Menu
House
House Tablet

Find The Best Solar Deals In Australia

  • 3 Free, No Obligation, Solar Quotes
  • From Fully Qualified Installers
  • With 1000ís of Customer Reviews
  • Competing for Your Business
Finn Peacock Caricature

Ready for some quotes? Enter your postcode now

SAE Group Pty Ltd Reviews

Based on 501 reviews

  • 5 star 91
  • 4 star 318
  • 3 star 81
  • 2 star 9
  • 1 star 1

Average Customer Review

  • Value
    4.18
  • System Quality
    4.24
  • Customer Service
    4.21
  • Installation
    4.43

Show ratings from:

About SAE Group Pty Ltd, Solar Installers

SAE Group is a wholly owned and operated Australian company specialising in energy efficient technology, solar power, Air conditioning and overhead and underground Powerline Construction and High Voltage Electrical for Energex, Ergon and Essential Energy networks.

We directly import solar products which gives us a competitive price point and the ability to control the supply and quality of the products we install.

SAE Group is a multi award winning company and a Master Electrician, we are working to make Australia 100% renewable and supply quality products at a competitive price.

SAE Group Pty Ltd Solar Reviews

We follow up with all reviewers after 12 months to see how their system is going since it was installed. These are all the reviewers who have responded to our 1 year follow up:

Supplier Reply

Hi Margaret, thank you for choosing to switch to solar with SAE Group. We strive to delivery the best quality solar at competitive prices, so we're glad you picked up on that. We hope you enjoy your switch to solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi, thanks for leaving us a review. Here at SAE Group, we are Master Electricians that only want the best for our customers so no need for the hard sell from us! We're glad you enjoyed your switch to solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Benn, thank you for leaving SAE Group a review. We hope you've enjoyed your switch to solar with us. If you ever have any questions then we're always here to help. Show additional information
SAE were a close second on price for a standard 5kw output system, of the four separate independent quotes we requested. SAE were the most innovative and helpful through a trade knowledgeable representative and backed it up with excellent follow through, instillation (a dream team - neat, tidy, proficient) and completion. Whilst a somewhat larger organization, they performed like a well oiled machine, and provided what feels like real customer service.

Supplier Reply

Hi, thank you for leaving SAE Group such a great review. We are delighted that you picked up on our strong solar knowledge and that you felt well looked after throughout your switch to solar. If you ever have any questions then we're always here to help. We hope you enjoy your solar. Show additional information
All good. We are happy campers. Highly recommend SAE.

Supplier Reply

Hi Stuart, thank you for leaving SAE Group a review. We're delighted you're all happy campers! Enjoy your solar. Show additional information
Thx for your help

Supplier Reply

Hi Glen, thank you for leaving us this great review. Here at SAE Group we are on a mission to switch Australia to solar one rooftop at a time, so it really was our pleasure to help you. We hope you enjoy your solar! Show additional information
Awsome service

Supplier Reply

HI Reeju, thank you for the great feedback. We all strive to deliver the best service possible here at SAE Group so everyone can enjoy switching to solar, so we're delighted we hit the mark for you. We're always here if you ever have a query. We hope you enjoy your solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi, thank you for leaving us a review. We're sorry to see that you felt you didn't get good value for money, but if you've invested in a good solar system you can expect it to save you money significantly over its lifetime. We hope you're enjoying your switch to solar. Show additional information
They increased the price but almost $1000 after I signed the contract and paid the deposit. Then they tried to hit me up for another $400 at the time of installation. I find this to be really upsetting and am not happy at all. Plus they installed the system before the smart metre was installed, but set it so the battery is not charging at all, so I'm sending energy out to the grid for free. This is crap.

Supplier Reply

Hi Alex, I'm sorry to see you had a poor experience with us regarding our customer service. In regards to the STC change, this is out of our control but again we apologise for any confusion caused. As I understand you spoke with our Electrical Project Manager Tom this morning, and the battery issues have now been dealt with - apologies for any delay. If any issues do arise, or if you have any questions then please do call our office. On the positive note, you can now start enjoying the many benefits of solar and energy storage. Show additional information
Salesman unreachable after sale was made. Like many larger businesses not able to make mutually beneficial decisions when circumstances change.

Supplier Reply

Hi Neil, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would like to apologise if you felt there was a lack of contact or poor customer service at any point, this was not our intension and will take this feedback on board. On a positive note, we're delighted you've had your installation in and can look forward to enjoying solar for many years to come. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Peter, thank you for letting us know why you chose SAE. We really appreciate that you can see our long term professionalism as a company. We hope you enjoy your switch to solar energy. Show additional information
From initial onsite to install SAE we friendly and provided great advice and answered any questions we had. Highly recommend these guys.

Supplier Reply

Hi Rodd, thank you for leaving a review. We're delighted you had a great experience with us and learnt more about the benefits of solar. If you have any more questions, we're always happy to answer them now and in the future. Show additional information
It is hard to improve an excellent machine.
SAE's sales rep Craig Brown was dynamic, creative and worked smart (with us) and hard (within SAE's bureaucracy) to put a great package together. Serena Murray (SAE's Administration and Accounts) was efficient, professional and very good and pleasant to work with. Your on-site team of Tim, Ben and Andy were very safe, clean, considerate, conscientious and all of these people are a real credit to your success. SAE did not win on price (SAE were just third best on a conventional 5KW system - not by a lot but perhaps enough if other people consider price only). SAE's winning edge was though Craig Brown's knowledge and creative intuition to engineer a larger system generating not just more energy for us but an optimal value for money outcome and he was the key to this deal.
Cost alone was not our primary concern and it was:
1) SAE's potential future capacity to provide ongoing service (if needed);
2) SAE's duration on inverter and panel warranties;
3) SAE's capability to use higher capacity panels by using 320's rather than 275's to facilitate the a higher capacity output in an elegant configuration on the limited roof space;
4) and most importantly SAE's people, who were not great, they were not even good, in fact they were surprisingly exceptional!
SAE appears to have a great system to facilitate a robust end to end delivery, from quote to finished job for conventional packages.

Supplier Reply

Hi Dianne, what amazing feedback - thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We all strive here to deliver the best all round customer service and to tailor your solar solution around your needs, so we're delighted that Craig and the team were able to do that with you. We are always at the end of the phone, or just down the road if you ever have any further queries. Don't forget, if you refer your friends you can receive $100 if they install with us too. We hope you enjoyed your switch to solar. Show additional information
Sales person understood my requirements and gave good advice
System a little dearer than equivalent from others. Felt comfortable with SAE.
They did try to change the quote but gave in. Disappointed in that tactic. Job done well. Crew were tops.

Supplier Reply

Hi Bob, thank you for leaving a review. Our Master Electricians really do know their stuff, so we're glad you picked up on that. Unfortunately the drop in the government rebate commodity value is the reason for any change in quotes, but we apologise for any confusion caused. Delighted to hear about the crew too. We hope you're enjoying your solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Eddie, thank you for leaving such a positive review. We all strive to deliver the best all round customer experience and we're delighted we hit the mark with you. We hope you enjoying your new solar system. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Cecil, thank you for leaving a review. We're delighted to see that you chose us for a variety of reasons and we hope that you were happy with our service throughout. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi, thank you for your feedback. Here at SAE Group we strive towards all our customers enjoying a 5 star service, so we would like to apologise if you felt you didn't receive this. We only offer solar components that we are proud to put our name too, so if you've had any issues or have any questions regarding your solar system please do give us a call on 1300 18 20 50. We would be happy to discuss this with you further. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Sandra, thank you for leaving a review. We hope you've enjoyed your experience with us so far, and if you have any questions prior to your installation please do let us know. Show additional information
If I was to go through all that pain again (buying solar for the first time is a minefield and a nightmare-friends did warn me but I ignored the warnings) I would choose one of the "cheap chinese" companies - at least then I would have expected the issues I had with SAE Group

Supplier Reply

Hi Fiona, we're sorry to see you had a poor experience with us. We are always looking to improve and would appreciate learning more about your specific situation to ensure all issues have been dealt with. We will definitely follow this up our end, and you can expect a call from us if you are happy to discuss this with us further. If you would like to get in contact in the mean time please call 1300 18 20 50 and ask for the marketing team. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi, thank you for writing a review. We are delighted you had a good experience with us and hope you are enjoying your new solar system! We are always here to help if you questions in the future. Show additional information
Craig from SAE came out and advised us of the best place to install a system that would suit us; then fully customised a system to suit our needs and budget. We have paid a deposit but not installed yet.

Supplier Reply

Hi Kerryn, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. At SAE Group we know that every home is different, and that's why we tailor the system around the energy usage and the house design. We really do recommend investing in a good system, as it always saves money in the long run. Enjoy your switch to solar energy, and do get in touch if you have any questions prior to installation. Show additional information
Installation position on the roof was not ideal, and I'm not ready to pay extra to move the panels 2 metres across the roof.

Installers were unable to connect the inverter to LAN, resorted to Wi-Fi instead, which is unfortunate and not ideal.

Setup of backup was incorrect and a follow-up visit was required to wire the house correctly.

Supplier Reply

Hello, we're sorry to see you had a bad experience with us regarding your installation. We would like to learn more about your specific situation and ensure your system is running efficiently, and that the follow up visit to the house has corrected everything. If you would like to discuss this further please do call our office on 1300 18 20 50 and ask for the marketing team. We look forward to speaking with you and working towards changing your opinion. Show additional information
Happy with what SAE quoted and service was great. Boys did a great job on the installation. Due to get our digital meter connected next week so looking forward to saving money on our electricity bills moving forward.

Supplier Reply

Hi Malia, thanks for taking the time to write a review. We all really appreciate the feedback, and i'll make sure to pass it on to your installation team too. Absolutely, that first energy bill after solar installation is always a delight. Enjoy your solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi , thanks for leaving a review. We're delighted that you could see we are very competitive on pricing without losing out on other aspects such as customer service. If you have any questions before your installation then please do call our office on 1300 18 20 50, and we'd be happy to help. We hope you enjoy the many benefits of solar soon. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Chris, thank you for leaving a review. We do pride ourselves on that extra difference that we can offer as an Australian owner, Clean Energy Council solar retailer with a 12 year workmanship warranty - so we're glad you picked up on that. We hope you enjoy your switch to solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Ann, thank you for taking the time to leave us this fantastic review. It's great to know that you had a positive experience with us. We hope you enjoy your switch to solar. Show additional information
Sae group is typical I think of a lot of system providers oversell and underdeliver once the deposit is paid they own you or you loose it.
They sold me a 7.1kw system including travel, with tilt frames 22 panels including Red Back inverter and 4.6 battery system.
A few days later they called and said they underestimated the travel and would deliver 21 panels (1 panel for extra payment).
Then a week later they called and said that they could not fit the the tilt frames because of shadowing even though they could have fitted the panels in a different orientation and fixed the problem.
They said I would get about a reduction of 12.5% reduction in performance.
So this is the way I see it I bought a 7.1kw system installed and Wi Fi connected::: I received a 6.8kw no tilt frames, a loss of at least ( my calculation of 16% reduction in performance no Wi Fi connection and hollow promises of fixing the Wi Fi (5 weeks of in answered) from the Tech guys they never ever answer their phone always goes to message bank. So I have no idea of input, output, or usage.

Supplier Reply

Hi Gloria, we're very sorry to read that you had a bad experience with us. We understand that you should have received what you expected, and we want to apologise for the changes that were made along the way. We have taken on board your feedback and are going to put new processes in place to rectify this, including further training. We absolutely want to ensure your system and WiFi are up and running as soon as possible. To rectify we will ensure you technical consultant will call in the morning and create a solution to the WiFi problem. Again, we would like to apologise for your poor experience, and hopefully work towards changing your opinion. Show additional information
They seemed great until today (21 Aug 2018) when I was informed that because the 'value' of the STCs had dropped the price of my Solar system (due to be installed 24 Aug 2018) was going to increase......... Not happy Jan!
I am awaiting the outcome of my complaint and refusal to pay extra for a signed accepted contract. Regardless that the 'value' of the STCs has dropped that was their gamble-not mine (I wasn't aware that a changed stc value would change the price of a signed contract-but apparently it's written in extremely small fine print somewhere).

Supplier Reply

Hi Fiona, we completely understand your frustrations regarding the drop in STC's. Unfortunately this issue is out of our control as it is a government subsidy that is dropping. This drop is happening to every solar company around Australia, and we are doing our best to limit the issue by accepting a percentage of the difference ourselves. You can validate this change in pricing at www.green-bank.com.au. We really appreciate your understanding, and again we are very sorry for this issue affecting your solar journey as we only aim to provide the best service. If you have any further questions then please do get in touch with our office on 1300 18 20 50. Show additional information
Very prompt and well organized.
Great installation team: friendly, industrious and very helpful.
Great advice from 'Pete'in organizing the quote.

Supplier Reply

Hi Maria, thank you for your great review. We're delighted that SAE Group was able to deliver an all round good experience with your switch to solar. Pete and the installation team will be very happy to read those comments too. We hope you enjoy your new solar lifestyle. Don't forget, we're always here if you need us. Thanks again. Show additional information
Waiting on the new metre to be fitted but a few days of test runs showed more kwh produced than expected. Installation was very professional as was the huge help supplied by solar quotes with information about products and installers.

Supplier Reply

Hi Neville, thank you for leaving such a great review. We're delighted you're already seeing the benefits of solar with the test runs. We hope your up and running soon with your system soon. All the best with your new solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Wayne, thank you for leaving a review. It's great to read that you were happy with your salesman and quality of system. Here at SAE Group we only use tier one, high quality products, and strive to give the best customer service, so we're glad we hit the mark with this one. We hope you enjoy your solar. Show additional information
Too early to tell as the installation hasn't happened yet.

Supplier Reply

Hi Kevin, thank you for leaving a review. The Tesla Powerwall 2 is a very exciting purchase. I'm sure you will be as impressed with how far technology has come as we are. If you have any questions before, during, or after your installation please do get in touch with your consultant or our office on 1300 18 20 50. We're always here to help. Enjoy your switch to solar. Show additional information
No face to face contact as of yet

Supplier Reply

Hi Jessica, thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's great to see that you're happy with our price and the value for money. You will receive face to face contact when you meet Troy and the team at your scheduled installation date. If you have any questions prior then please do call our office on 1300 18 20 50. All the best with your new solar lifestyle. Show additional information
Great service great sales great install
The boys did a great job installing
A credit to all those involved!

Supplier Reply

Hi Travis, thank you for this amazing review. All of us here strive to deliver the best service possible, and we're glad we've managed this on all accounts with you. We'll pass on your comments to the installation team, they always appreciate positive feedback. Thanks again, and I hope you enjoy your new solar lifestyle. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Yadnyesh, thank you for leaving a positive review. We're delighted you had a good experience with us, and we are here if you need any support in the future. Hope you enjoy the switch to solar. Show additional information
SAE were helpful and efficient and available for questions. My system is just installed, I am not sure of savings yet.

Supplier Reply

Hi Timothy, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to read that you were happy with our service and I'm glad your enjoying the switch to solar so far. I'm sure you will be happy with your next energy bill, if not please do get in touch. Thanks again. Show additional information
System has been running now for a couple months. 6.4kw of Seraphim Eclipse panels and a 5kw ZeverSolar inverter. I found the salesperson genuine without the usual pushiness with plenty of time spent going through options and ensuring the roof areas were appropriate. The package offered was a good balance of quality vs. cost, 6.4kw of Seraphim Eclipse panels and a 5kw ZeverSolar inverter. There were a few issues with emails sent via their customer management portal not coming through but once they sent these emails directly I received them fine. Would happily recommend them to friends and family.

Supplier Reply

Hi Luke, thank you for taking the time to write a review. The difference with SAE Group is that we tailor the solar system around your home, energy usage and budget - so it's great to hear we hit the right balance for you. I'm sorry to hear their was some issues with the customer management portal, I will follow this up my end to ensure this has been resolved. Thank you for recommending us, and we hope you're enjoying your solar. Show additional information
Their man Pete Moran was excellent to deal with, contactable any time day or night.

Supplier Reply

Hi Les, thank you for leaving a review and for mentioning our consultant Pete Moran. We're delighted you had a great experience and will pass these comments on to Pete. Enjoy switching to solar. Show additional information
There seems to be a dislocate between sales and installers. The sales have all the technical knowledge and some very good ideas and advice. The installers come and do their thing and go. And they were good. But when the customer wants information from the installer at the time of installation (such as how to connect the wifi dongle to the notepad) there is a blank look and words to the effect, "I am an electrician, I don't know such things."
Also the sales person advised that wiring would be placed in the roof cavity. The installer suggested/told me it would be conduited across the roof. No big deal but it seemed there was a lack of communication between sales, installers and customer.
There has been no follow up from the sales person. The company has been very good through emails especially on a warranty issue that was fixed promptly.

Supplier Reply

Hi Ross, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for making us aware of this issue. We have taken this feedback on board and started to look at options to resolve this dislocation, and hopefully deliver a smoother process overall. On a positive note, we're glad to hear your issue was fixed quickly and that you are hopefully now enjoying the benefits of solar. If you have any further issues then please do not hesitate to call our office on 1300 18 20 50. Show additional information
The salesman James has been good value. He has followed up on all inquiries and kept me informed. There were many more tiles broken than anticipated but they have followed up and made sure everything is OK! One part still remains to be completed but overall no problems!

Supplier Reply

Hi Anne, thank you for leaving a review and for mentioning our consultant James. All our consultants pride themselves on great customer service and solar knowledge so we're thrilled to hear you had a good experience. We hope you are enjoying your solar soon - if there are any issues then do get in touch with our office on 1300 18 20 50. Show additional information
House not built yet so can't comment on install. Pete from SAE was not pushy and answered all my questions have already referred others who are also signing up.

Supplier Reply

Hi Anthony, thank you for writing a review on your experience with SAE Group so far. When it comes to investing in solar, knowledge really is key - that's what makes us stand apart from other sales companies. So we're delighted to read that Pete was able to answer all your questions. Thank you for referring us, and don't forget to ask them to add your name as a referee so you can enjoy a $100 gift card from us. We hope you enjoy your solar journey. Show additional information
SAE were very helpful willing to come and have a look and give accurate quote. Sales man was very nice and helpful. Very happy overall with product and service.

Supplier Reply

Hi Nerida, thank you for taking the time to leave SAE Group a review. We are delighted to read that you were happy with the overall service from SAE Group and with your switch to SAE Group. Quality is of the upmost importance to us so we're glad you picked up on that. Enjoy your solar. Show additional information
Great clean installation. Easy to deal with. Good communication. I would recommend

Supplier Reply

Hi Edward, thank you for taking the time to leave SAE Group a review - we really appreciate it. Delighted to read that you had a positive experience with us, especially when it came to our customer service. Thank you for your service, and we hope you're enjoying your solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Madonna, thank you very much for such a great review! We're delighted to read that you had a positive overall experience with us in all aspects. We hope that you enjoy your solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Andrew, thanks for leaving such a positive review. We're s glad you've had a great experience with SAE Group. We hope you are enjoying your new solar lifestyle. Show additional information
Pete Moran was very professional and provided great follow-up calls and also remained in contact throughout the process. Would recommend him any time.
The installation team were wonderful, polite and very mindful.
This has been a really good experience and love that they are Australian owned.
With thanks. Helma

Supplier Reply

Hi, thank you for leaving such a great review, and for mentioning our consultant Pete Moran. All our consultants pride themselves not only on their solar knowledge, but on delivering a seamless journey for our customers - so we're delighted to hear you had that. Thanks again for the recommendation and we're glad to hear your enjoying your solar. Show additional information
The Sales Rep initially came across as pushy with answers for everything as to why his quote was the best. With hindsight, he really did know his subject well. The final product outcome is an bit of an upgrade on what was offerred, at additional cost, but that was OK to us because we think we will have a better system. We compared it with a mate's solar and it seems to be quite comparable in terms of product and at a better price.

Supplier Reply

Hi Dick, thank you for the positive feedback. All our consultants pride themselves on their solar knowledge as they really do know their stuff, but we're sorry to hear this initially came across as pushy. On the positive side, we're delighted that you are happy with the final product outcome. Hope you're enjoying solar. Show additional information
The installers, led by Leon, are the best things about SAE. Leon and his team worked hard during the installation and left our place clean and tidy.

The post sales customer service of SAE needs some serious improvement:

- lack of contact after paying the deposit about when the system was expected to be installed;
- not allowing sufficient time for the installers to sort out the installation (they company only allowed 1 day when it should have been apparent it was a 2 day job - being home during the installation I know how hard the installers were working so it definitely was not an issue with the speed of the installation team); and
- I needed to follow up with them 3 times to arrange to fix up a faulty part with our battery, which was finally sorted 3 weeks after the installation was completed.

Whilst I'm already glad we've had Solar and the batteries installed, the poor customer service from SAE has left a bit of a sour taste in my mouth.

With the Redback battery, I'm super impressed with how compact and smart looking the system is (particularly when compared to the battery system that most people only seem to know about!). I'm a bit disappointed that twice in the last week the system has lost communication so we haven't been able to track our usage/storage/generation requiring a reset of the system, but I have been assured that this does just impact our ability to track usage, the system does continue to work properly). Apparently Redback are looking at sending out a software update in the next couple of months to deal with this type of issue and hopefully they do, as it'd be a real shame for that to impact my impression of the battery and the company. Despite this system communication issue, my impression of our Redback battery is very favourable.

Supplier Reply

Hi Bryan, we're sorry to read that you had a bad experience with us regarding our customer service. We have honestly taken on board your feedback and have since decided to put further processes in place to try to rectify this, including training and scheduling, and hope to work towards changing your opinion. On the positive side, we're delighted to hear that you're as impressed with the Redback's compact system as we are. Although, if you need any further assistance regarding the lost communication then please contact our office on 1300 18 20 50. Again, thank you for making us aware of our successes and negatives, feedback like this is greatly appreciated in helping our company to further develop and improve the overall customer experience we offer. We're glad your enjoying your solar and energy storage solution, but please do get in contact if you have any further issues, we'd be happy to help. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi, thank you for leaving a review. I'm sorry to see that you weren't as happy with the level of customer service, this is an area we are concentrating on in terms of training as we want all customers to have the best experience with us as possible. On the positive side, we're delighted to read that you were happy with your installation. Hope you're enjoying the many benefits of a solar lifestyle. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi, thank you for leaving a great rating. Delighted to hear you've had a positive experience with us so far, and I'm sure that will continue. Here at SAE Group we strive to give the best quality systems at highly competitive prices, so we're delighted you chose us for that reason. Show additional information