SAE Group Pty Ltd Reviews

Based on 578 reviews

  • 5 star 99
  • 4 star 370
  • 3 star 91
  • 2 star 14
  • 1 star 3

Average Customer Review

  • Value
    4.17
  • System Quality
    4.24
  • Customer Service
    4.18
  • Installation
    4.42

Show ratings from:

About SAE Group Pty Ltd, Solar Installers

SAE Group Pty Ltd
Platinum Partner

SAE Group is a wholly owned and operated Australian company specialising in energy efficient technology, solar power, Air conditioning and overhead and underground Powerline Construction and High Voltage Electrical for Energex, Ergon and Essential Energy networks.

We directly import solar products which gives us a competitive price point and the ability to control the supply and quality of the products we install.

SAE Group is a multi award winning company and a Master Electrician, we are working to make Australia 100% renewable and supply quality products at a competitive price.

SAE Group Pty Ltd Solar Reviews

We follow up with all reviewers after 12 months to see how their system is going since it was installed. These are all the reviewers who have responded to our 1 year follow up:
Sean the sales consultant was very good designing a system that met our needs. Communication could be improved as after letting us know about the approval from the energy company and the fact that they needed to order parts in, we needed to chase up when it would be installed. The guys that did install it were very good and completed the installation quickly. The placement of the panels look good on the roof showing that care has been taken and not just put up there any which way. Very happy with the company and the installation and would recommend them to others. Show additional information
It has only just been installed & I'm still waiting for Ergon Energy to switch something in my power box, so my Solar is not working yet.
SAE were fantastic in the beginning, but lacked in communication whilst waiting for installation. I feel that if I had not made contact, then unsure how long I would wait to hear from them. They had issues with availability of panels they had quoted.
Otherwise, the installers were great. Just hope the system works OK .
Show additional information
Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Thanks Steve, its been great helping you on your way to solar power Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review Ben, we appreciate you spreading the love Show additional information
We work full time and asked the service person to be here before 7.00 as we had to go to work. The office staff did not tell the installer and we had to leave the house unlocked and go to work which I was not happy about. They installed the solar but disconnected the spa. I had to phone the office many times to get them back to fix the spa switch. I again asked the installer to be here before I went to work. The office staff text me that he would arrive before 7.30 again he did not. He said he was not told by the office what time to arrive. The office staff were very inefficient and not helpful. I did not enjoy the experience with this organisation. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Steve,

Great to hear from you, thanks for taking the time to provide us with your review
Show additional information
By dealing with S.A.E. Group, Tweed Heads, I couldn't have chosen better. An excellent company to deal with and their representative Sean CRUST whose area includes Toowoomba is an asset to this company who did them proud.
The same can also be said of the installers. They were very professional, neat and tidy with their work and very trustworthy.
S.A.E. Group should feel very proud and confident if all other employees display such qualities.
My experience was extremely positive and I am very grateful to have had an excellent Australian company to deal with.
I also thank SOLARQUOTES for their help and advice.

Supplier Reply

Hi Graham,
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We are so pleased you've had such a wonderful experience with us. We are working hard to ensure this is always our standard.

Show additional information
So disappointed with SAE Group Tweed Heads. I used Solar Quotes and SAE Group Tweed Heads was recommended to me.

Solar Web (Fronius) app to monitor system was not set up. Tried to do it myself only to get errors. I sent SAE Group Tweed Heads an email which I have included below. When we finally had our digital meter installed, we expected to see our consumption. We told Andrew (sales rep) at the time of signing up that monitoring consumption was important to us. Upon research, I have found out that the consumption monitor is extra and was NEVER installed. I contacted SAE Group Tweed Heads to discuss this only to get as far as the receptionist who has no knowledge. You do NOT get to speak to anyone. Not good enough! I was told that Andrew would ring back; that was 5 weeks ago! Read their reviews and many people complain about poor after sales service. When it is time to buy a battery, we will NOT be buying it from SAE Group and we will never recommend them. Our daughter recently had solar panels installed with a different company which cost her $2,000 less and she can see consumption.

Here is my initial email complaint:

We are disappointed with after the installation use. I am detailing our experience below so you can have a perspective of what a new customer is faced with.

1. We understand time was running out for sunlight to have our lesson on how to use after the panels were installed. This was rushed.

2. No operating manual only an online one which cannot be viewed as the Fronius website has been down since Thursday. There was a message on the website stating it was down for maintenance. We tried many times to download the manual. We received an SAE email telling us the importance of reading page 12 of the information booklet. Upon checking right now [four days later], the link was live however, there are many options to download. Which model do we have so we can download the correct manual?

3. The system monitoring quick installation was far from quick and still we had not installed. Using a QR code reader, I was stuck in 'connecting'. I bypassed this, downloaded the app from the app store, created an account on the Fronius website and again was stuck in 'connecting'.

4. Without any documentation I tried to work through our account on the Fronius website, not the app. I had to add a PV system so I tried to add but had no idea of what the details were so gave up on that.

5. As the website was back online, I tried the app again and worked through the menu. I clicked 'your system monitoring' and finally got to see something! Well it was so tiny on the smart phone. Not an SAE fault, but surely Fronius would make a mobile version for ease of reading. So that is it? Is that all we can monitor via the app? We had Solar Gain visit us and we were shown a very detailed app to monitor the panels realtime. We assumed SAE would offer something similar. Am I overlooking something?

Supplier Reply

Hello Gayle, I am sincerely sorry this has been your experience with us. As discussed with you, we truly value your feedback and your experience is shaping the way we are training our team to be better, and deliver a better experience for our customers. We understand solar can be complicated and so we really do apologise for the confusion with the inclusion of the smart meter for your comprehensive monitoring. As you know we are heading back to you to install this for you to rectify the matter. We look forward to providing you with this resolution in the next few days. Show additional information
We have had a disagreement about monitoring. After the install discovered I wasn't provided with per panel monitoring. This ability was demonstrated during pre-sales discussions and I clearly indicated that was what I wanted as there is a number of potential shading issues with trees.
Also a number of post sales support questions so far have gone unanswered

Supplier Reply

Hello,
Thanks for your feedback, we are working through this issue now. I hope to have a resolution for you tomorrow. I look forward to touching base with you then
Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hello Leanore, thank you for your review. We're glad you picked up on our competitive pricing. We're sorry if you feel our customer service hasn't been 5* but we would love the opportunity to change your mind. If you have any queries before your solar installation do get in touch with our office on 1300 18 20 50, we would be happy to help. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Martin, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We strive to deliver the best quality systems at the best prices so we're glad you picked up on that. If you have any questions before your installation do get in touch on 1300 18 20 50. Thank you, Show additional information
We were please to have our installation completed by SAE. Their customer service, fast installation and value for money on product supplied was exceptional. We would highly recommend SAE.

Supplier Reply

Hi Kylie, thank you for this great review. We're delighted you were happy with your solar experience throughout. We hope you're enjoying your new solar system. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Huw, thank you for your review. We're glad you noted our competitive prices and we were able to offer you a great system at the right price. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
Hello Fin

Our solar was only installed last week and we are looking forward to lower lower bills moving forward.

I have passed your contacts onto family members who are going to read all your research and probably like me contact you for quotes.

Thanks for your great service.

Regards

Carrollyn

Supplier Reply

Hi Carrollyn, thanks for leaving a review. We're glad you're enjoying your solar, and we're sure you'll enjoy those lower electricity bills for years to come too. Referring friends and family is a great idea, and if they have any questions then they can contact us on 1300 18 20 50. Thanks again, SAE Group. Show additional information
SAE Group were one of the two installers recommended by solar quotes and I can say they have truly earned their reputation for being the platinum supplier for solar quotes. My first contact was with Mike Pollard who was flexible with his time to come over, explain the nitty gritty, and assist in choosing the appropriate solar systems after going through the pro and cons of the numerous options. His transparency and down to earth demeanour along with the quote he provided which was value for money, given the reputation of the SAE Group was outstanding to say the least.

From there on upon accepting the quote I was constantly updated by Emmaleigh from admin, as we went through each of the processes through to post installation, all of which was done in a timely manner without any delays. Along the way any queries and doubts were promptly laid to rest.

The installers Gareth and his offsider were friendly, courteous and being a tradie myself, I was impressed by their work ethic and their execution of the task assigned to them. It was a neat and brilliant job.

I would not hesitate to use SAE Group again in future and vouch that one will never regret at having done business with them. They are certainly deserving of the numerous awards and accolades which they have received and I hope the list only gets longer. I wish SAE Group nothing but success and prosperity.

Supplier Reply

Hello Everard, thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We're so happy you enjoyed switching to solar with SAE Group. All of us here strive to deliver the best service possible in all areas of your solar journey, from consultation to post installation customer service, so we're over the moon that you had that. Thank you also for mentioning members of the team, we'll be sure to pass this on to each of them. If you do know of anyone that you would like to refer then do get in touch and we will be sure to give them a great solar experience too. Once again, thank you for this review and if you have any questions now or in the future then do contact our office. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
Damien at SAE was very good to deal with. Definitely recommend.

Supplier Reply

Hi Craig, thank you for leaving a review. We're delighted you were happy switching to solar with Damian and SAE Group. Hope you're enjoying your new solar system! Show additional information
I found the experience with SAE, from first phone call to final installation, to be excellent.

Supplier Reply

Hi Lyn, thank you for this great review. We truly strive to deliver the best all round experience for those switching to solar with SAE Group, and we're delighted that we were able to do this for you. We hope you enjoy your solar, and we're always here if you have any questions. Show additional information
From the first call to James, to the final installation, it was a pleasurable experience, topped off by a first class service. The installation team were also excellent and were a pleasure to work with.

Supplier Reply

Hi Tom, thanks for leaving a review, and for mentioning our consultant James and your installation team. We work hard to deliver the best service, and we're delighted we hit the mark for you. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
So Far so good. I'll be honest we were hoping for better power output (power clips around 4.5kW due to power factor adjustment), single phase supply limited us to a 5kW inverter. Still, produces about 25kWh even on an overcast summer day. Hoping to do better today as it's fairly clear. Can't make long term predictions as it's only our second day of production.

Supplier Reply

Hi Brian, thanks for your review. The lower powerfactor is set by power companies to keep it uniformed, and should cause a higher current flow for a given load. In regards to your system, our electricians have checked it here and it is operating above what is expected which is great. If you have any questions, do get in touch on 1300 18 20 50. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
Really good cos I was expecting issues with customer service ,not that they are bad they just change persons or dont get back to you, when speaking to them they are quite nice

Supplier Reply

Hi Crystal, thank you for your useful feedback. We're delighted you were happy with your consultant and your system. We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our post installation service - we understand, and you can expect a call from your installer Zaren today to run through any queries you have. Thank you, Show additional information
I found SAE Group to be so helpful, they helped me cut through all the conflicting information out there and made it simple. We went ahead with Sunpower panels as we wanted to invest in a quality system and the price made them affordable compared to other panels. The installation team were so awesome too. No mess, quick and efficient, and ran me through everything and made sure I understood before they finished.

Supplier Reply

Hi Sue, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Here at SAE Group we believe knowledge is power, so it's great to hear you were well informed throughout. Enjoy your solar and SunPower panels! Show additional information
The two installers were very efficient and quick. They explained everything in detail ans answered all my questions. The one criticism I have is that they brought a radio with them and turned it on quite loudly. They were working just outside my daughter's window and she was still asleep, it being a Saturday morning. My neighbours bedroom is also very close to where they were working. I asked them to turn down the volume which they did. However, later on when they were working on the roof they took the radio with them and turned the volume very loud. It was booming throughout my house, but worse was that it annoyed my neighbour on the other side and he turned on the ute stereo full blast, in retaliation I suspect. In Queensland it is illegal to play electronic music so loud that it can be heard inside neighbours houses.

Supplier Reply

Hi Tamara, thank you for making us aware of this issue. We apologise for the radio volume level, and have taken on board your feedback with the Electrical Manager looking into this now. We hope to put new processes in place to rectify this and ensure it won't happen again. We're glad you were happy with the other aspects of the installation and hope you will soon be enjoying the benefits of solar. Thanks again for your feedback. Show additional information
After placing a deposit before Christmas I had heard nothing. Decided to ring in late January 2019 and got the run around. Eventually they advised they stuffed up matching the micro inverter type to the larger solar panel. Signed s new contract with them about 24th January and told them I wanted to be informed on the progress. As of 6th February I have heard nothing further. I could not recommend them. All fast and efficient before the contract is signed then nothing. Just like a used car salesman.

I am sorry but it does not reflect well on your company either. Communication costs nothing. I am seriously considering cancelling the contract and letting the process sit for a further 12 months.

Supplier Reply

Hi Peter, we're sorry to read you're unhappy with our level of communication. We acknowledge the importance of good customer service, and understand your frustrations. Please understand this is being treated as a main priority for us to rectify, and you can expect a phone call today with our follow up actions. We look forward to speaking with you soon and working towards changing your opinion. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Frank, thanks for leaving a review. It's great to see you've had a good experience s far with SAE Group. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
SAE were communicative. They did what they said they would, & the team of 3 who came to install my system were friendly, efficient & did a great job.

Supplier Reply

Hi Marion, thanks for your great review. Our installation teams always strive to deliver the best service, so they'll be delighted to hear you were happy. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
We are yet to install the system.

Do to personal issues it took a long time to get the SAE rep on site to confirm the quote and installation details.

We ended up choosing SAE because they were having a promotion. All three quoted the same inverter and class A panels and were planning identical installations of the same size, so we felt that price was the primary difference.

We were disappointed with the behaviour of the salesman from Modergy who consistently requested that we share information around price from the other suppliers. I pointed out that this was unethical, but he proceeded nonetheless. I eliminated them on this basis.

Supplier Reply

Hi Bruno, Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to installing your solar soon!
Thanks again.
Show additional information
The whole experience was very easy with just a little delay in installation because they were busy. This was an add on to my present 3kW system (5kW inverter, I had this fitted when we finished the house in June 2016 and money was a bit short). Put panels on W side, original is on N side and this seems to work well giving a longer time of high production. The few times I have checked daily net output it was around 37kWh (Sunshine coast in summer). I have just changed to AGL solar savers with fair T11 and T31 rates, a reasonable daily charge ( 108.9c/day) and a FIT of $.20/kWh which is more than I pay for my hot water (T31)! Seems too good to be true.

Supplier Reply

Hi Robert, Thanks for taking the time to offer your feedback, We are happy we could assist you. Great news your seeing such a positive return on your solar, and nice work researching a good FIT as well. It's a quality system that will serve you well Show additional information
SAE Toowoomba is not Toowoomba at all - apart from the rep that is. Most of installation provided by local subbies including ones that quoted for the job at higher prices initially.

Still waiting for confirmation of Fronius registration and extended warranty six week after installation.

Supplier Reply

Hi Trev, thank you for your feedback. The installers that we use in Toowoomba work with us regularly and have done for several years, and we are happy to put our name and warranty behind them. However, if you found to have issues on the day of installation please do let us know by calling 1300 18 20 50. We have prioritised what you are awaiting and should be in touch soon with details. We do hope you're enjoying you solar. Show additional information
Was very happy with our original quote from SAE and contacted them to arrange installation after we were successful in obtaining the QLD government grant approval. Not so happy when they decided to tack on an additional $3,000 for 'Installation and administration and travel' after this. Our address didn't change and I do understand that our initial advise was a quote. However, I have yet to see a more blatant money grab. Would recommend you don't waste your time.

Supplier Reply

Hi Carrie, first we want to apologise for the original miscommunication. Unfortunately our closest office to you is in Sunshine coast so the additional $3,000 was for travel to your location. We understand that we should have picked up on this initially, and we apologise for that mistake. We have taken on board your feedback and will work towards putting new processes in place to ensure this doesn't happen in future. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Leo, thanks for leaving a review. It's great to see you've had a good experience with SAE Group. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Don, thank you for your feedback. We'll be sure to pass this on to your consultant, and have your great quality system installed soon. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Sarah, thank you so much for this great review! We're delighted you've enjoyed your experience with SAE Group and you switch to solar. We hope you're enjoying the benefits of solar power, and we're always here if you need us.
Show additional information
Still awaiting installation. The process has been slow due to Xmas holiday interruptions and a protracted approval process by the network operator which has been compounded by a State Govt solar incentive scheme that has sent the market into a short term frenzy. Looking forward to having the system installed soon.

Supplier Reply

Hi John, thank you for your feedback. I apologise for the delay you have experienced, but look forward to installing your solar soon! We're delighted you were able to pick up on our consultants knowledge. Thanks again. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Kelly, thank you for your review. Our consultants always strive to deliver the best customer service, so they will be delighted with this feedback. We look forward to installing your solar soon. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi David, thank you for your feedback. Safety and quality are the two most important things to us here at SAE Group, so we're glad you picked up on that. Look forward to installing your solar soon. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Penny, thank you for your feedback. We try to be competitively price whilst offering the best systems, which is why we're always happy to break down costs. We hope you're enjoying your solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Paula, thank you for leaving a review. We look forward to installing your solar soon! Show additional information
Our system has not been installed yet, but the whole process has just been so hard. Communication has been the hardest thing, (bloody hard). I have no doubt that the SAE group have all the technical skills and deal in great products, also, the individual people I have dealt with are all nice people, no complaints there, BUT, they need to sort out the internal communication and customer service.

Then I could write a glowing review, rather than a so so one. I will write another review once the system is installed, hopefully it will be a great review.

Thanks

Supplier Reply

Hi Grant, we're sorry to see you had a bad experience with us. The lack of communication is unacceptable in any case, and we would like to apologise. We would like to assure you that we are working to improve on this area of our business by continuous training and new processes - and feedback like this helps us to do this. We hope to work towards changing your opinion and hopefully have a better review next time. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Douglas, thank you for leaving a review. If you're finding any issues with your system then please let us know by calling our servicing team on 1300 18 20 50 and we can get this fixed for you as soon as possible. On a positive note, delighted you experienced good customer service and we hope you are now enjoying your solar system. Show additional information
Better communication needed from the office and for calls to be returned when stated.

Changing of generic emails to save conflicting information
3 weeks after deposit was paid was told there was a 3 week delay in obtaining panels.

Both the installers and the sales rep were thorough and professional.

Supplier Reply

Hi Greg, we're sorry to read you have had a bad experience with us regarding customer service. Thank you for making us aware - we have taken on your feedback and will look into improving our forms to ensure no confusion, and further customer service training takes place. On a brighter note, delighted to ready you were happy with your installation. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Phil, thank you for this great review. All our systems are long lasting and efficient so you can be sure it will be great value for money in the long run. Enjoy your solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Joanne, thank you for this fantastic review! We are delighted you had a good experience with SAE Group in all areas. Enjoy your solar. Show additional information
Left us with no electric hot water for over a month also a very noisy inverter that keeps dropping out with an error message suggesting cabling too light to carry load. Also no support when requested numerous times. A totally non professional service supplying poor quality equipment and a company who now seem to not want to know us.

Supplier Reply

Hi Greg, we're sorry to read that you had a bad experience with us. We understand your frustrations and are working on trying to get this resolved for you as soon as possible. Please understand that this has been taken to the highest level and is a main priority for us as a business to rectify, and you can expect a phone call today with our follow up actions. Once again, we apologise for any lack of communication and look forward to resolving this ASAP. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hello Jason, thank you for leaving a review. We are delighted you had a great experience with SAE Group and that we were able to tailor the right system for you. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Tuck, thanks for your positive review! Do feel free to get in touch with our office if you have any questions. Enjoy your switch to solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Reuben, thank you for leaving a positive review! Enjoy your new solar! Show additional information
SAE were very good to deal with and tried hard to fit into our date restrictions. Installers were good, salesman was good, office contact good.

Supplier Reply

Hi Margaret, thank you for your great review. We're delighted you had a good experience, and will pass this on to the SAE Team too. Merry Christmas enjoy your new solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Jon, thank you for leaving a positive review! Merry Christmas, Enjoy your new solar! Show additional information
Their customer service is letting down the guys in the field! I constantly had to chase them for everything. Communication is pretty average. I felt like I was being patronised when I had a problem and complained and I had to hassle them to have the issue fixed. The technicians and installers were professional and did a great job. The products are great too (I also had aircon installed).

Supplier Reply

Hi, we're sorry to see you had a bad experience with us. The lack of communication is unacceptable in any case, and we would like to apologise for you having to chase. We are taking on board your feedback and are currently working on our processes to try to rectify this, including further training, and hope to work towards changing your opinion. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope you have a great Christmas. Show additional information
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: