SAE Group Pty Ltd Reviews

Based on 613 reviews Aus Ranking

  • 5 star 104
  • 4 star 394
  • 3 star 95
  • 2 star 15
  • 1 star 4

Average Customer Review

  • Value
    4.17
  • System Quality
    4.24
  • Customer Service
    4.17
  • Installation
    4.41

Show ratings from:

Timeline

About SAE Group Pty Ltd, Solar Installers

SAE Group Pty Ltd
Platinum Partner
SAE Group Pty Ltd is a SolarQuotes Client (what does this mean?)

SAE Group are on a mission to switch Australia to solar, one rooftop at a time.

 

We are passionate about solar because we genuinely believe it’s the better way to power the way we live, work and play.

 

A wholly owned and operated Australian company, SAE Group are:

  • Accredited Master Electricians
  • Clean Energy Council Approved Retailer
  • ISO accredited AS/NZ4801 and ISO 9001 for safety and quality

We are committed to raising the bar when it comes to standards in the solar industry.

 

SAE Group offer tailored solar solutions designed specifically to match the energy needs of each customer. Our senior energy consultants conduct a thorough energy assessment and onsite measure and quote and provide each customer with a comprehensive proposal ensuring there are no hidden charges or surprise costs later.

 

We deliver a solid end to end experience from enquiry, to installation and beyond. We are with you every step of the way.

 

SAE Group Pty Ltd Solar Reviews

With the exception of SAE Group, the other suppliers had apparent little interest in supplying a solar system. Said that they would contact me & either did not contact at all after initial contact or said they they would not visit my house until after I had made a decision on their quotes. The system has not been installed yet as I need to have some work completed on the roof prior to installation. I will make contact after installation to give feed back. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Gary. Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave a review. We always love hearing from our happy customers. We hope you're enjoying the benefits of your new solar lifestyle! Show additional information
We have purchased our solar panel from SAE group last year Around November. The solar panel itself is doing really great, the installation was done professionally .
The only problem I had at the beginning was installing the Solar web which has taken a great difficultly and few phone calls before I finally found the right app.

But then again I was promised that with the app I should see how much is being produced by the solar panel, how much the house consumed and how much goes back to the grid but as what the previous review said in here, they have told me that is a separate matter and that I had to pay extra, which was not mentioned when I signed the contract. Was very disappointed and until now was not rectified. We're planning to buy a battery in the future but might think twice now.

Supplier Reply

Hello Rowena, I am sincerely sorry this has been your experience with us. We truly value your feedback and your experience is shaping the way we are training our team to be better.
I would like to look in to this further. I will contact you directly to discuss this with you.
Show additional information
Our system was not producing very much power and made little impact on our bills. We requested help and checks multiple times over a 1 year period. We didn't receive call backs, we got no checks and no after sales assistance or technical investigation. After 1 year and constant requests we finally got them to come out and the system was not functioning correctly. One entire array out of three was not working. I paid for this system and I have lost one entire year of its value, worth impact and warranty - with no apology or means to compensate for the issues. Not impressed and I do not recommend SAE at all. We even approached afterward for a battery and they offered us no amends for their previous failure.

Supplier Reply

Dear David,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am genuinely sorry your experience with us in this instance has been disappointing. Your feedback is valuable to us and I would like to look in to this further. I will contact you directly to discuss this with you.
Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Margaret, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are so happy you're now enjoying a quality solar system at a great price you can trust. Its been a pleasure helping you to reach your solar goals. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. Its great you have enjoyed our service. Enjoy your new solar! Show additional information
No

Supplier Reply

Hi Ian, Thanks for taking the time to offer your feedback, It's a quality system that will serve you well. Enjoy your new solar!
Show additional information
Waiting on the new metre to be fitted but a few days of test runs showed more kwh produced than expected. Installation was very professional as was the huge help supplied by solar quotes with information about products and installers.

Supplier Reply

Hi Neville, thank you for leaving such a great review. We're delighted you're already seeing the benefits of solar with the test runs. We hope your up and running soon with your system soon. All the best with your new solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Vanessa, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We strive to deliver the best quality systems at the best prices so we're glad you picked up on that. Enjoy your solar Show additional information
System hasn't been installed yet so we don't know if it will fulfil expectation, but it should be a premium system.

Supplier Reply

Hi Peter, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We strive to deliver the best quality systems at the best prices. If you have any questions before your installation do get in touch on 1300 18 20 50. Thank you
Show additional information
After nearly 2 years the jfy inverter has failed. Have been waiting for 4 weeks now and still no replacement inverter on the horizon. Apparently it has to come from jfy because SAE do not carry warranty spares.
If I had a faulty TV and took it back to Harvey Norman they would replace it straight away and they would deal with the warranty stuff themselves!

Supplier Reply

Dear Elizabeth,
Hi Helen, we're sorry to see you're experience with us has been anything short of excellent so far. Strong communication is extremely important to us, so please be assured your feedback has been noted and our processes will be reviewed as a result. In any case, this is unacceptable and we sincerely apologise for this. I would like to look in to this further. I will contact you directly to discuss this with you.


Show additional information
There seems to be a dislocate between sales and installers. The sales have all the technical knowledge and some very good ideas and advice. The installers come and do their thing and go. And they were good. But when the customer wants information from the installer at the time of installation (such as how to connect the wifi dongle to the notepad) there is a blank look and words to the effect, "I am an electrician, I don't know such things."
Also the sales person advised that wiring would be placed in the roof cavity. The installer suggested/told me it would be conduited across the roof. No big deal but it seemed there was a lack of communication between sales, installers and customer.
There has been no follow up from the sales person. The company has been very good through emails especially on a warranty issue that was fixed promptly.

Supplier Reply

Hi Ross, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for making us aware of this issue. We have taken this feedback on board and started to look at options to resolve this dislocation, and hopefully deliver a smoother process overall. On a positive note, we're glad to hear your issue was fixed quickly and that you are hopefully now enjoying the benefits of solar. If you have any further issues then please do not hesitate to call our office on 1300 18 20 50. Show additional information
Would've been good if installer explained the process to start using solar. It's been over a week and I still can't use solar although system is installed.
Can't comment on quality due to the above.

Supplier Reply

Hi Naveen Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. I have passed this information onto the install team and we will make sure we take this on board. After speaking with you, we are glad you are now enjoying your new solar. Show additional information
Poor communications and processes from company\management, nobody gets back to you, I spoke to many
people at this company and they just do not respond to emails or phone back to confirm or arrange anything.
Reception are the most helpful

Supplier Reply

Hi Tony, we're sorry to see you're experience with us has been anything short of excellent so far. Strong communication is extremely important to us, so please be assured your feedback has been noted and our processes will be reviewed as a result. In any case, this is unacceptable and we sincerely apologise for this. We are glad. We are so happy you're now enjoying a quality solar system you can trust. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Darren, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are so happy you're now enjoying a quality solar system you can trust. Its been a pleasure helping you to reach your solar goals Show additional information
Pete our salesman was awesome. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He answered every single question I had, spent hours on the phone with me, was very patient & explained a lot to me that I hadn't even taken into consideration. He never pushed me into anything. Told me to do my research on their products & overall was a lovely person & he knew his stuff. The boys who did the install were fabulous too. They got in, got the job done, answered any questions I had & cleaned up after themselves. Overall a very pleasant process from start to finish.

Supplier Reply

Hello Lisa, thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We're so happy you enjoyed switching to solar with SAE Group. Thank you also for mentioning members of the team, we'll be sure to pass this on to each of them. Once again, thank you for this review we believe knowledge is power, so it's great to hear you were well informed throughout the process. Enjoy your solar panels!
Show additional information
Great company to deal with. System was installed on the day with no delays or issues. Just great and we are very happy. Fronius 5kw inverter and 6.6kw of Seraphim 330w panels

Supplier Reply

Hi Wayne, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. It's a quality system that will serve you well. We hope you're enjoying the new solar

Show additional information
Great clean installation. Easy to deal with. Good communication. I would recommend

Supplier Reply

Hi Edward, thank you for taking the time to leave SAE Group a review - we really appreciate it. Delighted to read that you had a positive experience with us, especially when it came to our customer service. Thank you for your service, and we hope you're enjoying your solar. Show additional information
We ordered a system from SAE and paid the deposit. They did not contact us for over a month. We contacted them to be told that the Inverter was delayed. 7 weeks later we contacted them again to be told that the panels were now not available. They suggested a lower wattage panel instead and advised that they may be able to install the inferior system in another 2 weeks. We advised that we requested and paid for a specific system and that if they can't supply that in a timely manner then we would like our deposit back. They refused, because we"chose" to opt out. We didn't choose to opt out. They were unable to supply as per the agreed and accepted quote. Terrible service. Terrible communication and a rip off company. Avoid avoid avoid.

Supplier Reply

Hi Helen, we're sorry to see you're experience with us has been anything short of excellent so far. Strong communication is extremely important to us, so please be assured your feedback has been noted and our processes will be reviewed as a result. In any case, this is unacceptable and we sincerely apologise for this.
Unfortunately the issue was a delay on the delivery of panels, which we now have in stock. After speaking with you, we are glad we have this resolved and look forward to seeing you for your installation shortly.
If you have any questions in the meantime, please do get in touch with us on 1300 18 20 50. Kindest regards
Show additional information
Hi, at first we were happy with the install, but after one week we had some rain and the roof leaked due to poor workmanship sae sent the original installers back and they agreed it was poor workmanship and they attempted to repair with silicone sealant, a week later more leaks and very poor response from sae. I contacted them on a Wednesday and the response was we may be able to get someone to have a look on Monday, i asked what would happen if the predicted storms arrived over the weekend and the rain penetrated the roof and came through my ceiling the response was oh well will will get a plasterer to patch it up.today they arrived and attempted another repair, our system is not even a month old and as i pointed out today it may not rain for months as is often the case so if it rains in 6 mths. time are they going to turn round and say sorry but after this much time it isn't our problem.i have asked the team today to get their manager to give me something in writing telling me that they will fix any leaks in future that are a result of their installation..i am not holding my breath waiting for a response! regards peter...

Supplier Reply

Hello Peter, I am sincerely sorry this has been your experience with us. Your feedback and experience is shaping the way we are training our team to be better, and deliver a better experience for our customers. I can see that we returned to site today to rectify the issues. Please rest assured Peter, should you have any more issues you are cover by 12 years workmanship warranty. We look forward to providing you with a resolution in the next few days.
Thank you
Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Lance, thanks for your great review. Our installation teams always strive to deliver the best quality systems, so they'll be delighted to hear you were happy with the products. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
Very good and easy to work with and informed me on everything that was going to happen

Supplier Reply

Hi Philip, thanks for leaving a review. It's great to see you've had a very good experience so far with SAE Group. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hello Thomas, thank you for your review. We strive to deliver the best quality systems at the best prices so we're glad you picked up on that. It's great to also hear you were well informed throughout the process by our service team. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Nigel, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We strive to deliver the best quality systems at the best prices so we're glad you picked up on that. Its great you have enjoyed our service also. We hope you're enjoying the new solar!
Show additional information
This was a 3kw addition to my 3kw system (5kw inverter). SAE were the first to respond and gave very good service and a good deal. I often get over 30kWh per day feed in.

Supplier Reply

Hi Robert, Thanks for taking the time to offer your feedback, Great news your seeing such a positive output on your solar instantly. It's a quality system that will serve you well. Thank you

Show additional information
From the outset, I have been very pleased with my choice in choosing S.A.E. Group and how this company and their staff have dealt with me and the installation of my system.
I chose a good mid-range system that I believed would suit my needs, Seraphim panels with a Fronius inverter.
The installation has been inspected and switched on so now I wait and get to see the results of my choice, of which I feel confident but only time will tell.
To those people contemplating solar installation, try to do your homework as best you can. I was lucky in that I had relatives who had dealt with this company with very good results and outcomes.
Give S.A.E. Group a go - I believe they deserve it...

Supplier Reply

Hi Graham, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Here at SAE Group we believe knowledge is power, so it's great to hear you were well informed throughout. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
I was very happy with the first contact of this company, from the administrative staff, ( very pleasant and helpful at all times), to the installation, service and workmanship. I did have an Inverter glitch 4 days after installation, however SAE replaced the inverter very quickly so I consider their service to be 5 out of 5. The installers were wonderful too. Very pleasant guys, fast, competent and good with the clean up after. I will definitely recommend SAE Group to my friends etc.

Supplier Reply

Hi Lynne, thanks for your great review. Our installation teams always strive to deliver the best service, We are also delighted to hear you were happy with our service team. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
I use SAE for my solar and aircon systems and I simply wont use anyone else. From minute one they were the most professional, and the quality of installation has been awesome. They co ordinated a structured installation of both my solar system and batteries, as well as a full over haul of my five aircon units, which had to all some how "fit together" on the roof and "all come together on the day". Since initial install they have done on going services and some maintenance (nothing to do with them) and as I said, I simply refuse to use anyone else.

Supplier Reply

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review David, we appreciate your continuous support using us as your solar and air-conditioning provider. We hope you're enjoying the new systems.
Show additional information
Excellent customer service, nothing was too much trouble

Supplier Reply

Hi Jo, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We are happy we could assist you. Such a great feeling knowing we provided you with excellent customer service. We hope you're enjoying the new solar Show additional information
All Good

Supplier Reply

Hi Tony, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We hope you're enjoying the new solar. Show additional information
I have used SAE Group 4 times now for myself, twice for my employer, and referred 3 friends. Very satisfied each time. Can't wait until batteries are more affordable then, Man do I have some work for them.

Supplier Reply

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review Lew, we appreciate you spreading the love and continuously using us as your solar provider. Keep your eyes peeled as it won't be long and we should have some good incentive's coming for batteries in NSW. We hope you're enjoying the new solar. Show additional information
Competitive price, Great communication from SAE throughout the entire process, installation completed by tradesmen was a very professional job. Recommend for sure.

Supplier Reply

Hi Mark, thank you for leaving a review. We're delighted you were happy with the communication from the SAE Group team. We hope you're enjoying the new solar Show additional information
Very happy with everything.
My only comment is that it did feel a little impersonal as I never got to meet Peter the salesman & only spoke to him on the phone. The only people I did meet where the installation team who where very good.

Supplier Reply

Hi Chris, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. I have passed this information onto Peter and we will make sure we take this on board. We hope you're enjoying the new solar Show additional information
Havent it in place for long. But happy with the suppliers follow up and installation.
Thank you Finn and your team for arming us with the confidence to select the company for all the right reasons not just price. We got the best product and we are happy with the result so far.

Supplier Reply

Hi Michael,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are so happy you're now enjoying a quality solar system you can trust. Its been a pleasure helping you to reach your solar goals.
Show additional information
All Good. New meter being installed on the 27th March .

Supplier Reply

Thanks for the feedback Arthur, we are glad we could assist you to make the switch to solar with a good quality system and the right advice Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Linda,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We're happy you're enjoying the benefits of your new solar system.
Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Thanks for the feedback Mark, glad you're thoroughly enjoying your quality solar system Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Steve, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your review. we hope you're enjoying the benefits of your new solar system. Show additional information
Sean the sales consultant was very good designing a system that met our needs. Communication could be improved as after letting us know about the approval from the energy company and the fact that they needed to order parts in, we needed to chase up when it would be installed. The guys that did install it were very good and completed the installation quickly. The placement of the panels look good on the roof showing that care has been taken and not just put up there any which way. Very happy with the company and the installation and would recommend them to others.

Supplier Reply

Hi Sean,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are happy you're now enjoying the benefits of good clean energy to power your home. Great to hear our quality installations are continuing to exceed our customer's expectations.
Show additional information
It has only just been installed & I'm still waiting for Ergon Energy to switch something in my power box, so my Solar is not working yet.
SAE were fantastic in the beginning, but lacked in communication whilst waiting for installation. I feel that if I had not made contact, then unsure how long I would wait to hear from them. They had issues with availability of panels they had quoted.
Otherwise, the installers were great. Just hope the system works OK .

Supplier Reply

Hi Naomi,
I am sorry we went a little quiet during the application process. We recognise this is a downfall of ours and have put in place measures to improve our customer experience. I can see your system is operational and you are now waiting for your smart meter to be installed by the distributor. We look forward to enjoying the full benefits of your quality solar system very soon.
Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Peter,
Thanks for the feedback, we are so happy you've made the switch to solar with us.
Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Thanks Steve, its been great helping you on your way to solar power Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review Ben, we appreciate you spreading the love Show additional information
We work full time and asked the service person to be here before 7.00 as we had to go to work. The office staff did not tell the installer and we had to leave the house unlocked and go to work which I was not happy about. They installed the solar but disconnected the spa. I had to phone the office many times to get them back to fix the spa switch. I again asked the installer to be here before I went to work. The office staff text me that he would arrive before 7.30 again he did not. He said he was not told by the office what time to arrive. The office staff were very inefficient and not helpful. I did not enjoy the experience with this organisation.

Supplier Reply

Hello Leanne,
I am sorry to hear the information provided to you by our service team did not match the arrival time of our technician. We do our best to ensure we match this as closely as possible to our customers needs however sometimes other jobs run over. I can see our technician has been back to your home and rectified the spa switch and conducted a thorough assessment of your system and we are pleased that you are now enjoying the full benefits of your solar system. Thank you for your feedback and we will continue to manage our customers' expectations better in the future.
Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Steve,

Great to hear from you, thanks for taking the time to provide us with your review
Show additional information
By dealing with S.A.E. Group, Tweed Heads, I couldn't have chosen better. An excellent company to deal with and their representative Sean CRUST whose area includes Toowoomba is an asset to this company who did them proud.
The same can also be said of the installers. They were very professional, neat and tidy with their work and very trustworthy.
S.A.E. Group should feel very proud and confident if all other employees display such qualities.
My experience was extremely positive and I am very grateful to have had an excellent Australian company to deal with.
I also thank SOLARQUOTES for their help and advice.

Supplier Reply

Hi Graham,
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We are so pleased you've had such a wonderful experience with us. We are working hard to ensure this is always our standard.

Show additional information
So disappointed with SAE Group Tweed Heads. I used Solar Quotes and SAE Group Tweed Heads was recommended to me.

Solar Web (Fronius) app to monitor system was not set up. Tried to do it myself only to get errors. I sent SAE Group Tweed Heads an email which I have included below. When we finally had our digital meter installed, we expected to see our consumption. We told Andrew (sales rep) at the time of signing up that monitoring consumption was important to us. Upon research, I have found out that the consumption monitor is extra and was NEVER installed. I contacted SAE Group Tweed Heads to discuss this only to get as far as the receptionist who has no knowledge. You do NOT get to speak to anyone. Not good enough! I was told that Andrew would ring back; that was 5 weeks ago! Read their reviews and many people complain about poor after sales service. When it is time to buy a battery, we will NOT be buying it from SAE Group and we will never recommend them. Our daughter recently had solar panels installed with a different company which cost her $2,000 less and she can see consumption.

Here is my initial email complaint:

We are disappointed with after the installation use. I am detailing our experience below so you can have a perspective of what a new customer is faced with.

1. We understand time was running out for sunlight to have our lesson on how to use after the panels were installed. This was rushed.

2. No operating manual only an online one which cannot be viewed as the Fronius website has been down since Thursday. There was a message on the website stating it was down for maintenance. We tried many times to download the manual. We received an SAE email telling us the importance of reading page 12 of the information booklet. Upon checking right now [four days later], the link was live however, there are many options to download. Which model do we have so we can download the correct manual?

3. The system monitoring quick installation was far from quick and still we had not installed. Using a QR code reader, I was stuck in 'connecting'. I bypassed this, downloaded the app from the app store, created an account on the Fronius website and again was stuck in 'connecting'.

4. Without any documentation I tried to work through our account on the Fronius website, not the app. I had to add a PV system so I tried to add but had no idea of what the details were so gave up on that.

5. As the website was back online, I tried the app again and worked through the menu. I clicked 'your system monitoring' and finally got to see something! Well it was so tiny on the smart phone. Not an SAE fault, but surely Fronius would make a mobile version for ease of reading. So that is it? Is that all we can monitor via the app? We had Solar Gain visit us and we were shown a very detailed app to monitor the panels realtime. We assumed SAE would offer something similar. Am I overlooking something?

Supplier Reply

Hello Gayle, I am sincerely sorry this has been your experience with us. As discussed with you, we truly value your feedback and your experience is shaping the way we are training our team to be better, and deliver a better experience for our customers. We understand solar can be complicated and so we really do apologise for the confusion with the inclusion of the smart meter for your comprehensive monitoring. As you know we are heading back to you to install this for you to rectify the matter. We look forward to providing you with this resolution in the next few days. Show additional information
We have had a disagreement about monitoring. After the install discovered I wasn't provided with per panel monitoring. This ability was demonstrated during pre-sales discussions and I clearly indicated that was what I wanted as there is a number of potential shading issues with trees.
Also a number of post sales support questions so far have gone unanswered

Supplier Reply

Hello,
Thanks for your feedback, we are working through this issue now. I hope to have a resolution for you tomorrow. I look forward to touching base with you then
Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hello Leanore, thank you for your review. We're glad you picked up on our competitive pricing. We're sorry if you feel our customer service hasn't been 5* but we would love the opportunity to change your mind. If you have any queries before your solar installation do get in touch with our office on 1300 18 20 50, we would be happy to help. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Martin, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We strive to deliver the best quality systems at the best prices so we're glad you picked up on that. If you have any questions before your installation do get in touch on 1300 18 20 50. Thank you, Show additional information
 To get your quotes, please enter your postcode: