Menu
House
House Tablet

Find The Best Solar Deals In Australia

  • 3 Free, No Obligation, Solar Quotes
  • From Fully Qualified Installers
  • With 1000’s of Customer Reviews
  • Competing for Your Business
Finn Peacock Caricature

Ready for some quotes? Enter your postcode now


Hanwha Q-Cells solar panels review

Overall Rating From 118 Reviews:

Hanwha Q-Cells solar panels review

Average Customer Rating:

Tier 1

Hanwha Q CELLS is a major manufacturer of solar panels. In 2015 they produced 3.2 gigawatts, making them the 5th largest manufacturer of tier one solar panels in that year (just so long as you think GCL Systems were slumming it in 2015 and were not yet worthy to be called tier 1).

Q-Cells have told me that  2016 sales are on track to sell their entire annual capacity of 5.4 gigawatts, which if true will advance them from 5th place in 2016. 

Their panels are tier 1 and have a 12 year product warranty which is 20% longer than the 10 year product warranty most panels carry. Hanwha Q CELLS has an Australian office in Sydney, their panels are salt mist corrosion resistant and so are suitable for installation anywhere, and at the time of writing in October 2016 they appear to have the lowest price per watt of any panel that carries a 12 year or better product warranty.

Company History

Hanwha Group started in South Korea as Hanwha Explosives Inc. in 1952 and rapidly exploded into a massive international conglomeration. They acquired the German company Q Cells and its solar panel manufacturing capacity in Germany and Malaysia when it became insolvent in 2012. They also acquired Solarfun, which was a Chinese panel manufacturer. Not wanting to be mistaken for a bunch of clowns, they changed the name of Solarfun to Hanwha Solar One.

In February 2015 they squished the two companies together to create Hanwha Q CELLS.

Manufacturing Locations

Hanwha Q CELLS produces panels in Malaysia, China, and Korea. They used to have a production line in Germany, but they shipped the plant equipment to Malaysia in 2012, so Hanwha Q CELLS does not produce any German made panels.

They Do Some Thinking In Germany

Hanwha Q CELLS describes their Q CELLS panels as “Engineered in Germany”. While they no longer manufacture panels in that country, their headquarters for research and development are in Germany and I have been told they have over 200 experts there working to improve the design and production of solar panels.

Hanwha Q CELLS also have 3 other research and development centers around the world. If you are wondering where those centers are located, I will quote the Chairman and CEO of Hanwha Q CELLS, Seong Woo Nam. On the promotion of their new Chief Technology Officer (CTO) in July 2016, he said:

"We're very excited to have Dr. Daniel Jeong as our new CTO, who has demonstrated an outstanding leadership in integrating our global R&D teams located in Germany, Malaysia, Korea and China following the merger between former Hanwha Q CELLS and Hanwha SolarOne in early 2015.”

To me, it seems the CEO of the company is making their “Engineered in Germany” slogan sound a bit dated. But it’s easily fixed. I suggest they change it to, “Engineered in Germany, Malaysia, Korea, and China and proud of it.”

I know it makes me proud of humanity to see people of different nations working together to create the renewable energy technology we need to protect the environment.

Hanwha Q Cells’ Two Brands - Hanwha Solar & Q CELLS

While Hanwha Solar One and Q Cells are now a single company, they produce two brands of solar panels under the names Hanwha Solar and Q CELLS. This can get a little confusing.

Both brands carry a 12 year product warranty and are reasonably similar.

According to the datasheets for Hanwha Solar panels, they can be up to 16.2% efficient and are certified as corrosion resistant, so feel free to rack ‘em up by the seaside.

The datasheets for Q CELLS panels gives their highest efficiency as 16.8%, but do not clearly show their corrosion resistance certification. But, Matt Scadden, the Sales Manager of Hanwha Q Cells Australia, assures me they are fully certified for corrosion resistance and, like the Hanwha Solar panels, are suitable for installation anywhere in Australia.

A Cost Effective Reliable Panel

An above average product warranty with a competitive price makes Hanwha Q Cells a good choice and I have no problem at all in recommending them.

Rating Comments Name State Postcode
One year on and the bills are coming down!! We moved in 3 years ago and were paying $900 with 2 A/C units being the main culprit. Removed those and bills come down to around $600. Installed The Solar panels BATTERY READY inverter and changed the halogen lights,( Thanks Finn for all your great advise)) Approx 40 and the latest bill is $146.62! (3months) Also reading article in paper today that from 1 July they are looking at increasing the rebates, roll on July.
Bought From: Technaus Solar Review Date: 11 July 2016
John VIC 3136
see comments above
Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 18 June 2016
Derek NSW 2030
I year on no dramas.
Bought From: Madison Australia Review Date: 13 June 2016
Ceasar VIC 3029

Bought From: Green Sky Australia Review Date: 7 June 2016
Andrew VIC 3023
Nothing much to say as they are all working as expected.
Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 29 May 2016
Bobby NSW 2212
Awesome output even on cloudy days. They produce almost as much energy as our older panels of a different brand and there is less of them!
Bought From: Energy Aware Review Date: 12 June 2016
Linda NSW 2456
the panels produce almost 5.1kw out of 5.2kw .. which is higher than I expected after all the literature I read
Bought From: Green Sky Australia Review Date: 14 May 2016
Ross VIC 3128

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 29 November 2015
Phil ACT 2614

Bought From: Green Wiring Review Date: 16 April 2016
Glynn WA 6020

Bought From: AGL Solar Review Date: 14 April 2016
Brett SA 5162

Bought From: AGL Solar Review Date: 14 April 2016
Mike VIC 3977

Bought From: Essential Solar Review Date: 15 April 2016
John VIC 3219

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 7 March 2016
Carole VIC 3040

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 23 March 2016
Miles NSW 2049

Bought From: Madison Australia Review Date: 5 April 2016
Raul NSW 2170

Bought From: True Value Solar Review Date: 8 March 2016
Thomas VIC 3147
Not an easy installation but Nicholls were able to fit the 12 panels in an L shaped array.
Bought From: Green Sky Australia Review Date: 4 March 2016
John VIC 3182

Bought From: AGL Solar Review Date: 4 March 2016
Ian SA 5037

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 4 March 2016
Peter WA 6026

Bought From: True Value Solar Review Date: 2 March 2016
Robert NSW 2517
The initial quote from True Value Solar did not include Hanwha panels, but they added them for me for $200 (19 panels, 4.6kW system)
Bought From: True Value Solar Review Date: 27 February 2016
Geoff NSW 2428
To be truthful, I know they work, I just don't know how well they work. My largest day production has been 33.2kWh. I haven't done the arithmetic or careful monitoring to determine whether the panels are up to spec. Without a thermometer on the roof, I cannot really work out the expected power output vs actual. I did some work early on which showed reasonable performance. I'm happy with what I have, so far.
Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 5 October 2015
Peter NSW 2110

Bought From: Essential Solar Review Date: 28 January 2016
Thomas VIC 3934
14 fitted 13 vertically 1 horizontally, looks stupid. Blame AGL for this as the photo they sent me did not look what the installer fitted.
Bought From: AGL Solar Review Date: 27 January 2016
Nickolas Horton VIC 3044

Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 15 January 2016
Ted NSW 2251
I have one thing I would like to say and that is the company who we dealt with was fantastic while we were dealing with them, BUT the after care customer service was NIL! You would think that spending nearly $10k on a system that they could follow up after a few months to see that it was all working well but nothing!!!
Bought From: Green Sky Australia Review Date: 16 January 2016
Valerie VIC 3188
So far so good. It has been 9 months since install. Most days we generate at least 75% of rated capacity. Even the dullest days (black clouds, lots of rain) the minimum (worst case) day we still generated at 13% of rated capacity.
Bought From: Solargain Wangaratta Review Date: 2 June 2016
Ron VIC 3730

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 7 January 2016
David NSW 2074
These panels even on an overcast day and raining still perform very well. Highly recommend.
Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 19 February 2016
Mick NSW 2073
Q-Cells are performing above my expectations, just make sure you clean your panels if it hasn't rained heavily for a several weeks.
Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 26 December 2015
Bernard NSW 2044

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 7 December 2015
Philip NSW 2074

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 24 November 2015
Peter NSW 2213

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 9 November 2015
Mark VIC 3029

Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 5 November 2015
John NSW 2777

Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 5 November 2015
Anon NSW 2074

Bought From: Green Sky Australia Review Date: 30 October 2015
Casey VIC 3174
Still working!!! No complaints at this point in time!!
Bought From: Madison Australia Review Date: 25 October 2015
Tricia VIC 3340
N/A As for above comment on inverter, seem to be O K but not yet able to fully assess.
Bought From: Madison Australia Review Date: 17 October 2015
Anon SA 5255

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 11 October 2015
Stan ACT 2905
All 17 panels working well.
Bought From: Green Sky Australia Review Date: 16 October 2015
Chris VIC 3178
Generating excellent amounts of power despite being installed flat.
Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 9 October 2015
Mark VIC 3070

Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 3 October 2015
Vaughan NSW 2774

Bought From: Madison Australia Review Date: 22 March 2015
John ACT 2602
As they utilise micro inverters, if a panel is not performing correctly, it doesn't affect the other panels output. Major advantage.
Bought From: REA Global and Solar Review Date: 23 September 2015
Brian QLD 4164
Performance dropped to 99% after the summer as I suspect they were getting dusty but the recent rain has brought them back to 100%
Bought From: Green Sky Australia Review Date: 17 September 2015
George VIC 3167
They may cost a little more, but are reliable and pump it out
Bought From: Green Sky Australia Review Date: 17 September 2015
Anon VIC 3204

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 16 September 2015
Tobias WA 6018

Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 15 September 2015
Gary NSW 2088

Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 13 September 2015
Rodney NSW 2261

Bought From: MC Electrical Review Date: 9 September 2015
Lindsay QLD 4500

Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 9 September 2015
Markos NSW 2251

Bought From: Urban Renewables Review Date: 31 August 2015
Rochelle VIC 3165

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 21 August 2015
John WA 6102
The installer said that they were Tier 1 panels. Another installer has since told me that they are actually Tier 2 panels. I don't know whether this is true.
Bought From: Infinity Power Review Date: 6 January 2015
Terry QLD 4701

Bought From: True Value Solar Review Date: 9 August 2015
George QLD 4670
Maximum output has dropped off by about 6% since installation. Q-cells were specified because we live close to the ocean and are subject to sea spray.
Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 10 August 2015
Richard NSW 2106
So far performing well, hope this will continue. Installers did a very neat job.
Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 2 August 2015
Trevor NSW 2484
Chosen for their reputation.
Bought From: Green Sky Australia Review Date: 16 July 2015
Bill VIC 3015

Bought From: Madison Australia Review Date: 13 July 2015
Hans VIC 3450

Bought From: Infinity Power Review Date: 8 July 2015
Norman NT 820
Performance has been trouble free, output has been in accordance with expectations.
Bought From: Green Sky Australia Review Date: 9 July 2015
John VIC 3910
24 panels
Bought From: Solaray Energy Pty Ltd Review Date: 14 June 2015
Adam NSW 2160

Bought From: Green Sky Australia Review Date: 14 May 2015
Peter VIC 3152

Bought From: Green Sky Australia Review Date: 5 May 2015
David VIC 3041

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 18 April 2015
Claire VIC 3138
You are assuming we owners really know and monitor and understand how well these things perform. When the truth is I have no clue - no report can tell me how much I have saved for example, I have tried to get that info but can't. But that does not make me unhappy or dissatisfied, I am still glad those panels are up there.
Bought From: Green Sky Australia Review Date: 20 March 2015
Astrid VIC 3204

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 5 March 2015
James QLD 4069

Bought From: Madison Australia Review Date: 1 February 2015
George SA 5048
No issues at all.
Bought From: Nicholls Solar Review Date: 27 January 2015
Kim NSW 2105

Bought From: Madison Australia Review Date: 17 December 2014
Conrad VIC 3163

Bought From: Mark Group Review Date: 21 August 2014
Mike SA 5159

Bought From: Infinity Power Review Date: 20 July 2014
Jenny NT 810
Keep them clean. I have a lot of dust during the dry season, and noticed a slight improvement after cleaning.
Bought From: Infinity Power Review Date: 25 May 2014
Geoff NT 836
Very good so far. We have some similar 5 year old panels from an earlier installation by another company (not SolarGain). Those panels are still producing plenty of power, however the backing material has discoloured, from the original white to an orange colour. However, all our panels survived undamaged during the recent heavy hail storm we had in Brisbane (end November 2014).
Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 2 April 2014
David QLD 4114

Bought From: Infinity Power Review Date: 3 April 2014
Robin NT 832

Bought From: Infinity Power Review Date: 8 February 2014
Craig QLD 4212
We never actually dealt face to face with the company and never discussed where the panels were to be located, in hindsight we should have dealt with someone who viewed the house and told us exactly where the panels would be positioned as they didn't put them where we thought they would. i would suggest to others to get a clear idea where they will be located before signing a contract as it might not be where you think. The company also contacted us 12 months later as they wanted to sell our REC's but had lost the paperwork, it was convenient for us as we were about to contact them to install more panels as due to the location of the current panels we weren't getting as much as we thought we would have and wanted to upgrade to a 10kW system. they said they would give us a quote for the upgrade after we signed the REC's paperwork, we signed and never heard from them again.
Bought From: Solaworx Review Date: 20 November 2011
Marcus SA 5609

Bought From: Green Energy Solutions Review Date: 22 March 2012
Ken QLD 4161
Had 22 235w panels fitted think extra one would have garanteed 5kw more consistant
Bought From: Infinite Energy Review Date: 26 February 2012
Peter WA 6164
Averaging 8.35 Kw per day for 2 years summer & winter Publish only 1st name OK
Bought From: Nicholls Solar Review Date: 22 April 2012
Bruce NSW 2758

Bought From: Cablelogic previously Renewable Logic Review Date: 18 May 2012
Lylie WA 6330

Bought From: Trenton Gill Electrical Review Date: 26 April 2012
Mark SA 5092
Seem ok.
Bought From: Cablelogic previously Renewable Logic Review Date: 23 June 2012
Glen WA 6125

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 24 May 2012
Peter WA 6163
I need to get someone in to clean them once a year, being on the roof makes it difficult for me. The solar panels were again far from the cheapest, I also did full researches on solar panels and theses ones came out to be one of the best made, most reliable and exceptional financial returns.
Bought From: Propa Solutions Pty ltd Review Date: 20 April 2012
Beverley QLD 4660

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 29 February 2012
Mick VIC 3030
I have 16 panels, so I'm not sure, but I suspect they are not putting in what I was told they would. Solar gain won't tell me.
Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 31 March 2012
Laurie WA 6030

Bought From: Propa Solutions Pty ltd Review Date: 16 April 2012
Jessie QLD 4740

Bought From: Infinity Power Review Date: 9 April 2012
Marc QLD 4503

Bought From: Renewable Energy Advisors Review Date: 14 December 2011
David QLD 4714
These are the only positive part of the system, however it is a system and is only as strong as the weakest link
Bought From: Solagex Australia Pty Ltd Review Date: 30 October 2011
Rodney VIC 3156

Bought From: Reemerge Group Review Date: 5 November 2011
Jenny VIC 3551

Bought From: Solagex Australia Pty Ltd Review Date: 4 December 2011
Ray QLD 4850

Bought From: SIVCORP SOLAR Review Date: 7 October 2011
Mick SA 5540

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 20 June 2011
Robert VIC 3752

Bought From: Nicholls Solar Review Date: 18 June 2010
John NSW 2754

Bought From: Cablelogic previously Renewable Logic Review Date: 16 May 2011
Mark WA 6556
Everything has been working well since installation with no problems whatsoever.
Bought From: Cablelogic previously Renewable Logic Review Date: 23 June 2011
Judy WA 6065

Bought From: Solagex Australia Pty Ltd Review Date: 4 July 2011
Neville ACT 2606
Should have put them up long ago and got 60 cents a unit instead of 27 cents a unit
Bought From: Infinite Energy Review Date: 18 September 2011
John WA 6168
They are German designed and made and they do not have hot spots.
Bought From: Empyreal Energy Review Date: 11 June 2011
Peter QLD 4054

Bought From: Cablelogic previously Renewable Logic Review Date: 4 July 2011
Mick WA 6148

Bought From: Solargain Review Date: 4 May 2011
Paul WA 6151

Bought From: Solagex Australia Pty Ltd Review Date: 20 July 2011
David VIC 3029

Bought From: Solagex Australia Pty Ltd Review Date: 4 May 2011
Robert VIC 3717

Bought From: Solagex Australia Pty Ltd Review Date: 21 July 2011
Trevor QLD 4035
I have noticed that with this unit from solagex it has stood up to the statements from the salesrep. It has not made any difference to clear skies or overcast and rainy, my 5 kw system has kept punching almost full output and cuts in earlier than the unit I had in the last home and stops later in the afternoon. I sometimes think it would generate power with a very bright moon.
Bought From: Solagex Australia Pty Ltd Review Date: 3 September 2011
Doug QLD 4500

Bought From: Solar Shop Review Date: 4 October 2011
Jane VIC 3088

Bought From: Solagex Australia Pty Ltd Review Date: 10 August 2011
Victor VIC 3429

Bought From: Solagex Australia Pty Ltd Review Date: 11 October 2011
Michael VIC 3331

Bought From: Cablelogic previously Renewable Logic Review Date: 1 May 2011
Milan WA 6430

Bought From: Solagex Australia Pty Ltd Review Date: 22 August 2011
Michael SA 5089

Bought From: Solagex Australia Pty Ltd Review Date: 10 October 2011
Bronwyn VIC 3215

Bought From: Solagex Australia Pty Ltd Review Date: 22 August 2011
Andrew SA 5090

Bought From: Natural Technology Systems Review Date: 28 March 2011
George SA 5558
I am only sorry now that I did not invest in a larger solar system maybe 5kw
Bought From: Nicholls Solar Review Date: 21 October 2010
Christine QLD 4305

Bought From: Nu Energy Review Date: 6 July 2010
Greg VIC 3224
Great panels The new Q.PRO-G4.1 Excellent out put even in shade.
Bought From: Solar Choice Australia Review Date: 24 November 2015
Trevor SA 5159

Hanwha Q-Cells has 57 solar panels in our database

Model Type Size PTC Performance Ratio Californian Approved
Q.BASE G2 230Polycrystalline23020388.35Yes
Q.BASE G2 235Polycrystalline23520888.43Yes
Q.BASE G2 240Polycrystalline24021288.46Yes
Q.BASE G2 245Polycrystalline24521788.53Yes
Q.PEAK-G3 270Monocrystalline27324489.64No
Q.PEAK-G3 275Monocrystalline27824788.83No
Q.PEAK-G3 280Monocrystalline28325289.13No
Q.PLUS-G4 270Polycrystalline27024891.74No
Q.PLUS-G4 275Polycrystalline27525291.79No
Q.PLUS-G4 280Polycrystalline28025791.83No
Q.PRO G2 235Polycrystalline23521089.28Yes
Q.PRO G2 240Polycrystalline24021489.33Yes
Q.PRO G2 245Polycrystalline24521989.39Yes
Q.PRO G2 250Polycrystalline25022489.44Yes
Q.PRO-G3 250Polycrystalline25322789.94No
Q.PRO-G3 255Polycrystalline25823290.02No
Q.PRO-G3 260Polycrystalline26323790.10No
Q.PRO-G3 265Polycrystalline26823788.41No
Q.PRO-G4 255Polycrystalline25523290.90No
Q.PRO-G4 260Polycrystalline26023891.45No
Q.PRO-G4 265Polycrystalline26524291.29No
Q.SMART 70Thin Film706187.71Yes
Q.SMART 80Thin Film807087.88Yes
Q.SMART 85Thin Film857588.00Yes
Q.SMART 90Thin Film907988.11Yes
Q.SMART 95Thin Film958488.32Yes
Q.SMART UFL 100Thin Film1008887.90Yes
Q.SMART UFL 105Thin Film1059288.00Yes
Q.SMART UFL 110Thin Film1109788.09Yes
Q.SMART UFL 115Thin Film11510188.17Yes
QC-C05 215Polycrystalline21519389.86Yes
QC-C05 220Polycrystalline22019889.91Yes
QC-C05 225Polycrystalline22520289.96Yes
QC-C05 230Polycrystalline23020790.00Yes
QC-C05 235Polycrystalline23521290.04Yes
QC-C05 240Polycrystalline24021790.25Yes
QC-C05 245Polycrystalline24522190.29Yes
SF160-24-1M170L (72 cells)Monocrystalline17015289.29Yes
SF160-24-1M170L (72 Mono cells)Monocrystalline17015289.29Yes
SF160-24-1M175L (72 cells)Monocrystalline17515689.37Yes
SF160-24-1M175L (72 Mono cells)Monocrystalline17515689.37Yes
SF160-24-1M180L (72 cells)Monocrystalline18016189.44Yes
SF160-24-1M180L (72 Mono cells)Monocrystalline18016189.44Yes
SF160-24-1M185L (72 cells)Monocrystalline18516689.51Yes
SF160-24-1M185L (72 Mono cells)Monocrystalline18516689.51Yes
SF160-24-1M190L (72 cells)Monocrystalline19017089.58Yes
SF160-24-1M190L (72 Mono cells)Monocrystalline19017089.58Yes
SF220-30-1P230L (60 cells)Polycrystalline23020890.26Yes
SF220-30-1P235L (60 cells)Polycrystalline23521290.30Yes
SF220-30-1P240L (60 cells)Polycrystalline24021790.38Yes
SF220-30-1P245L (60 cells)Polycrystalline24522290.41Yes
SF260-36-1P270L (72 cells)Polycrystalline27024389.93Yes
SF260-36-1P275L (72 cells)Polycrystalline27524789.82Yes
SF260-36-1P280L (72 cells)Polycrystalline28025289.86Yes
SF260-36-1P285L (72 cells)Polycrystalline28525689.89Yes
SF260-36-1P290L (72 cells)Polycrystalline29026189.93Yes
SF260-36-1P295L (72 cells)Polycrystalline29526589.97Yes
Hanwha Q-Cells
54.4118