Sunboost Reviews

Based on 171 ratings Aus Ranking

  • 5 star 26
  • 4 star 69
  • 3 star 20
  • 2 star 18
  • 1 star 38

Average Customer Review

  • Value
    3.62
  • System Quality
    3.46
  • Customer Service
    3.20
  • Installation
    3.49

Show ratings from:

Timeline

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs' alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

About Sunboost, Solar Installers

Sunboost

Reviewers report paying: $3,000 - $5,491 for depending on hardware choice and installation difficulty ( how is this calculated? )

Sunboost is a Solar Power Installation company based in and serves ACT. Here are their reviews as submitted by visitors to SolarQuotes

Sunboost Solar Reviews

Installation

I would not have chosen Sunboost, had it not been for installer. I found Sunboost to lacking communication and other services. Installer was very professional and did good job. Show additional information

Steer clear!!!

Paid my deposit and entered into a contract last December. Tried to cancel in March after little contact and no installation. After several requests for a refund of deposit, they persuaded me to go ahead, with a discount and promised installation within a fortnight. Due to complicated installation, they quoted an extra - fixed - $600, which I accepted. Three weeks later, with still no installation, they called seeking a further $1400. Of course, I refused and they have now cancelled the contract. Show additional information

The easy way to solar

Received four quotes all up which varied by nearly $2,000 from cheapest to most expensive. The quote was carried out by phone in less than half an hour including photos of meter box and account. All went very well.
The installation went smoothly, on time, neat work and a couple of nice guys.

The customer service was informative, received all paperwork on the day,now awaiting to have meter changed on the 5th may.
My only complaint is the time taken by different authorities to address their part of the process.
Show additional information
Show additional information

Misleading Contractors - Don't install anything above 5 KW Invertors.

I have no rebates and only generate 20% reduction in my bills after installing a 11 kW system.

They misled me and did not advise an economic installation. I regret the entire effort to go Solar. Even Synergy themselves are not good and take your generated energy and don't pay anything for it.
Show additional information
Show additional information

Fake promises

In response to their advertising campaign I contacted Sunboost for a quote on installation of Solar Panels. I was surprised that they were able to quote instantly without a site inspection. I accepted their quote and forwarded my deposit. When the day came for installation, the installer didn't turn up, but promised to attend after the weekend, again he did not turn up. A week or so later Sunboost booked another installer, unfortunately they didn't tell him that my business premises are only attended from 9am and the poor guy had to wait 1.5 hours for me to open, only to find that the number of panels suggested by Sunboost was not possible. So installation did not proceed. I expected my deposit to be refunded but that has not happened, the only way Sunboost will return my call is if I pretend to be a new customer and then they make fake promises about returning my money. I would give this company a big miss. Show additional information

Don't buy SunBoost!!!!

Don't count on Sunboost for warranty!
I informed Sunboost of a faulty system almost 6 weeks ago (current date 14 April 2020). One of the isolators has stopped working. Since contacting the company they have given me the run around. They simply have not been able to organise an electrician to inspect and replace the faulty part. A SunBoost employee even asked for the contact number of installers I might know so SunBoost could progress with the warranty! Such up-professional delays and fobbing off customers is unacceptable. I can not recommend Sunboost.
I actually wonder if SunBoost is 'going under' (financially)? I think I'll have to fill out the paperwork I have received from Consumer Affairs and VCAT as SunBoost seem unwilling to meet warranty obligations.
Show additional information

Worst Customer Service, Non-Delivery and Non-Compliant

We got in touch with Sunboost as we seen their promotional video on TV. They called me immediately and pushed their products and suggested to lock in the price as the deposit is refundable (DONT' BELIEVE THIS, it is refundable but with a lot of PAIN).

First they said we can easily fit a 6.6kw on our roof, and they would get in touch with me after they receive my documents. I promptly provide this to them and then things go downhill immediately.

First, they will never get in touch with you, and you're forced to chase them up on a weekly basis for updates. This went on for 8 weeks, EXCUSES, EXCUSES and more EXCUSES. They says they will call me as they are busy in meetings and they ghosts me after.

Then after 8 weeks I tell them I need a feasibility study to see if its actually possible to install panels and where are these panels go, they send me a google maps shot and tells me that no reputable company provides a feasibility study (I think he was referring to Sunboost, as ALL companies I dealt with had provided me with a feasibility study).

I later understood why they didn't want to provide me with a feasibility study was because there is no way to claim if your system does not provide the output in the future i.e. there is no claim on the system output

This should have been the first flag but I just chose to ignore it in my haste for a system ASAP. They says we will have an installer call you in 1 week. One week passes, two weeks passes nothing, couple of emails and a guarantee that an installer will call me the same day... nothing.

I told them if we can't have someone call me and advice of an installation date we should cancel by the end of the week. I get a call the same day. They call me to let me know that we can't install a 6.6kw system CONTRARY to their own layout plan but can install a 3 kw system. They also say we need to upgrade our meter box as an installer came by and said that the meter box is old (THIS IS A LIE, 1. we have cameras that notifies us if any one comes close to the box).

They say we should get one of our electrician friends to install a new meter box so it would be cheaper, and if we dont have any friends who are electricians, ITS VERY EASY TO UPGRADE A METER BOX AND I SHOULD DO IT MYSELF.... :-S. (WOW These guys are ******* criminals, and putting PEOPLES LIVES AT RISK)

In order to push my cancellation, I tell them no it's ok, we just don't have funds at the moment and we need to cancel. They say we will send the cancellation form to my email.... you guessed it, NO CANCELLATION FORM FOR 1 WEEK, I manage to get a cancellation form from their call centre. As they are busy, in a meeting, mother is sick, father is sick, children are sick, in the toilet etc... I submit the cancellation form, no refund for 14 days.

I put in a dispute claim with my credit card, and I presume a dispute went from my bank to their bank, cause I get refund directly from Sunboost a couple of days later.

I WOULD NEVER EVER RECOMMEND SUNBOOST TO ANYONE, I have been told they use the cheapest products and just imagine if you have a problem in the future, I can't get them to install, what would happened if the panels fail (which it will certainly will considering quality) An Average/Good solar panel plus inverter (Enphase or Solar edge, not the crap that Sunboost uses - "Solis" never heard of) for 6.6kw is around 6 - 7.5k. This is what you should expect to pay not 2.5-3k
Show additional information

Dodgy

Paid $300 deposit back in Sep 2019, didn't go ahead with the installation, as I could not get any response from them when installation was going to be. Email after Email, still no reply. Asked for my deposit back time and time again, they finally got back to me, telling me installation would be 6th Feb.

Emailed them probably 6 times and cancelled installation. Then mid March without warning they rock up at my house to install the system. Told the installer wasn't going ahead with it. He said oh no not another one.

Then he told me I was lucky that I didn't go ahead with it. He then told me they are dodgy to deal with and weren't even based in Australia..
Here it is April 5 and still no response and still no refund of my deposit.
People beware of this crowd....
Show additional information
WiFi Module Installed with a bent pin and had to fix it myself to get the WiFi Module to Work. Show additional information

Bad costomer service

Cant get my $200 deposit back, 6 call and emails later, its been 4 week, if this is what there service is like im glad i went with somone eles Show additional information

Pushed to get it doen but took ages to lodge details with supplier

A lot of pressure was placed on me to get the job and even though this went ok the problem I am now having to get the system up and running is ridiculous. The installer told ne he submitted the paperwork to the company but each time I contact them they say they are waiting on the installer. Hopeless. Paid for the system and now it cannot be used because of company incompetence. Show additional information

No complaints

After reading some awful reviews I was very hesitant to deal with this company. However, despite getting to the point of installation and then learning that my roof was not suitable, I found the customer service polite and friendly, the installer arrived as scheduled, and my deposit was returned promptly when the job couldn't go ahead. I was referred to Sunboost by my brother who is very happy with his system. Show additional information

Never Shown Up

System was ordered and deposit paid in August 2019.
Have lost track of the countless times installation has been booked nad then no one ever shows up.
Management in Western Australia "promised" to have it installed by end of February. It's now mid march.
Application to connect to the grid has expired twice.
Pathetic lies and excuses. Will be contacting ACCC if deposit not refunded in full due to no supply of service.
Show additional information

Un-rushed Pre purchase review of sales teams in general and why i think its like that + off track non popular battery type compatability from my beginners eye

Show additional information

on time, everything went to plan without any problems The installers knew what they were doing,

Arrived on scheduled time. made a lot of mess with paper and wrappings We had to pick up from all over driveway to prevent any more flying over to neighbours houses. Could not finish job as did not have all the wiring but came back later to complete. I was a bit concerned when management kept asking for full payment before completion I agreed to the final payment at completion of job but not before Show additional information

Such a horrible experience and still going

Feel cheated for having to issue minimum of 1 star. Ordered and paid for a system on 31st Dec, contact ceased since then. Installer finally booked date then doesn't show up with no reason or call to say not coming. After many phone discussions, they agree to refund my payment. Unfortunately we are now over a week since this was agreed and everytime I call to find out where the payment is, the phone just happens to be disconnected as they are transferring my call to that team. We are starting to be very concerned about the ethics of this company. Have lodged complaint with ACCC. Show additional information

Fantastic

We had the put 3 solar systems up in our family.
Nothing was to much trouble for them.
We had the ones from Salisbury.
They came back and help set up the wifi for us.
Show additional information

Not installed yet

Not installed yet dealt with nathan from sunboost he was very efficient he said it wold take 10 weeks to install Show additional information

Installation completed as per schedule and as promised

Very good in all aspects. Constantly updated on progress and finished on time. Show additional information

Do not go here

Whatever you do - do not go near Sunboost I repeat do not go near Sunboost. Show additional information

Shockingly Poor Customer Service

I applied and provided all the documentation on 19 December 2019 for the energy provider's approval after which I was told Sunboost will arrange installation. In the interim, I referred a friend and he then advised me that on 05 February 2020 he was contacted for installation after he applied two weeks earlier. I then enquired about the status of my approval only to be told it was approved on 21 December 2019 and the reason provided for not contacting me was that the bushfires caused delays. When I explained to the salesman that that was a lie and my friend who I referred to Sunboost got this done in two weeks, he started backtracking on this. Using an Australian tragedy to cover up poor service is inexcusable.

Long story short, the installation was done 8 days later and now I am told I can not use the solar system due to having the incorrect electricity meter which will take a further two weeks or so to have installed. At no time was this little fact mentioned. However, the customer service guy insists that I will still receive the benefit of the solar system from date of installation even though its turned off but he is not sure how this works - what a joke. I now lose approximately 60% of a quarter where I could have been using solar power.

Sadly, I can not recommend Sunboost and would suggest anyone avoid them due to the shockingly poor customer service and lies (and omissions) about why the service is so poor.
Show additional information
I am very pleased with the system that I purchased. I wanted to purchase locally (3 quotes supplied by Solarquotes) but the prices were $2500 to $4000 dearer. I live 5 hours drive from a major town. Sunboost, supplied, delivered and installed for the agreed price. 12 months since the installation and have not had any problems. Show additional information
Show additional information

Stay away

Signed up with these guys in October 2019 , told that installation would be 14 day wait , nope no system yet and the guy on the other end of my emails has lots of reasons but keeps telling the installation team will be in touch shortly. It’s now 5 Feb 2020
What a joke I think fair trading will be getting a call from me very soon
Show additional information

Disappointing - stay away

I obtained a quote just before Christmas and paid a deposit. Sent the consultant the required information and heard nothing back. No contact for 5 weeks till I contacted them. Promised a call/email. Again nothing for 5 days when I received an invoice with my deposit refunded with no explanation. Show additional information

trusted company

This company did not apply any high pressure tactics and offered a good system at a great price Show additional information

Great service, turn around and price.

Recently had a 10kw system installed (chose to upgrade from std equipment to Seraphim panels & Solax inverters) for $7200 after rebate. Good communicating through out the process. Reasonably quick turn around considering the time of year and rebates being reduced (approx 2 months from signing contract to having the system on my roof). No issues at all in my experience. Show additional information

Beware of this company - con artists

Don't be lulled into a false sense of security by the fact the cricket legend Allan Border fronts their marketing. We saw their advertising and almost go sucked in by their pressure sales tactics. Paid a $300 deposit for a double storey solar installation in Perth, Western Australia, with a ten day cooling off period. Got spooked by the bad reviews which came to light with a bit of research and the appalling English of our sales agent who purported to be in Sydney. We were also quoted on a 6.6kw panels and then the contract came through it stated we were only getting 5kw panels. So we decided not to proceed and asked for our deposit to be refunded. Radio silence which was odd after all the friendly and effusive banter during the sign up process. Resorted to demanding deposit back in writing three times and then got sent a form which said please sign on the understanding that to process a refund the company will deduct a $220 administration fee and the refund would take four weeks. What an absolute joke. Threatened legal action and that we would contact Allan Border's management agency to let them know what sort of business he is actually endorsing. This company needs to be examined carefully as all is not as it seems. Avoid at all costs. Show additional information

Great installation

Easy to understand and friendly service with quality products at a great price Show additional information

Worst company

If there was something lesser that one star I would have given the same. After making a deposit in the month of November, 25/11 to be exact, today I have cancelled the contract as they say there will be an additional charge to accommodate for the additional wiring and scissor-lift. My concern was that during quote no such things were mentioned and they even mentioned they cannot proceed with any install/ until finance is approved.

Sunboost, have some sense if a person gets finance approves and then amend it, it will be a whole new application thus another credit search and not everyone is happy having two credit searches in short span of time.

In short, the worst company to deal with.
Show additional information
Show additional information

Better price for equivalent system

Very quick
Punctual & quick
This is where they stuffed up, I am still waiting for the net meter which I had to apply for, which they were going to do. Plus the system monitoring device not produced as promised.
Show additional information

Took my deposit faster than a greyhound chasing a rabbit

I signed up and paid a deposit over a month ago and still waiting on installation date despite asking several times ! Show additional information

Quick easy deal, installed within one week, no hassles, neat clean professional install at the right price

Easy to deal with, punctual on site, cleaned up after install, no problems. Quick grid connect with solar input all handled directly with our supplier. Would deal with them again. Show additional information

No communication

I would not recommend Sunboost to anyone. Gave dates & no one showed up. No communication amongst sales people & installers. Make promises & don't follow through. Show additional information

Fantastic offer, I can pay online feels genuine rather than others asking me to reveal my credit card details over phone

Easy quotes and got different option to choose. Payment through online not through phone with warranty Show additional information

Excellent Sandie and Bruno

The two, Sandie and Bruno not only accurately and rightly represented Sunboost and the installers but also did their best in ensuring the work was immaculately done. They were down to earth, friendly and just wonderful. I have no hesitations in recommending them to someone who want installers that know their work and customer service. Show additional information

Wrong inverter poor communication

The sales was easy they demanded payment before installation. After installation I was told by the installers that I would have to contact my provider to change the meters. They did not help me at all after it was installed. The system sat on the roof for 3 months. Then they connected the feed in to my shed. They had to come back twice to connect it properly so I got some feed in. After I ordered another system I find they placed the original panels incorrectly and they now have to be moved. They placed more panels on the southern side than the north. I now find they installed a 1 phase inverter instead of a 3 phase this does not give me full use of the system and my power bills are excessive. The inverter has already cut out with a fault code and had to be fixed I have emailed phoned and get the run around from two people. They not answer emails do not call back. Excuses in a meeting, on leave off on maternity leave or will leave message and they will call you back. Pathetic after sales and when I relied on their technical skills and knowledge they have left me hanging. They still hold $300 for the upgraded system and that has been almost another 3 months. I am taking it to Consumer and Business Services and complaining to the Ombudsmen Show additional information

Bordering on scam

Charged an extra undisclosed $600 on finance as an "application fee", and installation date kept sliding while we sorted it out
Call centre out of India, and they use sneaky sales tactic to get your deposit, making it harder to walk away.

It only got worse. Sunboost submitted the wrong name on the Meter request, so still no Meter. Notification was sent to a sunboost representative and not actioned.

They want a $220 administration fee to resolve the situation. I wanted their kit off my roof.

This is the single most stressful process I've been through in a long time. The only part worth talking about that was good was the installation, performed by Qld solar and storage. I'd recommend going direct to anyone reading this.

6 Months on, and the unit has stopped working, throwing an error. I've contacted Monika on the support team who was very helpful at first, but has now become unresponsive when I've asked for a date that the unit will be repaired or replaced. This while any positive balance in the the AGL account is being exhausted. We are now 2 weeks in with no real action taken.

I estimate it would be around $1000 cheaper and counting to go with any other company at this stage.
Show additional information

A fine example of Poor Communication

I would never recommend this Company they are liars and cheats. They have had my deposit for over 12 months and have not refunded the money. The reason I wanted a refund is because they turned up to install a system without a site visit. they then decide it would need a scissor lift and need to be rescheduled. That was fine, there was never any communication regarding an extra cost for a scissor lift. they turned up for a second time without the scissor lift. they then said they need to charge extra and need to reschedule again. I accepted the extra charge after much argument. we rescheduled for a 3rd time. AGAIN they turned up without a scissor lift. I cancelled the order and have been asking for a refund for over 12 months. They are crooks and thieves.... Show additional information

Very good start to finish. Great payment plan options available and easy finance too

Yes very good Exellent payment plan options. Everyone easy to deal with. Show additional information

First rate installation

After a few hiccups with the sales team it was all smooth sailing from then on. Once finance was approved it took one week for installation.the team was first rate and professional. It was a stinking hot day 15/11/19 here in Perth . The old system was removed and 22 new panels installed. Work started at 7am and completed by 1 pm. I don’t know about the negative reviews as I can only speak for myself. So do not be influenced by the negative reviews. We were given 22 300 watt panels and a 5 kw growatt inverter finally this is the third solar system I have had installed (on 3 houses) so I know what I am talking about. Show additional information

Great service

Very polite professional service, always keeping me informed of the status of the installation. Install team very tidy informative and obliging. Commissioning assistance very professional. Show additional information

Fraud Company. Signed and paid 2 months ago, still haven't got anything

I signed the contract and paid deposit on 17th Sep and Sunboost promised to have the solar installed and up and running in 2 weeks.

After I paid the deposit, I did not hear from the company and after several follow ups, they finally booked 17th October to install the solar system. They also asked me to pay to full amount ($4500) which I did.

Then, on 17th October which I double confirmed the day before, nobody showed up. I contacted Sunboost and they finally sent someone in late afternoon. But, he advised that they have to reschedule as they don’t have the materials.

Then, it was rescheduled for 6th Nov. again, nobody showed up and after several follow ups, they again advised that they have to reschedule.

After this, I requested to cancel the contract and asked them to refund the amount which is $4500. They initially agreed to do that by last week, but as of today, they are refusing to provide update and do not respond to my calls.
Show additional information

Great customer service

I paid a deposit on the pretence I have baught a house. I can't comment on installation or the product as I was unable to buy the house. As a result I spoke to my customer service rep, requesting a refund on my deposit. I few days later I asked for an email confirming my refund. Nathan was nothing but respectfully. With no hesitation he advised me on the refund process and sent me the email I asked for. I am very happy with the customer service I received although I didn't get the sola system. Show additional information

Aussie installers

Indians on the phone, but excellent local aussies company installed it Show additional information

Very suspicious of this company

I contacted Sunboost and paid a $300 deposit for a 6.6kw system for $3,600, fantastic price for regional Australia. Unfortunately the standard contract I was asked to sign required me to pay up front in full on arrival of the contractor, before any install work is done.

Obviously this contradicts fair trading guidelines and common sense. I tried to negotiate and offered a progress payment of 50% when the panels and inverter arrived and 50% when I received the Certificate of Compliance for Electrical Work, again as per fair trading guidelines. I also wanted to know who their subcontractor was before I signed the contract so I could look them up. Sunboost counter offered 90% when the materials arrived and 10% when the certificate was issued approx 6 days after installation.

They also refused to tell me who would be doing the work unless I signed a contract. I cancelled the order and asked for my deposit back. Nobody should pay solar contractors up front, that is crazy and there is a real risk you will lose your money or worse, your roof leaks or your house catches on fire.
Show additional information

BEWARE.......Dishonest and unreliable

This is not a review of an installed system rather the very unscrupulous and dishonest sales team. After a promised high end inverter and solar panels over the phone we paid a deposit, but on receiving the quote via email which included a base entry inverter not the one we agreed on, we cancelled immediately over the phone as is our rights under consumer law. "Clay" the ever polite sales rep promised a refund of the $300 but two and a half weeks later we are still waiting despite numerous phone calls and one stalling tactic after another. We now are lodging a claim with NCAT because Sunboost have scant regard for customers or ethics. We would advise strongly against dealing with them regardless of the "too good to be true" quotes. Show additional information
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: