SAE Group Pty Ltd Reviews

Based on 545 reviews

  • 5 star 96
  • 4 star 350
  • 3 star 85
  • 2 star 10
  • 1 star 3

Average Customer Review

  • Value
    4.17
  • System Quality
    4.25
  • Customer Service
    4.20
  • Installation
    4.42

Show ratings from:

About SAE Group Pty Ltd, Solar Installers

SAE Group Pty Ltd
Platinum Partner

SAE Group is a wholly owned and operated Australian company specialising in energy efficient technology, solar power, Air conditioning and overhead and underground Powerline Construction and High Voltage Electrical for Energex, Ergon and Essential Energy networks.

We directly import solar products which gives us a competitive price point and the ability to control the supply and quality of the products we install.

SAE Group is a multi award winning company and a Master Electrician, we are working to make Australia 100% renewable and supply quality products at a competitive price.

SAE Group Pty Ltd Solar Reviews

We follow up with all reviewers after 12 months to see how their system is going since it was installed. These are all the reviewers who have responded to our 1 year follow up:
Show additional information
Still awaiting installation. The process has been slow due to Xmas holiday interruptions and a protracted approval process by the network operator which has been compounded by a State Govt solar incentive scheme that has sent the market into a short term frenzy. Looking forward to having the system installed soon. Show additional information
Show additional information
Show additional information
Show additional information
Our system has not been installed yet, but the whole process has just been so hard. Communication has been the hardest thing, (bloody hard). I have no doubt that the SAE group have all the technical skills and deal in great products, also, the individual people I have dealt with are all nice people, no complaints there, BUT, they need to sort out the internal communication and customer service.

Then I could write a glowing review, rather than a so so one. I will write another review once the system is installed, hopefully it will be a great review.

Thanks

Supplier Reply

Hi Grant, we're sorry to see you had a bad experience with us. The lack of communication is unacceptable in any case, and we would like to apologise. We would like to assure you that we are working to improve on this area of our business by continuous training and new processes - and feedback like this helps us to do this. We hope to work towards changing your opinion and hopefully have a better review next time. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Douglas, thank you for leaving a review. If you're finding any issues with your system then please let us know by calling our servicing team on 1300 18 20 50 and we can get this fixed for you as soon as possible. On a positive note, delighted you experienced good customer service and we hope you are now enjoying your solar system. Show additional information
Better communication needed from the office and for calls to be returned when stated.

Changing of generic emails to save conflicting information
3 weeks after deposit was paid was told there was a 3 week delay in obtaining panels.

Both the installers and the sales rep were thorough and professional.

Supplier Reply

Hi Greg, we're sorry to read you have had a bad experience with us regarding customer service. Thank you for making us aware - we have taken on your feedback and will look into improving our forms to ensure no confusion, and further customer service training takes place. On a brighter note, delighted to ready you were happy with your installation. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Phil, thank you for this great review. All our systems are long lasting and efficient so you can be sure it will be great value for money in the long run. Enjoy your solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Joanne, thank you for this fantastic review! We are delighted you had a good experience with SAE Group in all areas. Enjoy your solar. Show additional information
Left us with no electric hot water for over a month also a very noisy inverter that keeps dropping out with an error message suggesting cabling too light to carry load. Also no support when requested numerous times. A totally non professional service supplying poor quality equipment and a company who now seem to not want to know us.

Supplier Reply

Hi Greg, we're sorry to read that you had a bad experience with us. We understand your frustrations and are working on trying to get this resolved for you as soon as possible. Please understand that this has been taken to the highest level and is a main priority for us as a business to rectify, and you can expect a phone call today with our follow up actions. Once again, we apologise for any lack of communication and look forward to resolving this ASAP. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hello Jason, thank you for leaving a review. We are delighted you had a great experience with SAE Group and that we were able to tailor the right system for you. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Tuck, thanks for your positive review! Do feel free to get in touch with our office if you have any questions. Enjoy your switch to solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Reuben, thank you for leaving a positive review! Enjoy your new solar! Show additional information
SAE were very good to deal with and tried hard to fit into our date restrictions. Installers were good, salesman was good, office contact good.

Supplier Reply

Hi Margaret, thank you for your great review. We're delighted you had a good experience, and will pass this on to the SAE Team too. Merry Christmas enjoy your new solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Jon, thank you for leaving a positive review! Merry Christmas, Enjoy your new solar! Show additional information
Their customer service is letting down the guys in the field! I constantly had to chase them for everything. Communication is pretty average. I felt like I was being patronised when I had a problem and complained and I had to hassle them to have the issue fixed. The technicians and installers were professional and did a great job. The products are great too (I also had aircon installed).

Supplier Reply

Hi, we're sorry to see you had a bad experience with us. The lack of communication is unacceptable in any case, and we would like to apologise for you having to chase. We are taking on board your feedback and are currently working on our processes to try to rectify this, including further training, and hope to work towards changing your opinion. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope you have a great Christmas. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Good Afternoon, thank you for your quality review. Great to see you were happy with both the price and quality of the system. Merry Christmas, enjoy your new solar! Show additional information
many system faults from the beginning still unresolved and has been months...

Supplier Reply

Hi Steve, thank you for talking with me just now. Again, we are extremely sorry for the situation but we are working to fix it immediately. Please expect a call in the morning with an update. Thank you. Show additional information
SAE were great. James understood my needs and was extremely helpful with my changes. I would not hesitate in using them again or recommending them to everyone.

Supplier Reply

Hi Graeme, thanks for this fantastic review! We've passed this on to James, and are delighted you had a great experience. Remember, we reward customers like you with a $100 gift card if you recommend us to a friend and they choose to go ahead. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
I had already asked them to quote before I found your website.

Supplier Reply

Hi Ruth, thank you for your great review. Great to see you were happy with both the price and quality of the system. Hope you're enjoying your new solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Karl, thank you for writing a review. At SAE Group you can be sure that you have a great quality system that will deliver savings for years to come. We look forward to installing your solar soon! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Steve, thank you for leaving a review. We're glad you've had a good experience so far, and look forward to carrying out your installation! Show additional information
I feel they could of been a little quicker with the installation (7 weeks for signing )

Supplier Reply

Hi Rob and Anna, thank you for leaving a review. We apologise for the delay with installation and are working on improving this. We hope you are now enjoying all the benefits solar has to offer. Show additional information
Two friends have signed up for 6.6kw systems as well with SAE. Sales person was really good, knows his job. To get in touch to find out the installation date was very difficult.
Installation due tomorrow.

Supplier Reply

Hi Michael, thank you for leaving a review. First we would like to apologise for the poor communication with installation date. On a positive note, great to see both you and your friends will soon/are now enjoying the benefits of solar with high quality system, and will pass on the great feedback to your consultant. Show additional information
Communication within the company and between company and customer was below expectations
Installation is not finished as of today - which is why I have not rated it

Supplier Reply

Hi Robert, we're sorry to hear that you are not completely happy with your experience. Thank you for your feedback, we understand how important communication is and are constantly putting in new processes to ensure we can improve on this. We hope you're enjoying your new solar. Show additional information
All options provided were really good and the representatives were all fantastic and informative with their proposals.
It was a hard choice, but in the end we went with the SunPower panels, so spent a little extra, but the long term math indicates return on investment will be better for longer.

When the installers showed up, they too were very friendly, informative and helpful.

A great experience all round, and the system we chose is performing extremely well.
Too early yet to know what the impact is to our power bills, but the reports from the 5kWh Fronius inverter with 6.4kWH of 20 x 327kWH SunPower panels indicate we are producing 30 to 40 kWH each day.

Supplier Reply

Hi Roy, thanks for the fantastic feedback. Delighted you have had a great experience with SAE Group and that your system is running smoothly. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
The whole process from quote to installation was only a few weeks. The sales consultant, customer service and installation crew were all excellent. Based on my experience I recommend this company as a top supplier

Supplier Reply

Hi Fred, we're delighted to read you had a great experience with SAE Group. We always appreciate recommendations, so thank you. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
All the companies that I got quotes from were very professional and knowledgeable which made for a hard decision. The products were of very similar standards and very similar value for money. I decided to go with SAE as this company have many years experience, are a larger company and registered with the Clean Energy Council as both an Approved solar retailer and Accredited installer. I also found Craig from SAE who gave me my quote honest, knowledgeable and very informative about solar systems. Craig never gave me the impression of being a sales person only there to sell me his product.
Your website gave my invaluable knowledge and the confidence to make an informed decision not only with regards to choosing a system but in also choosing an installer.
My solar system is being installed next week. My next goal is to have a battery installed within the next 5 years.

Supplier Reply

Hi Jennifer, thanks for leaving this great review. We're certain you will be happy with your choice of installer, and will love the financial and environmental benefits of solar like so many of our previous customers. Craig will also be delighted with this feedback. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Greg, here at SAE Group we can be confident with our Master Electricians, that's why we offer the 12 year workmanship warranty! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Jamie, thank you for leaving a positive review! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Gerry, thank you for leaving such a positive review. Hope you're enjoying your solar! Show additional information
It was actually very hard to choose between the different suppliers including one not from SQ as they all appear to do a very good job. The choice had to be made on the basis of a couple of fairly small things and "feel". So the ratings I have given above are to encourage the company I chose but they do not imply that the other companies were inferior. However in all that, it was very helpful to get the process started by using your (SQ) site, reviews and recommendations, because at the outset I hardly knew anything about all this.

Finally another question for you. The panels actually look very good and fit in well with the roof. However they overhang the gutter at the bottom by about 2cm. This means of course that the rain water no longer goes into the gutter but overflows over the side of the house.

The installer explained all about that and why he had no choice but to do it that way and so it seems that we have to live with it. However it all happened at the very last minute so there was no time to rethink or come up with a plan B.

So have you heard of this happening before and if so what have people done to minimise the effects of water running down walls and/or pooling around the foundations � which is a no-no as far as the builder and his warranty are concerned.?

If you can give me any advice on how to proceed from here I would be grateful

Thanks a lot and all the best.

Supplier Reply

Hi Stephen, thank you for leaving a review. We would like to talk to you further regarding your solar overhang concerns and hopefully visit your property to move them up slightly - we are here to ensure you are happy with your installation. Please expect a call early next week from our electricians. Thanks again! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Andrew, thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your positive feedback. Always great to see our customers have enjoyed switching to solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi, thanks for leaving a review. We're delighted you had a good experience switching to solar with SAE Group. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
Hi from when I signed up and paid my deposit it has been about 10 weeks and still don't have a system and before it gets completed might be another 2 months I'm sorry I went ahead with getting a system installed . This company from what I can see take orders and deposit then order the system and you have to wait. I'm sick of waiting.

Supplier Reply

Hi Ronald, I'm sorry to read you were unhappy with our customer service. We do strive to have installations booked as soon as possible but can see there was some scheduling delays here which we apologise entirely for. With your installation booked this week, you will be soon enjoying the benefits of your solar system. Please do call 1300 18 20 50 if you have any queries at any point. Show additional information
Paul spent the time to explain everything in good detail or the tech side and things we hadn't thought of - even though he knew we were comparing with another company - so that we could understand. We asked for reasons why paying extra for a quality system would pay off - and he explained. One of few companies that supply the newest Eclipse panels (as well as the Fronius inverter) - and they make electricity during light rain - very impressive to see it on the display panel. Panel was explained well by the installer electrician. Paying extra has paid off - best investment - better than putting in the bank - assuming that elect prices will keep rising over the years and who are we kidding : they have only gone up not down so far in our half-century of living - we have already saved easily about a thousand off our electricity bill for the last year (starting soon after installation). So it will be paid off easily in about 7 years max (which is what was estimated) It was organised to be installed as fast as possible (comparing with other people's reports) considering all the hoops that need to be jumped through. It seemed a long time and we only rang up a couple of times to see if everybody in the office was onto our project and keeping it pushing thru - it was worth waiting for. They reminded us or organised the type of meter(s) we needed . For e.g. we arranged to disconnect from the grid the hot water 'off-peak' - extra cost - then Paul advised us on an adjustable timer to be put inline so that we could heat the normal electric hot water tank during the day during sunny times. It works perfectly. The staff on the phone have always been helpful and friendly. We referred to a friend and he was convinced also and also found the system to save him money in addition to older PV panels he had already set up years ago. Emmaleigh recently helped with another inquiry including how to turn off the power during severe lightning storms. Thanks everyone at SAE

Supplier Reply

Hi Anita, thank you for this amazing, detailed review. We are over the moon that you had a good experience switching to solar with SAE Group! We also really appreciate your referral, so thank you. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
SAE Group were prompt and reliable in setting up the time and installation of the solar system. The installers were able to overcome a few problems they encountered along the way. They were professional and courteous at all times.

Supplier Reply

Hi Rudy, thank you for your great review. We're delighted you had a good experience, and will pass this on to the installers team too. Hope you're enjoying your solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Andy, thank you for leaving SAE Group this great review. We're delighted you had a good experience with us. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Michael, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. At SAE Group we only offer the very best in solar technology, having visited factories from all around the world, so we're glad you picked up on our high quality systems. Thanks again, and we're delighted you enjoyed your switch to solar with us! Show additional information
I haven't installed yet but will be going with SAE solar

Supplier Reply

Hi Clinton, thank you for leaving this great review. Here at SAE Group we're master electricians wanting to help you make the right decision when it comes to switching to solar energy, so there's really no need for us to be pushy. Thanks for choosing us as your partner in solar energy. Show additional information
There was a delay in the installation due to a supply issue, which resulted in a price increase due the the drop in STC.

However they answered all my questions very quickly, and the installation team were very good. They came out on a rainy day and persisted with the installation in between the heavy down pours.

Supplier Reply

Hi Ian, thanks for leaving a review. We're sorry to read that your switch to solar didn't run as smoothly as we would have liked, but thank you for your understanding. It's great to hear our installation team were able to persist even around the downpours. We hope you're enjoying your new solar. Show additional information
Sales rep James was pretty much the reason we choose SAE, he was really clear on the explanation and answering all our questions. Then the installation went really well and so far everything is running as told and expected.

Supplier Reply

Hi Martin, thanks for writing SAE Group such a positive review. James will be delighted to hear this feedback. Like all our consultants, he is very knowledgeable on solar and strives to delivery the best for his customers. We're glad everything is running smoothly, do feel free to get in touch with our office if you have any questions in the mean time. Enjoy your switch to solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Margaret, thank you for choosing to switch to solar with SAE Group. We strive to delivery the best quality solar at competitive prices, so we're glad you picked up on that. We hope you enjoy your switch to solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi, thanks for leaving us a review. Here at SAE Group, we are Master Electricians that only want the best for our customers so no need for the hard sell from us! We're glad you enjoyed your switch to solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Benn, thank you for leaving SAE Group a review. We hope you've enjoyed your switch to solar with us. If you ever have any questions then we're always here to help. Show additional information
SAE were a close second on price for a standard 5kw output system, of the four separate independent quotes we requested. SAE were the most innovative and helpful through a trade knowledgeable representative and backed it up with excellent follow through, instillation (a dream team - neat, tidy, proficient) and completion. Whilst a somewhat larger organization, they performed like a well oiled machine, and provided what feels like real customer service.

Supplier Reply

Hi, thank you for leaving SAE Group such a great review. We are delighted that you picked up on our strong solar knowledge and that you felt well looked after throughout your switch to solar. If you ever have any questions then we're always here to help. We hope you enjoy your solar. Show additional information
All good. We are happy campers. Highly recommend SAE.

Supplier Reply

Hi Stuart, thank you for leaving SAE Group a review. We're delighted you're all happy campers! Enjoy your solar. Show additional information
Thx for your help

Supplier Reply

Hi Glen, thank you for leaving us this great review. Here at SAE Group we are on a mission to switch Australia to solar one rooftop at a time, so it really was our pleasure to help you. We hope you enjoy your solar! Show additional information
Awsome service

Supplier Reply

HI Reeju, thank you for the great feedback. We all strive to deliver the best service possible here at SAE Group so everyone can enjoy switching to solar, so we're delighted we hit the mark for you. We're always here if you ever have a query. We hope you enjoy your solar. Show additional information
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: