Smart Energy Answers

Smart Energy Answers Reviews

DETAILS
99% 0%
4.6

Based on 559 ratings 3 Reviews removed

About

Smart Energy Answers (SEA) is Australia’s leading solar solutions provider with Head Office in Sydney. With a decade of collective experience in the field, our team has completed over 5,000 residential and commercial installations. We have an extensive team of designers, electricians, engineers, and technicians specially trained in all areas of solar generation power systems.


SEA is proud to have attained the highest accreditation level in Australia. As an NETCC Approved Seller, we are committed to helping communities gain energy independence through the latest technologies and high-quality services. 

Our Operations Director Sam is well known in the industry for the quality of his installation designs and workmanship and for having physically installed and commissioned the largest commercial Tesla Powerwall Installation in the world.  

We are also a certified installer of LG Solar, REC Solar, Canadian Solar, Seraphim, Longi, SolarEdge, Fronius, Sungrow, sonnenBatterie, LG Chem and Tesla Powerwall.

 

We install systems and have Operation Centres in Sydney, Melbourne, Canberra, Adelaide, Brisbane, Central Coast, Newcastle, Wollongong, and Orange. Contact us on 1300 732 679 or [email protected] for more information.

 

The SMART Difference

· Complex decisions made simple – because our experienced consultants are committed to helping you make an informed decision by providing a tailored assessment of your energy needs, future thinking.

· Buy quality, buy once – because we combine the best workmanship with some of the most superior products on the market today.

· Exceptional customer care – because our ultimate goal is to make our customers happy and to provide a delightful experience.

· Savings guaranteed – because our customers can benefit from our industry-leading performance guarantee, ensuring that you receive the best possible long-term outcome.

Reviewers report paying: $6,200 - $10,200 for depending on hardware choice and installation difficulty ( how is this calculated? )

Panels, inverter and battery brands

The views expressed by reviewers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily reflect those of Peacock Media Group, which makes no representations as to the accuracy of the reviews. For our full disclaimer and further information, see our Terms of Use and our Review Guidelines.

Smart Energy Answers Reviews (559)

Show Most Recent reviews from All timeacross Australia

Average Scores

4.4/5

Value for money

4.7/5

Quality of System

4.6/5

Installation

4.5/5

Customer Service

  • 5 star 218
  • 4 star 279
  • 3 star 54
  • 2 star 7
  • 1 star 1

View Timeline

Very professional

sales/quoting process was in person, detailed and very professional
installation was punctual, very professional and tidy
customer service was as per contract including organising the grid connection after the install
Some delay because of Xmas break in resolving issue with wifi connection to system performance monitoring app but all resolved.

Supplier Reply:

Hello Neville! We are incredibly grateful that you took the time to leave us this review. At SEA, we put customer satisfaction as a top priority and are committed to providing the best possible service we can. Its customers like you that make our job wonderful. Welcome to the SEA family! Happy to have you on board!
Show Details

Original Review on 20-04-2023:

Quality install and sales process.

Fantastic installer and great attention to detail. Shout out as well to Seamus. A very knowledgeable sales professional who let their high quality product speak for itself. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Josh! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review with us! We’re pleased to know your energy consultant - Seamus, fully answered all your questions and helped you find a solar solution that’s the perfect fit for your household energy needs. We’ll pass along the kind words. As a CEC approved retailer, we set high quality standards, and your kind words of appreciation reaffirm our commitment to providing the best possible service. Thank you again for choosing SEA as your partner on your solar journey. You made our day!

10 months later we asked Josh: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

A great system that has been super reliable. Smart energy answers are always happy to answer questions and support promptly. 5 star install and service.
Show Details

Very Good experience with the solar installation

I recently (December 2023) had my solar solution installation done through Smart Energy Answers. I have chosen a 9.24 kW system with HT Smart (HT54-18X 440) panels, Enphase IQ7A Microinverters, and the Tesla Powerwall 2.

Starting from the online video consultation for quoting with Taimoor Ahmed till the installation and after service calls, I couldn't be more impressed with the service I received. First and foremost, the consultation process was thorough and informative. I was delighted that I had an electrical engineer as my solar consultant instead of a regular salesperson. Although I have done some research on SolarQuotes and on Google, Taimoor has provided me with additional knowledge and offered me various options for the solar solution with various quotes. I am aware that SEA is the preferred partner for SolarEdge products, but he did not push me too much as I was keen to go with Enphase and Tesla. What I liked about his approach is that he insisted me to further research on various panels, inverters, and batteries. I was a bit skeptical about the panel brand but I did my own research on PVEL panels test results to verify if the solar panels are any good. Finally, Taimoor explained me the Nectr bundle offer and honoured my request to have the in-house installation team for my solar system.

The installation process itself was smooth. John and his installation crew Hernan and Renata were a bunch of good guys and I found John to be a very friendly Greek. The installation was completed without issues and John also assisted me with the apps, power switches and operational basics.

Furthermore, the communication from support and service team was excellent. They kept me informed every step of the way, from scheduling to installation to post-installation follow-up and they also notified me of the Tesla rebate due date.

Since having the solar panels installed, I have seen a significant reduction in my energy bills, and I feel good knowing that I am doing my part to reduce my carbon footprint. In future if there are any issues arise with my system, I will update here how SEA is providing me support services. I understand that people can varied experience from any solar company, but till this date, I am extremely satisfied with the quality of work provided by SEA. I would not hesitate to recommend Smart Energy Answers.

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Moinul! Thank you so much for this super amazing 5-star review! We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Taimoor has always been really thorough, informative and clear. We’re so glad you were happy with the whole team. We’ll pass along the kind words. . Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community. It made our day!
Show Details

Easy process

Polite and punctual installation. They did however remove my pool heating apparatus which in hindsight was not needed as no solar panels were installed on that part of the roof. Apart from that, the process was professional.

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Divan! Thank you so much for taking the time out to post this 5-star rating! We're happy to hear you had a positive experience dealing with us. We’d love to continue providing great service, so if you ever have any questions or concerns that needs actioning, please don’t hesitate to contact us on 1300 732 679. Thank you for choosing SEA! Happy to have you on board!
Show Details

A solar system works wonder.

Friendly sale professional expresses the need for our first solar system. The explanation is simple and clear and the price for the installation is competitive. There is no push to get the deal done but with Christmas around the corner an early acceptance of the quote would be good to plan installation in January in a seamless manner. The installation team is also professional with experience and sound understanding of the safety in carrying out the task with ease and no mess left behind. The system has been patiently explained and other statutory documents to follow with care. We are happy with the whole system and support from the company so far. Thank you.
Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Gary! We truly appreciate you taking the time to post this great review and for the kind words of appreciation. Thank you for trusting SEA as your partner on your solar journey. We do our best to ensure our customers find the experience as seamless as possible, despite solar complexity. Welcome to the SEA family, happy to have you on board!
Show Details

Great experience

End to end fantastic experience. Great communication, all timelines met, and even though install and subsequent use has been fine, the after support has been excellent to ensure we have been happy with the performance.
Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Supplier Reply:

Hi Matthew! Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We’re glad that you loved our services. Our dedicated staffs will be pleased to hear this, they work diligently to ensure our customers receive the highest service. Thanks again for sharing your review with us and the community. It made our day!
Show Details

Good overall experience and products

- Quoting process was very good:on site inspection, responsive, and trying to understand my needs while providing valuable feedback.
- Installation was also very good: pre-installation inspection, coordination considering my availability (or lack thereof) despite busy end of year period, installation by sub-contractor.
- Post-installation service was good: generally good, but we are still working on correcting discrepancies between what was installed / tested (or not) vs what is in the user manual ... Request is being taken seriously and is progressing.

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Pierre-Henri! Thank you so much for taking the time to share this amazing review with us. We’re so glad to hear that you had a great experience from the quoting process to installation to post - installation. Let us know how your system goes, amended user manual has been sent. We are here to support you long term. If you have any questions and needs assistance, please don’t hesitate to call us on 1300 732 679. Thank you for trusting SEA for your solar solution. Happy to have you on board!
Show Details

Highly recommended

From the initial sales meeting through to the installation follow-up, Smart Energy Answers have been straight-forward, efficient and helpful. Our installation happened quickly and the installer made sure I understood how the various components of the system worked and what to do if there was a problem. My sales person, Shane, provided excellent information and was so helpful with following through on every aspect of my questions and the process as a whole. It is very apparent that the company works 'as a team' - and provide a very high level of support. I would highly recommend their services.

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Juli! Thank you so much for this amazing review! We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Shane has always been really helpful and clear. We’re so glad you were happy with the team. We’ll pass along the kind words. . Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community. It made our day!
Show Details

Great salesperson and seemingly good product letdown by horrific installation and resolution to date

I got the system through SEA as they offered a great buy now pay later deal, the sales person was very knowledgeable and left me at ease after answering all my questions. Install was quick and they had been great until after the install. On install I have now noticed 3 issues. 1) they used screws that were too long and they now protrude through my bedroom wall, 2) after they put the meter that reads how much energy goes back to the grid my reading is off and it always states I use .01kwh more energy than I’m making regardless of generation or use presumably an installation issues and 3) I have just notice mould on my ceiling which was never there before install and I believe it is a leak from the install. I had asked this to be remedied and on 2 occasions I stayed home on a Friday as I was told someone was to come and no one came. It’s a shame as you can see it makes good power and I’m happy with product but not install.

Supplier Reply:

Hello Chris,

Thank you very much for bringing these issues to our attention.

We’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected.
This is definitely not our standards.
Customer satisfaction is of great importance to us, and we’re really sorry to hear this was not met in your interaction with our business.

Please know that this issue has been escalated to the manager and is on top of our priority list.
We are wanting to make things right this time, providing you with the best possible service we can.
Hence, we were trying to reach you several times but could not get through.

We are here to support you long term with your system. Please don't hesitate to return our call or reach us at 1300 732 679.
Show Details

A very efficiant installation,

I was quite happy with sales /quoting process, the installation was very proficiently done, the team arriving on time and he installation done well within the time they allocated.

When they had achieved connection to the web they could have helped me connect to the web by giving a bit more detail how to do it.

Sorry for the delay, i just found this in my

Supplier Reply:

Hello Greg! Thanks for taking the time to review our business. It’s good to know you’re happy with your new system. Your feedback will help us improve our practices and make sure there are no flaws in our processes.

We are here to support you long term. If you have any questions and still needs assistance on your app, please don’t hesitate to call us on 1300 732 679.
Show Details

Good Decision

Seamus was very nice, He organized the quotes, & followed through with the Sale.
The Ladies who rang to give me updates on the Time Frame etc on Installation were great.
The Install Team were very Polite while they were Installing the Panels, Battery & Inverter.

However the Install team were to busy worrying about getting another house done they didn't really explain what Apps I had to download to my phone, what anything was or If I had to do anything, I had to work it out myself.
I'm still not to sure, The only thing I know is that AGL App is buying the usage I don't use "Sold to Grid",

I did reach out to the Lovely Ladies after Install & they have been good, trying to help me.

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Belinda! Thank you so much for this amazing review! We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Seamus has always been really helpful and clear. We’re so glad you were happy with the team. We’ll pass along the kind words. . Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community. It made our day!
Show Details

Works well, panels are ugly

Works perfectly well. Quite was reasonable, I recieved good information, they tried to remedy my concerns.

But the solar panels are ugly. I mentioned to the company that aesthetics were important. The photo of the panel by the supplying company is different to how they look installed. They only use one panel by one company so there were not alternative options.

Panel rating: 2/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Show Details

Overall happy with system

Sales process was very informative explaining different types of systems.

Plan for solar install on the day had to be reworked because the digital one was too packed together. Ended up getting an additional 2 panels installed on the west facing roof.

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Jason! We truly appreciate you took the time out to share this amazing review with us! Your satisfaction is our utmost priority, and we are delighted to hear we lived up to your expectations. Again, thank you so much for choosing SEA as your solar partner! You made our day!
Show Details

Smart Energy

Very efficient delivery and installation which was completed in one day. Post-sales support has been good and no problems were experienced connecting to the grid.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Philip! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review with us! As a CEC approved retailer, we set high quality standards, and your kind words of appreciation reaffirm our commitment to providing the best possible service. Thank you again for choosing SEA as your partner on your solar journey. You made our day!
Show Details

Fantastic service and quality

Great company to deal with, not trying to push a sale and very transparent on costs and discounts. Advised me well based on my requirements and current infrastructure. Installation was impeccable and the team was very thorough and patient with explaining how everything works.
Meter change and grid connection was seamless. Would recommend to anybody who is looking for quality over quantity.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Roopam! We truly appreciate you taking the time to post this great review and for the kind words of appreciation. Thank you for trusting SEA as your partner on your solar journey. We do our best to ensure our customers find the experience as seamless as possible, despite solar complexity. Welcome to the SEA family, happy to have you on board!
Show Details

Great installation

The sales/quoting process provided me with detailed information concerning the options available and the cost of the components. The initial statement that a site inspection was not required delayed the process. A site inspection should be mandatory and I should have been advised that I needed to be present for the inspection.

A second inspection was required after I explained that the proposed site in my side pathway would block access to the rear of my property.
It seems that the discussion at the second site inspection was not relayed to the installers as i had to explain where the battery should be installed. The installers were fantastic. They kept me informed during the process including changes to the site for installation of the inverter close to the battery as well as the installation of my EV charger.

Following the issue I am having some issues with Solar Edge concerning the software/App to assess how the system is performing. At the present I need to reconnect each time I want to check the system components and query how i can do this when not at home using my WiFi
Show Details

Original Review on 04-01-2023:

Good solar purchase and installation experience

I'm very happy with the complete solar panel acquisition experience. The Solarquotes body of information was invaluable and queries to them were quickly answered. The three companies I was put in touch with were all very good but I was a bit more comfortable with the quality of the solution from Smart Energy Answers. They were easy to contact, made changes I requested and (as a bonus) brought the installation forward to before Christmas. Their installers were good, worked hard, communicated well and although they were not able to finish in one day (it's a 10kW system) returned the following weekend to complete the work. Smart Energy Answers organised all the paperwork with Ausgrid and Energy Australia. I also found Energy Australia helpful with rescheduling the smart meter installation and answering questions relating to my move to solar. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Steve! We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community. It made our day! Welcome to the SEA family, happy to have you on board!

11 months later we asked Steve: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system has performed as I hoped it would. Consumption from the grid appears to have reduced by 50% during spring but costs will have reduced more as my electricity rate increased by 30% mid year, so I had some protection from that. My only issue was trying to reconcile the Enphase and electricity utility usage figures. The problem was a gateway configuration error that was quickly fixed once a technician was dispatched but it took too long for the technician to be sent. This didn't impact system performance or electricity consumption, just left me without any figures I could trust. If I were making the decision again I would happily go with the same supplier and the same solution
Show Details

Great to deal with - professional, courteous and they knew there stuff.

Smooth and seamless from quote to install. SEA were fantastic.
Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Robert! Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback and for trusting SEA as your partner on your solar journey. We put customer satisfaction as a top priority and your kind feedback truly inspires us to continue giving our best. Happy to have you on board!
Show Details

Professional efficient job all round.

There quote was competitive, the sales guy was knowledgeable, the whole process was good.
The installers turned up on the specified day on time, they were easy to deal with and happy to answer all my questions, discuss options and make a couple of minor changes to the install an the fly.

Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Daryl! We truly appreciate you taking the time to post this amazing review and sharing your experience with us to the community, helping spread the word about us. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation, we'll pass it on the to the team! They sure will be glad to know that you are happy with your new system. Welcome to the SEA family, happy to have you on board!
Show Details

Excellent solar solution

Given the plethora of solar options and installers Smart Energy made the process stress free for initial advice to installation - now looking forward to getting a reduced electricity bill!

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Nick! Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback!
We work hard to achieve high standards, and your review reaffirms our commitment to providing the best possible service. It's great to know you're happy with your new system, we hope you enjoy the savings on your bill for many years to come! Welcome to the SEA family!
Show Details

Quality instalation

Excellent sales person, always got back to me in a timely manner
It was a quality installation, the team worked to 8:00pm trying to get the installation finished, I asked them to leave as it was dark at this point. They returned the next day, but there was a glitch which took a couple of weeks to sort out, slightly disappointed, but overall I am happy with the installation and the system.
A new electricity meter was installed, but at this point I am not sure about the grid connection
Show Details

Good overall system and value long term

Overall Smart Energy Answers provided a very good system and well installed. The service after the face to face meeting and quote is challenging as you deal through a Phillipines call centre to arrange the final system design before install. The install was excellent, as is the system post-install and price wise for a system our size setting us up long term.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Dan! We truly appreciate you took the time out to share this review with us! Your satisfaction is our utmost priority, and we are delighted to hear we lived up to your expectations. Again, thank you so much for choosing SEA as your solar partner! You made our day!
Show Details

Original Review on 21-12-2022:

Happy to recommend Solar Quotes for overall information and Smart Energy Answers as top notch installer.

Everything about SEA was very professional.
From the quick response and initial discussion with their sales person to the detailed quotation and immediate response to our queries.
After our decision to proceed with them, the flow of information and requirements was seamless and very professional.
Installation team was great, on time, polite, competent, and did
the whole installation( 19 panels) in one day.
They explained fully the procedure of the authorized inspector and this was done within a week and the full system up and running and achieving all the benefits we expected, plus.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked David: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

It has. There has been no problems whatsoever.
Show Details

Excellent

We are so happy with our decision to go with Smart Energy Answers. We have shopped around for 3 years to get what we wanted and the best deal for what we need when working from home.

We are so happy with the service and follow up. Taimoor the original consultant has answered all of our questions and has been a large part of the reason we have gone with Smart Energy Answers for our solar and Battery. I have contacted Taimoor many times throughout our 2 years of looking for solar and he has been able to answer all of my questions.

The installation was great. The technicians were efficient, very friendly, respectful and polite.
Our system has worked perfectly, and we enjoy how we can monitor our energy produced and consumed from our app.

We are more than happy with our efficiency and energy savings.

We have been contacted by the support team after installation many times to check how everything is going. This is fantastic customer service. Highly recommend Smart Energy Answers.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Vicki! Thank you so much for this amazing review! We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Taimoor has always really helpful and clear. We’re so glad you were happy with the team. We’ll pass along the kind words. Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community. It made our day!
Show Details

Great service great installation

They listened to what we required and took us through the various options then gave a competitive quote.
They kept us informed on an installation date and turned up when they said on installation day. Very knowledgeable installers who tailored the installation of the components based on our aesthetic requirements (heritage overlay). Perfect installation despite the best efforts of the intermittent rain (after dry days for weeks !). Very happy with the system and highly recommend this team.

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Paul! Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback and for trusting SEA as your partner on your solar journey. We put customer satisfaction as a top priority and your kind feedback truly inspires us to continue giving our best. Happy to have you on board! Welcome to the SEA family!
Show Details

Fantastic Installer!

Excellent company from receiving the quote to the installation it was an easy process. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Alex! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re glad to hear you found the whole process easy and that you’re happy with your new system! Welcome to the SEA family. Happy to have you on board!
Show Details

A Quality System with Professional Service

Our specifications were for a high quality system that would keep us largely independent of the grid, and to be professionally and expertly installed. Smart Energy Answers delivered, exceeding our expectations in lead time and installation time. Their after sales support has also been excellent.
Panel rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 4/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Jim! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review! At SEA, we set high standards for ourselves and work very hard to meet high expectations like yours, so we're glad to know that you're satisfied with the end result. We'll pass on your kind words of appreciation to our installation crew and the rest of the team. Thank you for trusting SEA to be your partner on your solar journey. Happy to have you on board!
Show Details

Quick professional.

They started on time,finished the job quickly and very professionally.

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Ian! Thank you so much for taking the time out to post this wonderful review. We’re so glad to know you had a great experience every step of the way! Awesome customers like you inspire us to continue giving our best. Thank you for trusting SEA as your partner on your solar journey!
Show Details

All good but could do better on after installation support

The process of receiving quotes and discussing options was very helpful and informative.

The management of the paperwork and pre-installation requirements was seamless and SolarEdge took a lot of worry out of the process.

Installation was done in a day and looked very neat and professional.

The only complaint would be around post-installation. As it turns out, I required a system update before the solar could be turned on and produce - which was only discovered by me when I got no reading from the App and contacted the supplier./ Also, connecting to the App was a nightmare with the relevant video links out of date and referring outdated invertors.

Anyway, the system is all up and running now which is good. Overall, the experience was fine but a follow up call post installation to go thru the App and connections etc would have made the following couple of days less stressful.

Inverter rating: 4/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Paul! Thank you so much for your review. We are so sorry to hear about the post installation experience you had, this is certainly not our standards. We always aim to deliver a great experience. We are gutted when we miss the mark! We will use the feedback to improve your experience to ensure this doesn’t happen again. Customer satisfaction is our top priority, so if you ever have any questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact us, we'll be here to assist you.
Show Details

Great Customer Service. Great Price

Oren gave me options, listen to me, explained everything, answered my emails and help me choose. Installation was fast and the guys friendly. Very happy with the whole process.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Don! We truly appreciate you taking the time to post this amazing review and sharing your experience with us to the community. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation and for helping spread the word about us. We'll pass along the kind words to Oren. He's always been really helpful and clear. Again, welcome to the SEA family, happy to have you on board!
Show Details

High quality from a fantastic team at Smart Energy Answers

After using SolarQuotes to get in touch, we met with Oren from Smart Energy Answers. Oren was very friendly and knowledgeable about the product and interested in us and what we were trying to achieve. The quote was detailed and helped further our education about solar power. Our installation had some challenges for the team but they were efficient, on time and committed to giving us a great product.
Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Phil! We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with your SEA family. Oren has always been really helpful and clear. We’re so glad you were happy with the team. We’ll pass along the kind words. . Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community. It made our day!
Show Details

Very Happy

How was the sales/quoting process? Very Good
How did the installation go? Polite? Tidy? Punctual? Excellent
How was the customer service? e.g. did they help organise the grid connection after the install? Yes

Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, John! Thank you so much for taking the time out to post wonderful review! We're happy to hear you had a positive experience dealing with us. We’d love to continue providing great service, so if you ever have any questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact us. Happy to have you on board!
Show Details

Original Review on 12-11-2022:

A relatively easy and well assisted process except at the outset I had poor communication from nectr but my energy salesperson was able to escalate my needs so that sooner than later there was contact

Overall the customer service was great but becos ses are in league with nectr there were early signs of poor communication. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 4/5
Installation: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5

10 months later we asked Tony: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

I am satisfied with my overall system
Show Details

Did what they said they would do.

The sales process was a little strange as it was carried out on-line and on the telephone. No face to face even though we were spending over $12k. Nevertheless through constant telephone communication with their office I felt confident.

The installation went very well - they arrived on time and were finished in about 4hrs.

Customer service excellent - a couple of follow-up courtesy calls. I have yet to confirm that all of the grid connections were done ... i.e. need to check the FIT contract.

Supplier Reply:

Hello Alan! We are incredibly grateful that you took the time to leave us this review. At SEA, we put customer satisfaction as a top priority and are committed to providing the best possible service. It's customers like you that make our job wonderful. As we keep telling you we are one call away should you need our help. Welcome to the SEA family! Happy to have you on board!
Show Details

First Rate

The sales process was easy. I had adobe a lot of research and understand the technology. The sales rep had engineering background and figured out out quickly what I wanted rather than giving me the lengthy sales spiel I experienced with others.

Installation was really professional. Great electrical work and a real attention to the aesthetics of the equipment install.

System works a treat. Couldn’t have asked for a better experience.

Highly recommend

Battery rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Mark! Thank you for taking the time to post this amazing review. We’re pleased to hear everything went off without a hitch and that you’re happy with your new system. Customer satisfaction is our top priority, so if you ever have any questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact us, we'll be here to assist you. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and for trusting SEA as your partner on your solar journey. Happy to have you on board!
Show Details

Install good, customer service less so

Sales/Quoting process was OK, some misunderstandings regarding ability to integrate our old system and the new proposed system, these were resolved amicably with a cost share arrangement on additional components required.

Initial installation date was organised reasonably easily and efficiently and the install team arrived punctually, were professionally presented and communicated well.

Unfortunately due to inclement weather the work could not be completed on the first day and its has been difficult to get responses and commitments on when it will be completed, currently still waiting for that to occur but too date the install team have been efficient and professional in their work ethic and the quality of the installation appears to be good

The one issue that I would point out is that all work must be paid for prior to the install team commencing work and I now have no leverage to get them to complete the job, and this coupled with the lack of clear and proactive communication from their operations team about when they expect to be back on site remains a strong frustration point.
Show Details

Good holistic advice and quality installation

SEA (Brad) gave the best overall advice on our options (tricky roof layout) and the installation team did a very good job. My only “gripe” was that it felt like there were too many people making contact from the call centre, would be a better customer experience if contact was centralised.
Panel rating: 4/5
Inverter rating: 4/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Andrew! Thank you so much for this positive review you have given us! In spite of the many people you needed to deal with you still found the installation easy. Your feedback helps us get better, always. We will do our best to satisfy your expectations and deliver best customer service. Thank you so much for sharing your review with us and the community! It made our day!
Show Details

Original Review on 03-11-2022:

Great installers

The salesman quoted on 2 different solar systems. There was no pressure to make a sale. They answered all my questions. I chose an 11.2kWh system with Enphase microinverters and Tesla battery.
The time from site inspection/deposit until installation was about 4 weeks. The installation was done on 2 separate days, a week apart, due to the Sydney weather. The installers showed up on time on the pre-arranged days. They were tidy, friendly and professional.
I had my old 1.5kWh system removed by the installers.
I was able to organise a new net meter from my energy company myself before installation day because I already had a solar system which was still on gross metering. My energy company did it for free after I phoned them just to ask about some general solar feed-in questions during the wait time for the new system. By arranging it myself early, it meant my new system was working straight away.
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5
Battery rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Vanessa: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

The system is performing better than the estimates. The payback for the panels and battery combined will be about 7.5 years based on the latest energy price increases.
Smart Energy Answers were brilliant with the instal and they have called us twice since instal to check if we need anything etc. Great customer service.
I'm always checking out other people's solar installations but none are as nice as ours with our all black panels, black fittings and neat cabling.
Show Details

Good product. Customer service good. Installers were on time and in & gone in no time.

Sales person explained everything clearly. Kept up to date with installation. Installers were on time, tidy and very informative.

Supplier Reply:

Hi Kevin! Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We’re glad that you loved our services. Our dedicated staff will be pleased to hear this, they work diligently to ensure our customers receive the highest service. Thanks again for sharing your review with us and the community. It made our day!
Show Details

Original Review on 18-10-2022:

Very personalised service

- sales process was personal with a visit ion site and follow up phone calls
- installation was on time, cleaned up the mess, no worries
- not up to the grid connection yet, not yet inspected
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

10 months later we asked Marq : "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

yes,, i was not oversold on the system in the first place,,, my expectations about the power generated were not unrealistic as a result of the accurate advice provided in the sales process
Show Details

Good system

The proposed system for our shaded flat roof was the best of six preferred companies we had quote.

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Daryl! We truly appreciate you taking the time to post this great review and for the kind words of appreciation. Thank you for trusting SEA as your partner on your solar journey. We do our best to ensure our customers find the experience as seamless as possible, despite solar complexity. Welcome to the SEA family, happy to have you on board!
Show Details

Budget install experience at a premium price

First, please read through to see the final resolution of my issues. I bought 23 Hyundai 400W panels, with Enphase 7A inverters, and a Tesla Powerwall 2 with backup gateway. This replaced a very early system with 110W panels, 2.2kW maximum. The panels have been performing brilliantly, and I also signed up to Amber Electricity's Amber for Batteries program. I've been in credit every day except one since the install was finally commissioned.
The problem is that I feel the installation process was not what I was expecting. I wanted a premium install - I'm an engineer myself and knowing it was anything less would prey on my mind. The installers were .. ok, at best.
First, the quote was purely based on the salesman's visit, and that was what they planned to do the install based from, with no actual technical inspection or planning, which surprised me. I sent a number of emails, including concerns about possible mounting positions for the battery, after which they sent a technician to inspect the site. I asked that he properly measure the roof, from which we got an extra 4 panels up there. Those 4 panels have proved to be the difference between an export excess in winter and "just barely enough" for the house.
When they turned up for the install, they were not prepared. They did not have the correct tools to dismantle the old system, and ended up using angle grinders to rip everything apart., There was no way they had planned enough labour, and ended up finishing in the dark. When the electrician left, one circuit wasn't working in the house, and I managed to grab him and he tightened up a connection and left. They had to finish in the dark as they had another install the next day to go to, so they couldn't just come back tomorrow or in a couple of days to finish up. Even so the system couldn't be commissioned (it was dark, which makes it hard to test the solar), so the electrician came back late the next day to commission it.
Over the next few days I had issues with weird things in various places (like lights dimming when I turned a heater on). I didn't have faith in the solar company fixing it (in fairness, I didn't give them the opportunity and I didn't call them). I called my usual electrician and he came out and attached a number of wires in the switchboard that were loose o barely connected at all.
I'm guessing that; and the fact that my roof has bits of wire insulation, electrical tape and other stuff all over it is because it is also very hard to clean up in the dark. I disassembled all the old system framing myself. I couldn't believe it when they told me they were going to take it all to the tip. Again, the quote did NOT say they would recycle it, but I couldn't bear to see all that solid aluminium dumped in a tip. I took it to a scrap metal dealer myself. The panels have no resale value, they're 110W and I'm nobody wants those now, but again, there is a lot of aluminium in there that's easily removed and recycled. I'm doing what I can to find a recycler for the panels themselves.
In short, the installation works, and the products are very good, I just did not feel I got value for money from the installation. It might be that I'm too fussy, certainly other people seems to have been very happy with their work.

UPDATE: the company came back after a few weeks and corrected some of the issues, with no arguments about my complaints. On that basis I have improved my score. First, they removed a cable that had been run under the ceiling joists in the garage (so I couldn’t put a new ceiling up). They also straightened out the wonky panel array, and they corrected the installation issue where the battery wasn’t charging from solar when the grid was out. All of these issues shouldn’t have happened, and I stand by my criticism of the initial install. All of that was, in my opinion, due to under-resourcing the install and being under too much pressure to get the install done in one day so they could move on. However, it’s to their credit that they came back without arguing about things and just fixed what I asked them to.

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 4/5
Show Details

Great Installer to do business with

The sales and quoting process was excellent. Some other companies struggled to even call me back. Any updates to the quotes or changes were provided very promptly and the professionalism of the consultant was one of the primary decision makers that decided on which installer to proceed with.

Installation team were on-time, polite and very tidy.

After sales service has been excellent. Still waiting on AGL for the meter upgrade but that is not the fault of the installer as they were very prompt with all aspects of the installation.

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Greg! Thank you so much for taking the time to share this amazing review with us. We’re so glad to hear that you had a great experience every step of the way. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation, our teams will be thrilled to know you’re happy with your new system and our services. Thank you for trusting SEA for your solar solution. We hope you continue enjoying the saving on your electricity bill for many years to come. Welcome to the SEA family!
Show Details

Great service through the entire process!

SEA were great through the entire process, with great sales, a fantastic installation team and top notch after sales service.

They took a lot of time to run me through my system options and answered my countless questions.
The installer was great and the solar inspector even remarked about how well everything was done.
After sales service has also been great.

I couldn't be happier with the entire process and wouldn't hesitate to recommend SEA.

Panel rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Arjun! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review with us! We’re pleased to know that your energy consultant fully answered all your questions and helped you find a solar solution that’s the perfect fit for your household energy needs. As a CEC-approved retailer, we set high-quality standards, and your kind words of appreciation reaffirm our commitment to providing the best possible service. Thank you again for choosing SEA as your partner on your solar journey. You made our day!
Show Details

Great experience all round

Great pre and post sales service, installation was stress free and can already see the benefits
Inverter rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Kerrie! Thank you so much for taking the time out to post this 5-star rating! We're happy to hear you had a positive experience dealing with us. We’d love to continue providing great service, so if you ever have any questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact us. Happy to have you on board!
Show Details

Fantastic Powerwall deal and installation

very smooth process for sales and installation, and very friendly service teams. especially happy with Carlo for his perfect installation
Battery rating: 5/5

Supplier Reply:

Hello, William! We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Carlo has always been really great with his installs. We’re so glad you were happy with the team. We’ll pass along the kind words... Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community. It made our day!
Show Details

Quick, Professional and Painless

Slightly more expensive than other venders but completely hassle free and worth the money. Small issue with installing the panels due to the roof type but a work around was found. Highly recommended.

Supplier Reply:

Hello, Craig! Thanks for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear about the panels. Your feedback helps us get better, always. We will use this to improve customer experience. In spite of this, you still found the installation hassle-free and worth the money. Thank you so much for trusting us and for sharing your wonderful review with us and the community! It made our day!
Show Details

Fantastic Installer. Reliable. Efficient. Helpful. High Quality. Professional.

I can highly recommend Smart Energy for your solar panel installation. They did a fantastic installation, gave excellent customer service, they were organised, professional and reliable. They explained the process well and completed the task in full even organising the grid connection after the install. It was an efficient process and the end result was a high quality product and we are very pleased with the outcome.

Supplier Reply:

Hello Lisa! Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback!
We work hard to achieve high standards, and your review reaffirms our commitment to providing the best possible service. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation and for helping spread the word about us. It's great to know you're happy with your new system, we hope you enjoy the savings on your bill for many years to come! Welcome to the SEA family!
Show Details

Original Review on 08-08-2022:

Professional & Quality service

Smart Energy Answers provided a professional quality service from day 1 from sales to installation. Kevin and team arrived as planned and demonstrated professionalism and integrity. Everyone at SEA made time to explain and answer my questions. I would highly recommend them. Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 5/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 5/5

11 months later we asked Rose: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes thank you - great decision to go solar
Show Details

Original Review on 24-08-2022:

Solar Install, Sydney Hills district

A great job from Quote to post-install. The Salesman listened to my concerns & requests and updated the quote accordingly. The install team were prompt, did a great job, cleaned up after and explained everything to me. Follow-up on questions i had was good, with responses in a couple of days.
Grid connection organised by Smart Energy Answers, happening in a couple days (Endeavour, 15 day turnaround).
Original ratings

Panel rating: 5/5
Inverter rating: 5/5

Value for money: 4/5
Quality of System: 5/5
Installation: 5/5
Customer Service: 4/5

10 months later we asked Craig: "Are you happy with the performance of your system so far?"

Yes.
Show Details
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: