Tasmanian Energy Company

Tasmanian Energy Company Reviews

DETAILS
93% 0%
4.6

Based on 96 ratings

About

Tasmanian Energy Company is a Solar Power Installation business servicing areas of Tasmania. Here are their reviews as submitted by visitors to SolarQuotes

Reviewers report paying: $7,000 - $12,000 for depending on hardware choice and installation difficulty ( how is this calculated? )

Panels, inverter and battery brands

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

Tasmanian Energy Company Reviews (96)

Show Most Recent reviews from All time

Average Scores

4.7/5

Value for money

4.6/5

Quality of System

4.7/5

Installation

4.5/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 50
  • 4 star 37
  • 3 star 7
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 0

View Timeline

Perfect timing!

Tasmanian Energy Company made it all so very easy for me to go solar.
Clear proposal. Friendly and answered all questions clearly. Very prompt installation and all the installers too were very helpful and so quick. But thorough.

They organised everything for me.

I am so grateful. I see lots of credits going into my aurora account. So glad I went ahead and chose this company.
Suzan

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Suzan,
thank you for your review and we look forward to hearing of your ongoing solar savings!
It has been a pleasure to work with you
Warm regards
Moreeta
Show Details

A really great company to deal with

Quick response to my enquiry. Salesperson came to my place and explained what was required in terms that I could understand. Quick instalment.
Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Elaine,
Thank you for your review as well as choosing a Tasmanian company to install your solar system!
It was fabulous to be able to install your system so quickly, and thank you for accommodating the install change to an earlier date.
Warrm regards
Moreeta
Show Details

TEC good start shaky ending

I obtained 3 quotes all were within $100.00 of each other. All salespeople were friendly and courteous, though knowledge on the size of system and the location on the install of the panels did vary. The quote paperwork assessment was professionally generated. I decided to go with TEC due to the promise by the saleswoman that the company would provide a high level of communication throughout the install process and specifically post install with grid connection and understanding the operation of the solar system with use of the Sungrow App. The electricians that did the install were on time and took pride in their work and left the site tidy . I was informed by the electrician that I would receive a notification email for registration of my account with Sungrow within an hour or two so I could connect the App to the system in order to follow the operating metrics. It has now been over 3 working days since the system has been installed and I am yet to receive the notification email. Over this period I have contacted TEC representatives on 3 occasions , by email, phone and text . I have only received one form correspondence over this time (an email ) asking if I had received the account registration email from Sungrow. I immediately replied by email I had not. I am still unsure if the system is formally connected to the grid or when the system is to be inspected by TasNetworks. Being a novice to Solar electricity generation I was expecting (and was promised) informative and educational post install customer service . In fact with my enquiries to TEC post quotation acceptance and install, response times have been poor and I have had to follow up on each occasion. I hope the system has no faults as I am concerned how TEC would respond given this example of current customer service.
Show Details

Local company also recommended by others.

Quick to quote and not pushy. Explained everything in simple terms. Fast turnaround to installation.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Very professional quote , sales and install service’s

Friendly and informative quote and sales team.
Punctual, efficient installation.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Good price, good system, done quickly

They worked with us to get the panels and inverters we wanted and were quick to install. There was just a bit of mucking around after the installation just to get the app set up and showing us the generation. Overall, we are very happy.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 18-09-2022:

Great Solution and Quote process

Quote process included several phone calls and emails. Towards the final decision, phone conversations resulted in both parties converging to best position.
They started the ball rolling with orders and communication to grid authority very soon after final price agreement
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 3/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Tony: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

No! Not completely to my expectations. I expected that the total solution would be configured to maximize returns on investment. In my case, this would be moving to tariff 93 , or as second alternative, solar feeds onto tariff 41. I have two meters at my house (2 Phase connections) and the solar systems connected to one of the two phases only.
This conundrum did not surface until papers were submitted to the power authority (Aurora) by the installing electrician. Aurora were most helpful explaining the implications of the current setup. At no time during presales, installation, nor post implementation discussions was this limitation explained by the retailer, nor their contracted installer. No solution was ever proposed. After 7 months of operation, I can say that the Trina panels and the Sungrow Hybrid system are reliable, however, the end to end solution is not firing on all cylinders!!
Show Details

Excellent service

From your old supplier TEC
Excellent customer service and very well arranged
Show Details

Happy customer!

