ECG Electrical

ECG Electrical Reviews

DETAILS
97% 0%
4.8

Based on 238 ratings

About

ECG Electrical is a Solar Power Installation company based in Canberra and serves ACT. Here are their reviews as submitted by visitors to SolarQuotes

Reviewers report paying: $10,000 - $13,000 for depending on hardware choice and installation difficulty ( how is this calculated? )

Panels, inverter and battery brands

Battery brands currently installed

Battery brands previously installed

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

ECG Electrical Reviews (238)

Show Most Recent reviews from All timeacross Australia

Average Scores

4.8/5

Value for money

4.8/5

Quality of System

4.9/5

Installation

4.9/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 154
  • 4 star 81
  • 3 star 3
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

View Timeline

Original Review on 24-02-2023:

Purchase and installation of solar system

A good company to deal with. Office staff were helpful and they organised a quote quickly. Installation was delayed for 2 months due to a backlog of work caused by wet weather. They came 2 days ago and finished the job in one day. The system is working well and the monitoring app is very useful. The fellows who installed the system were polite and to my eye the work looks neat and tidy. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

12 months later we asked Rex: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes. I received a credit on my last electricity bill. The system is operating close to the estimated annual as per the quotation. ECG Electrical have provided excellent service and responded quickly when I reported a roof leak which was fixed and arranged to have damage to the ceiling fixed including repainting the ceiling.
Show Details

Super helpful company. EXCELLENT SERVICE.

Very happy with the informative advice and responsive service. Thrilled with the quality and price. Tidy. Punctual. Polite. Answered my multitude of silly questions with patience, and were very helpful.

I will be using them again for additional work. (Replacement of hot water system from gas to electric.)

Haven't bought a battery yet. Waiting to learn more about our usage pattern to decide whether it's worth it.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

ECG did a Great Job, recommended for the ACT region

ECG did a pretty good job of discussing quotes and options throughout the whole process. They organised the grid connection and meter upgrade and that all seemed to go smoothly.
I will definitely give a shoutout to their installation crews. They installed a couple of standard powerpoints in my garage (it previously only had one) and changed the line from the garage to a separate circuitbreaker (previously linked to another section of the house) at my request on the day. The day of install also had multiple small showers interrupting the installation. Towards the end of the day, they called in additional hands and managed to get the install done before sunset. Great Lads, much appreciated.
Show Details

Still very satisfied after 2.5 years

We received 3 quotes through Solarquotes and selected ECG Electrical on the basis that the person who came to talk to us was actually a manager in the business and not a salesperson regurgitating pre-prepared material. We also liked the fact that they actually employed their own installers rather than using contractors.

The quote wasn't the cheapest but we thought it was the best offering.

The installation occurred as scheduled and we have no complaints about the workmanship.
The site was actually left cleaner than when they arrived.

We have had one minor problem with the inverter which they attended to in a timely manner.

We were quoted a maximum daily production of 70 kW. We have actually achieved 82+ on some days.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Hassle Free!

ECG were very prompt in quoting our system after initial contact with SolarQuotes. One of their techs organised a site visit and walked me through the options and best fit for our home.

Come installation day the techs had great communication and cleaned up after themselves.

The quality of the install looks great and I am very happy with the result.
Show Details

Quality Solution

We obtained quotes from three suppliers arranged by Solar Quotes. While all three were helpful, knowledgable, and prompt, we chose ECG as the best fit to our requirements despite not being the lowest cost. The service throughout has been professional, on time, and considerate. ECG sought fewer exclusions than the other two (such as tile replacement, arranging meter replacement, and dealing with cutover). In practice, the solution is working well, has been trouble-free, and the efficiency aspects of the system has resulted in significantly higher output, easily justifing the additional cost.

Note: The cost (below) includes two systems (with separate inverters) including a separately-metered granny flat so the price is a bit misleading.
Show Details

Original Review on 20-12-2022:

Very happy with the system.

The process with both quotes was very satisfactory. Responses were quick and all were helpful. The installation happened much sooner than we anticipated, which was a good thing. the installers were friendly and quite knowledgeable in their respective fields. ECG were ere quick in organising all connections. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Stephen: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system has performed excellently since the installation on 23 November 2022. We continue to achieve very good energy gains from the solar panels which in turn has resulted in significant reductions in our energy bills.
Show Details

ECG Electrical - a great experience from 1st contact to install. No regrets using them.

Nobody (that I know of) enjoys having to employ trades people to do work on their homes, but it is a necessary evil if you need a service. The concern of mess left behind or being late or not turning up at all and other issues is always on your mind.

For my solar install (Canberra region) I went with ECG Electrical and I can say I was more than impressed with entire process from 1st initial contact through their website, right through to the install process. Everything went smoothly, no problems with a thing. I was kept notified of the process of paperwork and install date and it all went smooth. From initial contact to install was no more than 4 weeks or so.
The installation team were excellent, very respectful and helpful. I have a slightly difficult shaped roof and nothing was a problem for the team and they installed a really neat system in the way I was hoping for. This varied from the initial “sketch” layout done with mapping from the office.

The install took about 6 hours to install including the morning layout planning. It included 18 panels and inverter alongside an older system. It was up and fully running before they left and it has just worked with no concerns.

I’d recommend ECG in a heartbeat to anyone, and I rarely recommend businesses or services to anyone as everyone’s experience may vary, but this business is set up well and has a very strong business etho’s.
It’s a shame that not every business works to this standard, but when you find one they stand out.

I’m very happy with my choice.
ECG is on the Solar Quotes recommended installers, but oddly was not one of the one’s recommended to me.

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

ECG installer

Great service. Flexible installation dates/timing. Punctual, efficient and pleasant to deal with on the day. Everything works as planned.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Friendly, attentive and resolved all issues/changes without fuss.

They were the only company that payed attention to some of the specifics I asked for at the beginning.
Over the course of asking questions and making changes to the system a few balls were dropped, but everything was resolved and they were courteous at all times.
They did their best to minimise or remove all forms/administration (and the obligatory listening to hold music when calling government offices).

There has been one glitch in the system since install, called them and it was resolved. No idea what it was though, hopefully a one off.

Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Original Review on 23-08-2022:

ECG Electrical are Canberra’s best solar systems suppliers and installers

ECG Electrical PTY LTD in Canberra. They were the only ones of the three companies to quote.
ECG are supplying and installing:
19 Trina 415w panels
6kw SolarEdge SE6000H Genesis Inverter (and panel optimisers)
Consumption and WiFi monitoring
Tesla Powerwall 2
EvoHeat Heat Pump 270 litre hot water service
Installation of solar and heat pump hot water is happening today 24 August 2022 and Tesla Powerwall 2 end of September early October due to supply delay.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 1/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Bradley: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system has exceeded my expectations and we have not had to pay anything for our energy since it was installed. The system supplies a three bed two bath house including charging a Tesla Model 3 each night.
I particularly like the use of solar optimisers. However, the inverter completely died after six months. ECG replaced it under warranty within one week.
I also wasn't informed about the Tesla battery supply delay of 4 months until after I signed the contract with ECG and paid a $2000 deposit for the battery.
Show Details

Highly recommend the ECG team

Very professional from start to finish. Sales team were helpful and knowledgeable and happy to answer all my questions and explore options with no pressure to purchase or "option up". The installation team were friendly and professional, listened to my concerns and made sure I understood what they were doing, how my system would work, and the next steps - and left the site clean and tidy!
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Professional, friendly and efficient

I found all ECG staff helpful in answering questions; they arrived on time for an onsite quote and when installing the system; and with a follow up call
Show Details

Original Review on 04-07-2022:

Happy to recommend ECG

I had the quote done remotely (without an onsite visit) and it worked brilliantly. I provided a photo of the meter box as requested and that was it. I had a detailed quote within hours.

The telephone dealings with the office was excellent and the paperwork flowed easily.

The team arrived on time which is a great sign being prompt. The Installation went very well and I was consulted/kept informed as needed. BTW, I was at home on the day. The installers were polite, well mannered and efficient. They kept the backyard clean and removed any rubbish from the packaging.

I had arranged for the smart meter to be installed prior to the PV install and so I had the system fully up and running on the day. I had the system demonstrated to me including setting up the WiFi app.

I am very pleased that I engaged ECG for my PV and I have no hesitation to put their name forward to my friends.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

11 months later we asked Tim: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

With the help of SolarQuotes in filtering the chaff from the straw, I am very pleased with the panels and Goodwe inverter from ECG, and the Sungrow battery and hybrid from Innovate Energy
Show Details

Installed 2 years ago. Cannot fault sales process, installation, after sales service

The sales process was first rate. The person who came to talk to us knew exactly what he was doing and understood all of the options - it was not a scripted presentation as others had been.

Installation was completed on the agreed date. Very professional. They actually left the site cleaner than when they found it.

We have had some minor questions/issues since but ECG have resolved all of them quickly and efficiently.

Cannot recommend highly enough

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Good installer, happy with the system

I got a lot of value through the SolarQuotes site in building my understanding of what I wanted out of a solar system, comparing options and getting information on installers. ECG worked with me during the quoting process to refine the solution based on my questions and feedback. They showed flexibility when parts were not available through offering different options at no cost. The install team had good communication and did a thorough job in the expected time. The system has been operating without issue for four months.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Great team

Very efficient, friendly and knowledgeable. They installed the panels and inverter in a few hours, explained everything and had me up and running very quickly.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Poor Communication, Changed specifications

The quotation process went well, the sales process not so much.
I was quoted for 36 Trina Hone 330 panels and was delivered 29 Trina Honey 370 panels as they were more powerful. In fact, they were just larger and reduced my production from 11.88Kw to 10.73kW. I'm limited by the size of my roof. I screwed this up as the quote still had 36 panels listed. When I queried this on installation day, I was told that "they are bigger panels and the 330 panels are no longer available".
Yes, they are bigger panels, in size, which is how they are higher rated, my error in not insisting on a resolution before I made payment.
The inverter installation had some issues, as this was a very new Fronius Gen24+ 10kW and smart meter. Some minor issues with getting the smart meter to talk to the inverter, resolved the next day by ECG.
I discussed battery options with the team, as it is my intention to instal a 13.8kWh HVM BYD. This is the only certified battery for the Fronius Gen24+.

I asked for information regarding the wiring required to install the battery to the system and house and was informed that I should run 4 additional 10 mm2 from the installation to the main switch box. This is not required as the battery connects only to the inverter, the inverter carries the power to the main switch box.

I later requested ECG for a further quotation for the battery. I had one call that indicated for sure, can be done. After receiving no follow up, I contacted ECG via email and my response was that they did not provide BYD batteries.

i am currently looking elsewhere for the battery.
I purchased the Fronius Gen24+ as it is the only inverter on the market, that I am aware of, that provides a one-stop solution. Panel, battery and full backup capability.

I'm very happy with the system, notwithstanding the reduction in production. I am waiting now for certification of the BYDE battery for use with the EverGen VPP.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Good quality workmanship, no surprises.

The quoting process was smooth. I was initially put-out by the online-only interactions, but all my questions were answered in detail (by email and phone) without "sales" language.

My scheduled installation was about 2+ months after accepting the quote, not ideal, but I appreciated the integrity of the scheduling process and they confirmed with me a couple of weeks before the install. Install went reasonably smoothly on the day. On Install day there were issues with my Powerwall battery connection to Tesla, they came back the next day and spent a couple of hours on the phone with Tesla to resolve the issue.

All-in-all a good quoting and install experience. I would recommend ECG for solar panel and battery installations.

Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Original Review on 24-01-2022:

Fantastic to deal with and Craig was very good at stepping through the process

ECG Electrical were really good through out the process and one of their senior directors was the main contact once the quote was accepted and the deposit paid for. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Somaskanthan: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

After about 10 months of installation the system is still going strong and I haven't had any reason to call the installer, which is great.
Show Details

Quick and easy.

The whole process from start to installation was smooth and easy.
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Excellent information, very efficient installation, and very friendly service

ECG were very informative, professional and friendly during the quoting process, and this was replicated during the installation process. The installers were on time, efficient, and cleaned up everything perfectly when they left. They also helped me become familiar with the system and getting information from the inverter. We'd highly recommend them.
Show Details

Original Review on 13-01-2022:

Quality v quantity.

The bosses were very informative about the system I thought I needed and explained the pros and cons of panels and inverters. I already had some ideas of solar but found your blogs etc very informative. I was recommended this supplier from another person who is using them and was very pleased with their attitude and experience. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked George: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes very happy. Still in contact with the installers who check up from time to time.
Show Details

Great job

Simple and easy process. They were happy to provide updated quotes when I decided I needed a larger system. They did not come to my home at any point until it was time to install, but neither did any of the other quotes we got.

Installation was quick and simple over 1 day. Price was very competitive. They are very busy at the moment and I understand there are some supply chain issues, but we didn't have any issues for our install.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Great Outcome

Great team across the board, very easy process, our job was fast tracked due to a cancellation. Very friendly professional service. Love your work :)
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Excellent service, friendly and professional.

Chris and his team were great. Answered all my questions, discussed with me the intent of the instal and followed up after the job was complete. Still haven’t pushed the unit to its full potential due to cloudy days, but looking forward to the ongoing savings it will offer.
Thanks ECG Electrical.
Show Details

Limited Opinion

As our solar panels haven't been installed yet, I am not able to provide a balanced view on things asked here.
Show Details

Super quick installation!

ECG contacted us very quickly and provided two quotes for two different sized systems. After we decided to go ahead and officially accepted one of the quotes, our system was installed within 72 hours. We were thrilled at how quick it was! On the day the team who did the installation were polite, neat and really friendly.
Show Details

Original Review on 11-10-2021:

Great system and service

Brilliant experience from start to finish. Answered every question I had. Went above and beyond. Solar already making a noticeable difference. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Ian: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system has been amazing. One day I'll add a battery to assist during winter months where we are out of home during the daylight hours.
Show Details

The company was a pleasure to do business. It was efficient in its process from quotation installation inspection with govt agencies and had us connected and operation in a very short time.

The initial site inspection, quotation processes were will organised and software was well integrated. Very friendly and very well informed and efficient staff. Installation was good and careful to site collectors correctly on a frame to maximise performance. Software to do this was readily used by staff. Final testing and checking with govt authorities and power company was done smithy and quickly. Delighted with company.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 03-08-2021:

All round great experience

From sales to installation they de bunked all the techno speak so I could make a decision on what suited my small property and at a budget that suited me. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Grant: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes, although I have not been through a winter cycle I can see the savings.
Show Details

Great Installer and knowledgeable staff. Very helpfull

Quoting process from all recommended companies as timely and efficient.
Installation was done earlier than originally quoted due to a slot becoming available.
Installation was fast, professional and tidy.
Information flow was good and post install follow up and service was excellent.
All the ancillary services were organised with no fuss.

Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Everything just happened and now I have solar

ECG were extremely patient with our questions and very prompt with answers any time during the quoting phase. Knowledgeable about the product and local regulations the installation happened in one day with a small army of people. They went the effort to ensure the inverter was in our preferred location, even if that required extra effort from them. They also followed up to make sure we understood the system and how it worked.

They arranged through our electricity distributor to have the meter changed early, and this happened the day after the installation.

In short the service was excellent, they used the same brands/models of panels and inverter as the other quotes, but were slightly cheaper.

The commissioned system seems to be working exactly as described in the quote.

Overall very happy.
Show Details

Review of Solar Panel and Inverter Installation by ECG Electrical

The quoting process was seamless and a site inspection prior to installation was carried out promptly and efficiently.
The installation was carried out in a courteous and respectful manner by all employees and the customer service was exemplary. The grid inspection and approval process was carried out promptly. However, we have had a 10 week wait for Origin Energy to install the smart meter which will not occur until 22 March 2022.
Show Details

Good despite the circumstances

We wanted to add a second pv system with battery (old system 10 years old 3.42Kw). With the ACT Government's Sustainable Household scheme we sought three quotes and based on the quotes supplied and a recommendation from an electrician friend, chose ECG Electrical.

Original install date of 5 November 2021 was washed out with heavy rain. Then more rain. Then Omicron lockdown. Did I mention more rain? Eventually the stars aligned and our new system went up. The crew were great, cleaned up well and the system was commissioned the next morning. The app for monitoring works well (caveat, ECG ran an ethernet cable to my router). Board upgrade was done as well and it was a very tidy install. Cable management was done well.

ECG crew had to move a couple of whirlybirds and a tv antennae and made sure the job was done well.

Would recommend overall but the communication from the office to the client needs a bit of an upgrade.

Panel rating: 5/5
Show Details

Good customer interaction

I had my system installed by ECG under the ACT Sustainable zero interest loan scheme. I originally received a quote from ECG for a 6.6 kW 18 panel system in March 2021, but was holding off until the ACT zero interest scheme started. Knowing I'd eventually install a solar system, I arranged for a no cost upgrade to a smart meter in April 2021.

When the ACT scheme started I decided to add a battery to the install. ECG were one of the approved companies for the scheme.

They re-quoted and answered my questions so I could easily understand. I'm sure they are asked similar questions all the time. I decided ECG were my preferred installer. I completed all the zero interest loan paperwork then received an install date. Two days before install, the ACT went into a long lockdown. Early September ECG made contact and the system was installed on 20 September.

The installation went flawlessly. They arrived on time and were finished with the system generating electricity by 4:30 pm. The installation team were hard working, courteous, and did a very good job. They left the place clean and tidy.

The installation was done on the last day of my billing cycle so I was able to do some comparisons. Even though I have an 8 cent feed-in tariff, my December bill was in credit, due mainly to the 10.7kWh battery system.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5
Show Details

Friendly and efficient service.

Installed the system at very short notice. Punctual. Good service. Excellent follow up. Very tidy, didn’t leave a mess behind.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Really good customer service and expertise

We have not had our system installed yet, but have signed the contract. Very happy with the quoting process, the salesperson was very knowledgeable about all the options and variations we could choose, as well as answering some questions I had about different ways to arrange the panels. Not the cheapest system we had quoted, but from reaching out to my contacts in the industry, it appears that these guys are using the better type of inverters and panels, and the system overall seems to be a very good quality and appropriately scoped product for our needs.
Show Details

Original Review on 31-03-2021:

A very good system for a very good price.

Very prompt, informative and helpful service. A better system at a lower price than from other companies. Installation was on time and trouble free. The performance of the system since installation is fully meeting our expectations. I also appreciated the lack of any sales pressure or attempts to persuade from the representatives of this company. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

9 months later we asked Bob: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

9 months after installation, the system as whole continues to perform to expectations. I am very satisfied with the system.
Show Details

Original Review on 02-06-2021:

ECG Electrical Solar Installation

Quote and sales were excellent. Installation was on time (early in fact) and tidy. ECG organised the electricity provider to install a new smart meter and master switch. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

6 months later we asked Wayne : "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Completely met expectations regarding generation, self-consumption and rebate credits.
Show Details

Fantastic customer service, very happy with installation

The sales/quoting process was great, I had a couple of placement changes and many questions, nothing seemed to be a problem. The installation was very professional. Turned up on time, cleaning up and very polite. The customer service was excellent by all.
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 25-03-2021:

Easy quoting and install process

All our dealings with ECG were good. All dealings with ECG were pleasant, punctual and the site was left clean and tidy. ECG have been very easy to deal with. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

8 months later we asked Jenny: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes!
Show Details

Original Review on 23-03-2021:

Brilliant installation and advice

The decision to install solar was assisted enormously by the guidance, sound advice and experience of ECG Electrical. Their reps and their installers were efficient, knowledgeable and patient with us. The installation itself went as planned and was remarkably uneventful. ECG's warning about the addictiveness of its monitoring software has proven true and we waste a lot of time watching numbers on a screen go up and down! Would highly recomme3nd any who are hesitating to get solar on and for those on the ACT region, strongly recommend ECG. We are much less complimentary about the local wholesale distributor, Essential Energy, who are slow and rather rigid in their requirements regarding connecting solar to their managed grid. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Roger: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system has performed flawlessly and has exceeded our expectations by a considerable margin.
Show Details

ECG very professional install

ECG's prompt response Inc helpful and professional service led me to use them. Sure they weren't the cheapest but a cheap price wasn't my top priority... All necessary EVO and ACTEW visits were all organised by ECG.
Show Details

Original Review on 07-03-2021:

Easy from quote to installation

Very happy. A very good value system. Installed on the date promised. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 3/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

8 months later we asked Chris: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Bills have been greatly reduced. Looking forward to seeing the bills after a full summer though.
Show Details

Great service, good quality kit, and a great team

Considering the whole pandemic situation the process was a bit drawn out but ended well and we have no complaints.

ECG Electrical were not included in the 3 quotes my wife received. All of them were well laid out with plenty of detailed information and the respective companies were prepared to answer all of our questions and proposed very similar solutions. There was a little bit of "sales pressure" to sign but with lockdowns in place and installation schedules put on hold we used the time to do some additional research into what was offered.

In the end we decided that a solution with Optimisers really wasn't necessary or good value plus I wanted an Inverter with an API accessible over my LAN such that I'd not be dependent on a cloud based monitoring solution. At the same time one of our sons chose ECG Electrical out of his 3 quotes to install a system so I got the opportunity to see it all happen.

Having seen the quality of the work first hand we requested a quote from ECG Electrical but due the ACT Outbreak there was no opportunity to do a site inspection or discuss our requirements face to face ... it was all done via email however having been through 3 site inspections/discussions previously we had a pretty good idea what details and photos to provide.

ECG Electrical provided a quote consistent with our son's installation so we accepted it, paid the deposit and scheduled a date hoping the ACT Lockdown would end in time. A week out from the install date ECG requested permission to break the installation into two parts ... Inverter and AC cabling a few days early followed by Panels and DC cabling on the agreed date.

Needless to say the teams arrived as planned, did the work and left with a minimum of fuss, which was important to us as we were "working from home" at the time and needed to plan being without power. There was an official "handover" later in the day which was a great opportunity to meet one of the Directors and discuss the finer details of what had been installed. The "handover" probably took a bit longer than expected as I'd previously not mentioned my background in Electrical Engineering.

All the necessary paperwork was submitted by ECG and we have been notified of the date for our meter upgrade such that feed in tariffs can be applied correctly.

I would recommend ECG and use them again if I have the opportunity.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Original Review on 10-02-2021:

Very happy with ECG

ECG were great, very thorough from quote to installation, they did everything involved including registering warranties, grid connection, smart meter and set up the tracking app. Very professional team would recommend, we are very happy with our system. Thanls to solar quotes we were armed with the right info and questions to ask. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

9 months later we asked Kristine: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

System is great we have saved money over winter by switching from gas, now coming into summer we run our power guzzling pool filter while making our own power, couldn't be happier no issues with our system all running well
Show Details

Original Review on 03-04-2021:

Pleasant, professional, and reassuring

I found ECG very comfortable and easy to work with from the start. I never felt like I was being "sold to" and was glad the people involved in the inspections and quoting process were technicians, not sales reps.
The process from start to finish was stress free and all my (many) questions were answered promptly and happily. The install was done professionally and looks great, and ECG have great after-care and advice. Couldn't be happier.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

7 months later we asked Aaron: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes, it's been great in the 12 months since. No issues and I still regularly admire it
Show Details

We had a great experience with ECG

We had a great experience with ECG. They provided a competitive quote, worked with me to achieve a good rooftop layout and answered all of my technical questions (I had many!). After a slight delay with starting due to COVID lockdown, the team of ECG installers turned up on time and worked hard to finish the job in one day. They sorted out some rooftop challenges on the spot and delivered a professional and tidy installation. The system handover and follow up support was excellent.

We had on oversized 10kw Trina panel system fitted on tilt frames (due to our flat roof), paired with an 8kw SolarEdge inverter plus a SolarEdge "Smart Energy Hot Water" controller unit to power our stored water boiler with any excess energy.

The system performs beyond our expectations - even on cloudy days. We're very happy with the end result and highly recommend ECG.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Awesome customer service

The people at CGE electrical where ver y professional from the quote through to installation they did everything from instal through to grid connection it was a very easy process would recommend them 10/10
Inverter rating: 1/5
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: