the deposit was paid all contact was stopped. After 2 weeks I had to start calling to find out why they had not emailed the deposit receipt and to find out what was happening with our installation. Still waiting to hear when installation will start and I am really starting to have second thoughts about going with Energy Aware.
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
We have ordered system and waiting on installation
Show Details
Show Details
Show Details
There are many variables which impact on the decision ie. panel location, warranty periods, manufacturing origin / reliability, its not just about price. Over Christmas there was limited service
Show Details
System should be installed in a week or 2. 10 kw system. Essential energy limiting me to 5 kw export !!!! Unexpected !
Show Details
Show Details
Installer. Jeremy, did a professional job. All was neat and tidy and exactly as I wanted it.
No rubbish or tools left behind.
Show Details
Show Details
It was a great experience, System so far looks good. just waiting to have it connected to the grid. Great company to deal with. Thanks for all your help and advice.
Show Details
Show Details
Not yet installed
Show Details
Show Details
After asking for a quote, Energy Aware's presentation, paperwork and process was very accurate and easy to understand.
Their installers were professional, approachable and completed a tidy job.
Show Details
I had a wide range of experiences. I actually went for 5 quotes...only 2 from those recommended by Solarquotes. I was given a wide range of information - some a bit confusing and conflicting of others, and a wide range of prices. Every one of them told me they had the absolute best panels and inverters and most of them were different brands. Do your research. I went for a good quality system and got a reasonable price I feel. To be installed in the next week or so, so time will tell.
Show Details
Only received the one quote via your website , found 2 others myself but went with Energy Aware
Show Details
Until now I would have rated the whole system as fantastic, but now that the Clenergy inverter has failed after only 6 years I can only rate it overall as good. The rest of the system and service is fantastic, the inverter is poor. I believe EnergyAware now use SMA and Zeversolar inverters. I see that SMA are excellent and believe the Zeversolar are Chinese made but owned by SMA, so hopefully better than Clenergy. I will report back on my replacement inverter once I have some history.
Inverter rating: 2/5
Show Details
Show Details
Peter in the NT organised everything for us including Gov rebate and connection to grid. All done within a few weeks.
Show Details

Original Review on 09-09-2016:

What people need to be mindful of is not what they want by what their wholesaler will allow. We sought a 5.78 kVA jinko panels x 275 KVA system with a hybrid (solaX) inverter in which to add batteries to the system when affordable but our Wholesaler "Ausnet" rejected the application by the supplier with Ausnet indicating that they needed to protect their poles and wires and that the other .78 KVA could effect the integrity of their system/supply and therefore made a policy to only allow <5 KVA systems . Ausnet are a monopoly in Victoria in which I obtained no satisfaction. Original ratings

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: N/A
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Robert: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes with very few hiccups. Performs as expected.
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: