Menu
House
House Tablet

Find The Best Solar Deals In Australia

  • 3 Free, No Obligation, Solar Quotes
  • From Fully Qualified Installers
  • With 1000’s of Customer Reviews
  • Competing for Your Business
Finn Peacock Caricature

Ready for some quotes? Enter your postcode now

SAE Group Pty Ltd Reviews

Based on 522 reviews

  • 5 star 92
  • 4 star 336
  • 3 star 82
  • 2 star 10
  • 1 star 1

Average Customer Review

  • Value
    4.18
  • System Quality
    4.25
  • Customer Service
    4.21
  • Installation
    4.44

Show ratings from:

About SAE Group Pty Ltd, Solar Installers

SAE Group is a wholly owned and operated Australian company specialising in energy efficient technology, solar power, Air conditioning and overhead and underground Powerline Construction and High Voltage Electrical for Energex, Ergon and Essential Energy networks.

We directly import solar products which gives us a competitive price point and the ability to control the supply and quality of the products we install.

SAE Group is a multi award winning company and a Master Electrician, we are working to make Australia 100% renewable and supply quality products at a competitive price.

SAE Group Pty Ltd Solar Reviews

We follow up with all reviewers after 12 months to see how their system is going since it was installed. These are all the reviewers who have responded to our 1 year follow up:
Show additional information
I feel they could of been a little quicker with the installation (7 weeks for signing )

Supplier Reply

Hi Rob and Anna, thank you for leaving a review. We apologise for the delay with installation and are working on improving this. We hope you are now enjoying all the benefits solar has to offer. Show additional information
Two friends have signed up for 6.6kw systems as well with SAE. Sales person was really good, knows his job. To get in touch to find out the installation date was very difficult.
Installation due tomorrow.

Supplier Reply

Hi Michael, thank you for leaving a review. First we would like to apologise for the poor communication with installation date. On a positive note, great to see both you and your friends will soon/are now enjoying the benefits of solar with high quality system, and will pass on the great feedback to your consultant. Show additional information
Communication within the company and between company and customer was below expectations
Installation is not finished as of today - which is why I have not rated it

Supplier Reply

Hi Robert, we're sorry to hear that you are not completely happy with your experience. Thank you for your feedback, we understand how important communication is and are constantly putting in new processes to ensure we can improve on this. We hope you're enjoying your new solar. Show additional information
All options provided were really good and the representatives were all fantastic and informative with their proposals.
It was a hard choice, but in the end we went with the SunPower panels, so spent a little extra, but the long term math indicates return on investment will be better for longer.

When the installers showed up, they too were very friendly, informative and helpful.

A great experience all round, and the system we chose is performing extremely well.
Too early yet to know what the impact is to our power bills, but the reports from the 5kWh Fronius inverter with 6.4kWH of 20 x 327kWH SunPower panels indicate we are producing 30 to 40 kWH each day.

Supplier Reply

Hi Roy, thanks for the fantastic feedback. Delighted you have had a great experience with SAE Group and that your system is running smoothly. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
The whole process from quote to installation was only a few weeks. The sales consultant, customer service and installation crew were all excellent. Based on my experience I recommend this company as a top supplier

Supplier Reply

Hi Fred, we're delighted to read you had a great experience with SAE Group. We always appreciate recommendations, so thank you. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
All the companies that I got quotes from were very professional and knowledgeable which made for a hard decision. The products were of very similar standards and very similar value for money. I decided to go with SAE as this company have many years experience, are a larger company and registered with the Clean Energy Council as both an Approved solar retailer and Accredited installer. I also found Craig from SAE who gave me my quote honest, knowledgeable and very informative about solar systems. Craig never gave me the impression of being a sales person only there to sell me his product.
Your website gave my invaluable knowledge and the confidence to make an informed decision not only with regards to choosing a system but in also choosing an installer.
My solar system is being installed next week. My next goal is to have a battery installed within the next 5 years.

Supplier Reply

Hi Jennifer, thanks for leaving this great review. We're certain you will be happy with your choice of installer, and will love the financial and environmental benefits of solar like so many of our previous customers. Craig will also be delighted with this feedback. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Greg, here at SAE Group we can be confident with our Master Electricians, that's why we offer the 12 year workmanship warranty! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Jamie, thank you for leaving a positive review! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Gerry, thank you for leaving such a positive review. Hope you're enjoying your solar! Show additional information
It was actually very hard to choose between the different suppliers including one not from SQ as they all appear to do a very good job. The choice had to be made on the basis of a couple of fairly small things and "feel". So the ratings I have given above are to encourage the company I chose but they do not imply that the other companies were inferior. However in all that, it was very helpful to get the process started by using your (SQ) site, reviews and recommendations, because at the outset I hardly knew anything about all this.

Finally another question for you. The panels actually look very good and fit in well with the roof. However they overhang the gutter at the bottom by about 2cm. This means of course that the rain water no longer goes into the gutter but overflows over the side of the house.

The installer explained all about that and why he had no choice but to do it that way and so it seems that we have to live with it. However it all happened at the very last minute so there was no time to rethink or come up with a plan B.

So have you heard of this happening before and if so what have people done to minimise the effects of water running down walls and/or pooling around the foundations – which is a no-no as far as the builder and his warranty are concerned.?

If you can give me any advice on how to proceed from here I would be grateful

Thanks a lot and all the best.

Supplier Reply

Hi Stephen, thank you for leaving a review. We would like to talk to you further regarding your solar overhang concerns and hopefully visit your property to move them up slightly - we are here to ensure you are happy with your installation. Please expect a call early next week from our electricians. Thanks again! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Andrew, thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your positive feedback. Always great to see our customers have enjoyed switching to solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi, thanks for leaving a review. We're delighted you had a good experience switching to solar with SAE Group. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
Hi from when I signed up and paid my deposit it has been about 10 weeks and still don't have a system and before it gets completed might be another 2 months I'm sorry I went ahead with getting a system installed . This company from what I can see take orders and deposit then order the system and you have to wait. I'm sick of waiting.

Supplier Reply

Hi Ronald, I'm sorry to read you were unhappy with our customer service. We do strive to have installations booked as soon as possible but can see there was some scheduling delays here which we apologise entirely for. With your installation booked this week, you will be soon enjoying the benefits of your solar system. Please do call 1300 18 20 50 if you have any queries at any point. Show additional information
Paul spent the time to explain everything in good detail or the tech side and things we hadn't thought of - even though he knew we were comparing with another company - so that we could understand. We asked for reasons why paying extra for a quality system would pay off - and he explained. One of few companies that supply the newest Eclipse panels (as well as the Fronius inverter) - and they make electricity during light rain - very impressive to see it on the display panel. Panel was explained well by the installer electrician. Paying extra has paid off - best investment - better than putting in the bank - assuming that elect prices will keep rising over the years and who are we kidding : they have only gone up not down so far in our half-century of living - we have already saved easily about a thousand off our electricity bill for the last year (starting soon after installation). So it will be paid off easily in about 7 years max (which is what was estimated) It was organised to be installed as fast as possible (comparing with other people's reports) considering all the hoops that need to be jumped through. It seemed a long time and we only rang up a couple of times to see if everybody in the office was onto our project and keeping it pushing thru - it was worth waiting for. They reminded us or organised the type of meter(s) we needed . For e.g. we arranged to disconnect from the grid the hot water 'off-peak' - extra cost - then Paul advised us on an adjustable timer to be put inline so that we could heat the normal electric hot water tank during the day during sunny times. It works perfectly. The staff on the phone have always been helpful and friendly. We referred to a friend and he was convinced also and also found the system to save him money in addition to older PV panels he had already set up years ago. Emmaleigh recently helped with another inquiry including how to turn off the power during severe lightning storms. Thanks everyone at SAE

Supplier Reply

Hi Anita, thank you for this amazing, detailed review. We are over the moon that you had a good experience switching to solar with SAE Group! We also really appreciate your referral, so thank you. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information
SAE Group were prompt and reliable in setting up the time and installation of the solar system. The installers were able to overcome a few problems they encountered along the way. They were professional and courteous at all times.

Supplier Reply

Hi Rudy, thank you for your great review. We're delighted you had a good experience, and will pass this on to the installers team too. Hope you're enjoying your solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Andy, thank you for leaving SAE Group this great review. We're delighted you had a good experience with us. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Michael, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. At SAE Group we only offer the very best in solar technology, having visited factories from all around the world, so we're glad you picked up on our high quality systems. Thanks again, and we're delighted you enjoyed your switch to solar with us! Show additional information
I haven’t installed yet but will be going with SAE solar

Supplier Reply

Hi Clinton, thank you for leaving this great review. Here at SAE Group we're master electricians wanting to help you make the right decision when it comes to switching to solar energy, so there's really no need for us to be pushy. Thanks for choosing us as your partner in solar energy. Show additional information
There was a delay in the installation due to a supply issue, which resulted in a price increase due the the drop in STC.

However they answered all my questions very quickly, and the installation team were very good. They came out on a rainy day and persisted with the installation in between the heavy down pours.

Supplier Reply

Hi Ian, thanks for leaving a review. We're sorry to read that your switch to solar didn't run as smoothly as we would have liked, but thank you for your understanding. It's great to hear our installation team were able to persist even around the downpours. We hope you're enjoying your new solar. Show additional information
Sales rep James was pretty much the reason we choose SAE, he was really clear on the explanation and answering all our questions. Then the installation went really well and so far everything is running as told and expected.

Supplier Reply

Hi Martin, thanks for writing SAE Group such a positive review. James will be delighted to hear this feedback. Like all our consultants, he is very knowledgeable on solar and strives to delivery the best for his customers. We're glad everything is running smoothly, do feel free to get in touch with our office if you have any questions in the mean time. Enjoy your switch to solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Margaret, thank you for choosing to switch to solar with SAE Group. We strive to delivery the best quality solar at competitive prices, so we're glad you picked up on that. We hope you enjoy your switch to solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi, thanks for leaving us a review. Here at SAE Group, we are Master Electricians that only want the best for our customers so no need for the hard sell from us! We're glad you enjoyed your switch to solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Benn, thank you for leaving SAE Group a review. We hope you've enjoyed your switch to solar with us. If you ever have any questions then we're always here to help. Show additional information
SAE were a close second on price for a standard 5kw output system, of the four separate independent quotes we requested. SAE were the most innovative and helpful through a trade knowledgeable representative and backed it up with excellent follow through, instillation (a dream team - neat, tidy, proficient) and completion. Whilst a somewhat larger organization, they performed like a well oiled machine, and provided what feels like real customer service.

Supplier Reply

Hi, thank you for leaving SAE Group such a great review. We are delighted that you picked up on our strong solar knowledge and that you felt well looked after throughout your switch to solar. If you ever have any questions then we're always here to help. We hope you enjoy your solar. Show additional information
All good. We are happy campers. Highly recommend SAE.

Supplier Reply

Hi Stuart, thank you for leaving SAE Group a review. We're delighted you're all happy campers! Enjoy your solar. Show additional information
Thx for your help

Supplier Reply

Hi Glen, thank you for leaving us this great review. Here at SAE Group we are on a mission to switch Australia to solar one rooftop at a time, so it really was our pleasure to help you. We hope you enjoy your solar! Show additional information
Awsome service

Supplier Reply

HI Reeju, thank you for the great feedback. We all strive to deliver the best service possible here at SAE Group so everyone can enjoy switching to solar, so we're delighted we hit the mark for you. We're always here if you ever have a query. We hope you enjoy your solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi, thank you for leaving us a review. We're sorry to see that you felt you didn't get good value for money, but if you've invested in a good solar system you can expect it to save you money significantly over its lifetime. We hope you're enjoying your switch to solar. Show additional information
They increased the price but almost $1000 after I signed the contract and paid the deposit. Then they tried to hit me up for another $400 at the time of installation. I find this to be really upsetting and am not happy at all. Plus they installed the system before the smart metre was installed, but set it so the battery is not charging at all, so I'm sending energy out to the grid for free. This is crap.

Supplier Reply

Hi Alex, I'm sorry to see you had a poor experience with us regarding our customer service. In regards to the STC change, this is out of our control but again we apologise for any confusion caused. As I understand you spoke with our Electrical Project Manager Tom this morning, and the battery issues have now been dealt with - apologies for any delay. If any issues do arise, or if you have any questions then please do call our office. On the positive note, you can now start enjoying the many benefits of solar and energy storage. Show additional information
Salesman unreachable after sale was made. Like many larger businesses not able to make mutually beneficial decisions when circumstances change.

Supplier Reply

Hi Neil, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would like to apologise if you felt there was a lack of contact or poor customer service at any point, this was not our intension and will take this feedback on board. On a positive note, we're delighted you've had your installation in and can look forward to enjoying solar for many years to come. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Peter, thank you for letting us know why you chose SAE. We really appreciate that you can see our long term professionalism as a company. We hope you enjoy your switch to solar energy. Show additional information
From initial onsite to install SAE we friendly and provided great advice and answered any questions we had. Highly recommend these guys.

Supplier Reply

Hi Rodd, thank you for leaving a review. We're delighted you had a great experience with us and learnt more about the benefits of solar. If you have any more questions, we're always happy to answer them now and in the future. Show additional information
It is hard to improve an excellent machine.
SAE's sales rep Craig Brown was dynamic, creative and worked smart (with us) and hard (within SAE's bureaucracy) to put a great package together. Serena Murray (SAE's Administration and Accounts) was efficient, professional and very good and pleasant to work with. Your on-site team of Tim, Ben and Andy were very safe, clean, considerate, conscientious and all of these people are a real credit to your success. SAE did not win on price (SAE were just third best on a conventional 5KW system - not by a lot but perhaps enough if other people consider price only). SAE's winning edge was though Craig Brown's knowledge and creative intuition to engineer a larger system generating not just more energy for us but an optimal value for money outcome and he was the key to this deal.
Cost alone was not our primary concern and it was:
1) SAE's potential future capacity to provide ongoing service (if needed);
2) SAE's duration on inverter and panel warranties;
3) SAE's capability to use higher capacity panels by using 320's rather than 275's to facilitate the a higher capacity output in an elegant configuration on the limited roof space;
4) and most importantly SAE's people, who were not great, they were not even good, in fact they were surprisingly exceptional!
SAE appears to have a great system to facilitate a robust end to end delivery, from quote to finished job for conventional packages.

Supplier Reply

Hi Dianne, what amazing feedback - thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We all strive here to deliver the best all round customer service and to tailor your solar solution around your needs, so we're delighted that Craig and the team were able to do that with you. We are always at the end of the phone, or just down the road if you ever have any further queries. Don't forget, if you refer your friends you can receive $100 if they install with us too. We hope you enjoyed your switch to solar. Show additional information
Sales person understood my requirements and gave good advice
System a little dearer than equivalent from others. Felt comfortable with SAE.
They did try to change the quote but gave in. Disappointed in that tactic. Job done well. Crew were tops.

Supplier Reply

Hi Bob, thank you for leaving a review. Our Master Electricians really do know their stuff, so we're glad you picked up on that. Unfortunately the drop in the government rebate commodity value is the reason for any change in quotes, but we apologise for any confusion caused. Delighted to hear about the crew too. We hope you're enjoying your solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Eddie, thank you for leaving such a positive review. We all strive to deliver the best all round customer experience and we're delighted we hit the mark with you. We hope you enjoying your new solar system. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Cecil, thank you for leaving a review. We're delighted to see that you chose us for a variety of reasons and we hope that you were happy with our service throughout. Enjoy your solar! Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi, thank you for your feedback. Here at SAE Group we strive towards all our customers enjoying a 5 star service, so we would like to apologise if you felt you didn't receive this. We only offer solar components that we are proud to put our name too, so if you've had any issues or have any questions regarding your solar system please do give us a call on 1300 18 20 50. We would be happy to discuss this with you further. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Sandra, thank you for leaving a review. We hope you've enjoyed your experience with us so far, and if you have any questions prior to your installation please do let us know. Show additional information
If I was to go through all that pain again (buying solar for the first time is a minefield and a nightmare-friends did warn me but I ignored the warnings) I would choose one of the "cheap chinese" companies - at least then I would have expected the issues I had with SAE Group

Supplier Reply

Hi Fiona, we're sorry to see you had a poor experience with us. We are always looking to improve and would appreciate learning more about your specific situation to ensure all issues have been dealt with. We will definitely follow this up our end, and you can expect a call from us if you are happy to discuss this with us further. If you would like to get in contact in the mean time please call 1300 18 20 50 and ask for the marketing team. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi, thank you for writing a review. We are delighted you had a good experience with us and hope you are enjoying your new solar system! We are always here to help if you questions in the future. Show additional information
Craig from SAE came out and advised us of the best place to install a system that would suit us; then fully customised a system to suit our needs and budget. We have paid a deposit but not installed yet.

Supplier Reply

Hi Kerryn, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. At SAE Group we know that every home is different, and that's why we tailor the system around the energy usage and the house design. We really do recommend investing in a good system, as it always saves money in the long run. Enjoy your switch to solar energy, and do get in touch if you have any questions prior to installation. Show additional information
Installation position on the roof was not ideal, and I'm not ready to pay extra to move the panels 2 metres across the roof.

Installers were unable to connect the inverter to LAN, resorted to Wi-Fi instead, which is unfortunate and not ideal.

Setup of backup was incorrect and a follow-up visit was required to wire the house correctly.

Supplier Reply

Hello, we're sorry to see you had a bad experience with us regarding your installation. We would like to learn more about your specific situation and ensure your system is running efficiently, and that the follow up visit to the house has corrected everything. If you would like to discuss this further please do call our office on 1300 18 20 50 and ask for the marketing team. We look forward to speaking with you and working towards changing your opinion. Show additional information
Happy with what SAE quoted and service was great. Boys did a great job on the installation. Due to get our digital meter connected next week so looking forward to saving money on our electricity bills moving forward.

Supplier Reply

Hi Malia, thanks for taking the time to write a review. We all really appreciate the feedback, and i'll make sure to pass it on to your installation team too. Absolutely, that first energy bill after solar installation is always a delight. Enjoy your solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi , thanks for leaving a review. We're delighted that you could see we are very competitive on pricing without losing out on other aspects such as customer service. If you have any questions before your installation then please do call our office on 1300 18 20 50, and we'd be happy to help. We hope you enjoy the many benefits of solar soon. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Chris, thank you for leaving a review. We do pride ourselves on that extra difference that we can offer as an Australian owner, Clean Energy Council solar retailer with a 12 year workmanship warranty - so we're glad you picked up on that. We hope you enjoy your switch to solar. Show additional information

Supplier Reply

Hi Ann, thank you for taking the time to leave us this fantastic review. It's great to know that you had a positive experience with us. We hope you enjoy your switch to solar. Show additional information
Sae group is typical I think of a lot of system providers oversell and underdeliver once the deposit is paid they own you or you loose it.
They sold me a 7.1kw system including travel, with tilt frames 22 panels including Red Back inverter and 4.6 battery system.
A few days later they called and said they underestimated the travel and would deliver 21 panels (1 panel for extra payment).
Then a week later they called and said that they could not fit the the tilt frames because of shadowing even though they could have fitted the panels in a different orientation and fixed the problem.
They said I would get about a reduction of 12.5% reduction in performance.
So this is the way I see it I bought a 7.1kw system installed and Wi Fi connected::: I received a 6.8kw no tilt frames, a loss of at least ( my calculation of 16% reduction in performance no Wi Fi connection and hollow promises of fixing the Wi Fi (5 weeks of in answered) from the Tech guys they never ever answer their phone always goes to message bank. So I have no idea of input, output, or usage.

Supplier Reply

Hi Gloria, we're very sorry to read that you had a bad experience with us. We understand that you should have received what you expected, and we want to apologise for the changes that were made along the way. We have taken on board your feedback and are going to put new processes in place to rectify this, including further training. We absolutely want to ensure your system and WiFi are up and running as soon as possible. To rectify we will ensure you technical consultant will call in the morning and create a solution to the WiFi problem. Again, we would like to apologise for your poor experience, and hopefully work towards changing your opinion. Show additional information
They seemed great until today (21 Aug 2018) when I was informed that because the 'value' of the STCs had dropped the price of my Solar system (due to be installed 24 Aug 2018) was going to increase......... Not happy Jan!
I am awaiting the outcome of my complaint and refusal to pay extra for a signed accepted contract. Regardless that the 'value' of the STCs has dropped that was their gamble-not mine (I wasn't aware that a changed stc value would change the price of a signed contract-but apparently it's written in extremely small fine print somewhere).

Supplier Reply

Hi Fiona, we completely understand your frustrations regarding the drop in STC's. Unfortunately this issue is out of our control as it is a government subsidy that is dropping. This drop is happening to every solar company around Australia, and we are doing our best to limit the issue by accepting a percentage of the difference ourselves. You can validate this change in pricing at www.green-bank.com.au. We really appreciate your understanding, and again we are very sorry for this issue affecting your solar journey as we only aim to provide the best service. If you have any further questions then please do get in touch with our office on 1300 18 20 50. Show additional information
Very prompt and well organized.
Great installation team: friendly, industrious and very helpful.
Great advice from 'Pete'in organizing the quote.

Supplier Reply

Hi Maria, thank you for your great review. We're delighted that SAE Group was able to deliver an all round good experience with your switch to solar. Pete and the installation team will be very happy to read those comments too. We hope you enjoy your new solar lifestyle. Don't forget, we're always here if you need us. Thanks again. Show additional information