Menu
House
House Tablet

Find The Best Solar Deals In Australia

  • 3 Free, No Obligation, Solar Quotes
  • From Fully Qualified Installers
  • With 1000s of Customer Reviews
  • Competing for Your Business
Finn Peacock Caricature

Ready for some quotes? Enter your postcode now

Halcol Energy Reviews

Based on 234 reviews

  • 5 star 27
  • 4 star 162
  • 3 star 35
  • 2 star 8
  • 1 star 2

Average Customer Review

  • Value
    4.10
  • System Quality
    4.08
  • Customer Service
    4.15
  • Installation
    4.34

Show ratings from:

About Halcol Energy, Solar Installers

Halcol Energy has its head office on the Sunshine Coast @ 390 Nicklin Way, Bokarina, 4575 and concentrates from Brisbane to Gladstone. We offer great tier 1 products with our own teams of qualified installers. Halcol Energy has withstood the uncertainty of the Solar market and is now coming out of the dust stronger and fitter than before. We have expanded our offices, our office staffing and also our installation and service departments. Our systems are smoother our products and warranties securer and our outlook brighter. Halcol is expanding while other solar companies are falling over and this is testament to our strong belief in service, quality and staff. We offer ‘’Real interest free credit” and great deals which will smash your energy usage. Halcol Energy really are the real deal.

Halcol Energy Solar Reviews

We follow up with all reviewers after 12 months to see how their system is going since it was installed. These are all the reviewers who have responded to our 1 year follow up:
9/8/2017

We are grateful to respected Sunshine Coast builder L&J Friend Constructions Pty Ltd for their referral to Halcol Energy Pty Ltd for their supply and installation of our 6.44kw Canadian Solar System (23 x 280w
panels), Mass Energy Inverter with Tesla Powerwall Battery System. We've been impressed with Halcol's dedicated professionalism and competence, not to mention the state of the art technology comprising the product. That we can comprehensively monitor the detailed operation on our mobile devices was an attractive surprise. If considering solar we have no difficulty recommending the obviously competent Halcol outfit. If our positive experience is any guide others contemplating solar would do well to listen to what Halcol's experienced engineers may have to say. We now enjoy virtual immunity from power outages, negligible (if any) further electricity bills and by default, securing an effective in-house UPS.
Show additional information
Could not have got better service anywhere Maurie Show additional information
Show additional information
Tony, the salesman, fielded all my questions and coped with my indecision. Decided to go with a single phase inverter despite having 3-phase power. The installation was a week ahead of when I expected it and Tim & Alex, the installers, were here on time and worked like Trojans to get everything in place. Still waiting for energex to change the meters over and hook our overflow into the grid but that's apparently going to happen next week. Overall very happy with the service. Have to wait for our electricity bill to see just what we're saving. On the basis of our experience so far would be very happy to recommend Halcol. Show additional information
Told Halcol before I decided to use them that I expected a decent follow up after solar installation. Told them they were lacking in this area according to other reviews, but they assured me they were addressing it and I would get a follow up check after installation.
After the install I could not get the wifi enabled inverter working properly. Contacted them and they told me they were too busy to come around within a couple of days. Was told it could be at least a week. When I told them they weren't getting paid until my system was fully functional, they seemed taken aback that I could suggest such a thing. They quickly got back to me and told me that suddenly someone was available to come around the following day. It was the salesman that came around the following day and he didn't have a clue about setting up the wifi inverter. Had to call another person to come around to help. Funny how when you request a quote, the salesman break their neck to come around, but when you need help/follow up.......oh sorry we are too busy to get around any time soon.
Halcol also told me that if I wanted to buy extra panels further on down the track, that the cost would roughly work out to a $1 per watt of panels installed. Contacted Halcol the other day to see if my inverter could handle more panels. They said I could go to 6kw no problem and gave me a quote....double!! what they originally stated it would cost. Won't be using Halcol again. Running a business isn't only about how much money you make. It's about reputation as well.
Show additional information
Company was excellent from go to end Show additional information
Show additional information
Halcol were very efficient and friendly. System working well but still waiting for Energex to install solar meter. Show additional information
After instalation there was a small issue. The installers returned within a day and quickly sorted things. Very efficient and pleasant. Did a very neat job. Show additional information
From our first contact with Halcol Energy P/L to the final sign off after installation we have been very impressed by this company. The staff were friendly, highly competent and clearly like working for the company. We were kept informed at every step of the process, from quote to purchase to installation. Their attention to detail was excellent. We highly recommend Halcol Energy P/L . Show additional information
Was quoted 280w panels 270w panels were in stalled was told about this the morning of install,the installers didn't know how to hook up wifi to the inverter was just left for me to hook up,after several phone calls to the manUfacturer tech support was told smart meter wasn't installed, couple of more phone calls back to Halcol and they fitted the smart meter but left meter cabInet and meter board wide open in the rain for the night and again was left to me to connect to wifi three weeks after install and many phone calls to manUfacturer finally got wifi app working very disappointed with service and communication.

Supplier Reply

Dear Paul,
I am sorry that you feel that we have performed so badly and I hope that you find that the system performs for you both now and in the future. I understand that we cannot please everyone but our aim is to achieve exactly that, on that note I have read through your concerns and will make adjustments to our systems in the hope that this does not happen again. I know that at the time we informed you that we only had the 270 watt panels and you were given the choice of waiting but you advised you would like to go ahead with the installation. The supply of the energy meters, as I explained was held up which once again I can only apologise for. The quality of the system is I feel high with Canadian Solar panels (Tier 1) and a Fronius inverter, the quality of install which I have reviewed is I feel high on reviewing the installation pictures, but please let me know if you have concerns on either of these points. I apologise if the installation crew did not connect to your Wi-Fi system as this they should have been able to do as they have now been with me for over 5 years installing our solar systems. I hope that you understand that we are here for all of our customers over the long term and will deal with any issues that arise. If you do have any concerns either now or in the future please do not hesitate to contact us.
Kind Regards
Andy Hall
andyhall@halcolenergy.com.au
Show additional information
Ok to use name Show additional information
Halcol Energy have been very supportive and answered my questions with plain english, so everything was understood right from the start.
I would recommend Halcol Energy to anyone.
Thanks Carol
Show additional information
Show additional information
Went back to my first quote after seeing another (4th). Tony from Halcol was the friendliest up-front gentleman by far and an absolute pleasure to deal with him (I believe he's overseas getting married now) ZERO Salesman BS . Upfront and honest.
Thank-you for recommending me to Halcol (esp Tony) Both mine and my dad's installations were done within 5 days both by the same friendly team 2 days apart.
All contact with this company has been enjoyable, friendly and professional.
5 STARS .
Show additional information
Show additional information
We were very happy with all the companies you provided except enviro projects. Thank you so much. Show additional information
Only downside to experience was not once but twice after setting day and time for quotes to be assessed no one turned up and no phone call to say couldn't make it!! Show additional information
Show additional information
Excellent advice given as to how and when to use to get best use from free electricity. Show additional information
I would like to thank you for your website. The information you gave allowed me to understand the whole process and feel confident when I talked about an installation with a salesperson. I chose Halcol - they were well recommended on your site - and have been very happy with entire process. They were prompt, courteous, helpful and efficient. However, there are so many brands of panels and inverters out there I cannot comment on the brands they elected to install - I feel that I had to trust the company to make those choices. Show additional information
Having a Wi Fi setup where I can check the amount of solar electricity production each day determines the use of household electrical appliances is a bonus considering the disgracefully low buy back feed in tariff ,
So the government has just agreed in Paris to cut back the reliance on fossil fuel (that runs electricity generators) so why such a low feed in tariff ? Because the State/Territory Governments have either sold or leased the electricity grids and gave a assurance on growth and projected profits to the private companies .
If the Australian Government is serious about climate change they would encourage greater use of small scale solar generators.
Show additional information
Halcol energy installers were very professional in the install, answering any questions that were asked, they went about the install in a business like manner, were easy to deal with and I would recommend them to anyone else. Show additional information
Pros: We took a long time to decide on which panels and installer we wanted. Chris, the salesman, was great as he always answered the questions I had promptly and visited us twice to discuss everything. The installers, Luke, Paul and Alex, were all friendly and professional. The installers and salesman get 5 stars.

Cons: The inverter (Mass Energy) was installed a few days later than the panels as they were on order. No big deal however the invoice was given to me by an installer when they installed the panels and then the same invoice sent to me the same day by email and then yet again sent by email the day after the inverter was installed (which was actually sent after I had paid). There's no need to send an invoice 3 times, especially when 2 of them are sent before the work is even complete!

I'm now able to monitor the output from my computer too so that's great as we work out how much power is generated and when. The manuals are written in Chinglish but it's fairly easy to work out and the actual inverter is more compact than other manufacturers.
Show additional information
Very professional and great to deal with. I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone else. Show additional information
Show additional information
Every thing went well, the sales man came gave us a quote and after we put the deposit on we didnt hear from anyone till 3 days before the installation date and now that the system has being running for about a week, were not sure if it's runing correctly or if set up right cause no one has contact us to see if were happy with the service and to check if were happy with it all....
I think they need ti spend an hour with the customer after a week or so and check that there happy with all the experience. ....
Show additional information
Install was quick, but wiring was meant to be internal of roof space. The installer decided that was too hard, and without discussing it with me, ran the wiring external. The system failed after 4 months and the supplier demanded I wait for the manufacturer to warrant rather than accepting the warranty as their responsibility. Having read ACL (Aust. Consumer Law), it is clear they are not compliant with Australian law, I have been made to wait an unreasonable amount of time and have been spoken to rudely and with disdain. Unfortunately, as one of their Directors pointed out, their competitors are worse, but that does not make Halcol good :-( Show additional information
Show additional information
Only got it put in today so I'm yet to find out if the system is worth it. Show additional information
The whole process was seamless and the crew were supportive. It was quick and clean. The salesmans advice was very helpful and they took care of all the necessary paperwork for Energex. Show additional information
Show additional information
system working well! Show additional information
Representative furnished us with all the details and made suggestions, meaning that we did not have to spend endless time researching solar energy products. Interview was very pleasant and we were able to make an on the spot decision. Show additional information
Show additional information
Dealing with Halcol Energy during the sale and installation was quite straight forward and painless; the only slight hiccup was that during the quoting process, our electricity meter was mistaken for being compatible with the solar system (i.e. so it could account for the difference in solar generated power and electricity being consumed). It only resulted in a slight delay whilst Energex was notified and our electrical retailer was contacted, but this was quickly resolved and the system was switched on. Show additional information
Show additional information
Dealing with them was straight forward. So far no problems and I anticipate savings on my next power bill. Show additional information
I had arranged while I had the house half gutted that Halcol would run the cables through the ceilings before I sheeted. This was done very efficiently by working in with my renovation programme.
At this stage I would not like you to use my name etc. I think it is appropriate to wait until the installation is complete and the system is operating.
Show additional information
So far we have put a deposit down as we are building.halco has a local shopfront location and their service to date has been great. Their warranty and prices are competitive. I'm not chasing price only. Show additional information
Installation went smoothly, tradesmen were very professional. We can tell how good the system is yet as it took energex 3 weeks to turn the system on and that was only 2 weeks ago. we have just got our last bill without sola panels so the next bill will tell it all. Cross your fingers..... Show additional information
Show additional information
Show additional information
Installers were competent. Sales team need more design experience, but overall not too bad a job.
Worth the money paid.
Show additional information
It is a bit early to make any judgements about quality yet. The salesman seemed to have a good knowledge of the indusrty and has been in it for a long time - that helped my decision to go with Halcol. The installers could have given more information on how to work the system such as which electricity tariffs are suitable for solar etc. Show additional information
Dear Finn,
System is good and seems to operate well. The company did not reply to my email but installed the system within the time frame. Their customer relations could improve by communicating with their customer. I would consider using them again to upgrade the system.
Cheers
Lars

Supplier Reply

Spoke to Andy on 6/3/15 - he explained why they got 2 stars for customer service - was regarding Lars wanted to pay when he was ready to pay and not in accordance to contract - therefore as per Andy's request I have removed it. Rob Show additional information
Show additional information
Show additional information
Show additional information
Show additional information