The quoting process was excellent. I felt that Justin really understood my needs and helped me navigate the complexity of solar power. A few years back I had got some quotes and been so completely overwhelmed by all the options and variables that I did nothing!
The installation went very smoothly and the team were most helpful in showing me how to connect to the App and turn the system on once my Smartmeter had been installed. There was a minor hiccup when I discovered that my ceiling insulation had not been fully re-instated but they returned immediately, were very apologetic and re-positioned the pink batts correctly.
The Smartmeter was installed 16 days later and I was then able to switch the system on and it worked beautifully until someone switched off the PV Array DC Isolator 9 days afterwards. I'm not sure who did that, it was the day of the inspection, maybe the inspector?! I sent a screenshot of the App to Tasmanian Energy Company and they talked me through turning it back on over the phone. The after hours support I have had from TEC has been fantastic!
Show Details

great installer

great installers, helpful and informative, kept to the advised timelines
Show Details

A good 7.2W installation in Hobart.

The whole process took 4 months. I began by using Solar Quotes assistance in December 2022 and the installation was finished in late March 2023. All three quotes that I was sent would have been satisfactory. The hard part was choosing between them. All were nice informed people. I read the dscussions from SQ and decided to go Trina panels and Fronius inverter. That eased my choice.
The installation was done in 3.5 hours. All very good experienced workers. The electrician from Tas. Energy also sorted out an old decayed cable problem and replaced the switchboard with a modern unit. Farewell to fuse wire safety controls as a result.
Customer service was pleasant and the slowness of the approval process is of course largely due to the government bureaucracy. There were many weeks between inspections and approval. I am still waiting for the new required meter from Aurora energy.

Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Original Review on 04-06-2022:

Personal, friendly and prompt service.

Great to deal with. Friendly and helpful. Went through a range of options and helped us select what was right for our situation and budget. Experienced and thorough installer. Installation was ahead of schedule and the company were very good at dealing with energy supply company as well. Would throughly reccommend. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 3/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Peter: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes it has and I am very glad to have it. The savings are only increasing as energy prices rise.
Show Details

Satisfied customer

Friendly service, listened to what l wanted as it wasn't the usual installation setup and installed very quickly by professional tradesmen.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Great first impression but went a bit downhill.

Sales and quotes were great they came to our door and the agent was really friendly

Then communications went quiet lack lustre, we’d converse over the phone and then a different quote or option was emailed at least 3 times. Lots of rework happened which happened via phone call and then the wrong quote was sent again.

A friend advised that I was being overcharged as they work in Solar (commercial) and I emailed and the price was reduced $1360 by asking this which was surprising and a bit disappointing.

The installation electricians left mess all through our backyard (a protective sheeting that might have covered panels I’m not sure).

Then our hot water wasn’t hot on the Friday evening of the install, I figured it was Tariff 93 and the metre timer. This was incorrect and the hot water cylinder power was wired incorrectly (the hot water power breaker was incorrectly wired into the RCD breaker causing the breaker to trip every time the hot water was turned on) which meant a phone call to an electrician over the weekend that we had to organise.

The people we dealt with were lovely but it took a lot of time and rework that unfortunately we didn’t have.

Another person I know went through the same company around the same time and had zero issues so it could have been bad luck for us.

Inverter rating: 3/5
Show Details

Bad after sale service!

The sales/quoting process and installation were excellent! I just experienced that the after sale service is extremely disappointing. I requested a service call for my two year old Converter five days ago and I am still waiting for someone to attend.
Five days no credits.
Show Details

Easy transaction

All good. Installed according to plan and I have nothing but praise. Very Professional.
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

The system is just what we wanted, and purchasing & installation went smoothly

Justin came to our home for the quote. He is knowledgeable and friendly, and gave us some important factors to think about that we had not been aware of. Moreeta takes a very personal approach with her customers which gave us re-assurance and confidence at all times. The installation was very efficient and tidy .. we changed the lay-out slightly on the day which was not a problem, and the overall look of the panels is really good. Matt was very helpful and friendly throughout the process. All aspects of the rest of the process were completely looked after when the system was installed .. the technical inspection has been arranged, the tariff change and grid connection has been sent through to our supplier. Very happy with the purchase.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

First class

Spoke on phone and then had personal visit. We felt Moreeta was completely genuine and made us comfortable and we didn’t feel pushed. Nick arrived on time, explained the process and how they needed to go about it. They completed the job promptly with minimal inconvenience and left no mess behind. Grid connection was not a problem as we already had a smart meter installed from our power provider. We chose not to go on tariff 93.
Our system has since been inspected for quality. Inspector really impressed.
Our son was impressed and has now had a system installed also as has a friend after our recommendation.

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Quality System, fast turn around from quote to installation

Excellent company, very pleasant to deal with, kept me well informed on each of the steps for installation, system is functioning beautifully, excellent app to view all the details and solar panel history, highly recommend.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Excellent company

Out of the three companies I received quotes from, the one from the Tasmanian Energy Company was the most reasonable and Moreeta was the only manager who came to my home. She was friendly, knowledgeable and immediately inspired trust. We had several discussions as I wanted an 8 kw system and she found the right solution to achieve that. The system works very well. In good sunny days has already produced over 50 kw and I’m sure it will pay for itself in 3-4 years.

The installer, Nick, did it all by himself; he had to come back the next day as work was interrupted by rain. He explained clearly how the inverter works and helped me install the app on my phone.

Thank you, Moreeta and Nick! You are a great team. I was very happy to work with you and I would recommend you wholeheartedly.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Friendly and efficient

TEC where very good to deal with and I would recommend them as a professional solar installer.
Show Details

Recent Solar Installation

Had some hiccups getting the installer on site. Initially I took time off work to meet with them only to find out 2 hours after they were due that they would be a further 2 hours. Office support was very apologetic and lovely but still was an inconvenience! Dropped equipment off that afternoon and installed next day. Installers were efficient and tidy. 7.8 kW system so far has produced 5.8 kW at best in full sun. Would like to have seen more effort in looking at and advising about shading over the year. Not convinced that I have the optimum arrangement in terms of location of the panels.
Show Details

Great all round service

Everything done very professionally; quotation, communication and installation. Great job. Thanks
Show Details

great communication and timely progress

The quoting process was professional and turn around was excellent. Good customer service and attentive follow up. There was consistent contact on a timely basis. The install process was slightly longer than expected but there were good reasons for this that were clearly explained. The install team were good communicators and professional.
Overall, the job was done well and exceeded expectations.
Show Details

Complete Satisfaction

We have just started reaping the rewards for our new Solar System wow the savings in the first week with little sunshine!!!! Over half our normal charges!!!

Moretta and the team were so helpful, the installers were efficient and so easy to get along with, we had a meter box upgrade as well. The electrician explained the whole system and set up in layman’s terms that we could so easily understand.

Lots of research was done before we selected Tas Energy, I would wholeheartedly recommend the team, anyone considering getting solar power would not find a better system or group of professionals in Tasmania.

Well done, oh and thank you for getting us such huge savings on our power bill.

Stephen

Supplier Reply:

Hi Stephen,
What a fabulous review it has been a pleasure to work for you and your family. Congratulations on your new system and I look forward to hearing of the positive impact it will have on your power bills.
Kind regards
TEAM TEC
Show Details

Good value system

Very happy so far. Best daily generation so far is 47kWh.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Philip,

Thank you for your review we are thrilled to share the solar revolution with you! Wow, 47kWh is a great result for early days.
A huge thank you from Team TEC xx
Show Details

Fantastic installer

The sales and quoting was great they suggested 18 panels 7.47 KW System instead of a 16 panels 6.64KW System and made sure they got the most panels on the north side and when the installers where there they went through the best options.The installers were very polite did a good job explained how it worked an answered my questions .they came on the day and I received a call to say they were on there way, they tidied up after they finished.
Moreeta was very good on customer service has answers all my calls and got back very quickly and helped get the grid connection .

Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Peter,
Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review, most appreciated. Our installers work hard to provide the very best outcomes for panel placement. I look forward to doing a bill review in the coming months to go over your system performance and the impacts of solar on your power bills.
Thank you again
Show Details

Excellent installer

The quotation was clear and precise.
The installation was completed very quickly.
The installer was informative and polite.
Show Details

Friendly and efficient with a Tasmanian flavour

TEC served us very well at particularly busy time of year, and a spike in demand from recent Energy Saver loans. Installation was delayed slightly due to inclement spring weather, and Nick found solutions to panel placement on our difficult roofline on the day. Connection to our recently installed an Aurora smart meter was very prompt so the system was operational (and exceeding expectations) from day one, but still need some support with iSolar monitoring App.

TEC maybe need a little more admin/tech support to keep up with demand, but Moreeta was always very friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend them.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Fantastic installer, lovely people

We were really pleased with Tasmanian energy Company. Mooreta was always very helpful, the installers were great an most importantly the system works brillantly. We now have the solar panels, battery and heat pump water heater that means our bills will be negligible, and most importantly we are making a positive contribution to stop climate change.

Dr Peter.

Battery rating: 5/5
Show Details

Good value

Was impressed with product and installation. Had to make a few phone calls to drive process.
Show Details

Original Review on 07-01-2022:

Easy process

TAC responded promptly to Solarquotes process. Company rep Moreeta gave good advice on approach given constraints. Communication about progress and timetabling after we placed order could have been more proactive on the company's part. Installation by Nick was punctual and he was focussed, communicative and professional. His work was commended by Government's safety inspectors.

System has chugged along since installation and would be happy to recommend company any time
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Dan: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes doing what we expected and trouble free
Show Details

Good valued service. Decent quality

Moreeta was the only came to my house and did an inspection and a face to face consultation. The price was good valued and in an affordable range. The installation was very neatly done. There was a couple small things which didn’t go as planned however it did not bother me at all. Highly recommended!
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Southern Tassie Solar.

Very rapid instal by efficient and tidy crew.
Was ticked off by the independent electrical standards body soon after.
The system is a good quality Chinese panel and inverter. Noted the same size systems have increased in price by nearly $2000 in 12 mths. All being equal it will still pay itself off in savings,albeit a little longer.
Good to feel a little control over rising energy market!
Show Details

Original Review on 01-11-2021:

Switch made easy

Easy to understand and no fuss. The installation was delayed only by Tasmanian spring weather and was complete in less than a day once the weather permitted.
Absolutely no regrets and I very much appreciated the help of Fin Peacock as we had no idea where to start.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Annette : "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Exceeded expectations!
Show Details

Very efficient installation

Great installation but Moreeta is lovely but seems a bit disorganised. Told me wrong day for installation and didn't send updated quote in wiring after change of panels.
Show Details

Review

Good all round service. Prompt quoting from sales. Very good installer.
Show Details

Smooth process

Was happy with the quote and prompt service.
Installation went smoothly.
Great customer service.

Supplier Reply:

HI John,
thank you for taking the time out to review, it was a pleasure working for you. Please don't hesitate to be in touch over the next few months for a bill review or solar chat!
Kind regards
Moreeta
Show Details

Great install, working well

We chose this supplier for the fact they could supply Fronius inverters and QCell panels. The installer worked hard for a full day and he was very considerate about where he put the inverter to make sure it stays cool. There were a few hiccups setting up the Fronius app but Moreeta gave us links to great videos to help us.
We didn't pick the cheapest install, going for what other Solarquote users have suggested about aiming for a quality install foremost.
Moreeta is helpful and helped calm our nerves about getting solar for the first time.
I think Expert Electrical would have been our next pick for an installer but they couldn't provide Fronius inverters.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Fantastic Experience

Professional, friendly, easily contactable, very obliging, couldn’t fault Moreeta and the team.
After our 3rd bill, we now have a credit on our account, we are getting paid for the feed in.
Couldn’t be happier.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 06-04-2021:

A satisfying experience all round.

Similar from most companies. Could not fault installation.

Everything organized for us. We just had to be available for installation etc.

All connected today. Very happy.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Danny: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Better.
Show Details

Good well priced solar system

Well priced system with a good sales process by a friendly and professional company.

They helped with all aspects of install including organizing grid connection and meter upgrade. There was a mix up with the install as they arrived a week earlier than agreed - but this wasn’t an issue for me.

I’d recommend this supplier
Show Details

Original Review on 14-03-2021:

Great service!

This company is very professional and goes the extra yard to provide excellent service. The documentation I received as part of the quote was very enlightening. The installation was very smooth, great people, tidy, punctual, and they showed me how it worked. The customer service has been great. They are organising the grid connection after the install, I am waiting for the electricity supplier to contact me so that this can happen. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Nic: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

I am very pleased with the reduction in my electricity bills. However, I am not sure yet whether I am getting the full benefit of the 5.6 kw service. Yesterday nearly hit 5 kw, but I'm not sure the positioning of the solar panels is optimal. Perhaps in mid-summer I will know more.
Show Details

My Solar experience

The whole process went very well from receiving the quotes to final installation.

We were given several quotes all designed to help us make the best choice for us with loads of options and we were given all the information we needed to make the right decisions, we appreciated the guidance from someone who knew what our solar goals were.

Installation was made to fit our schedule and was done very neatly which was good for us also.

All in all a positive experience.

Thank you Tasmanian Energy Company

Supplier Reply:

Hi Hellen,
thank you again for your decision to choose Tasmanian Energy Company as your solar provider. It has been delightful to work for you.
No doubt you will enjoy sunny days more from now on!!
Cheers Moreeta
Show Details

7.7kw System

Competitive pricing for the system, excellent communication and customer service throughout. Install went to schedule and with no issues. Moreeta and team have been fantastic deal with from from get go, taking care of pretty much every aspect of adding a solar system to our home. Would definitely recommend.

Supplier Reply:

Hi Phil,
Fabulous to work for you and delighted that your solar is now in place on your new home. Such a good decision to go solar and look forward to seeing your power bill going down!!
Moreeta
Show Details

Delivered what was promised.

Very happy with the system supplied, from the professional and friendly staff to the efficient and very helpful and accomodating installers.

Supplier Reply:

Dear Bronwyn, thank you for your review and decision to choose Tasmanian Energy Company as your solar provider. It has been a pleasure to work for you both and I look forward to hearing the positive results on your power charges now that you have solar.
Moreeta
Show Details

Great Customer Experience

From Start to Finish, the initial quote was done quickly and efficiently. I was kept in the loop at all times regarding Time frames and any delays. Installation was smooth and Installer was Friendly, Punctual and provided good advice.
System was checked and approved by the appropriate Authority within 2 weeks of install.

Supplier Reply:

Hi Craig,
It has been a pleasure working with you to install solar on your home. Thank you for your business and I look forward to hear of the positive impact of solar on your home.

Warm regards
Moreeta
Show Details

Efficient, to the point and knowledgeable

The quote I received from Niranya through Tastec was the best I’ve received in the last 2 yrs of searching for a reputable solar supplier in Tasmania.. no mucking about.. understood my needs and understanding of solar as I’ve had it before.. and did NOT “hang around” for hours doing the hard sell as most companies do! Loved the fully fem interactions as Moreeta has been fantastic with following up with the whole process.. and clarifying any questions I had.. Installation was seamless just waiting for the new power box and connection to the grid.. soo can’t wait for my first charges to come through.. then I can fully comment on the overall experience! Can’t fault it so far!
Show Details

Awesome service

Moreeta was fantastic to deal with and made the whole process easy.

Nick who installed the system did a great job and was able to offer a solution last minute with a hiccup we had on the morning of Installation that was our fault.

Between him and Moreeta we were able to go ahead and have everything done that day.
Installation from the time we first met with Moreeta was very fast and efficient. We couldn't be happier with the service.
Show Details

A genuine company you can trust

I am beyond happy with both the product and the level of service I received from Niranya, Moreeta and team. The quote I was provided took into consideration the requirements of my home now and into the future, and offered me only high-end, trusted systems while factoring in my budget (which I made sure was realistic based on my own research).

The team is professional and genuinely care about their customer's needs. The installation was quick and I appreciated the expertise of the installers who consulted with me when required and happily answered my questions.

Moreeta consistently went above and beyond to ensure that she could deliver the best outcome, and in fact exceeded my expectations. The team are transparent and honest from the get-go. They took care of every aspect of the installation, including paperwork, liaising with power company, explaining finance options and connecting to the grid.

I cannot recommend Tasmanian Energy Company enough. They are a Tasmanian business, offer the most up-to-date products and expertise but with the best kind of old-fashioned customer service - a caring local company you can trust!

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: